Consistent with the requirements of the Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation (2009) and Treasury Board Policy on Results (2016), the evaluation addressed the GCCP’s:

  • Relevance:
    • continued need and alignment with government priorities and federal roles and responsibilities.
  • Performance:
    • effectiveness, efficiency and economy.

This evaluation covers the period from fiscal year 2010-11 to 2014-15. Details on specific evaluation questions, expectations, methods and limitations are found in the full report.[1]

Program Description

  • Parks Canada managers use the GCCP to assist recipients (e.g., voluntary and non-profit organizations, academic institutions, other levels of government) in delivering a broad range of activities and projects in support of Parks Canada’s mandate. This contribution program accounts for about 1% of the Agency’s direct program spending.
  • Parks Canada’s ‘Centre of Expertise’ for the GCCP provides centralized oversight to ensure the program’s strategic functioning.

What We Found

Relevance

  • The GCCP is relevant and consistent with the priorities, roles and responsibilities of both the Parks Canada Agency and the Government of Canada.
  • A continued need for the program is justified by the ongoing demand for funding support. This funding enables projects that otherwise may not have taken place.
  • The relevance of the program could be increased by broadening the GCCP’s Terms and Conditions to better reflect the Agency’s ongoing and emerging corporate priorities.

Effectiveness

  • The prescribed process for contribution agreements under the GCCP is being followed. Projects are being approved and funding dispersed.
  • The GCCP has set performance monitoring and reporting expectations but required project performance reports are not being consistently produced. Where data is available, evidence suggests that funded projects are achieving their intended results.
  • The Centre of Expertise has yet to consistently fulfil its oversight role. Limitations with the GCCP’s records management and performance information impede the Centre’s ability to effectively monitor compliance and track results at the project-level or assess and report on the GCCP’s performance at the program-level.

Efficiency and Economy

  • Overall, GCCP expenditures were aligned with approved allocations and approved funding has been dispersed as planned.
  • Parks Canada has made efforts to improve the efficiency of the GCCP (e.g., continuous clarifications made to requirements and templates).
  • The GCCP lacks a standardized risk-based approach for assessing and approving projects to ensure that administrative requirements are aligned with the level of risk and materiality of individual projects. As a results, key components of the process continue to be cumbersome and ill-suited to lower value agreements. 

Recommendations and Management Response

Recommendation 1

The Agency’s Chief Financial Officer should review the GCCP’s Terms and Conditions to ensure that stated requirements, particularly as they relate to expected results and outcomes, are aligned with Parks Canada’s Departmental Results Framework (to be approved by November 2017). 

Management Response: Agreed.

The Chief Financial Officer Directorate will review the GCCP’s Terms and Conditions to ensure alignment with Parks Canada’s Departmental Results Framework. Should changes be deemed pertinent, revised Terms and Conditions will be submitted to Treasury Board for approval. Target: 2017-18.

Recommendation 2

The Chief Financial Officer should implement a risk-based approach to the GCCP, putting measures in place to ensure that program requirements are aligned with the level of risk of the project being funded. This includes:

  • Developing and applying a standardized risk assessment tool for proposals, with clearly documented rating criteria; and
  • Reviewing the GCCP’s contribution agreement process to streamline processes (e.g., approvals, monitoring and reporting requirements) where risk is low.
Management Response: Agreed.

The Chief Financial Officer Directorate will implement a risk-based approach to the GCCP, including a standardized risk assessment tool and streamlined processes for low-risk projects. Target: 2017-18.

Recommendation 3

The Chief Financial Officer should review program-level performance monitoring and reporting needs and processes to ensure that: 1) they are aligned with the Centre of Expertise’s roles and responsibilities as they relate to ensuring the strategic and centralized functioning of the program; 2) they support a risk-based approach; and 3) that effective mechanisms to collect the required data are in place. As part of this review, the Chief Financial Officer should:

  • Consider the development and delivery of training courses/materials to ensure all programs users and recipients are made aware of GCCP requirements.
  • Develop mechanisms to ensure consistent recipient reporting (e.g., standardized templates).
  • Review the structure of current post-project evaluations and ensure that requirements to complete these evaluations are consistently met by program users.
  • Implement further quality assurance and quality control mechanisms to ensure that reliable program information is collected and monitored through the GCCP’s centralized administrative database and records.
Management Response: Agreed.

The Chief Financial Officer Directorate will conduct a review of program-level performance monitoring and reporting needs and processes to identify necessary changes. Targets: Review completed, 2016-17; changes implemented, 2017-18.


[1] Evaluation report also includes results of an evaluation of the Grant to the International Peace Garden and the Grant to support the Trans Canada Trail Foundation’s Fundraising Campaign. There were no recommendations made related to these grant programs.

Conformément à les exigences de la Politique d’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor (2009) et de la Politique sur les résultats du Conseil du Trésor (2016), l’évaluation portait sur les aspects suivants du PCCG :

  • Pertinence : besoin continu et harmonisation avec les priorités, les rôles et les responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral.
  • Rendement : efficacité, efficience et économie.

Cette évaluation porte sur les exercices 2010-2011 à 2014-2015. Pour plus de détails sur les questions, attentes, méthodes et limites propres à l’évaluation, consultez le rapport complet.[1]

Description du programme

  • Les gestionnaires de Parcs Canada utilisent le PCCG pour aider les bénéficiaires (p. ex. organismes bénévoles et sans but lucratif, établissements scolaires, autres ordres de gouvernement) à réaliser une foule d’activités et de projets à l’appui du mandat de Parcs Canada. Ce programme de contribution représente environ 1 % des dépenses directes de l’Agence.
  • Le centre d’expertise de Parcs Canada chargé du PCCG assure une surveillance centralisé pour veiller au fonctionnement stratégique du programme.

Constatations

Pertinence

  • Le PCCG est pertinent et cadre avec les priorités, les rôles et les responsabilités de l’Agence Parcs Canada et du gouvernement du Canada.
  • Le programme est toujours nécessaire compte tenu de la demande constante de soutien financier. Ce soutien facilite la réalisation de projets qui autrement n’auraient pas vu le jour.
  • On pourrait accroître la pertinence du programme en élargissant les Modalités du PCCG afin de bien tenir compte des priorités actuelles et nouvelles de l’Agence.

Efficacité

  • La procédure prescrite pour les ententes de contribution dans le cadre du PCCG est suivie. Les projets sont approuvés et les fonds sont distribués.
  • Une surveillance du rendement et des attentes en matière de rapports sont établies dans le PCCG, mais les rapports requis sur le rendement des projets ne sont pas produits de façon constante. D’après les données existantes, les projets financés atteignent les résultats attendus.
  • Le centre d’expertise n’assume toujours pas son rôle de surveillance de façon constante. Les limites associées à la gestion des dossiers du PCCG et aux renseignements sur le rendement nuisent à la capacité du centre de surveiller efficacement la conformité et de suivre les résultats à l’échelon du projet ou d’évaluer le rendement du PCCG et d’en faire rapport à l’échelon du programme.

Efficience et économie

  • De façon générale, les dépenses du PCCG correspondent aux affectations approuvées et les fonds approuvés ont été distribués comme prévu.
  • L’Agence Parcs Canada s’est efforcée d’améliorer l’efficience du PCCG (p. ex. précisions continuellement apportées aux exigences et aux gabarits).
  • Il manque au PCCG une approche normalisée axée sur le risque pour évaluer et approuver les projets et s’assurer que les exigences administratives correspondent au niveau de risque et d’importance relative de chaque projet. Ainsi, les éléments clés du processus demeurent lourds et mal adaptés en ce qui concerne les ententes de faible valeur.

Recommandations et Réponse de la direction

Recommandation 1

Le dirigeant principal des finances de l’Agence devrait procéder à l’examen des Modalités du PCCG pour s’assurer que les exigences prévues, plus particulièrement celles qui concernent les résultats attendus, correspondent au Cadre ministériel des résultats de Parcs Canada (qui devra être approuvé en novembre 2017). 

Réponse de la direction : En accord.

La Direction générale des finances entreprendra un examen des Modalités du PCCG pour assurer son harmonisation au Cadre ministériel des résultats de Parcs Canada. Si des modifications sont jugées nécessaires, les Modalités révisées seront soumises au Conseil du Trésor pour approbation. Cible : 2017-18

Recommandation 2

Le dirigeant principal des finances devrait mettre en œuvre une approche fondée sur le risque pour le PCCG, mettant en application des mesures pour assurer l’adéquation entre les exigences du programme et le niveau de risque associé au projet qui est financé. La mise en œuvre d’une telle approche implique ce qui suit:

  • La création et l’utilisation d’un outil d’évaluation des risques uniformisé pour les propositions, outil qui doit être associé à des critères de notation clairement établis.
  • L’examen du processus concernant les accords de contribution du PCCG pour simplifier les processus (p. ex., approbations, exigences en matière de surveillance et de production de rapports) lorsque le niveau de risque est faible.
Réponse de la direction : En accord.

La Direction générale des finances mettra en œuvre une approche fondée sur le risque pour le PCCG, incluant la création d’un outil d’évaluation des risques uniformisé pour les propositions et un processus simplifié pour les projets à faible risque. Cible: 2017-18.

Recommandation 3

Le dirigeant principal des finances devrait procéder à l’examen des besoins et des processus touchant la surveillance du rendement et de la production de rapports à l’échelle du programme pour s’assurer : 1) qu’ils correspondent aux rôles et aux responsabilités du Centre d’expertise relativement à son rôle d’assurer le fonctionnement stratégique et centralisé du programme, 2) qu’ils contribuent à une approche fondée sur le risque, et 3) qu’il existe des mécanismes efficaces pour recueillir les données nécessaires. Dans le cadre de cet examen, le dirigeant principal des finances devrait:

  • envisager de créer et d’offrir des cours ou des documents de formation pour s’assurer que tous les utilisateurs du programme et tous les bénéficiaires connaissent les exigences du PCCG;
  • mettre au point des mécanismes pour s’assurer que les bénéficiaires produisent des rapports de manière systématique (p. ex., modèles uniformisés);
  • revoir la structure actuelle des évaluations après projet et s’assurer que les exigences pour réaliser ces évaluations sont invariablement respectées par les utilisateurs du programme;
  • mettre en œuvre d’autres mécanismes d’assurance et de contrôle de la qualité pour assurer la collecte et le suivi d’informations fiables sur le programme par l’intermédiaire de la base de données administrative centralisée et les dossiers individuels du PCCG
Réponse de la direction : En accord.

La Direction générale des finances procèdera à un examen des besoins et des processus touchant la surveillance du rendement et de la production de rapports à l’échelle du programme pour identifier les changements nécessaires. Cibles: Examen complété, 2016-17; changements mis en oeuvre, 2017-18.


[1] Le rapport d’évaluation comprend aussi les résultats d’une évaluation de la subvention au Jardin international de la paix et de la subvention pour soutenir la campagne de financement de la Fondation du Sentier transcanadien. Il n'y avait aucun recommandations faites relative à ces programmes de subventions.