Historical portrait of a woman
Thérèse Casgrain, Ottawa, Ontario, approx. 1937
© Yousuf Karsh/Library and Archives Canada/PA-178177

Thérèse Casgrain was designated a national historic person in 2022.

Historical importance: Reformer, women's rights activist and politician.

Commemorative plaque: no plaque installedFootnote 1

Thérèse Casgrain (1896-1981)

Beginning in 1922, Thérèse Casgrain served as a prominent member of the Provincial Franchise Committee, which in 1928 became the Ligue des droits de la femme. Casgrain was the president of this organisation from 1928 to 1942, during which time she played a pivotal role in the fight that ultimately led to women’s right to vote in provincial elections in 1940. A true pioneer of the Quebec feminist movement, she was instrumental in fighting for the advancement of women from 1922 to 1966 and, as a founder of the Fédération des femmes du Québec in 1966, she helped to breathe new life into the Quebec and Canadian feminist movement. She became a source of inspiration for Francophone women outside Quebec and supported the demands of Indigenous women against the Indian Act. She also embraced many other causes, including peace and security in the world. A great humanist, she fought for social justice and civil liberties through her active involvement in politics with the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation from 1946 to 1963 and her participation in the League for Human Rights from 1963 to 1970.

Thérèse Casgrain, née Forget, was born in 1896 in Montréal, into a wealthy French-Canadian Catholic family and married Pierre-François Casgrain, a lawyer and politician, in 1916. She was a founding member of the Provincial Franchise Committee in 1922 and from that point on, she played an important role in the campaign for women’s suffrage. Under her leadership, the organization, under its new name of the Ligue des droits de la femme [League for Women’s Rights], advocated for women’s right to vote in Quebec along with other social and legal reforms. In 1940, under pressure from Casgrain and other feminist activists, the Quebec Liberal government led by Adélard Godbout, passed a bill giving women the right to vote.

 

Historical photo of a woman sitted
Thérèse Casgrain, Montréal, Québec, date unknown
© George Nakash/Library and Archives Canada/PA-123482
Historical photo of a woman standing and wearing a long dress
Thérèse Casgrain, Ottawa, Ontario, April 8th, 1939
© Yousuf Karsh/Library and Archives Canada/PA-178193
Historical photo of a woman standing
Thérèse Casgrain, 1960
© Library and Archives Canada/PA-178170

 

Postage stamp showcasing the portrait of a woman
Thérèse Casgrain, the common good, postage stamp
© Library and Archives Canada, Copyright: Canada Post Corporation

In 1946, she joined the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF), now the New Democratic Party, because, according to her memoirs, she “had long seen how badly Canada needed a political policy centred upon the common good rather than on the promotion of personal interests.” From 1951 to 1957, she led the Quebec wing of the party, becoming the first woman to head a political party in Canada. During her political career, she fought against social, economic and political injustices affecting men and women in the areas of employment, health, education, and housing.

In the 1960s, she served in leadership roles on numerous committees and associations, including president of the League for Human Rights, the Quebec branch of the Voice of Women, the Quebec Medical Aid to Vietnam Committee, and the French section of the Canadian Adult Education Association. She was also vice-president of the Consultative Committee on the Administration of Justice in Quebec and president of the Canadian Consumers Association for Quebec. In 1966, she helped establish the Fédération des femmes du Québec [Quebec Federation of Women], which sought to coordinate the efforts of various women’s organizations across the province. Thérèse Casgrain died in Montréal on November 2, 1981.

This press backgrounder was prepared at the time of the Ministerial announcement in 2022.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Portrait historique d'une femme
Thérèse Casgrain, Ottawa, Ontario, environ 1937
© Yousuf Karsh/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-178177

Thérèse Casgrain a été désignée personnage historique national en 2022.

Importance historique : Réformatrice, militante féministe et politicienne.

Plaque commémorative : pas de plaque installéeFootnote 1

Thérèse Casgrain (1896-1981)

Dès 1922, Thérèse Casgrain est l’une des membres de premier plan du Comité provincial du suffrage féminin, organisme qui devient en 1928 la Ligue des droits de la femme. Casgrain dirige ce même organisme de 1928 à 1942, période où elle joue un rôle crucial dans la lutte qui mène ultimement à l’obtention du droit de vote des femmes québécoises aux élections provinciales en 1940. Véritable pionnière du mouvement féministe québécois, elle est au cœur des combats pour l’avancement de la cause des femmes de 1922 à 1966 et contribue, en tant que fondatrice de la Fédération des femmes du Québec en 1966, à donner un nouveau souffle au mouvement féministe québécois et canadien. Elle devient une source d’inspiration pour les femmes francophones à l’extérieur du Québec et appuie les revendications des femmes autochtones contre la Loi sur les Indiens. Elle embrasse aussi de nombreuses autres causes notamment la paix et la sécurité dans le monde. Grande humaniste, elle lutte également pour la justice sociale et les libertés civiles entre autres par son engagement en politique active avec la Fédération du Commonwealth Coopératif de 1946 à 1963 et sa participation à la Ligue des droits de l’Homme de 1963 à 1970.

Thérèse Casgrain, née Forget, voit le jour en 1896 à Montréal au sein d’une famille catholique de la bourgeoisie canadienne-française et marie en 1916 Pierre-François Casgrain, avocat et politicien. Elle fait partie des membres fondateurs du Comité provincial pour le suffrage des femmes en 1922 et, dès lors, joue un rôle de premier plan dans cette campagne. Sous sa direction, l’organisation, sous sa nouvelle dénomination de la Ligue des droits de la femme, milite pour le droit de vote des femmes au Québec ainsi que d’autres réformes sociales et juridiques. En 1940, le gouvernement libéral d’Adélard Godbout, sous la pression de Casgrain et d’autres militantes féministes, adopte une loi accordant le droit de vote aux femmes.

 

Photo historique d'une femme assise
Thérèse Casgrain, Montréal, Québec, date inconnue
© George Nakash/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-123482
Photo historique d'une femme debout, portant une longue robe
Thérèse Casgrain, Ottawa, Ontario, 8 avril 1939
© Yousuf Karsh/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-178193
Photo historique d'une femme debout
Thérèse Casgrain, 1960
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-178170

 

Timbre-poste montrant le portrait d'une femme
Thérèse Casgrain, le bien commun, timbre-poste
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Droits d'auteurs: Société canadienne des postes

En 1946, elle se joint au Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF), la formation politique qui est aujourd’hui le Nouveau Parti démocratique, parce que, selon ses mémoires, elle voyait « à quel point le Canada avait besoin d’une politique axée sur le bien commun plutôt que sur la promotion d’intérêts personnels ». De 1951 à 1957, elle en dirige l’aile québécoise et devient ainsi la première femme à diriger un parti politique au Canada. Au cours de sa carrière politique, elle lutte contre les injustices sociales, économiques et politiques qui touchent autant les hommes que les femmes en matière d’emploi, de santé, d’éducation et de logement.

Au cours des années 1960, elle occupe la présidence ou la vice-présidence de nombreux comités et associations dont la présidence de la Ligue des droits de l’Homme, la présidence de la section québécoise de la Voix des femmes, la présidence du Comité du secours médical du Québec au Viêt-Nam, la présidence de la section francophone de l’Association d’éducation des adultes du Canada, la vice-présidence du Comité consultatif de l’administration de la justice au Québec et la présidence de l’Association des consommateurs du Canada pour le Québec. En 1966, elle participe à la mise sur pied de la Fédération des femmes du Québec qui cherche à coordonner les efforts des divers organismes féminins à travers la province. Thérèse Casgrain décède à Montréal le 2 novembre 1981.

La présente fiche d’information a été rédigée au moment de l’annonce ministérielle en 2022.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus


Liens connexes