Packrafting is an increasingly popular activity in Kluane National Park and Reserve. While there are many opportunities for skilled intermediate to advanced level paddlers, the hazards and risks of any whitewater travel and remote wilderness trekking are great. You are responsible for understanding the risks and acquiring the skills and experience to be self-reliant. Packrafting is inherently more dangerous than a backpacking adventure.


Keep the following in mind

Prepare for the worst

All creeks in KNPR are extremely remote, and some will require days of arduous cross country travel. In these circumstances, even a minor injury or punctured boat can have serious consequences. On the river, simple mistakes, such as failing to properly secure a backpack to a packraft, can lead to lost gear and wet, miserable nights in the backcountry. The rivers and creeks are continuous, often with small and/or few eddies. There is no “pool and drop” here, mistakes can have severe consequences. Prepare for the worst case scenario and have a plan on how to deal with it. We recommend carrying the following items in a small dry bag on your person in case you become separated from your boat: fire starter, compass, mirror, water purification, emergency blanket, bear spray and some form of communication device such as a satellite phone.

It’s just you out there

This isn’t a place for rookies. You are responsible for your own safety. Prepare to handle an emergency on your own. Bring good first aid, repair and pin kits and the skills to use them. Keep in mind it might take days before rescue is possible due to: weather, distance, availability of aircraft and the ability to access your location, among other factors.

24 hour emergency dispatch

1-780-852-3100

Satellite phones are the recommended form of communication. Other satellite GPS messenger devices, such as SPOT® or inReach®, are also effective. Cell phones do not work in most areas of the park.

Expect the unexpected

Expect to deal with unforeseen hazards such as fallen trees and hidden rocks. Fallen trees are particularly dangerous because they form strainers, where water passes through the branches of the tree but solid objects, like people and packrafts, do not. Strainers can trap you underwater, even with a PFD. Knowing how to recognize strainers or other hazards in the water and avoid them are essential skills that should be learned by every packrafter before they hit the water.

Dress for the swim

The water in Kluane National Park and Reserve is often glacially fed and therefore very cold. As a result, even relatively calm water poses significant risks. The cold will limit your ability to swim away from hazards such as strainers, or can lead to hypothermia if you are submerged for a prolonged period of time. The shock of hitting cold water also causes involuntary inhalation, which can result in drowning if you are underwater. Improve your chances at survival, wear a drysuit.

Always wear a PFD and a helmet

The shallow nature some creeks and river means that there is always the threat of foot entrapment and colliding with rocks. Wear a personal flotation device (PFD) and helmet to lessen the risk of drowning and potential head and spinal injuries.

Pre-trip questions

Before you go, ask yourself:

  • Does the trip match your group’s experience and skill level?
  • Can you read whitewater and quickly recognize hazards such as strainers, holes, and undercuts? Do you have the skills to avoid these hazards or safely eddy out and scout unknown water?
  • What are the known hazards of the river you are running (e.g., named rapids or portages)?
  • More importantly, what are the unknown hazards (e.g., unforeseen rapids at high water levels or newly fallen trees on the river)?
  • Do you have a plan in case you lose your paddle or a member of your group is injured?
  • Have you run this river before or know someone who has? Is the water level at a safe level to run?

There are resources like Paddling in the Yukon that you can use for more information.

Recommended gear for packrafting

In addition to your overnight backpacking gear, we recommend the following equipment:

  • Drysuit
  • PFD, helmet, and river knife to cut rope and escape entanglements
  • Gloves and appropriate footwear
  • Essentials; fire starter, compass, mirror, water purification, emergency blanket, bear spray, and communication device carried in a small dry bag on your person
  • Repair kit for your packraft
  • Paddle, and a spare
  • Throw bag and pin kit (emergency kit)

Keep aquatic invaders out

Invasive plants and animals can damage our aquatic ecosystems. Pay special attention when you are moving from one water body to another, particularly if you are coming from outside of Yukon.

Before and after your trip...

  • Clean plants, animals and mud from boats and gear
  • Drain all water from boat and gear onto land
  • Dry all parts of your boat and gear completely

...to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive species.

Report aquatic invasive species in the Park: 1-867-333-9247

Popular routes

Share your story

Please share your pictures and information about your trip with us. While some of our staff are avid paddlers, we can’t paddle everything. We’re always learning and adding new information to our trip planning material.

Overnight registration

All backcountry overnight trips into the park between April 1 and November 15 require you to register and purchase a backcountry permit.  Bear resistant food canisters are mandatory in most areas.

 Overnight registration

Le canotage de poche est une activité de plus en plus populaire dans le parc national et réserve de Kluane. Bien qu’il y ait beaucoup d’occasions pour les pagayeurs de niveau intermédiaire à avancé, les dangers et les risques liés à tout canotage en eau vive et de voyage en lieu sauvage isolé sont nombreux. Vous êtes responsable de comprendre les risques et d’acquérir les compétences et l’expérience pour être autonome. Le canotage de poche est fondamentalement plus dangereux qu’une randonnée de plein air.


Gardez les conseils suivants en tête

Préparez-vous au pire

Tous les ruisseaux et toutes les rivières dans le parc national et réserve de Kluane sont très éloignés, et certains exigeront plusieurs jours de voyage ardus d’un bout à l’autre pour rejoindre le point de mise à l’eau. Dans ces circonstances, même une blessure mineure ou un bateau troué peut avoir de sérieuses conséquences. Sur la rivière, de simples erreurs telles que le manquement de bien fixer un sac à dos à un canot de poche peuvent mener à de l’équipement perdu et à des nuits trempes et misérables dans l’arrière-pays sauvage. Les rivières et les ruisseaux sont continus, souvent avec de petits ou peu de remous. Ce n’est pas « une eau calme avant les chutes » ; les erreurs peuvent entraîner de graves conséquences. Préparez-vous au pire et prévoyez comment y faire face. Nous recommandons d’avoir les articles suivants dans un petit sac sec sur vous au cas où vous seriez séparé de votre canot : un allume-feu, une boussole, un miroir, une trousse de purification d’eau, une couverture d’urgence et un appareil de communication quelconque (par exemple, un téléphone satellite).

Vous êtes tout seul

L’endroit n’est pas pour les débutants. Vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité et vous devez vous préparer à une urgence de façon autonome. Apportez une bonne trousse de premiers soins, une trousse de réparation et une trousse de décoincement, et ayez les compétences pour les utiliser. En cas d’urgence, appelez notre agent de service au 1 877-852-3100 ou 1-780-852-3100 pour téléphone satellite. Gardez en tête que les secours peuvent prendre du temps. Il peut s’écouler plusieurs journées avant qu’une tentative de sauvetage soit possible à cause de nombreux facteurs, tels que le temps, la distance, la disponibilité d’un avion et la capacité d’accéder à votre position, entre autres.

24 hour emergency dispatch

1-780-852-3100

Satellite phones are the recommended form of communication. Other satellite GPS messenger devices, such as SPOT® or inReach®, are also effective. Cell phones do not work in most areas of the park.

Attendez-vous à tout

Les canoteurs de poche devraient s’attendre à rencontrer des dangers inattendus, tels que des arbres qui sont tombés et des roches cachées. Les arbres qui sont tombés sont particulièrement dangereux parce qu’ils forment des passoires où l’eau passe à travers les branches de l’arbre, mais les objets solides tels que les personnes et les canots de poche ne passent pas. Les passoires peuvent attirer dans un siphon un canoteur, même avec un vêtement de flottaison individuel (VFI). Savoir comment repérer les passoires et les autres dangers dans l’eau et les éviter sont quelques-unes des compétences essentielles que tout canoteur devrait avoir avant de se lancer sur l’eau.

Habillez-vous pour nager

L’eau est froide dans le parc et la réserve de Kluane. Par conséquent, même une eau relativement calme présente des risques non négligeables. Le froid limitera votre capacité à échapper à des dangers tels que des passoires ou peut conduire à l’hypothermie si vous êtes immergé pendant une période prolongée. De plus, le choc provoqué par le contact avec l’eau froide cause une inhalation involontaire qui peut provoquer la noyade si vous êtes sous l’eau. Améliorez vos chances de survie, portez une combinaison étanche.

Portez toujours un VFI et un casque

La nature peu profonde de certains des ruisseaux et des rivières signifie qu’il y a toujours le risque de se faire coincer le pied et d’entrer en collision avec des rochers. Portez un vêtement de flottaison individuel (VFI) et un casque pour réduire le risque de noyade et de blessures potentielles à la tête et à la colonne vertébrale.

Les questions préparatoires avant le voyage

Avant de partir, posez-vous ces questions :

  • Le voyage convient-il au niveau d’expérience et de compétence de votre groupe?
  • Êtes-vous capable de prédire les eaux vives et de reconnaître rapidement des dangers tels que les passoires, les trous et les angles de la rivière? Avez- vous les compétences pour éviter ces dangers ou vous échapper rapidement des remous et explorer des eaux inconnues?
  • Quels sont les dangers connus de la rivière sur laquelle vous naviguez (p. ex., des rapides ou des portages nommément désignés) ?
  • Plus important encore, quels sont les dangers inconnus (p. ex., des rapides imprévus à des niveaux d’eau plus élevés ou des arbres tombés récemment dans la rivière) ?
  • Avez-vous un plan au cas où vous perdriez votre pagaie ou qu’un membre de votre groupe se blesse ?
  • Avez-vous déjà descendu cette rivière, ou connaissez-vous quelqu’un qui l’a fait ? L’eau est-elle à un niveau sécuritaire pour y naviguer ?

Il y a des ressources comme le livre « Paddling in the Yukon » ou vous trouverez plus d’information.

Équipement recommandé pour le canotage de poche

En plus de votre équipement de nuit dans le sac à dos, nous recommandons le matériel suivant :

  • Une combinaison étanche
  • Un VFI, un casque et un couteau de rivière pour couper les cordes et s’échapper des enchevêtrements
  • Des gants et des chaussures appropriées
  • Essentiels (allume-feu, boussole, miroir, trousse de purification d’eau, couverture de secours, Gaz poivré accessible) et un appareil de communication porté sur vous dans un petit sac sec
  • Une trousse de réparation pour votre canot de poche
  • Une pagaie et une autre de secours
  • Un sac de sauvetage et une trousse de décoincement

Repousser les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Les plantes et les animaux envahissants peuvent endommager nos écosystèmes aquatiques. Faites bien attention lorsque vous vous déplacez d’un plan d’eau à un autre, particulièrement si vous venez de l’extérieur du Yukon.

Avant et après votre excursion....

  • Nettoyez le bateau et l’équipement pour en retirer les plantes, les animaux et la boue.
  • Videz toute l’eau du bateau et de l’équipement sur la terre ferme.
  • Séchez complètement toutes les parties de votre bateau et de votre équipement.

...pour éviter la propagation des espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Signalez la présence d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans le parc : 1-867-333-9247

Routes populaires

Partage votre histoire.

On adorerait avoir des images et des renseignements de votre voyage dans notre parc. Même si un grand nombre de nos employés sont des pagayeurs avides, nous ne pouvons pas explorer tout nous-mêmes. Nous sommes en apprentissage constant et nous faisons la mise à jour régulière de notre matériel d’organisation de voyage.

Enregistrement pour l'arrière-pays

Du 1er avril au 15 novembre les visiteurs doivent se procurer un permis d’accès à l’arrière-pays pour y passer la nuit. Les Contenants à l'épreuve des ours sont obligatoires dans le parc.

 Enregistrement pour l'arrière-pays