Common menu bar links

Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

Painting of Fort St. Joseph by Edward Walsh
© Edward Walsh

Human Relationships at Fort St. Joseph
By Fran Robb

The community of St. Joseph was not always thought of as the military Siberia of Upper Canada. During its occupancy many happy hours were spent there by the majority of people.

Looking upon the ruins which now remain, it is difficult to realize this spot was once a major fur trading centre on the upper Great Lakes. Here red coated soldiers performed garrison duty. Children laughed and romped. Men and women lived, loved and trod paths now obliterated by time. They planted their vegetable gardens and flower plots; performing all the innumerable tasks of maintaining a home in the wilderness. To this day one can see roses, asparagus and parsnips, growing wild through the passage of time.

Life upon the fringes of civilization led to many incidents in which friendship between the First Nations and the people of St. Joseph, be they military or civilian, flourished. Gifts from the indigenous people were a very important source of provisions for the Fort and town surrounding it. Corn became vital in the maintenance of the garrison, community and livestock. Generosity between the Aboriginal peoples and the community was often reciprocal.

Living along the frontier
© Parks Canada

The friendship and mutual esteem may be considered unusual, but the history of later events proves that at Fort St. Joseph, First Nations and European relationships were friendly. At the moment of crisis, the War of 1812, the First Nations Allies stood solidly with the British in the very first offensive military manoeuvre, the taking of the American Fort Mackinac.

Thus human relationships stretched out from Fort St. Joseph and in turn, impinged upon it, involving the British Military, British Indian Department, fur traders, Métis, First Nations and settlers. Lines of blood, status, race and nationality were sharply drawn on the frontier, where all were facing the severe challenges of the northern environment. As a result, the human qualities and ties between individuals often influenced the course of events as much as traditional group loyalties.

Back to shoreLINES

Lieu historique national du Canada Fort-St. Joseph

Au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Fort-St. Joseph, peint par Edward Walsh
© Edward Walsh

Relations humaines à Fort-St. Joseph
par Fran Robb

La collectivité de St. Joseph n’a pas toujours été connue comme la « Sibérie du Haut-Canada ». Durant ses années d’occupation, la majorité des gens y ont passé de très bons moments.

Lorsqu’on regarde les vestiges qui restent aujourd’hui, il est difficile de penser que cet endroit a déjà été un important poste de traite du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs. Ici, les soldats en tunique rouge effectuaient les tâches de la garnison. Les enfants riaient et jouaient. Les hommes et les femmes vivaient, s’aimaient et empruntaient les sentiers désormais effacés par le temps. Ils ont planté des légumes et des fleurs au jardin; ils ont su tenir maison dans un milieu sauvage. Encore aujourd’hui on peut apercevoir la rose, l’asperge et le panais pousser ici et là en souvenir du temps passé.

La vie loin de la civilisation a mené à de nombreux incidents qui ont fait naître une amitié entre les Premières Nations et les habitants de St. Joseph, militaires ou civils. Les cadeaux des Autochtones représentaient une importante source de provisions pour le fort et la ville autour. Le maïs était devenu un aliment essentiel à la survie de la garnison, de la collectivité et du bétail. La générosité des Autochtones et des gens de la collectivité allait dans un sens comme dans l’autre.

La vie le long de la frontière
© Parcs Canada

Cette amitié et cette estime mutuelle peut sembler inhabituelle, mais des événements viendront plus tard prouver qu’à Fort-St. Joseph, les relations entre les Premières Nations et les pionniers européens étaient amicales. Au moment de la crise, la guerre de 1812, les alliés des Premières Nations se sont montrés solidaires des Britanniques dans leur première offensive militaire contre les Américains : la prise du fort Mackinac.

Les relations humaines se sont étendues au-delà du fort et ont touché les militaires britanniques, le ministère britannique des Indiens, les commerçants de fourrures, les Métis, les Premières Nations et les pionniers. Les liens du sang, les statuts sociaux, les races et les nationalités se définirent tous clairement à la frontière, où tous ont connu les rudes épreuves de la vie en milieu nordique. Les qualités humaines et les liens entre les personnes ont ainsi influencé le cours des événements tout autant que les loyautés traditionnelles entre les groupes.

au fil de L'EAU