What We Heard: Mountain National Parks (PDF) |  What we Heard: Yoho National Park (PDF)

The Engagement Process

Summary of engagement activities

The first phase of engagement and consultation for scoping the Yoho National Park management plan included a range of opportunities designed to gather input from Indigenous communities, youth, local stakeholders and other Canadians. Stakeholder workshops were held in Field and Golden, British Columbia. In addition, community information events were held at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort and the Golden Farmer’s Market. An online platform called Let’s Talk Mountain Parks was created with the other mountain parks, enabling interested Canadians to be part of the discussion. One university campus club was engaged using an online presentation and conference call. Newspaper advertisements, postcards and social media posts were used to create awareness of the engagement program. The first phase of engagement and consultation ran from January 30 to May 10, 2019.

Who we heard from 

During the three-month engagement and consultation period, there were a total of 686 visits to the Yoho National Park online site. Of this total, 91 people filled out online surveys or posted ideas. An additional 325 people viewed website content and downloaded documents. 
A total of 53 people attended in-person workshops. Stakeholders included municipal government, destination marketing organizations, environmental organizations, outdoor recreation interest groups, and local business operators. Parks Canada staff met separately with representatives of several Indigenous communities and one interest group. Written submissions were received from four organizations.

Map – Geographical distribution of website participants from Canada


What We Heard

What we heard from Indigenous Peoples 

Yoho National Park is located within the traditional territories of the Ktunaxa and Secwepemc First Nations. Discussions are ongoing with representatives of these Indigenous groups to ensure their perspectives are heard and included in the draft management plan.

Indigenous communities who have provided initial responses express a strong desire to feel at home in the park, and to contribute their knowledge and practices to the stewardship of the park.

What we heard from stakeholders and the general public 

The following section outlines some of the main themes that emerged during the engagement period, in the categories of park vision, key issues, and planning principles.

Park Vision

Workshop attendees and people who completed online surveys were asked to describe their vision of Yoho National Park at its future best. An analysis of the comments showed the most common theme identified by participants was a desire to see the park protected and its ecological integrity restored. The words peaceful, intact, undeveloped, natural beauty, protected, and wild were frequently mentioned. Environmental stewardship, wilderness protection, and the restoration of healthy ecosystems and ecological processes where species at risk are restored and thriving, were all identified as important goals for the future. Protecting the reasons for the designation of the park as a World Heritage Site was also identified as an important goal. Many participants recognized that ecological protection is crucial to ensuring that the park remains a place for people to connect with nature and experience wilderness in uncrowded settings. 

While the protection of healthy ecosystems was viewed as paramount, participants also expressed a strong desire to ensure that these natural landscapes remain accessible. Accessibility was discussed in a broad sense, encompassing elements of individual ability, demographics, socio-economic status, four-season opportunities, facility design, and availability of sustainable transportation options. This theme of accessibility was often discussed together with the need to carefully manage human use to ensure the health of park ecosystems and maintenance of built assets. The terms balance and sustainable were referenced repeatedly.

Many participants expressed the need to define appropriate human use levels as part of their vision for the park. These included consideration of visitor use quotas or other demand management tools in sensitive or congested areas, such as Emerald Lake and the Yoho Valley. A nuance of this theme was the idea that while the park should be accessible to everyone, it cannot be everything to everybody—there are appropriate activities and standards of behaviour rooted in stewardship of this natural landscape that visitors must respect. A related theme was the perceived lack of fairness of current systems used to allocate limited opportunities such as Lake O’Hara day use passes, or camping reservations throughout the park. Numerous participants suggested that there should be systems to ensure that Canadians have preferential access to these opportunities. Some felt that there should be variable pricing, where international visitors pay a higher fee to use the park.

Another common theme was education, and the opportunity that mountain parks provide for visitors to learn about nature. Many participants expressed a desire to see more educational programming to encourage positive behaviour from park visitors. There was also interest in increasing educational opportunities to highlight the unique natural features, Indigenous history, and cultural heritage of the park.

Key Issues

The first phase of engagement provided opportunities for Parks Canada to hear from interested Canadians about key issues that should be considered in the development of the next national park management plan. The main themes that emerged are discussed below.

Visitor Demand Management 

Increasing visitation was identified as a concern by a large number of online respondents and workshop participants. When asked about barriers to connecting with the park, 56% of online respondents cited overcrowding and accessibility challenges. More than a third of online respondents felt that increasing visitation is one of the most pressing issues affecting the ecological integrity of the park. Future efforts to address this challenge should consider the rapid rate of societal change that is occurring. Participants identified changing demographics, changing modes of travel, and evolving communication and other technologies as factors that may influence visitor patterns and behaviour in the coming decades. 

Many participants were concerned about vehicle congestion on the Emerald Lake Road and the Yoho Valley Road (to Takakkaw Falls). It was suggested that restrictions on private vehicle use would be required to avoid exacerbating the crowding problem and shuttle services were identified as a possible solution. Participants were also concerned about safety on the Trans-Canada Highway due to increasing traffic volumes. 

Increasing visitation was also a concern for the Town of Field as it may lead to increased demand for services, including local emergency services. Highway construction within and outside of the park may create access challenges for residents and visitors. 

Suggested solutions to increasing visitor demand included spreading visitation over less busy seasons, introducing quotas or restricting visitation to specific high-use areas, implementing more reservation systems including lotteries, reducing private vehicle access to some locations, introducing shuttles and limiting development and expansion of commercial tour operations. 

Resource Protection/Ecological Integrity

Many participants indicated that elements of the natural ecosystem are key features that make the park unique. When describing changes Parks Canada may encounter over the next ten years, participants cited declining native biodiversity, climate change, and increasing human pressure on natural ecosystems as key challenges. Protecting the ecological integrity of the park and restoring functioning habitat were frequently identified as areas requiring focused effort. A reduction in suitable habitat for wildlife and increased potential for human-wildlife conflict were cited as challenges related to increasing visitation. Participants identified managing increasing visitation as a key challenge related to the maintenance of ecological integrity. 

External influences were also identified as challenges to be considered. Changing land use adjacent to the park, including increased logging and commercial tourism, was cited as an issue potentially affecting park wilderness. Increased backcountry use, especially backcountry day-use, was included as an issue affecting the mountain park’s ecological integrity.

Visitor Facilities and Activities

The discussion of issues and park vision generated numerous comments about specific park facilities and activities. Several participants felt that facilities and trails need improvement and better maintenance. More than 20% of online respondents identified a lack of well-maintained facilities as a barrier to establishing a connection to the park. Others linked increasing visitation to a critical need for additional investment in well-designed infrastructure that supports visitation while mitigating environmental impacts.

Some participants expressed a desire for more visitor opportunities in the west end of the park. Suggestions included creating or re-establishing a regular camping offer on the west side and improving or re-establishing trails that are not well maintained. Some participants requested more mountain bike trails while others felt there should be no mountain biking permitted in the park. 

Indigenous Reconciliation and Heritage

Many people recognized the importance of supporting Indigenous peoples in reconnecting with their traditional territories in the park. Participants shared a desire to have more Indigenous stories told within the park. Some participants recommended that the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) should be a foundational element of park management. 

Technological Changes and Impacts

Changing technology was identified as an issue that can provide both opportunities and challenges for Parks Canada. Types of changing technology identified include electric and self-driving cars, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs or drones), E-bikes, artificial intelligence, virtual reality and various types of communications and electronic technologies. Social media was identified as both an important influence on visitor use patterns (“selfie culture”), and as a useful tool to connect with visitors. Parks Canada was encouraged to consider evolving technology when developing visitor activities and educational programming, and when encouraging appropriate park behaviour. 

Climate Change

Understanding and adapting to the effects of climate change was identified as a key issue. Specific concerns included the increasing risk of wildfires resulting in more smoke, potential for flooding, changes in biodiversity and timing of animal migrations, effects on visitation patterns due to smoke and natural events and potential increases or changes in the types of insects and disease affecting park ecosystems.

Planning Principles

The scoping phase of engagement included discussions about the key principles that should inform the national park management plan and help guide future decision making. Key themes that emerged from these discussions are outlined below.  

Transparency

Parks Canada should ensure that management decisions are open and accountable. Decisions should be based on open two-way communication with Indigenous communities, local residents, stakeholders, and other Canadians. Relevant information should be shared prior to any decisions.

Evidence-Based Decisions 

Future management decisions should be rooted in scientific information and understanding. All relevant sources of information should be considered objectively. Continued application of this principle over time will support adaptive management.

Integrity and Leadership 

Parks Canada should always demonstrate integrity and leadership in conservation when delivering its mandate. Park managers should adhere to the mandate, keep the end goal in mind, and “walk the talk” by taking action and implementing plans. There must be a recognition that sometimes Parks Canada will need to say “No” to meet the end goal.

Landscape-scale Management 

Think big. Yoho National Park ecosystem management requires large-scale thinking that encompasses broad landscapes. The park should work with other parks, and across boundaries with neighbouring jurisdictions to tackle important ecological challenges and promote environmental stewardship. This requires long-term thinking and bold, creative action.

Ecological Sustainability

Future decision making should support the sustainability of Yoho National Park. Park managers must understand the consequences of their decisions, and whether or not their decision is reversible. When consequences are poorly understood due to incomplete information or lack of scientific certainty, then the precautionary principle should be used to ensure no loss of ecological integrity.

Ce que nous avons entendu : parcs nationaux des montagnes (PDF) | Ce que nous avons entendu : Parc national Yoho (PDF)

Processus de consultation

Résumé des activités de mobilisation 

La première étape de la mobilisation et de la consultation, en vue de l’établissement de la portée du plan directeur du parc national Yoho, comportait un éventail de possibilités conçues pour recueillir des commentaires auprès des collectivités autochtones, des jeunes, des intervenants locaux et d’autres Canadiens. Des ateliers avec les intervenants ont eu lieu à Field et à Golden, en Colombie-Britannique. De plus, des séances d’information auprès des collectivités ont été organisées au centre de villégiature Kicking Horse Mountain Reosrt et au marché de producteurs fermiers de Golden. Une plateforme en ligne appelée Parlons parcs de montagne a été créée conjointement avec les autres parcs des montagnes; elle permet aux Canadiens intéressés de prendre part aux discussions. Un club de campus universitaire a participé par l’entremise d’une soumission en ligne et d’une conférence téléphonique. On a eu recours à des annonces dans les journaux, à des cartes postales et à des messages dans les médias sociaux pour faire connaître le programme de mobilisation. La première étape des activités de mobilisation et de consultation s’est déroulée du 30 janvier au 10 mai 2019.

Ceux que nous avons entendus 

Au cours de la période de mobilisation et de consultation de trois mois, un total de 686 visites ont été effectuées sur le site Web du parc national Yoho. De ce total, 91 personnes ont répondu à des sondages en ligne ou ont publié des idées. Par ailleurs, 325 autres personnes ont pris connaissance du contenu du site Web et ont téléchargé des documents. 

Un total de 53 personnes ont participé à des ateliers en personne. Parmi eux, on trouvait des membres des administrations municipales, d’organisations de marketing de destination, d’organisations environnementales et de groupes d’amateurs de plein air de même que des exploitants d’entreprises locaux. Des membres du personnel de Parcs Canada ont rencontré séparément des représentants de plusieurs collectivités autochtones et un groupe d’intérêt. Des observations écrites de quatre organisations ont été reçues.

Carte – Répartition géographique des participants canadiens du site Web.


Ce que nous avons entendu

Ce que nouse avons entendu des peuples autochtones

Le parc national Yoho est situé dans les limites des territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations des Ktunaxa et des Secwepemc. Des discussions sont en cours avec des représentants de ces peuples autochtones afin de veiller à ce que leurs points de vue soient entendus et pris en compte dans l’ébauche du plan directeur.

Les collectivités autochtones qui ont fait part de leurs réactions initiales ont exprimé un vif désir de se sentir chez eux dans le parc et de diffuser leurs connaissances et leurs pratiques pour contribuer à l’intendance du parc.

Ce que nous avons entendu des intervenants et du grand public

La section qui suit présente certains des principaux thèmes qui se sont dégagés au cours de la période de consultation. Ils sont classés dans les catégories suivantes : vision du parc, enjeux clés et principes de planification.

Vision du parc

On a demandé aux participants aux ateliers et aux personnes qui ont répondu au sondage en ligne de décrire leur vision du parc national Yoho pour en assurer le meilleur avenir possible. Une analyse des commentaires a révélé que le thème le plus souvent mentionné par les participants était une volonté de voir le parc protégé et son intégrité écologique, rétablie. Les mots paisible, intact, non aménagé, beauté naturelle, protégé et nature sauvage ont fréquemment été mentionnés. On a mentionné, parmi les objectifs importants pour l’avenir, l’intendance environnementale, la protection du milieu sauvage et la restauration d’écosystèmes sains et de processus écologiques dans le cadre desquels les espèces en péril sont rétablies et prospèrent. Il a également été question d’assurer la protection des motifs de la désignation du parc comme site du patrimoine mondial. De nombreux participants ont reconnu que la protection écologique est essentielle pour garantir que le parc demeure un lieu permettant aux gens de se rapprocher de la nature et de vivre l’expérience de la nature sauvage dans des endroits peu fréquentés. 

Bien que la protection d’écosystèmes sains soit considérée comme primordiale, les participants ont aussi exprimé fortement le souhait que l’on garantisse l’accessibilité de ces paysages naturels. On a discuté de l’accessibilité au sens large, en englobant les éléments liés à la capacité individuelle, aux données démographiques, à la situation socioéconomique, aux possibilités en toutes saisons, à la conception des installations et à l’offre de solutions de transport durable. Le thème de l’accessibilité a souvent été débattu parallèlement avec la nécessité de gérer avec soin l’utilisation humaine pour assurer la santé des écosystèmes du parc et l’entretien des biens construits. Les mots équilibre et durable ont été mentionnés à maintes reprises.

De nombreux participants ont souligné la nécessité de définir les niveaux appropriés d’utilisation humaine dans le cadre de leur vision du parc. Cela englobait la prise en c0mpte de quotas de visiteurs ou d’autres outils de gestion de la demande dans les zones fragiles ou très fréquentées, telles que le lac Emerald et la vallée de la Yoho. On a mentionné, notamment, que même si le parc devrait être accessible à tous, on ne peut pas permettre que tout le monde y fasse ce qu’il veut; il existe des activités et des normes de comportement appropriées enracinées dans l’intendance de ce paysage naturel, que les visiteurs doivent respecter. On a aussi souligné l’apparent manque d’équité des systèmes actuellement utilisés pour répartir les possibilités limitées, comme les laissez-passer d’une journée au lac O’Hara ou les réservations d’emplacements de camping dans tout le parc. De nombreux participants étaient d’avis qu’il devrait y avoir un système en place permettant de s’assurer que les Canadiens bénéficient d’un accès préférentiel à ces possibilités. Selon certains participants, il devrait y avoir des tarifs variables suivant lesquels les visiteurs étrangers paieraient des droits d’entrée plus élevés.

Un autre thème fréquemment abordé a été l’éducation et la possibilité pour les parcs des montagnes d’offrir aux visiteurs l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur la nature. De nombreux participants ont exprimé le souhait que de nouveaux programmes de sensibilisation soient créés pour favoriser les comportements positifs des visiteurs du parc. On a aussi déclaré souhaiter accroître les possibilités de sensibilisation pour mettre en valeur les caractéristiques naturelles uniques, l’histoire des peuples autochtones et le patrimoine culturel du parc.

Enjeux clés

La première étape de la mobilisation a donné l’occasion à Parcs Canada d’entendre les points de vue des Canadiens intéressés sur les enjeux clés dont il faudrait tenir compte lors de l’élaboration du prochain plan directeur du parc national. Les principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis sont résumés ci-dessous.

Gestion de la demande des visiteurs

La fréquentation accrue a été désignée comme une préoccupation par un grand nombre de répondants en ligne et de participants aux ateliers. Lorsqu’il est question des obstacles à l’établissement de liens avec le parc, 56 % des répondants en ligne ont cité la fréquentation excessive et les défis en matière d’accessibilité. Plus d’un tiers des répondants en ligne ont estimé que l’augmentation de la fréquentation est un des problèmes les plus pressants en ce qui a trait à l’intégrité écologique du parc. Les efforts futurs déployés pour relever ce défi devraient prendre en compte le changement sociétal rapide qui se produit. Les participants ont désigné les changements démographiques, les changements de modes de déplacement et l’évolution des communications et des autres technologies comme des facteurs susceptibles de jouer sur les habitudes et les comportements des visiteurs dans les décennies à venir.

Plusieurs participants se sont dits préoccupés par la congestion automobile sur la route du Lac-Emerald et la route de la Vallée-de-la-Yoho (jusqu’aux chutes Takakkaw). On a laissé entendre que des restrictions sur l’utilisation des véhicules privés pourraient s’avérer nécessaires pour éviter d’aggraver encore le problème de congestion; des services de navettes ont aussi été proposés comme solution envisageable. Les participants se sont également dits préoccupés par la sécurité sur la route Transcanadienne en raison de l’augmentation du volume de la circulation. 

L’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs est également une préoccupation pour la Ville de Field, car elle peut entraîner une demande accrue de services, y compris des services d’urgence locaux. La construction routière à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du parc peut créer des problèmes d’accès pour les résidents et les visiteurs. 

Parmi les solutions suggérées pour contrer le problème de l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs, mentionnons la possibilité d’encourager les visites en dehors des saisons de pointe, d’établir des quotas de visiteurs ou des restrictions des visites dans des zones données à forte fréquentation, de mettre en place de nouveaux systèmes de réservation, y compris des tirages au sort, de réduire l’accès des véhicules privés à certains endroits, de mettre en place un service de navettes et de limiter l’aménagement et l’expansion des services commerciaux d’excursions. 

Protection des ressources et intégrité écologique

De nombreux participants ont indiqué que les éléments de l’écosystème naturel sont des caractéristiques essentielles qui rendent le parc unique. Quant aux changements auxquels pourrait faire face Parcs Canada au cours des dix prochaines années, les participants ont cité comme principaux enjeux la diminution de la biodiversité indigène, les changements climatiques et l’accroissement des pressions humaines exercées sur les écosystèmes naturels. La protection de l’intégrité écologique du parc et le rétablissement d’habitats fonctionnels ont souvent été mentionnés comme des domaines nécessitant un effort concerté. La perte d’habitats propices à la faune et l’accroissement des risques de conflits entre les humaines et les animaux sauvages ont été cités parmi les problèmes causés par l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs. Les participants ont indiqué que la gestion de cette augmentation pose un défi sur le plan de la préservation de l’intégrité écologique. 

Les influences externes ont également été mentionnées parmi les défis dont il faudra tenir compte. Les changements liés à l’utilisation des terres adjacentes au parc, y compris l’augmentation de l’exploitation forestière et du tourisme commercial, font partie des problèmes susceptibles de nuire à la nature sauvage du parc. L’augmentation des utilisations de l’arrière-pays, en particulier la fréquentation diurne de l’arrière-pays, est aussi considérée comme un problème pour l’intégrité écologique de ce parc de montagne.

Installations et activités pour les visiteurs

La discussion sur les enjeux et la vision du parc a suscité de nombreux commentaires au sujet d’installations et d’activités particulières du parc. Plusieurs participants ont estimé que les installations et les sentiers avaient besoin d’améliorations et d’un meilleur entretien. Plus de 20 % des répondants en ligne ont désigné l’absence d’installations bien entretenues comme un obstacle à l’établissement de liens avec le parc. D’autres ont lié l’augmentation de la fréquentation à un besoin crucial d’investissement supplémentaire dans des infrastructures bien conçues qui favorisent la fréquentation tout en atténuant les impacts sur l’environnement.

Certains participants ont dit souhaiter que de nouvelles occasions de découverte soient offertes aux visiteurs à l’extrémité ouest du parc. Parmi les autres suggestions, mentionnons la création ou le rétablissement d’une offre de camping régulière dans le secteur occidental du parc, et l’amélioration et le rétablissement des sentiers qui ne sont pas bien entretenus. Certains participants ont indiqué qu’il faudrait davantage de sentiers de vélo de montagne, alors que d’autres étaient d’avis que le vélo de montagne ne devrait pas être permis dans le parc. 

Patrimoine autochtone et réconciliation avec les Autochtones

De nombreux participants ont reconnu l’importance d’aider les peuples autochtones à renouer avec leurs territoires traditionnels dans le parc. Ils avaient en commun le désir de se faire raconter des récits autochtones dans le parc. Certains ont recommandé de faire de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones (DNUDPA) un élément fondamental de la gestion du parc. 

Changements technologiques et impacts connexes

Les changements technologiques ont été mentionnés parmi les enjeux qui peuvent offrir des possibilités et présenter des défis pour Parcs Canada. Les types de changements technologiques relevés incluent les voitures électriques et autonomes, les véhicules aériens sans pilote (drones), les vélos électriques, l’intelligence artificielle, la réalité virtuelle et différents types de communications et de technologies électroniques. Les médias sociaux ont été désignés comme étant à la fois une influence importante sur les habitudes d’utilisation des visiteurs (« culture de l’égoportrait ») et un outil utile pour communiquer avec ces derniers. On a invité Parcs Canada à tenir compte des nouvelles technologies au moment d’élaborer des activités et des programmes éducatifs offerts aux visiteurs ainsi que de favoriser les comportements appropriés dans le parc. 

Changements climatiques

Il est très important de comprendre les effets des changements climatiques et de s’y adapter. Parmi les préoccupations particulières soulevées, mentionnons le risque accru de feux causant une fumée plus abondante, les risques d’inondation, les changements dans la biodiversité et la période de migration des animaux, les effets sur les habitudes de fréquentation en raison de la fumée et des catastrophes naturelles, et les augmentations ou changements potentiels dans les types d’insectes et de maladies touchant les écosystèmes du parc.

Principes de planification

L’étape de l’établissement de la portée des activités de mobilisation a donné lieu à des discussions au sujet des principes clés qui devraient orienter l’élaboration du plan directeur du parc national et aider à éclairer la prise de décisions futures. Les thèmes principaux qui sont ressortis de ces discussions sont présentés ci-après.

Transparence

Parcs Canada devrait s’assurer que les décisions de gestion sont prises de façon transparente et donnent lieu à une reddition de comptes. Les décisions devraient être fondées sur une communication ouverte et bilatérale avec les collectivités autochtones, les résidents locaux, les intervenants et d’autres Canadiens. Les renseignements pertinents devraient être diffusés avant que toute décision soit prise.

Décisions fondées sur des données probantes

Les futures décisions de gestion doivent être fondées sur la compréhension et les données scientifiques. La validité de toutes les sources de renseignements doit être prise en considération. L’application continue de ce principe au fil du temps favorisera une gestion adaptative.

Intégrité et leadership 

Parcs Canada devrait faire preuve en tout temps d’intégrité et de leadership en matière de conservation dans l’exécution de son mandat. Les gestionnaires du parc devraient se conformer au mandat, garder l’objectif final à l’esprit et joindre le geste à la parole en prenant des mesures et en mettant les plans en œuvre. Il importe de prendre conscience que, parfois, Parcs Canada devra dire « non » pour atteindre l’objectif final.

Gestion à l’échelle des paysages

Il faut voir grand! La gestion des écosystèmes du parc national Yoho exige une réflexion à grande échelle portant sur de vastes paysages. Le parc devrait collaborer avec d’autres parcs et avec les administrations voisines au-delà des limites du parc pour relever d’importants défis écologiques et promouvoir l’intendance environnementale. Cela nécessite une réflexion à long terme et la prise de mesures énergiques et créatives.

Viabilité écologique

La prise de décisions futures devrait soutenir la viabilité du parc national Yoho. Les gestionnaires du parc devraient comprendre les conséquences de leurs décisions et savoir si celles-ci sont réversibles. Lorsque les conséquences sont méconnues parce que l’on ne possède pas les renseignements ou les preuves scientifiques nécessaires, le principe de précaution doit être appliqué pour empêcher toute perte d’intégrité écologique.