A classic Rouge Valley hike, the Orchard Trail features young forests mixed with wetlands and traces of early European settlement, including remnant orchards, residences and an old mill. The trail can be accessed at two places: the north trailhead is located at the bottom of Zoo Road on the south side of the road (next to a portable washroom), a short 5-minute walk from Parks Canada’s Welcome Area at the top of Zoo Road; and the south trailhead is accessed via Twyn Rivers Drive. Guided walks meet in front of the Parks Canada Visitor Welcome Area, behind the Rouge Valley Conservation Centre off Zoo Road.

Location

North trailhead
Bottom of Zoo Road (south side of the road, near a portable toilet)
Lat: 43.822444, Long: -79.166444
Google Maps

South trailhead
55 Twyn Rivers Drive, Toronto
Lat: 43.813916, Long: -79.154161
Google Maps

Difficulty Moderate 
Distance 2 km (one way)
Time 1 to 2 hours
Washrooms A portable toilet is seasonally available at both the north and south trailheads
Parking Free parking near the north trailhead (along Zoo Road) is available on weekdays from May to September and every day during the rest of the year. Paid parking is available all year across the street at the Toronto Zoo. At the south trailhead , free parking is available all year off Twyn Rivers Drive.
Wheelchair Accessible No

Trail Features

  • Wetlands – The bottom of Zoo Road is becoming increasingly well known for its beautiful human-made wetlands, which buffleheads, painted turtles and swans are known to frequent at various times throughout the year.
  • Orchards – Dormant apple orchards can be found about midway along the trail, calling back to the area’s use as settled farmland supporting local families for hundreds of years.
  • Cultural history – The ‘avenue of trees’ near the south end of the trail is a nod to the area’s past as a settled residence and active mill. Watch for the rows of trees planted in the new growth forest. From the south trailhead at Twyn Rivers Drive, you can see an old ski hill and the pieces of an old concrete dam that was once used to back up the river for swimming when a hotel stood on the site.

Un classique de la randonnée dans la vallée de la Rouge, le sentier du Verger présente de jeunes forêts ponctuées de marécages et de vestiges des premiers établissements européens, dont des restes de vergers, des résidences et un vieux moulin. Le sentier est accessible en deux endroits : la tête de sentier nord se trouve au bas du Zoo Road du côté sud de la route (près de la toilette chimique), soit à seulement 5 minutes de marche à partir de l’accueil de Parcs Canada qui se trouve au sommet du Zoo Road; la tête de sentier sud est accessible par la promenade Twyn Rivers. Des promenades guidées sont offertes au départ de l’accueil de Parcs Canada, derrière le centre de conservation de la vallée de la Rouge, sur le Zoo Road.

Emplacement

Point de départ nord
Bas du Zoo Road (côté sud de la route, près de la toilette chimique)
Lat: 43.822444, Long: -79.166444
Google Maps

Point de départ sud
55 Twyn Rivers Drive
Lat: 43.813917, Long: -79.154167
Google Maps

Difficulté Modéré 
Distance 2 km
Durée 1 à 2 heures
Toilettes Une toilette chimique est sur place en saison au point de départ du sentier nord et au point de départ du sentier sud
Stationnement Du stationnement gratuit est disponible près du point de départ du sentier nord (le long de Zoo Road) les jours de semaine, de mai à septembre, et tous les jours durant le reste de l’année. Le stationnement est payant toute l’année de l’autre côté de la rue, au Zoo de Toronto. Des places de stationnement en nombre limité sont disponibles gratuitement toute l’année au bord de la promenade Twyn Rivers au point de départ sud.

Caractéristiques du sentier

  • Marécages – Le bas du Zoo Road est de plus en plus connu pour ses jolis marécages aménagés et fréquentés en différents moments de l’année par les petits garrots, les tortues peintes et les cygnes.
  • Vergers – Des pommeraies non exploitées se trouvent à mi-chemin du sentier et témoignent des établissements agricoles qui ont soutenu les familles locales pendant des siècles.
  • Histoire culturelle – « L’avenue des arbres » près de l’extrémité sud est un clin d'œil au passé de la région en tant que lieu de résidence et de travail (moulin). Voyez les rangées d’arbres plantés dans la nouvelle forêt. À partir de la tête de sentier sud sur la promenade Twyn Rivers on peut voir une ancienne colline de ski et les vestiges d’un ancien barrage en béton qui servait à retenir les eaux de la rivière, aux fins de baignade, à l’époque où un hôtel occupait le site.