Guided Cultural Programs - Discovering Mi'kmaw Culture, Traditions and Language


There is a great story in the woodlands, lakes, rivers, bogs and barrens of Kejimkujik. It is a story 4,000 years in the making. It is equal parts history and legend, and it's here for you to hear it, to see it and to feel it.


Begin your journey with a guided tour of some of the park’s 500-plus petroglyphs. Found along the lakeshores of Kejimkujik, these fascinating stone-carved stories are one of North America’s largest such collections and have been vital clues for reconstructing regional history. Carvings of porpoise hunts from sail-rigged canoes and clothing and adornments from centuries past—including the iconic peaked hats worn by women—even at times bear their creators’ signatures, some of the only remaining evidence of the ancient Mi’kmaw’s written history.

Continue your cultural exploration at Merrymakedge’s carefully recreated traditional Mi’kmaw encampment and experience, first-hand, Kejimkujik’s deep roots.


two people building birch bark canoe

Birch Bark Canoe Building Workshop - Public Demonstrations and Workshops 

The canoe is an iconic symbol of the Mi’kmaw cultural landscape and also of the contemporary experience of Kejimkujik. The Kejimkujik Birch Bark Canoe Project highlights the work of master Mi’kmaw craftsman, Todd Labrador, as he builds traditional birch bark canoes in Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site.

Meet Todd Labrador
As a seventh-generation Mi'kmaq from the Kejimkujik region, Todd Labrador carefully crafts birch bark canoes with bark, spruce root, and other natural materials that are sustainably harvested in local Acadian Forests. His great-grandfather was a master canoe maker, and Todd taught himself how to build canoes after his own father passed away. Today, Todd Labrador is renowned for his work and is one of the most highly sought after craftsmen for his skills.

Workshop Details

Learn the ancient art of birch bark canoe building with master Mi’kmaw craftsman, Todd Labrador. Relax on the misty shore of Kejimkujik Lake sipping a cup of tea with Todd as shares his story and passion. Then step inside the workshop for a hands-on experience helping Todd in the construction of his latest masterpiece. You’ll be boiling, stripping, and splitting spruce roots or using a draw horse to make wooden pegs for the gunwales of the canoe in no time. Best of all, for your efforts and to end your visit you’ll be treated to a delicious lunch with a healthy serving of traditional stew and Luski.

Dates and times: Sundays, 10:00 am to 12:30 pm
June 9, 16, 23 and 30, July 7, 14
August 4, 11, 18, 25, September 8
Fee: $65/person. Parks Canada entry fees apply.
Ages: 18 and up
Max Capacity: 6 people/workshop
Location: Merrymakedge Beach Canoe-Building Shop
Parking: Merrymakedge P4 – follow signs to the shop
Notes:
Workshops offered rain or shine
Sharp tools will be used during workshops
Reservations: Contact Us

Demonstration Details

Witness the ancient craft of birch bark canoe-building in person with Todd Labrador and his apprentices. Public demonstrations offer a ‘drop-in’ authentic Mi’kmaw cultural experience, complete with beautiful views of Kejimkujik Lake. Visitors and members of the Mi’kmaw community are encouraged to gather around the canoe-building shop at the far end of Merrymakedge Beach, ask questions, tells stories, and share knowledge. Each day offers a different stage of the canoe building process, so come often and spread the word. #kejibbcanoebuildingproject

Dates and times: Thursday – Sunday from 2 to 4 pm
June 6 – July 14, July 25 – September 8 *No drop-in hours from July 18 - 21
Fee: FREE with regular entry fee
Ages: All ages welcome
Location: Merrymakedge Beach, Canoe-Building Shop
Parking: Merrymakedge P4 – follow posted signs to the shop
Notes: Demonstrations are offered rain or shine.
Reservations: Not required.


group with Parks Canada cultural interpreter on petroglyph rocks

Petroglyph Tour

View iconic petroglyphs carved in slate rock and discover four millennia of Mi’kmaw history. Enrich your visit to Kejimkujik with a guided tour of some of the 500-plus petroglyphs that are found on-site. Located along the lakeshores of Kejimkujik, these fascinating stone-carved depictions make up one of North America’s largest collections and have been vital clues for reconstructing regional history. Gaze upon carvings of symbols and figures, sailing ships, and clothing and adornments from centuries ago. Comprising some of the only remaining evidence of the written history of the Mi’kmaq, the petroglyphs are definitely a “must see” part of your Kejimkujik visit.

Availability: Offered daily, July and August (Thursdays are Bilingual) at 10:30 am
Weekends tours in September
Duration: 90-minute program
Fee: Free with entry fee, but you MUST register.
Ages: Not recommended for infants and toddlers.
Group size: There is a strict limit of no more than 20 people/tour
Location: Merrymakedge (P1 parking area)
Notes:
•The petroglyphs are in a restricted area and the tours are the only way visitors can access them.
• Sorry, no pets allowed on tour.
•For safety reasons, the program will be cancelled in rainy weather.
Registration: Contact Us
Cancellations: Please call the Visitor Centre in advance if you are unable to make your tour.


group and Parks Canada cultural interpreter at Mi'kmaw encampment with wigwam

Mi'kmaw Encampment - Wejisqalia’ti’k

Come sip a cup of tea and discover the diversity of meaningful relationships that local Mi’kmaw guides have to this place known as Kejimkujik. In Mi’kmaw, wejisqulia’ti’k translates to, “Tell us that we grew from the earth”. This cultural connection is being kept alive by retelling our stories, sharing our understanding, and expressing our gratitude for this place. What can you learn from this small piece of Mi’kma’ki? Let the guides lead your journey of discovery in this ancient landscape.

Availability: July and August: Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday at 2 pm
Fee: Free with entry fee.
Ages: all ages, family friendly.
Group size: No limit
Duration: 1 hour
Location: Merrymakedge, Mi’kmaw Encampment Site (P2 parking area)
Notes:
• Each of these programs is slightly different, depending on the Mi’kmaw guide.
• Program is offered rain or shine. However, for safety reasons, program will be cancelled in severe weather.
• Pets are permitted if they are quiet, leashed, and under control.
Registration: None required.
For more information: Contact Us


Parks Canada cultural interpreter on dark beach by lantern light

Mi’kmaq Storytelling: A Dark Sky Cultural Experience

Experience Mi’kmaw dark sky lore on a starlit sandy beach with a Parks Canada cultural guide. Awaken your senses under the night sky, complete with goose bumps and gasps. Merrymakedge Beach offers one of the most spectacular views of the Milky Way.

Availability: July: Saturdays at 10 pm; August: Saturdays at 9:30 pm
Fee: Free with entry fee
Ages: all ages, family friendly.
Group size: no limit
Duration: 1 hour program
Location: Merrymakedge Beach
Notes:
• Arrive early to watch the sunset and find a seat on a bench or picnic table.
• Limited seating. Bring a blanket or camp chair.
• ONLY red lights are permitted. As you arrive to the beach, please refrain from using regular flash lights and head lamps as they disrupt night vision.
• Pets are permitted if they are quiet, leashed, and under control.
Registration: none required.
Cancellations: This program is cancelled in rainy or severe weather.


""

Artwork: Melissa Labrador

Elapultiek by shalan joudry: An outdoor theatre production

Elapultiek by Fire, written by shalan joudry, is a unique artistic experience about reconciliation, relationships and trust. Presented around the campfire circle, the play focuses on the growing relationship between an indigenous and non-indigenous biologist as they conduct a nightly wildlife count. As their relationship grows, so too do areas of potential conflict, as their differing perspectives on land, resources and history come to the fore. Produced by Ken Schwartz of Two Planks and a Passion Theatre.

Availability: Friday evenings July 5 - September 6*
*July at 9 pm, August at 8:30 pm, September at 8 pm
Fee: $4.90/person. Parks Canada entry fees apply.
Ages: Recommended for children 8+.
Capacity: maximum 80 attendees
Duration: 75 minute play
Location: Jeremy’s Bay Campground – Campfire Circle (P2 parking lot)
Notes:
• For safety reasons, program will be cancelled in severe weather and visitors will be fully refunded.
• Sorry, no pets allowed.
Reservations: Contact Us 
Cancellations: Fully refundable if you cancel 48 hours before the performance start time or if cancelled by Parks Canada staff due to weather.

Poursuivez votre exploration culturelle dans le campement traditionnel mi’kmaq reconstitué avec soin de Merrymakedge, et percez les secrets des profondes racines de Kejimkujik.


Les bois, les lacs, les rivières et les landes de Kejimkujik regorgent d’une grande histoire vieille de 4000 ans. Cette histoire se compose à la fois de récits et de legends, et c'est ici pour vous la conter, vous la montrer, vous la faire ressentir.

 

Commencez votre voyage par une visite guidée de certains pétroglyphes du parc, qui en compte en tout plus de 500. Ces histoires fascinantes gravées dans la pierre que l’on trouve le long des rives de Kejimkujik constituent l’une des collections les plus importantes de ce type en Amérique du Nord, et se révèlent des indices précieux pour retracer l’histoire de la région. Vous verrez des gravures rupestres représentant la chasse au marsouin en canot à voile, des vêtements et des décorations d’époque, notamment les chapeaux pointus emblématiques que portaient les femmes, des éléments de preuve restants de l’histoire écrite ancestrale des Mi’kmaq.

 

deux personnes travaillent sur canot en écorce de bouleau
Fabrication d’un canot en écorce de bouleau - Démonstrations publiques et ateliers 

Le canot est un symbole emblématique du paysage culturel mi’kmaw et de l’expérience contemporaine de Kejimkujik. Le projet de construction de canots en écorce de bouleau Kejimkujik souligne le travail du maître artisan mi’kmaw, Todd Labrador, qui construit des canots traditionnels en écorce de bouleau dans le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik.

Une rencontre avec Todd Labrador
En tant que Mi'kmaq de septième génération de la région de Kejimkujik, Todd Labrador fabrique soigneusement des canots d’écorce de bouleau avec de l’écorce, des racines d’épinette et d’autres matériaux naturels qui sont récoltés de façon durable dans les forêts acadiennes locales. Son arrière-grand-père était un maître fabricant de canots, et Todd lui-même a appris à en construire après le décès de son propre père. Aujourd’hui, il est reconnu pour son travail et est l’un des artisans les plus recherchés pour ses compétences.

Détails de l’atelier

Apprenez l’art traditionnel de la fabrication de canots en compagnie du maître-artisan mi’kmaw, Todd Labrador. Détendez-vous sur la rive brumeuse du lac Kejimkujik en sirotant une tasse de thé avec Todd, qui partage son histoire et sa passion. Ensuite, entrez dans l’atelier pour vivre une expérience pratique en aidant Todd à construire son dernier chef-d’œuvre. Faites bouillir des racines d’épinette afin de les dénuder et de les fendre, ou utilisez un banc d’âne pour faire en un rien de temps des chevilles en bois pour les plats-bords du canot. Pour récompenser vos efforts et terminer votre visite, vous aurez droit à un délicieux déjeuner accompagné d’une bonne portion de ragoût traditionnel et de Luski.

Heure et dates : Les dimanches de 10 h à 12 h 30
Le 9, 16, 23 et 30 juin, le 7, 14 et 28 juillet
Le 4, 11, 18 et 25 août, le 8 septembre
Droits : 65 $ par personne. Les droits d’entrée de Parcs Canada seront en vigueur.
Âge : 18 ans et plus
Nombre maximal de participants : 6 personnes par atelier
Endroit : Atelier de fabrication de canots de la plage Merrymakedge 
Stationnement : Stationnement P4 de la plage Merrymakedge – suivez les indications jusqu’à l’atelier
Notes : 
• Les ateliers ont lieu beau temps mauvais temps.
• Des outils bien affutés seront utilisés pendant les ateliers.
Réservations : Contactez-nous

Détails de la démonstration

Assistez en direct à la fabrication traditionnelle d’un canot en écorce de bouleau en compagnie de Todd Labrador et de ses apprentis. Ces démonstrations publiques permettent avantageusement de vous donner un aperçu de l’authentique culture mi’kmaw, dans le site enchanteur du lac Kejimkujik. Les visiteurs et les membres de la communauté mi’kmaw sont encouragés à se rassembler dans l’atelier de construction de canots à l’extrémité de la plage de Merrymakedge, à poser des questions, à raconter des histoires et à partager leurs connaissances. Chaque jour, une étape différente du processus de construction du canot est abordée. Alors, venez souvent et passez le mot. #kejibbcanoebuildingproject

Heure : le jeudi, vendredi, samedi et dimanche de 14 h à 16 h
Dates : du 6 juin au 8 septembre Note : La démonstration n’est pas offerte du 18 au 21 juillet.
Droits : Inclus dans les droits d’entrée
Âge : Tous les âges
Endroit : Atelier de fabrication de canots de la plage Merrymakedge
Stationnement : Stationnement P4 de la plage Merrymakedge – suivez les indications jusqu’à l’atelier
Note : La démonstration aura lieu beau temps mauvais temps.
Réservations : aucune réservation necessaire


visite des pétroglyphes avec guide

Visite guidée des pétroglyphes

Observez les pétroglyphes emblématiques sculptés dans l’ardoise et découvrez quatre millénaires d’histoire des Mi'kmaq. Enrichissez votre visite à Kejimkujik grâce à une visite guidée de quelques-uns des 500 pétroglyphes que l’on y trouve. Situées sur les rives du lac Kejimkujik, ces fascinantes représentations gravées dans la pierre, l’une des plus importantes collections d’Amérique du Nord, ont servi d’indices pour aider à reconstruire l’histoire de la région. Observez les représentations de symboles, de silhouettes, de voiliers, de vêtements et de parures de siècles révolus. Ces pétroglyphes, parmi les seuls vestiges de l’histoire écrite des Mi'kmaq, font partie des attraits à ne pas manquer lors de votre visite à Kejimkujik.


Disponibilité : Offert tous les jours en juillet et en août (programme bilingue les jeudis) à 10 h 30
Offert les fins de semaine en septembre 
Coût : Inclus dans les droits d’entrée, mais vous DEVEZ vous inscrire.
Âge : Non recommandé pour les très jeunes enfants
Taille du groupe : Limite stricte de 20 personnes par groupe
Durée : Programme de 90 minutes
Lieu : Merrymakedge (aire de stationnement P1)
Droits : Cette activité est offerte gratuitment avec les frais d'entrée réguliers, les inscriptions sont requises.
Notes :
• Les pétroglyphes se trouvent dans une zone à accès restreint; les visiteurs n’y ont accès que s’ils font une visite guidée.
• Désolé, aucun animal n’est admis. 
• Pour des raisons de sécurité, l’activité est annulée en cas de pluie.
Inscription : Contactez-nous
Annulations : Appelez au Centre d’accueil à l’avance si vous ne pouvez pas faire la visite réservée.


Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik.

Campement mi'kmaq : Wejisqalia’ti’k 

Venez siroter une tasse de thé et découvrir les diverses relations importantes qu’entretiennent les guides mi'kmaq locaux avec ce lieu qu’on appelle Kejimkujik. En mi'kmaq, wejisqulia'ti'k signifie : « Dis-nous que nous avons grandi de la terre ». Pour garder ce lien culturel vivant, il faut continuer de raconter nos récits, expliquer notre compréhension du monde et exprimer notre gratitude envers cet endroit. Que pouvez-vous apprendre de ce petit coin du Mi'kma'ki? Laissez les guides vous mener à la découverte de ce paysage ancien.

Disponibilité : En juillet et août : les mardis, mercredis, vendredis et samedis à 14 h
Coût : Inclus dans les droits d’entrée
Durée : 1 heure
Âge : Tous les âges, convient bien aux familles
Taille du groupe : Aucune limite
Lieu : Merrymakedge, site du campement mi'kmaq (aire de stationnement P2)
Notes :
• Chaque programme est légèrement différent, selon le guide mi'kmaq.
• Ce programme a lieu beau temps mauvais temps. Cependant, pour des raisons de sécurité, le programme est annulé en cas de temps violent. 
• Les animaux domestiques sont autorisés s’ils sont tranquilles, en laisse et sous le contrôle de leur maître.
Inscription : Aucune inscription requise.
Renseignements : Contactez-nous
 


Parks Canada cultural interpreter on dark beach by lantern light

Histoires mi’kmaq : Expérience culturelle d’observation du ciel étoilé

Passez une soirée à la plage pour découvrir le ciel étoilé comme l’admiraient les Mi’kmaq avec un guide culturel de Parcs Canada. Éveillez vos sens sous le ciel nocturne tout en écoutant des histoires qui vous donneront la chair de poule. La plage de Merrymakedge offre une des vues les plus spectaculaires sur la Voie lactée. 

Disponibilité :
En juillet, les samedis à 22 h
En août, les samedis à 21 h 30
Coût : Inclus dans les droits d’entrée
Âge : Tous les âges, convient bien aux familles
Taille du groupe : Aucune limite
Durée : Programme d’une heure
Lieu : Plage Merrymakedge
Notes :
• Arrivez tôt pour admirer le coucher du soleil et trouver une place sur un banc ou une table de pique-nique.
• Les bancs sont peu nombreux; apportez une couverture ou une chaise de camping.
• SEULES les lumières rouges sont permises. En arrivant à la plage, abstenez-vous d’utiliser des lampes de poche et des lampes frontales ordinaires, car elles nuisent à la vision nocturne.
• Les animaux domestiques sont autorisés s’ils sont tranquilles, en laisse et sous le contrôle de leur maître.
Inscription : Aucune inscription requise.
Annulations : Ce programme est annulé en cas de pluie ou d’intempéries.
Renseignements : Contactez-nous


""

Art : Melissa Labrador

Elapultiek par shalan joudry : Une production théâtrale en plein air

Elapultiek by Fire, par Shalan Joudry, est une expérience artistique unique sur la réconciliation, les relations et la confiance. Présentée autour du feu de camp, la pièce met l’accent sur les rapports qui se tissent entre deux biologistes, un autochtone et l’autre, non autochtone, alors qu’ils effectuent un dénombrement nocturne de la faune. Au fur et à mesure que leur relation se développe, il en va de même pour les sources de conflits potentiels, vu leurs perspectives divergentes sur la terre, les ressources et l’histoire. Produit par Ken Schwartz de la compagnie théâtrale Two Planks and a Passion (en anglais seulement).

Disponibilité : Les vendredis soirs, du 5 juillet au 6 septembre*
*En juillet, à 21 h, en août, à 20 h 30, en septembre, à 20 h
Coût : 4,90 $ par personne. Les droits d’entrée de Parcs Canada seront en vigueur.
Âge : La pièce n’est pas recommandée pour les enfants de moins de 8 ans.
Capacité : 80 personnes maximum
Durée : 75 minutes
Lieu : Terrain de camping de la baie Jeremy — emplacement de feu de camp (aire de stationnement P2)
Notes :
• Pour des raisons de sécurité, l’activité est annulée en cas d’intempéries; les visiteurs sont alors remboursés intégralement.
• Désolé, les animaux de compagnie ne sont pas admis.
Réservations : Contactez-nous
Annulations : Entièrement remboursable si vous annulez 48 heures avant le début du spectacle ou si le personnel de Parcs Canada annule celui-ci en raison des conditions météorologiques.