By Joshua LeClair

At Pukaskwa National Park, the Anishinaabe story begins long before the park’s inception and creation. To help tell this story, Parks Canada is investing in Pukaskwa’s First Nation cultural program by revitalizing its on-site Anishinaabe Camp and building an eye-catching Fire Circle. We’re so excited, we couldn’t wait until summer 2016 to share the news!

Collette Goodchild with Frances Nabigon
Collette Goodchild with Frances Nabigon of Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Ojibways of the Pic River First Nation) © Parks Canada

“Bii san go biishan endaaing – Welcome to our home. We the Anishinaabe, are the people of the north shore of Chigaam. We have known this land and water, which is now called Pukaskwa National Park and Lake Superior, for generations.”- Collette Goodchild, elder of Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Ojibways of the Pic River First Nation)

Fire Circle at Pukaskwa National Park
Fire Circle at Pukaskwa National Park © Parks Canada

- Experience Anishinaabe Culture at Pukaskwa National Park

The first part of this project included collaborating with the former ‘Friends of Pukaskwa’ organization to create a new visitor experience space. During the fall of 2015 the busy beavers at Pukaskwa National Park welcomed the Fire Circle; a grand stone fire pit area in the park’s front-country. It was an exciting opportunity to honour years of volunteer efforts from the ‘Friends of Pukaskwa’. The Fire Circle provides a new location to host interpretive programming where visitors will be able to relax by a warm fire, under the starry night sky. It will offer a unique venue to learn and experience how fire influences a culture and a landscape.

The second part of the project, commencing this summer, includes the relocation of the Anishinaabe Camp closer to the waters of Hattie Cove, also in the park’s front-country. The new Anishinaabe Camp will be home to two new birch bark structures and a tiipii for hosting cultural interpretive programming and events. During the upcoming summer season, we are planning for the birch bark structures to be constructed, presenting an opportunity for visitors to observe traditional First Nation construction methods. The new Anishinaabe Camp will encourage visitors to experience and connect not only with Anishinaabe culture, but also with the land and water of Pukaskwa National Park.

Parks Canada interpreter explaining the birch bark dome wigwam
Parks Canada interpreter explaining the birch bark dome wigwam © Parks Canada

Pukaskwa National Park’s new interpretive venues provide a unique learning opportunity to showcase the inspiring connection Anishinaabe have with the natural world. Parks Canada invites you to discover the vibrant culture, rich history, and spiritual teachings of the Anishinaabe people by connecting with fire, water, and land at Pukaskwa National Park.

Anishinaabe Kwe (Ojibway women) at the fire circle.
Anishinaabe Kwe (Ojibway women) traditionally wear skirts to ceremonies © Parks Canada

- Pukaskwa. Naturally cultural.

<< back to shoreLINES

par Joshua LeClair

Au parc national de Pukaskwa, l’histoire des Anishinaabe commence bien avant la mise sur pied et la création du parc. Pour aider à raconter cette histoire, Parcs Canada investit dans le programme culturel des Premières Nations de Pukaskwa en revitalisant son camp anishinaabe sur le site et en faisant des rencontres autour du feu attrayantes. Nous sommes si heureux de ne pas avoir eu à attendre jusqu’à l’été 2016 pour communiquer la nouvelle!

Collette Goodchild avec Frances Nabigon
Collette Goodchild avec Frances Nabigon de Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Ojibways de la Première nation de Pic River) © Parcs Canada

« Bii san go biishan endaaing – Bienvenue chez nous. Nous, les Ashinaabe, sommes le peuple de la côte nord de Chigaam. Nous connaissons ces terres et ces eaux, maintenant appelées parc national de Pukaskwa et lac Supérieur, depuis des générations. » – Collette Goodchild, aînée de Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Ojibways de la Première Nation de Pic River)

Rencontres autour du feu au parc national de Pukaskwa
Rencontres autour du feu au parc national de Pukaskwa © Parcs Canada

- Faites l’expérience de la culture anishinaabe au parc national de Pukaskwa

La première partie de ce projet comprenait la collaboration avec l’ancienne organisation « Amis de Pukaskwa » afin de créer un nouvel espace d’interprétation. Au cours de l’automne 2015, les castors bricoleurs du parc national de Pukaskwa ont accueilli les rencontres autour du feu, une grande surface de foyer en pierre dans l’avant pays du parc. Ce fut une occasion réjouissante de rendre hommage aux efforts bénévoles de la part des « Amis de Pukaskwa ». Les rencontres autour du feu constituent un nouvel endroit où tenir des programmes d’interprétation où les visiteurs pourront relaxer autour d’un feu de joie, sous le ciel nocturne étoilé. Elles offriront une tribune unique pour faire l’apprentissage et l’expérience de la façon dont le feu influence une culture et un paysage.

La deuxième partie du projet, qui débutera cet été, comprend la réinstallation du camp anishinaabe plus près des eaux de l’anse Hattie, aussi dans l’avant pays du parc. Le nouveau camp anishinaabe abritera deux nouvelles structures en écorce de bouleau et un tipi pour la tenue de programmes et d’événements d’interprétation culturels. Pendant la saison estivale à venir, nous prévoyons la construction des structures en écorce de bouleau, qui donneront aux visiteurs une chance d’observer les méthodes de construction traditionnelles des Premières Nations. Le nouveau camp anishinaabe encouragera les visiteurs à expérimenter la culture anishinaabe et à communier avec celle ci, mais aussi avec les terres et les eaux du parc national de Pukaskwa.

Un interprète de Parcs Canada expliquant le wigwam en dôme fait d’écorce de bouleau
Un interprète de Parcs Canada expliquant le wigwam en dôme fait d’écorce de bouleau © Parcs Canada

Les nouveaux lieux d’interprétation du parc national de Pukaskwa fournissent une occasion d’apprentissage unique afin de démontrer le lien inspirant qui unit les Anishinaabe au monde naturel. Parcs Canada vous invite à découvrir la culture dynamique, l’histoire riche et les enseignements spirituels du peuple anishinaabe en communiant avec le feu, l’eau et la terre au parc national de Pukaskwa.

Les Anishinaabe kwe (femmes d’Ojibway) portent traditionnellement des jupes aux cérémonies.
Les Anishinaabe kwe (femmes d’Ojibway) portent traditionnellement des jupes aux cérémonies. © Parcs Canada

- Pukaskwa. Naturellement culturel.

<< au fil de L'EAU