Locations: Pacific Rim National Park Reserve
Distance: 650 km round trip from Vancouver, BC

Head out on a short 4-day trip to Vancouver Island’s seashore. Explore the rainforest, enjoy the endless beaches along the Pacific, paddle through the Broken Group Islands and have the ultimate surfing experience on Canada’s West Coast.

 

A group of friends near the Kwisitis Visitor Centre on Wickaninnish Beach, as the sun starts to set 

Day 1

Location: Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, Long Beach
Distance: 270 km from Vancouver

Catch the 1 hour 40-minute ferry to Nanaimo, then head to Tofino, Ucluelet and Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. Walk among the large ferns rising from a bed of moss in an old-growth rainforest, where the trees tower higher than you can see. Explore the endless sandy beaches. Watch the breakers roll in on the ocean and breathe in the salt air. This is paradise!


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Green Point campground


A visitor among the tall trees of the rainforest at Pacific Rim National Park Reserve 

Day 2

Location: Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Take a walk through the Rainforest! Look up…way up, to see the rainforest canopy that shelters you from the more than 300 cm of rain that falls annually in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. This rain supports the growth of the large trees and rich green undergrowth. Follow the boardwalks that wind through the lush, misty rainforest, and identify strange and wonderful creatures and plant life like Old Man’s Beard, Deer Fern, and the impressive Banana Slug!


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Green Point campground


Two kayakers paddle through the Broken Group Islands 

Day 3

Location: Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, Secret Beach
Distance: 40 km from campground

Paddle through the Broken Group Islands, an archipelago of over 100 islands and islets in Barkley Sound. Glide past basking sea lions, check out the kelp forest and enjoy a picnic lunch on a quiet sandy beach.


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Green Point campground


Two young women head out for a surf session on Long Beach 

Day 4

Location: Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, Tofino
Distance: 20 km from campground

For that once-in-a-lifetime surfing experience, put on a wetsuit and spend the afternoon in the waves. Visit local outfitters in Tofino or Ucluelet for lessons or if you’re an experienced surfer, to rent gear. Make sure you catch that perfect wave!

If the waves aren’t for you, immerse yourself in the heart of Nuu-chah-nulth culture thanks to First Nations guides, and learn about their history and traditions.


Distance: Return to Vancouver, 280 km

Locations: Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim
Distance: Aller-retour de 650 km à partir de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Faites une courte excursion de quatre jours sur l’île de Vancouver au bord de la mer. Explorez la forêt fluviale, profitez des kilomètres de plage sur le Pacifique, pagayez dans l’archipel Broken Group et vivez l’ultime expérience de surf sur la Côte Ouest.

 

Un groupe d’amis lors du coucher du soleil sur la plage Wickaninnish près du centre d’accueil Kwisitis 

Jour 1

Location: Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, Long Beach
Distance: 270 km de Vancouver

Prenez un traversier à destination de Nanaimo pour une traversée d’une durée d’environ 1 heure 40. Dirigez-vous vers Tofino, Ucluelet et la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Marchez parmi les imposantes fougères de la forêt pluviale. Les arbres s’élèvent si haut dans les airs que vous ne pourrez en voir la cime! Explorez les plages sablonneuses qui se déroulent à l’infini. Regardez les vagues se briser sur la plage. Respirez l’air salé. Ça c’est le paradis!


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, camping de la Pointe-Green


Un visiteur parmi les grands arbres de la forêt pluviale au Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim 

Jour 2

Location: Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Près de 300 cm de pluie tombent chaque année à Pacific Rim. Elle est nécessaire à la croissance des grands arbres et du riche sous-bois vert de cette forêt. Marchez sur les promenades de bois qui serpentent à travers la forêt luxuriante et brumeuse, et identifiez des animaux et des plantes étranges comme le chionanthe de Virginie ou l’impressionnante limace terrestre!


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, camping de la Pointe-Green


Deux kayakistes dans l'archipel Broken Group 

Jour 3

Location: Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, Secret Beach
Distance: 40 km du camping

Pagayez dans l’archipel Broken Group et découvrez plus de 100 îles et îlots dans la baie de Barclay. Glissez sur l’eau près des otaries se prélassant au soleil, observez la forêt de varech et profitez d’un pique-nique sur une plage de sable tranquille.


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, camping de la Pointe-Green


Deux surfeuses sur la plage Long 

Jour 4

Location: Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, Tofino
Distance: 20 km du camping

Offrez-vous l’expérience d’une vie. Enfilez une combinaison isothermique et surfez dans les vagues. Rendez-vous à Tofino ou Ucluelet pour des leçons ou pour louer de l’équipement. Partez à l’assaut de la vague parfaite.

Vous ne voulez pas affronter les vagues? Plongez plutôt au cœur de la culture Nuu-chah-nulth en compagnie de guides des Premières Nations et découvrez leur histoire et leurs traditions.


Distance: Retour à Vancouver, 280 km