Parks Canada Financial Statements

Future-oriented Statement of Operations for the Year Ending March 31 (Unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)
Planned
Results
2016-2017
Estimated
Results
2015-2016
Expenses
Parks Canada Programs
Heritage Places Establishment 17,149 17,150
Heritage Places Conservation 131,730 133,862
Heritage Places Promotion and Public Support 47,358 40,546
Visitor Experience 274,007 296,280
Heritage Canals, Highways and Townsites Management 70,883 86,567
Internal Services 141,002 144,219
Total expenses 682,129 718,624
Revenues
Entrance fees 60,468 58,010
Recreational fees 25,484 24,448
Rentals and concessions 25,051 24,032
Other operating revenues 6,140 5,891
Townsites revenues 2,812 2,698
Staff housing 3,115 2,988
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (70) (67)
Total revenues 123,000 118,000
Net cost from continuing operations 559,129 600,624

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to Future-Oriented Statements of Operations for the Year Ending March 31, 2017 (Unaudited)

1. Methodology and Significant assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the Agency as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2015-2016 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2015 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2016-2017 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The Agency's core activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year.
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  • Amortization expenses of tangible capital assets are estimated based on the expected capital asset closing balances.

These assumptions are adopted as at November 30, 2015.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2015-2016 and for 2016-2017, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing the future-oriented statement of operations, the Agency has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

  • The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of tangible capital assets may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  • Implementation of new collective agreements.
  • Economic conditions may affect the amount of revenue earned.
  • Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.
  • Changes within Government of Canada policies and direction or accounting standards.
  • Weather or other natural adversities or disasters.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Agency will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing Supplementary Estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

This future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Government's accounting policies stated below, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards. The future-oriented statement of operations was prepared using the accounting standards in effect at the time of preparation. The estimated results for the current fiscal year and the planned results for the future year may have to be restated when presented as planned information in the historical financial statement for that year.

a) Parliamentary authorities:

The Agency is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Agency do not parallel financial reporting according to Canadian generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations are not necessarily the same as those provided through authorities from Parliament. Note 4 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.

b) Expenses:

Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis. Expenses for the Agency's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges provided by other government departments which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

c) Revenue recognition:

Entrance fees, recreational fees, rentals and concessions, other operating, townsites and staff housing revenues are recognized in the year in which the goods or services are provided by the Agency. Funds received for future services are recorded as deferred revenue.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the Agency's liabilities. While the Agency is expected to maintain accounting control, it has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the Agency's gross revenues.

d) Measurement uncertainty:

The preparation of the future-oriented statement of operations in accordance with Canadian Generally Accepted Accounting Principles requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities at the date of the future-oriented statement of operations and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses for the year. The most significant items where estimates are used are estimated useful lives of tangible capital assets and environment-related liabilities. Actual results could differ significantly from those estimated. Management's estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the future-oriented statement of operations in the year they become known.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The Agency is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Agency do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. The Agency receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities. Accordingly, the Agency has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities:
(In thousands of dollars)
Planned
2016-2017
Estimated
2015-2016
Net cost of operations 559,129 600,624
Revenue received pursuant to section 20 of the
Parks Canada Agency Act
123,000 118,000
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (95,216) (86,518)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (42,893) (44,527)
Increase in environmental liability (3,411) (3,411)
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (141,520) (134,456)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions and improvements to tangible capital assets 637,636 499,748
Increase (decrease) in New Parks and Historic Sites Account (4,707) (4,522)
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 632,929 495,226
Requested authorities 1,173,538 1,079,394


b) Authorities requested:
(In thousands of dollars)
Planned Results
2016-2017
Estimated Results
2015-2016
Authorities requested:
Vote 1 - Program expenditures 997,202 908,422
Vote 5 - New Parks and Historic Sites account 500 500
Statutory amounts:
Expenditures equivalent to revenue received pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 123,000 118,000
Contributions to employee benefits plan 52,836 52,472
Requested authorities 1,173,538 1,079,394

États financiers de Parcs Canada

État des résultats prospectif pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars (non audité)

(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
prévus
2016-2017
Résultats
estimatifs
2015-2016
Charges
Programmes de Parcs Canada
Création de lieux patrimoniaux 17 149 17 150
Conservation des lieux patrimoniaux 131 730 133 862
Promotion des lieux patrimoniaux et soutien du public 47 358 40 546
Expérience du visiteur 274 007 296 280
Gestion des canaux patrimoniaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains 70 883 86 567
Services internes 141 002 144 219
Total des charges 682 129 718 624
Revenus
Droits d'entrée 60 468 58 010
Droits récréatifs 25 484 24 448
Locations et concessions 25 051 24 032
Autres revenus d'exploitation 6 140 5 891
Revenus de lotissements urbains 2 812 2 698
Logement du personnel 3 115 2 988
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (70) (67)
Total des revenus 123 000 118 000
Coût net des activités poursuivies 559 129 600 624

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes afférentes à l'état des résultats prospectif pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2017 (non audité)

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de l'Agence qui sont décrits dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de fin d'exercice pour 2015-2016 sont fondés sur des résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l'exercice 2016-2017.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  • Les activités de l'Agence resteront, pour l'essentiel, pareilles à celle de l'an dernier.
  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l'expérience acquise. L'évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  • La charge d'amortissement est estimée sur la base du solde de clôture prévu des immobilisations corporelles.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2015.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2015-2016 et pour 2016-2017, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultat prospectif, l'Agence a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évalués de façon continue et sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et les états financiers historiques sont entre autres :

  • Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d'immobilisations peuvent influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d'amortissement.
  • L'entrée en vigueur d'une nouvelle convention collective.
  • La conjoncture économique peut avoir un effet sur le montant du revenu gagné.
  • Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l'exercice.
  • Changements dans les politiques ou les directions du gouvernement du Canada, ou encore dans les normes comptables.
  • La météo ou autre adversités naturelles ou catastrophiques.

Une fois que le rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, l'Agence ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement énoncées ci-après, lesquelles s'appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé selon les normes comptables en vigueur au moment de la préparation. Les résultats estimatifs de l'exercice en cours et les résultats prévus du prochain exercice pourraient avoir à être redressés lorsqu'ils seront présentés à titre de résultats prévus dans les états financiers historiques de cet exercice.

a) Autorisations parlementaires :

L'Agence est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La présentation des autorisations consenties à l'Agence ne correspond pas à la présentation des rapports financiers selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont prévus par les autorisations parlementaires. La note 4 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de présentation des rapports financiers.

b) Charges :

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du ministère sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charge de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utilie estimative de l'actif.

c) Constatation des revenus :

Les droits d'entrée, droits récréatifs, locations et concessions, autres revenus d'exploitation, revenus de lotissements urbains et du logement du personnel sont constatés dans l'exercice où les biens ou services sont fournis par l'Agence. Les fonds reçus pour des services futurs sont comptabilisés comme revenus reportés.

Les revenus qui ne sont pas disponibles à être dépensés à nouveau ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs de l'Agence. Bien que l'on s'attend à ce que l'Agence maintienne le contrôle comptable, elle n'a pas l'autorité sur la disposition des revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l'Agence.

d) Incertitude relative à la mesure :

La préparation de l'état des résultats prospectif conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada exige que la direction fasse des estimations et formule des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés de l'actif et du passif à la date de l'état des résultats prospectif et sur les revenus et les charges déclarés pendant l'exercice visé. Les principaux éléments pour lesquels des estimations sont faites sont la durée de vie utile estimative des immobilisations corporelles et les passifs reliés à l'environnement. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans l'état des résultats prospectif de l'exercice où ils sont connus.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

L'Agence est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties à l'Agence ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats des activités de fonctionnement nets de l'Agence pour l'exercice diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées :
(En milliers de dollars)
Résultats prévus
2016-2017
Résultats estimatifs
2015-2016
Coût de fonctionnement net 559 129 600 624
Revenus reçus en vertu de l'article 20 de la
Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada
123 000 118 000
Ajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (95 216) (86 518)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (42 893) (44 527)
Variation du passif environnemental (3 411) (3 411)
Total des éléments qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations (141 520) (134 456)
Ajustements pour les éléments sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisitions et améliorations d'immobilisations corporelles 637 636 499 748
Variation du compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques (4 707) (4 522)
Total des éléments sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations 632 929 495 226
Autorisations demandées 1 173 538 1 079 394


b) Autorisations demandées :
(En milliers de dollars)
Résultats prévus
2016-2017
Résultats estimatifs
2015-2016
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 - Dépenses du programme 997 202 908 422
Crédit 5 - Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 500 500
Montants législatifs :
Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus reçus en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 123 000 118 000
Cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux 52 836 52 472
Autorisations demandées 1 173 538 1 079 394