One of the most important draws for visitors to the region and to Fundy National Park is to experience the tides and the tidal flats of the Bay of Fundy. The effects of the tides on the shoreline and the local weather are easily seen and experienced from the park.

At Fundy National Park, the difference between high and low tide can be as much as 12 metres. At the head of the bay, the tide can rise 16 metres, the height of a four-story building.

At Alma Beach at the time of low tide, you can walk more than a kilometre from the high tide line across the tidal flats to the water's edge. Fundy's interpreters welcome you to guided walks along the coast. Walking on the bottom of the bay is a favourite pastime of visitors. This is, of course, is best done at low tide in the intertidal zone!

The highest tides in the world

Fundy's tides are the highest in the world because of an unusual combination of resonance (or seiche) and the shape of the bay. Like water in any basin, the water in the Bay of Fundy has a natural rocking motion called a seiche. You could compare this to the movement of water in a bathtub. Although the water in a bathtub sloshes from one end to the other and back again in a few seconds, it takes about 13 hours for the water in the bay to rock from the mouth of the bay to the head of the bay and back again.

The Atlantic Ocean tide rising and flooding into the bay every 12 hours and 25 minutes reinforces the rocking motion. To imagine this, picture an adult giving a gentle push to a child on a swing. Just a very small push, at the right time, is enough to make it go higher and higher. A pulse from the ocean tides sustains the seiche in the bay.

The Bay of Fundy's length is important. That's what makes the seiche frequency match the pulse from the Atlantic Ocean tides. The bay's shape is of secondary importance although still significant. The bay becomes narrower and shallower towards its head, forcing the water higher up the shores.

High and low tide

In the Bay of Fundy you can see two high and two low tides each day. The time between a high and low tide, on average, is six hours and 13 minutes.

If you come back to the same place two or three days in a row, you will notice that the water is at its highest and lowest about an hour later each day. This is because the tides work on a "lunar" or moon day which is 24 hours and 52 minutes long. While the earth is turning on its axis the moon is orbiting in the same direction around the earth and it takes one day and 52 minutes for a point on the earth to reappear directly beneath the moon.

Learn more about the interesting phenomena of Spring and Neap Tides.

Additional information


Useful Links

L'un des attraits les plus importants pour les visiteurs de la région et du parc national Fundy est de découvrir les marées et les fonds vaseux de la baie de Fundy. Les effets des marées sur le littoral et la météo locale sont facilement visibles et ressentis depuis le parc.

Au parc national Fundy, la différence entre la marée haute et la marée basse peut atteindre 12 mètres. À la tête de la baie, la marée peut monter de 16 mètres, la hauteur d'un immeuble de quatre étages.

À la plage d'Alma, à marée basse, vous pouvez marcher plus d'un kilomètre, de la ligne de marée haute à travers les fonds vaseux, jusqu'au bord de l'eau. Les interprètes de Fundy peuvent vous accueillir pour des promenades guidées le long de la côte. Marcher au fond de la baie est un passe-temps favori des visiteurs. Et bien sûr, dans la zone intertidale, c'est mieux de le faire à marée basse!

Les plus hautes marées du monde

Les marées de Fundy sont les plus hautes au monde en raison d'une combinaison inhabituelle de résonance (ou seiche) et de la forme de la baie. Comme l'eau dans n'importe quel bassin, l'eau de la baie de Fundy a un mouvement de balancement naturel appelé seiche. Vous pouvez comparer cela au mouvement de l'eau dans une baignoire. Bien que l'eau dans une baignoire glisse d'un bout à l'autre et revienne en quelques secondes, il faut environ 13 heures pour que l'eau de la baie bascule de l'embouchure de la baie à la tête de la baie et vice-versa.

La marée de l'océan Atlantique qui monte et qui envahit la baie toutes les 12 heures -25 minutes renforce ce mouvement de balancement. Pour imaginer cela, imaginez un adulte poussant doucement un enfant sur une balançoire. Une toute petite poussée, au bon moment, suffit pour le faire monter de plus en plus haut. Une impulsion des marées océaniques soutient la seiche dans la baie.

La longueur de la baie de Fundy est importante. C'est ce qui fait que la fréquence de seiche correspond à l'impulsion des marées de l'océan Atlantique. La forme de la baie est d'importance secondaire bien qu'elle soit encore significative. La baie devient plus étroite et moins profonde vers sa tête, forçant l'eau plus haut sur les rives.

Marée haute et marée basse

Dans la baie de Fundy, vous pouvez voir deux marées hautes et deux marées basses chaque jour. Le temps entre une marée haute et basse, en moyenne, est de six heures -13 minutes.

Si vous revenez au même endroit deux ou trois jours de suite, vous remarquerez que l'eau est à son maximum et à son minimum environ une heure plus tard chaque jour. En effet, les marées fonctionnent un jour « lunaire » qui dure 24 heures et 52 minutes. Pendant que la terre tourne sur son axe, la lune tourne dans la même direction autour de la terre et il faut un jour et 52 minutes pour qu'un point de la terre réapparaisse directement sous la lune.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les phénomènes intéressants des Marées de vives-eaux et de mortes-eaux.

Informations additionelles


Liens utiles