2020 visitor season

Due to the damage caused by post-tropical storm Dorian in PEI National Park, some campsites at Cavendish campground will be delayed opening for reservation.  All A-section sites as well as sites D48 – D60 will not be available for reservation until further notice.  Although unavailable for reservation at this time, these sites are expected to open with the rest of the campground on June 3rd, 2020.

Post Tropical Storm Dorian

On Saturday, September 7, 2019, Prince Edward Island was hit by post-tropical storm Dorian.  Even though it was no longer consider a hurricane, it was nonetheless damaging with winds in excess of 98 km/h, rain over 85 mm and storm surge of approximately 2 meters.  Within PEI National Park, the most significant impacts of the storm were felt in the western sector, notably in the main provincial tourism area of Cavendish. Approximately 80% of the trees had fallen or were deemed dangerous and an estimated 2 meters of shoreline was lost to erosion.

Significant changes are evident throughout various parts of the park. Cavendish Campground lost 70-80% of its trees and an early estimate of coastal erosion in the park suggests a 2 meter loss. Stanhope Campground fared better than Cavendish Campground.

Parks Canada staff members and our partners have been working diligently to ensure that we can re-open in the summer of 2020. While the campground will certainly look and feel different, we know that new opportunities come with new growth. Thank you for your patience as we rebuild this beautiful campground!  

Locations

PEI National Park has many options for visitors who want to stay overnight.

Cavendish

 

Our largest campground features over 200 sites and an exclusive supervised white sand beach. Exceptional recreational activities abound, including the spectacular 8km Homestead Trail, suitable for hiking and cycling. The campground offers showers, flush toilets, a laundromat and kitchen shelters. Campfires are permitted on selected sites.

Camping au Parc national de l'île-du-Prince-Édouard

Download a Cavendish Campground map (PDF, 1.33 MB).

Stanhope

 

Stanhope Campground is quiet and picturesque and features over 100 sites. The campground is located along the recently developed Gulf Shore Way, a 10km multi-use trail ideal for cycling, inline skating or walking and is a short walk from Stanhope Beach. The campground offers accessible sites, washroom facilities with hot showers and flush toilets, a laundromat and kitchen shelters. Inquire at the campground kiosk about our beach wheelchair that can be used at Stanhope Beach.

Campers in PEI National Park's Stanhope campground.

Download a Stanhope Campground map (PDF, 871 KB). 

Accommodation options

Camping

Campers at sunset in PEI National Park's Cavendish Campground.

Camping at PEI National Park is one of the most memorable ways to truly experience and appreciate the natural beauty of white sand beaches, coastal wetlands and over 50 km of trails! You will benefit from close proximity to beaches, trails, interpretive programs and special events.

For more information: Reservable camping information

oTENTiks

oTENTiks at Cavendish Campground in PEI National Park.

Check out Prince Edward Island National Park’s newest accommodation option on the North Shore - the authentic oTENTik!

A structure that blends the fun of a tent with the convenience of a cabin, oTENTik is an appealing option for those who want a camping experience without the hassle. Take away the need for piles of supplies, tent pegs, and poles and you’ve got a fuss-free vacation in the making. 

For more information: Reservable accommodation information

Reservations

To reserve a spot at Cavendish or Stanhope campgrounds visit www.reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca or call 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783).

Reservations can be requested beginning January 20, 2020 at 8 am AST.

La saison 2020

En raison des dommages causés par la tempête post-tropicale Dorian au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, il sera temporairement impossible de réserver certains sites du terrain de camping Cavendish. Tous les sites de la section A ainsi que les sites D48 à D60 ne pourront pas être réservés jusqu’à avis contraire. Cela dit, ces sites devraient être disponibles le 3 juin, date à laquelle le terrain de camping ouvrira.

La tempête post-tropicale Dorian

Le samedi 7 septembre 2019, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a été frappée par la tempête post-tropicale Dorian.  Même s'il n'était plus considéré comme un ouragan, il n'en était pas moins dommageable avec des vents supérieurs à 98 km/h, des précipitations supérieures à 85 mm et des ondes de tempête d'environ 2 mètres.  Dans le parc national de l'Î.-P.-É les impacts les plus importants de la tempête se sont fait sentir dans le secteur ouest, notamment dans la principale zone touristique provinciale, Cavendish. Environ 80 % des arbres sont tombés ou sont considérés comme dangereux et où l'érosion a fait disparaître environ 2 mètres de rive.

Des changements importants sont évidents dans diverses parties du parc. Le terrain de camping de Cavendish a perdu 70 à 80% de ses arbres et une première estimation de l'érosion côtière dans le parc suggère une perte de 2 mètres. Le terrain de camping Stanhope a mieux réussi que le terrain de camping Cavendish.

Les membres d’équipe du parc Canada et nos partenaires ont travaillé fort pour s'assurer que nous puissions rouvrir à l'été 2020. Bien que le terrain de camping ait certainement une apparence et une sensation différentes, nous savons qu’il y aura de nouvelles opportunités aussi. Merci de votre patience pendant que nous reconstruisons ce terrain de camping magnifique!

Terrains de camping :

Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a des options pour les visiteurs qui veulent passer la nuit.

Cavendish

Le plus vaste de nos terrains de camping comprend plus de 200 emplacements et une plage de sable blanc surveillée exclusive. Parmi les choix d'activités récréatives exceptionnelles, mentionnons la randonnée pédestre et le vélo sur le spectaculaire sentier Homestead de 8 km. Le terrain de camping est doté de douches, de toilettes à chasse d'eau, d’une laverie et d’abris-cuisines. Les feux de camp sont permis sur certains emplacements.

Camping au Parc national de l'île-du-Prince-Édouard

Plan de camping de Cavendish (PDF, 1.33 Mo)

Stanhope

Le pittoresque et paisible terrain de camping de Stanhope comprend plus de 100 emplacements. Il se trouve près du nouveau sentier du Golfe, un sentier de 10 km à usages multiples idéal pour le vélo, le patin à roues alignées ou la marche et situé à une courte distance de marche de la plage de Stanhope.

Le terrain de camping offre des emplacements accessibles, des douches chaudes et des toilettes à chasse d’eau, une laverie automatique et des abris-cuisines. Informez-vous au kiosque du terrain de camping au sujet du fauteuil roulant de plage qui peut être utilisé à la plage de Stanhope.

Camping au Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard - Stanhope.

Plan de camping de Stanhope (PDF, 871 Ko).

Options de camping : 

Camping

Camping au Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le camping au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est une façon mémorable de profiter au maximum de votre expérience et d’apprécier pleinement la beauté naturelle des plages de sable blanc et des milieux humides côtiers et plus de 50 kilomètres de sentiers! Vous bénéficierez de la proximité des plages, des sentiers, des programmes d’interprétation et des activités spéciales.

Pour plus d'information : Renseignements sur le camping réservable

Tente oTENTik

oTENTiks à Cavendish Campground dans le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Essayez le plus récent mode d’hébergement du Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qu’on trouve sur la côte nord : l’authentique tente oTENTik!

Structure combinant le plaisir du camping sous la tente et les commodités d’un chalet, la tente oTENTik est une option attrayante pour ceux qui veulent vivre une expérience de camping sans les complications et les problèmes. Éliminez la nécessité d’apporter des piles de fournitures, les pieux et piquets de tente, et vous passerez des vacances sans tracas.

Pour plus d'information : Renseignements sur les hébergements réservables

Réservations

Réservez un emplacement de camping aux terrains de camping de Cavendish ou de Stanhope en visitant le site www.reservation.parcscanada.gc.ca ou en appelant au 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783).

Il sera possible de faire une réservation à compter du 20 janvier 2020 à 8 h (heure normale de l'Atlantique).

Le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a des options pour les visiteurs qui veulent passer la nuit.
Le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a des options pour les visiteurs qui veulent passer la nuit.
Le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a des options pour les visiteurs qui veulent passer la nuit.