During the summer season boat and kayak trips are the most popular way to explore Sirmilik. There are several skills you will need in order to be properly prepared to travel safely in this area. If you are planning a boat or kayak trip, please consider:

  • In the arctic the extremely cold water kills quickly. Will you bring a dry suit - an essential for kayak travel? Reduce the risk of immersion in all your activities as the consequences of any accident are very serious.
  • Are you extremely experienced in your chosen activity? The high arctic is no place to learn new skills.
  • Can you cope with fast changing weather? Wind and currents can quickly whip waves into rough water.
  • Is your group large enough, with enough boats or kayaks to offer assistance if an accident occurs and members of your group need to be rescued?
  • Are you comfortable with bracing, manoeuvering, surf landing and launching and self-rescue techniques?
  • Can you interpret marine charts and tide tables and use them to identify marine hazards?
  • Can you travel on a bearing and use triangulation to establish your position?
  • Can you navigate in fog?
  • Are you able to estimate the speed of a current and estimate ferry angle under varying conditions?
  • Can you establish your position and follow waypoints using a GPS?


Wind and rough water

Remember that areas of calm seas and areas of wind and rough waters may be relatively close together. Generally, during the full and new moons you can expect three to four days of strong prevailing winds and rough sea conditions. Local outfitters know the conditions and weather trends for the area. Please listen to local knowledge and local outfitter advice regarding winds, rough water and points of land that are dangerous during challenging weather conditions.

Travelling by sea kayak is one way to experience the beauty and scenery of Sirmilik, but only for those who are very experienced and only in certain areas. Marine hazards include strong winds, adverse weather, floating ice, and tides. Boat transportation to drop-off and pick-up points is advised.

Pendant la saison estivale, les excursions en bateau et en kayak sont les façons les plus populaires d’explorer Sirmilik. Vous aurez besoin de plusieurs habiletés pour vous préparer correctement à voyager en sécurité dans cette région. Nous vous recommandons notamment de:

  • Dans l'Arctique, l'eau extrêmement froide tue rapidement. Porterez-vous une combinaison étanche - un élément essentiel pour les excursions en kayak? Réduisez les risques d'immersion dans toutes vos activités, car les conséquences d'un accident pourraient être très graves.
  • Avez-vous une très longue expérience de votre activité? L'Extrême Arctique n'est pas un endroit à choisir pour apprendre de nouvelles techniques.
  • Saurez-vous comment réagir si le temps se gâte rapidement? Le vent et les courants peuvent vite transformer de petites vagues en une mer houleuse.
  • Êtes-vous assez nombreux et avez-vous un nombre suffisant d'embarcations pour offrir de l'aide si des membres de votre groupe ont besoin de sauvetage?
  • Maîtrisez-vous à fond les techniques d'appui, de manœuvre, d'entrée en surf, de mise à l'eau et d'autosauvetage?
  • Pouvez-vous interpréter les cartes marines et les tables des marées et vous en servir pour repérer les dangers en mer?
  • Pouvez-vous vous déplacer par relèvement et utiliser la triangulation pour établir votre position?
  • Pouvez-vous naviguer dans le brouillard?
  • Pouvez-vous estimer la vitesse d'un courant et l'angle de bac dans des conditions variables?
  • Pouvez-vous établir votre position et suivre des points de cheminement en utilisant un GPS?


Vent et eaux turbulentes

Souvenez-vous que les zones de mer calme, les zones de vent et les zones d’eaux turbulentes son souvent relativement proches les unes des autres. En général, pendant la nouvelle et la pleine lune vous pouvez vous attendre à trois à quatre jours de vents dominants forts et à une mer agitée. Les pourvoyeurs locaux connaissent les conditions et les tendances météorologiques dans leur zone. Veuillez écouter les conseils des personnes et des pourvoyeurs de l’endroit sur les vents, les eaux turbulentes et les endroits dangereux pendant de mauvaises conditions météorologiques.

Le kayak de mer permet aux adeptes du plein air de découvrir les magnifiques paysages du parc national Sirmilik. Cependant, cette activité est réservée aux pagayeurs très expérimentés, et elle ne peut être pratiquée qu'à certains endroits. Les kayakistes s'exposent à plusieurs dangers, notamment les vents forts, le mauvais temps, les glaces flottantes et les marées. Il est préférable de retenir les services d'un conducteur de bateau pour les trajets entre le parc et les collectivités avoisinantes.