Klondike I

The Klondike I was built in Whitehorse and launched in 1929. With a cargo capacity 50 percent greater than other boats on the river at the time, she was the first sternwheeler on the Yukon River large enough to handle a cargo in excess of 272 tonnes (300 tons) without having to push a barge.

Map of the Yukon River showing Whitehorse, Dawson, Stewart, the Mayo District and Skagway

Built as an ore hauler the Klondike initially operated between Whitehorse and Stewart Landing. On her downstream run she would carry freight bound for the Mayo silver mining district. On her return trip she would carry silver-lead ore from the Mayo District that had been brought down the Stewart River aboard smaller sternwheelers such as the S.S. Keno. In Whitehorse the ore would be transferred to the WP&YR for shipment by rail to Skagway, Alaska.

The effects of the depression soon saw the Klondike moved to the Whitehorse - Dawson City run where she carried both passengers and freight, though she continued to be regarded primarily as a cargo vessel.

The career of the Klondike I came to an abrupt end in 1936 when, on the third run of the season, the vessel struck a rock wall when rounding a bend, lost control and ran aground on a submerged gravel bar.

Wreck of the Klondike I

On June 12, 1936, the Master Pilot of the Yukon River's largest sternwheeler went below for breakfast. His recently promoted second-in-command was left in charge of steering the boat.

"He was just coming around a point and he kept too far out. And there was a big rock bluff down this side and of course these boats, when you come around this sharp point, they're…sitting on top off the water, maybe three, three and a half feet, and they slide. And he didn't allow for that. Of course the boat came along and just crashed right into this rock bluff and it just tore the whole side out of her."

Bromley Interview
A Narrative History of the SS Klondike by Arnold Roos, 1981, Parks Canada

After hitting the wall, the boat hit either a rock or reef that tore the steering loose. As the Klondike started to float aimlessly down the river, the crew attempted to get a line to shore to stop the downstream drift but the current was too strong.

Survival

Getting ashore
© Parks Canada / John Dunn Collection #62 / 1936

Realizing the ship was doomed to sink, passengers and crew jumped ashore when the boat drifted close to the banks. Lifeboats were lowered but they provided a wet journey to shore because the drainage plugs had not been inserted.

Aftermath
© Parks Canada, John Dunn Collection #69, 1936

Once the Klondike came to a full stop, a workboat with a motor was used to ferry the remaining passengers to shore and to collect others from the far shore. It also retrieved the emergency telephone from the ship. Tapping into the telegraph line that ran along the river, the Purser let Whitehorse know about their plight.

Shore camp
© Parks Canada / John Dunn Collection #72, 1936

While waiting for rescue, supplies from the Klondike were scavenged as only the freight deck was below water. Blankets, food and other personal effects were saved.

Waiting
© Parks Canada / John Dunn Collection #63, 1936

Survivors waiting at the shore camp. A drawer, possibly from below a bunk, a can of "Pacific Milk", a crate, hats, blankets and other salvaged items can be seen.

The survivors
© Parks Canada / John Dunn Collection #61, 1936

Survivors of the wreck pose for a group shot at the shore camp.

Rescue
© Parks Canada / John Dunn Collection #78, 1936

Survivors of Klondike wreck were flown from their shore camp back to Whitehorse by aeroplane.

The losses

At the time it sank, the Klondike was carrying about 227 metric tonnes (250 tons) of cargo for communities and people along the river. While drifting freight from the wreck provided a bonus to people living downstream, many passengers lost everything. One newly married couple lost all of their possessions, including the furniture they were shipping downstream. Two geological survey teams lost all of their equipment. Although there were no human deaths, two of the four horses on board did not survive.

The boat itself was a write off but the company was able to salvage the machinery and much of the superstructure and immediately set about re-building the Klondike.

Salvage operations

Salvage crew
© Parks Canada / Wakefield Collection #2 / 1936

The salvage crew surveying the damage on the sundeck of the wreck of the Klondike.

Workboat and barge
© Parks Canada / F.L. Young Collection, #2, 1936

Salvage crew working from a barge to remove the spars and rigging.

A good start
© Parks Canada / David Wilson Collection #4, 1936

Windows, doors, part of the mid-ship superstructure and spars have been removed.

Almost done
© Yukon Archives, L. Irvine Collection #1905, 1936

Machinery, superstructure and king posts have all been removed; hog posts and chains are still in place.

Remains
© United States Geological Survey, Collection #2987

Even today remnants of the Klondike I's hull are still visible , reminding Yukon River travellers of the Yukon’s riverboat legacy.

Barging home
© Parks Canada / Syd Smith Collection #1 / 1936

The Nasutlin pushing a barge with salvage recovered from the wreck of the Klondike arriving in Whitehorse.

Klondike II

Built to the same basic design as her predecessor, Klondike II was launched in 1937 and continued to work the Whitehorse - Dawson run carrying both passengers and freight.

Building the Klondike II

Construction begins
© Parks Canada / Syd Smith Collection #2, 1936

On July 4, 1936 foreman Syd Smith and a crew of eight men arrived in Whitehorse from Vancouver to begin construction. Smith posing at the bow of the “new boat.”

In frame
© Parks Canada / Bill Crawford Collection #3, 1936

Shipwrights Bill Crawford and Alec Hadwin on scaffolding while framing the hull at the Whitehorse shipyard.

Hull complete
© National Archives of Canada, C-34901 / 1936

The hull is complete. The kingposts and hog posts, salvaged from Klondike No.1, are in place and the superstructure has been started.

Fall 1936
© Parks Canada / Bill Crawford Collection #28, 1936

The construction crew remained in Whitehorse until November 18, by which time the hull had been finished and work had been started on the superstructure.

Spring 1937
© Parks Canada / Jack Elliott Collection #2, 1937

Nearing completion. The shaft of the paddlewheel, salvaged from Klondike No. 1, is being fitted. Most, if not all, of the mechanical systems were transferred from wreck to the new vessel.

Launch
© Parks Canada / Bill Crawford Collection #33, 1937

Construction was completed in 1937. The newly launched Klondike No. 2, by the slipways in the Whitehorse shipyard.

Klondike II pushing barge with U.S. military supplies, Eagle, Alaska, 1943.

The outbreak of WWII resulted in a decline in silver prices and consequently the early 1940's were lean years for the Klondike as her freight handling capacity was not required. One season was spent on the ways in the Whitehorse Shipyard. Another was spent working on the lower river in support of the war effort, transporting freight and personal for the building of the ALCAN military road.

Increased silver-lead ore production in the late 1940s put the Klondike back into regular service, but the opening of an all weather road between Whitehorse and Mayo in 1950 saw her career as an ore hauler come to an end. She continued on the Whitehorse – Dawson run, carrying general freight and passengers until 1952 when the Mayo Road was extended to Dawson, signaling an end to the era of riverboat transportation on the Yukon River.

Cruise boat

In an attempt to salvage the career of their flagship, BYN refurbished the Klondike as a cruise boat. Through an arrangement with CP Air she offered cruise service between Whitehorse and Dawson in 1954 and 1955.

Cruising on the Klondike

Cruise boat conversion
© Parks Canada / Ian Watson Collection #17

Conversion to cruise ship service saw the saloon deck housing extended aft to the transom to house a passenger lounge, additional amenities in passenger cabins, crew quarters added on the freight deck and converting her from wood to oil.

The lounge
© Vancouver Maritime Museum

Passengers enjoying the new lounge aboard the refurbished Klondike II cruise boat.

Can-can girls
© Vancouver Maritime Museum

The new passenger lounge featured a fanciful mural of Dawson City can-can dancers.

Sundeck
©Parks Canada / Bromley Collection, #11, 1954

After conversion to cruise ship service the roof of the new saloon deck extension became the main focus of outdoor activities. Officer Frank Heath gives a shuffleboard lesson to first cruise passengers of 1954.

Scenery
© Parks Canada / Bromley Collection #10, 1954

Passengers on the sun deck interrupt their game of shuffleboard to watch a landslide on the riverbank. Lillian Crosse of Seattle at left, Eric Lindsay of Vancouver, George Chandler (CJOR Vancouver) and Jay West of Bellingham, Washington. (Williams Travel Agency).

End of an era
© Parks Canada / Ian Watson Collection, #19

The Klondike’s final trip on August 26, 1955 was a day excursion to Lake Laberge carrying Whitehorse dignitaries and residents.

Though the trips were popular, the high cost of operation ended her brief sojourn as a passenger ship. In August 1955 when the Klondike II – the last sternwheeler working on the Yukon River – steamed into Whitehorse for the final time it brought the era of steamship navigation on the upper Yukon River to an end.

S.S. Klondike National Historic Site

The S.S. Klondike being moved along First Avenue in Whitehorse, 1966.

In 1960 the Klondike II was donated to the Government of Canada by WP&YR. In 1966, pulled by four bulldozers and rolled on top of steel runners greased with soap flakes, she was moved from the Whitehorse Shipyards to her present location.

She was formally designated a National Historic Site in 1967. Returned to her original 1937 configuration and meticulously restored and refurnished, she opened to the public in 1981.

Klondike I

Le S. S. Klondike I fut construit à Whitehorse en 1929 par la British Yukon Navigation Company (BYN), une filiale de la compagnie ferroviaire White Pass & Yukon Route Railway (WP&YR).

Carte de fleuve Yukon avec Whitehorse, Dawson, Stewart et Mayo

De faible tirant d'eau, le S.S. Klondike avait été conçu et construit de manière à ne pas avoir besoin de barge pour transporter les lourds sacs de minerai provenant du district minier de Mayo vers l'amont jusqu'à Whitehorse. Le Klondike , dont la capacité de chargement surpassait de 50 pour cent celle des autres bateaux fluviaux de l'époque, fut le premier bateau à aubes du fleuve Yukon à pouvoir transporter une cargaison de plus de 272 tonnes sans barge. Au début, le Klondike faisait la navette entre Whitehorse et Stewart Landing. Lorsqu'il descendait le fleuve, il transportait des marchandises jusqu'au district minier de Mayo. Au retour, il transportait du minerai de plomb argentifère du district de Mayo qui avait été acheminé depuis la rivière Stewart à bord de bateaux à aubes plus petits comme le Keno. À Whitehorse, le minerai était transféré à la WP&YR en vue de son expédition en train jusqu'à Skagway, en Alaska.

En raison de la dépression, le Klondike ne tarda pas à être affecté au trajet entre Whitehorse et Dawson, où il transporta passagers et marchandises, quoiqu'on le considérait encore essentiellement comme un navire de charge.

La carrière du Klondike I prend subitement fin en 1936 lorsque, durant son troisième voyage de la saison, le navire heurte une paroi rocheuse en manœuvrant une courbe, perd le contrôle et échoue sur une barre de sable submergée.

Le naufrage du Klondike I

Le 12 juin 1936, le capitaine du plus gros bateau à aubes à avoir navigué sur le fleuve Yukon à ce jour, le S.S. Klondike, descendit prendre son petit-déjeuner, laissant à son tout nouveau commandant adjoint le soin de manœuvrer le bateau.

"Il venait tout juste de contourner une pointe et il est resté trop loin. De ce côté, il y avait une paroi rocheuse et ces bateaux, une fois qu'ils passent cette pointe en saillie, ils ... restent stationnaires, à environ trois ou trois pieds et demi de profondeur, et ils se mettent à glisser. Et il n'avait pas tenu compte de cela. Évidemment, le bateau s'est écrasé sur la paroi rocheuse abrupte, et un de ses côtés a été entièrement arraché."

Traduction libre d'entrevue avec M. Bromley
Tel que citée dans A Narrative History of the SS Klondike d'Arnold Roos, 1981, Parcs Canada.

Après s'être écrasé sur la paroi rocheuse, le bateau heurta une roche ou un écueil, qui endommagea le système de direction. Alors que le Klondike commençait à dériver en aval, les membres de l'équipage tentèrent d'ancrer le bateau à la rive, mais le courant était trop fort.

Survie

Atteindre la rive
© Parcs Canada / Collection John Dunn no 62, 1936

Réalisant que le bateau allait éventuellement couler, certains des passagers et des membres de l'équipage sautèrent sur la rive lorsque l'embarcation fut emportée près de la berge. Les canots de sauvetage furent bien descendus, mais ils n'étaient pas étanches parce que les bouchons de nable n'avaient pas été insérés.

Les suites du naufrage
© Parcs Canada, Collection John Dunn no 69, 1936

Une fois le Klondike complètement immobilisé, un canot de service motorisé fut utilisé pour transporter les derniers passagers du bateau jusqu'à la terre ferme, et pour aller chercher ceux qui s'étaient retrouvés plus loin. Des membres de l'équipage allèrent également récupérer le téléphone d'urgence se trouvant à bord du bateau. À l'aide de la ligne télégraphique longeant le fleuve, le commissaire de bord put aviser les gens de Whitehorse de la catastrophe qui venait d'arriver.

Campement sur la rive
© Parcs Canada / Collection John Dunn no 72, 1936

Pendant qu'il attendait les secours, l'équipage alla récupérer les fournitures (couvertures, nourriture et effets personnels) se trouvant à bord du Klondike puisque seul le pont inférieur réservé aux marchandises se trouvait alors sous l'eau.

Attente des secours
© Parcs Canada / Collection John Dunn no 63, 1936

Deux survivants, au campement sur la rive, attendent les secours. Sur la photo, on aperçoit un tiroir, sans doute récupéré sous une couchette, une boîte de lait évaporé « Pacific Milk », une caisse, des chapeaux, des couvertures et d’autres articles récupérés de l’épave.

Les survivants
© Parcs Canada / Collection John Dunn no 61, 1936

Les survivants du naufrage posent pour une photo de groupe au campement sur la rive.

Sauvetage
 
© Parcs Canada / Collection John Dunn no 78, 1936

Les survivants du S.S. Klondike I ont quitté le campement sur la rive et rentrent à Whitehorse en avion.

Les pertes

Lorsqu'il coula, le Klondike avait à son bord 227 tonnes métriques de marchandises destinées aux résidents des collectivités riveraines. S'il est vrai que les marchandises égarées qui flottèrent jusqu'à certaines collectivités firent bien des heureux, il faut rappeler toutefois que plusieurs passagers perdirent tout. Un couple nouvellement marié vit couler tout ce qu'il possédait, y compris les meubles qu'il faisait transporter. Deux équipes de levés géologiques perdirent également tout leur matériel. Heureusement, aucun passager ne trouva la mort lors de ce naufrage. Toutefois, deux des quatre chevaux qui se trouvaient à bord du bateau périrent..

Le navire est une perte totale, mais l’entreprise réussit à en récupérer la machinerie ainsi qu’une bonne partie de la superstructure et entreprend sans tarder la reconstruction du Klondike.

Opérations de récupération

Équipe de récupération
 
© Parcs Canada / Collection Wakefield, no 2 / 1936

L’équipe de récupération, sur l’épave du S.S. Klondike I, examine les dommages causés au pont-promenade.

Bateau de travail et barge
 
© Parcs Canada / Collection F.L. Young, no 2, 1936

Des travailleurs, depuis une barge, retirent les espars et les gréements.

Un bon début
 
© Parcs Canada / Collection David Wilson, no 4, 1936

Des fenêtres, des portes, des éléments de la partie centrale de la superstructure et des espars du bateau ont été retirés.

Opération presque terminée
© Archives du Yukon, Collection L. Irvine, no 1905, 1936

La machinerie, la superstructure et les mâtereaux ont tous été retirés du bateau; les montants et les chaînes sont toujours en place.

Vestiges
 
 
© Collections United States Geological Survey, no 2987

Encore aujourd’hui, on peut voir des vestiges du S.S. Klondike I, ce qui rappelle aux utilisateurs du cours d’eau l’héritage de l’époque des bateaux fluviaux au Yukon.

Transport par barges des pièces récupérées
 
© Parcs Canada / Collection Syd Smith, no 1, 1936

Le Nasutlin à son arrivée à Whitehorse; le bateau pousse une barge contenant des éléments récupérés de l’épave du S.S. Klondike I.

Klondike II

Construit à partir de la même conception de base que son prédécesseur, le Klondike II est inauguré en 1937 et continue de faire le trajet entre Whitehorse et Dawson, transportant à son bord passagers et marchandises.

Construction du S.S. Klondike II

Début des travaux
© Parcs Canada / Collection Syd Smith, no 2, 1936

Le 4 juillet 1936, le contremaître Syd Smith et une équipe de huit hommes arrivent à Whitehorse en provenance de Vancouver afin d’entamer les travaux de construction. Smith pose ici devant la proue du « nouveau » bateau.

« Charpente » de la coque
© Parcs Canada / Collection Bill Crawford, no 3, 1936

Les charpentiers de marine Bill Crawford et Alec Hadwin sur un échafaudage en train de construire la charpente de la coque au chantier naval de Whitehorse.

Achèvement de la coque
© Archives nationales du Canada, C-34901 / 1936

Les travaux sur la coque sont terminés. Les mâtereaux et les montants, récupérés du S.S. Klondike I, sont en place, et la construction de la superstructure commence.

Fin de la saison 1936
© Parcs Canada / Collection Bill Crawford, no 28, 1936

L’équipe de construction est restée à Whitehorse jusqu’au 18 novembre; la coque était alors terminée et le travail sur la superstructure, entamé.

1937
© Parcs Canada / Collection Jack Elliott, no 2, 1937

La construction tire à sa fin. L’arbre de la roue à aubes, récupéré du S.S. Klondike I, est en train d’être posé. La plupart des systèmes mécaniques, voire la totalité, ont été pris de l’épave et installés sur le nouveau bateau.

Mise à l’eau
© Parcs Canada / Collection Bill Crawford, no 33, 1937

La construction est achevée en 1937. On voit ici le S.S. Klondike II peu après sa mise à l’eau, près des cales de halage du chantier naval de Whitehorse.

Le Klondike II pousse une barge chargée de marchandises destinées à l'armée américaine, Eagle (Alaska).

L'éclatement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale fit chuter le prix de l'argent : au début des années 1940, le S. S. Klondike connut ainsi une période de vaches maigres alors que ses services de transport de marchandises n'étaient plus requis. Le navire passa une saison au chantier naval de Whitehorse. L'année suivante, il fut mis à contribution dans le cours inférieur du fleuve pour l'effort de guerre, où il transporta des marchandises et du personnel pour la construction de la route militaire ALCAN.

La production du minerai de plomb argentifère s'intensifia vers la fin des années 40, ce qui permit au S. S. Klondike de reprendre son service, mais l'ouverture d'une route carrossable en tout temps entre Whitehorse et Mayo en 1950 mit fin à sa carrière dans le transport de minerai. Le bateau à aubes continua d'assurer la navette entre Whitehorse et Dawson jusqu'en 1952, année où la route de Mayo fut prolongée jusqu'à Dawson, sonnant le glas de la fin de l'époque du transport en bateaux à aubes sur le fleuve Yukon.

Bateau de croisière

Dans l’espoir de sauver la carrière de son navire mère, la British Yukon Navigation Company fait rénover le Klondike et le transforme en bateau de croisière. Par l’entremise d’un accord avec CP Air, la compagnie offre un service de croisière entre Whitehorse et Dawson en 1954 et 1955.

Bateau de croisière

Conversion en bateau de croisière
© Parcs Canada / Collection Ian Watson, no 17

Lors de la transformation qui a permis d’en faire un bateau de croisière, on a prolongé la structure des cabines du pont du Saloon vers l’arrière jusqu’au tableau pour y abriter un salon des passagers, aménagé d’autres installations dans les cabines des passagers, construit des quartiers pour l’équipage sur le pont de marchandises et le convertit du bois à l’huile..

Le salon
© Vancouver Maritime Museum

Des passagers profitent du nouveau salon à bord du S.S. Klondike II tout juste rénové.

Danseuses de cancan
© Vancouver Maritime Museum

Le nouveau salon des passagers comprenait une peinture murale fantaisiste représentant des danseuses de cancan de Dawson.

Pont-promenade
© Parcs Canada / Collection Bromley, no 11, 1954

Après la transformation qui a permis d’en faire un bateau de croisière, le prolongement du toit du nouveau pont du Saloon est devenu l’endroit tout indiqué pour les activités extérieures. Ici, l’officier Frank Heath donne une leçon de jeu de galets aux premiers passagers du bateau de croisière, en 1954.

Merveilles du paysage
© Parcs Canada / Collection Bromley, no 10, 1954

Les passagers profitant du pont-promenade interrompent leur partie de jeu de galets pour observer un glissement de terrain s’étant produit sur la rive. Lillian Crosse de Seattle, à gauche, Eric Lindsay de Vancouver, George Chandler (radio CJOR, Vancouver) et Jay West de Bellingham, à Washington. (Agence de voyages Williams)

La fin d’une époque
© Parcs Canada / Collection Ian Watson, no 19

Le 26 août 1955, jour du dernier trajet du S.S. Klondike, le bateau a fait une excursion d’une journée au lac Laberge, transportant à son bord des dignitaires et des habitants de Whitehorse.

Les excursions offertes sont courues, mais les coûts élevés de son fonctionnement viennent à bout de sa courte carrière comme navire à passagers. En août 1955, le Klondike II, le dernier bateau à aubes à naviguer sur le fleuve Yukon, fait son dernier voyage en direction de Whitehorse. Ce trajet allait mettre un terme à la navigation à vapeur sur le fleuve Yukon.

Lieu historique national S.S. Klondike

Le Klondike dans la Première Avenue à Whitehorse, remorqué par quatre bouteurs en train, 1966.

En 1960, la WP&YR fait don du Klondike II au gouvernement du Canada. En 1966, le navire est transporté du chantier naval de Whitehorse jusqu’à l’endroit où il se trouve aujourd’hui. Tiré par quatre bulldozers, le bateau avance sur des patins en acier graissés au moyen de flocons de savon.

Il est désigné lieu historique national en 1967. Le navire fait l’objet d’une restauration et d’un réaménagement soignés et reprend l’apparence qu’il avait à l’origine, en 1937. Le lieu historique national S.S. Klondike ouvre ses portes au public en 1981.