South St. Marys Island, layered with tons of rock and debris during canal construction, has since developed a thin cover of soil where plant life has become re-established. Hike the Attikamek trail, located across the lock gates on South St. Marys Island and witness this flora comeback.

Change can produce unexpected results. Where the landscape has been disturbed, different plants better adapted to the new light, moisture and soil conditions moved in. They bring with them a range of animals and insects that favour these plants for food, shelter or protection.

The umbrella-shaped blooms of small white flowers identify the Yarrow plant, once used by the Ojibwe as a medicinal poultice. Thrown upon coals to produce smoke, it was also inhaled to break a fever. Close to the ground, the Common Strawberry flourishes, providing summer snacks for a host of small animals. On the wind, you'll catch the sweet and soothing scent of the Balsam Poplar trees that are the favourite harvest of the local beaver population.

Cranberry, chokecherry, hawthorn and other fruit-bearing shrubs which border the trail, provide food and protection for the birds, small animals and insects which thrive in this rural oasis. Bristling with 2.8 cm thorns, the hawthorns often conceal the nests of birds taking advantage of the natural armament to discourage predation of their eggs and young.

Des tonnes de roches et de débris provenant de la construction du canal ont été jetés sur l'île St. Marys sud qui est maintenant recouverte d'une mince couche de terre sur laquelle les plantes ont pris racine. Faites une randonnée sur le sentier Attikamek, situé de l'autre côté des écluses de l'île South St. Marys, et soyez témoin de ce retour de la flore.

Le changement donne souvent des résultats inattendus. Ainsi, lorsque le paysage est bouleversé, des plantes mieux adaptées aux nouvelles conditions - luminosité, humidité et sol - viennent s'installer. Elles servent ensuite d'habitat ou de nourriture à diverses espèces d'animaux ou d'insectes.

Un bouquet de petites fleurs blanches permet d'identifier l'achillée mille-feuille, une plante utilisée autrefois par les Ojibwe comme cataplasme médicinal. Ils la faisaient aussi brûler sur des charbons pour produire une fumée qu'ils inhalaient en vue de guérir la fièvre. Les fraises des champs qui poussent au ras du sol sont une des collations préférées des petits animaux. Le peuplier baumier embaume l'air de son odeur douce et apaisante; la population locale de castors en raffole.

Les oiseaux, les petits animaux et les insectes, très nombreux dans ce cadre champêtre, trouvent nourriture et protection dans les arbustes fruitiers (airelle, merisier, aubépine). Les oiseaux cachent souvent leurs nids dans les aubépines parées d'épines de 2,8 cm afin de profiter de cette « armure » naturelle et ainsi éloigner les prédateurs des oeufs et des jeunes.