UPDATE: Starting June 1, some Parks Canada places will begin to offer limited access and services while maintaining physical distancing measures. Openings will differ across the country. Information will be updated regularly.

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority.

We are following the advice of public health experts and taking steps to support the Government of Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of COVID-19 and reduce risks to visitors, employees, and other users of Parks Canada spaces.

Update for May 27, 2020

Being outdoors and in nature brings a number of health and wellness benefits. As all Canadians do their part to flatten the curve of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is important that people have access to natural spaces where they can go to get exercise and fresh air in settings that facilitate physical distancing.

On June 1, 2020, Parks Canada will begin a safe, gradual opening of some outdoor locations in national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

This means:

  • Starting June 1, visitors will be permitted to access some trails, day use areas, and green spaces at some locations. Until then, all suspensions of visitor services and closures of facilities announced in March remain in place.
  • For their own safety, visitors should not try to access locations that are closed.
  • All camping facilities remain closed until at least June 21, 2020, while Parks Canada assesses whether and how these services might resume. Group activities and public events will be prohibited until further notice. All existing reservations set to take place prior to June 21, 2020, will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full.
  • Highways and roadways which pass through Parks Canada places will remain open.
  • Parks Canada will coordinate the resumption of services with Indigenous partners, communities, provinces and territories and respect their concerns about COVID-19.

Only places and activities where health and safety risks can be managed will be available for visitation. The government is asking Canadians to be cautious and conservative in their use of these places, to observe travel restrictions, to respect the guidance of public health experts, and to make every effort to keep one another safe.

Opening details will differ across the country. Visitors are asked to plan ahead by checking this website before they travel. Parks Canada locations are listed below.

Current situation

What is the current situation in Parks Canada?

Parks Canada is calling on all Canadians to support the national effort to limit the spread of COVID-19 and stay home. All Parks Canada visitor facilities are temporarily closed, all visitor services and all motor vehicle access by visitors is temporarily suspended until further notice.

This means:

  • All visitor services, including reception, information, lockage and mooring are suspended until further notice;
  • All visitor facilities, including parking lots, washrooms, day use areas and visitor centres are closed until further notice;
  • All camping facilities including backcountry camping, oTENTiks, and other roofed accommodations remain closed until further notice;
  • All events, group and interpretive activities are cancelled until at least May 31, 2020;
  • Parks Canada will not be taking new reservations until at least June 21, 2020. All existing reservations set to take place prior to May 31, 2020, will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full.

Residents of townsites will still be permitted vehicular access, but those with recreational properties within National Parks are strongly encouraged to stay home.

What are we asking visitors to do?

Starting June 1, 2020, visitors will be able to access certain Park Canada locations. These openings will differ across the country so we encourage you to check our website regularly for updates. Until then, our visitor facilities and vehicle parking do remain closed which is why we encourage you to stay home. Anyone considering a visit to a Parks Canada location, including those in urban areas, should cancel their plans until June 1.

What services remain available?

Starting June 1, 2020, visitors will be able to access some trails, day use areas, and green spaces in certain Parks Canada places. Until then, all visitor services are suspended and all parking lots, vehicle services, washrooms, day use facilities, visitor centres, and all camping facilities, including oTENTiks, yurts and backcountry camping, are closed.

These measures are necessary to support the national effort to limit the spread of COVID-19 and reduce health and safety risks to all Canadians.Many trails across the Parks Canada network are closed for public safety, for the protection of ecological or cultural resources, because of human-wildlife interaction concerns, or limited search and rescue capacity.

What basic critical operations will Parks Canada still provide?

While visitor services are temporarily suspended, Parks Canada will continue to deliver services critical for Canadians, including highway maintenance, fire response, dam operations and water management on historic waterways, avalanche control, among others.

What is the current situation in Canada?

This is an evolving situation. Visit the Public Health Agency of Canada Coronavirus disease page, or follow Canada’s Chief Public Health Officer, Dr. Theresa Tam, on Twitter for the latest information.

All Parks Canada consultations and formal engagement on management plans are suspended until further notice.

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada is following the advice of public health experts and implementing measures to support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce risks to employees and visitors.

As a result, Parks Canada has also suspended all public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples on management plans until further notice.

Management plans are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors, and the public.

The Agency is currently focusing its efforts on critical operations. There is, therefore, limited capacity to undertake full and meaningful management planning consultations at this time. Parks Canada also recognizes that the focus of the Canadian public, Indigenous partners and our stakeholders is on public health and safety and the economy.

Parks Canada is committed to resuming all management planning activities, including public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples, once operations return to normal and capacity allows.

Specific Parks Canada locations

Below, please find the links to specific Parks Canada locations that have special instructions.

Western Canada

Canadian Prairies

Ontario and Quebec

Ontario
Quebec

Atlantic Canada

Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island

Northern Canada

Is it safe to visit a Parks Canada place?

Your health and safety

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency.

Currently, Parks Canada is asking Canadians to stay home and support the national effort to limit the spread of COVID-19. Anyone considering a visit to a Parks Canada location, including those in urban areas, should cancel their plans.

In the coming weeks, this page will provide detailed information on planned openings in June and information on what to expect when you visit.

We invite visitors to plan ahead by checking this website often before they travel.

Precautions

Parks Canada is encouraging all visitors to observe the advice and guidance of public health authorities and help prevent the spread of COVID-19. Here are some things you can do to help keep you, your family, and your neighbours healthy and safe.

  • Practice physical distancing by keeping a healthy space of two metres between you and others.
  • Practice good hand hygiene by washing your hands frequently and avoiding touching your face. Use hand sanitizer when in public spaces where you must touch surfaces.
  • Be extra cautious when engaging in any activities to avoid injury and/or getting lost to help minimize the demands placed on emergency response, search and rescue teams, and on the health care system.
  • Leave no trace when you visit outdoor spaces. Please take all your garbage with you and help keep these places clean.
  • Abide by all travel advisories.

Will there be refunds in light of closures?

Reservations
  • All camping facilities including backcountry camping, oTENTiks, and other roofed accommodations remain closed until further notice.
  • All existing reservations set to take place prior to June 21, 2020, will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full.
  • Parks Canada will not be taking new reservations until at least June 22, 2020. If you have a reservation after June 21, 2020, you do not need to cancel this reservation. You are encouraged to check back closer to your arrival regarding cancellations.
Passes and permits
  • The sales of all passes has been temporarily suspended until further notice. Please check regularly for updates.
  • For current pass holders, Parks Canada will automatically extend the end date of Discovery Passes for the full duration of the suspension period. That means that for each month or part of a month that visitor services are not offered due to Parks Canada's efforts to limit the spread of COVID-19, a full month will be added to the end date of the annual pass.

Stay connected

MISE À JOUR : À compter du 1er juin, certains endroits de Parcs Canada offriront un accès et des services limités tout en maintenant des mesures de distanciation physique. Les réouvertures varieront d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les informations seront mises à jour régulièrement.

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence.

Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts de la santé publique et prend des mesures pour appuyer les efforts du gouvernement du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et à réduire les risques pour les visiteurs, les employés et les autres utilisateurs des espaces de Parcs Canada.

Mise à jour du 27 mai

Le contact avec la nature apporte un certain nombre de bienfaits pour la santé et le bien-être. Tandis que tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes font leur part pour aplatir la courbe de la pandémie de COVID-19, il est important qu’ils aient accès à des endroits où ils peuvent profiter du grand air, faire de l’exercice et pratiquer la distanciation physique.

Le 1er juin 2020, Parcs Canada commencera une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs des parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation.

Cela signifie que :

  • À compter du 1er juin, les visiteurs seront autorisés à accéder à certains sentiers, aires de fréquentation diurne et espaces verts à certains endroits. D'ici là, toutes les suspensions des services aux visiteurs et les fermetures d'installations annoncées en mars restent en vigueur.
  • Pour leur propre sécurité, les visiteurs ne doivent pas essayer d'accéder à des lieux fermés.
  • Toutes les installations de camping restent fermées au moins jusqu'au 21 juin 2020, tandis que Parcs Canada évalue si et comment ces services pourraient reprendre. Les activités de groupe et les événements publics seront interdits jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Toutes les réservations existantes qui doivent avoir lieu avant le 21 juin 2020 seront automatiquement annulées et remboursées en totalité.
  • Les autoroutes et les routes qui traversent les sites de Parcs Canada resteront ouvertes.
  • Parcs Canada coordonnera la reprise des services avec les partenaires autochtones, les communautés, les provinces et les territoires en respectant leurs préoccupations concernant COVID-19.

Seuls les lieux et activités où les risques pour la santé et la sécurité peuvent être gérés seront disponibles pour les visites. Le gouvernement demande aux Canadiens d'être prudents et conservateurs dans leur utilisation de ces lieux, de respecter les restrictions de voyage, de respecter les conseils des experts en santé publique et de tout mettre en œuvre pour se protéger mutuellement.

Les détails d’ouverture varieront d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les visiteurs sont priés de planifier à l'avance en consultant ce site Web avant de voyager. Les emplacements de Parcs Canada sont énumérés ci-dessous.

Situation actuelle

Quelle est la situation actuelle à Parcs Canada?

Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiens d'appuyer l'effort national visant à limiter la propagation du COVID-19 et de rester à la maison. Toutes les installations pour les visiteurs de Parcs Canada sont temporairement fermées, tous les services aux visiteurs et tout accès aux véhicules à moteur par les visiteurs sont temporairement suspendus jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Cela signifie que :

  • Tous les services aux visiteurs, y compris la réception, l’information, l’éclusage et l’amarrage sont suspendus jusqu’à nouvel ordre;
  • Toutes les installations destinées aux visiteurs, y compris les stationnements, les toilettes, les aires de fréquentation diurne et les centres d’accueil sont fermées jusqu’à nouvel ordre;
  • Toutes les installations de camping, y compris le camping dans l’arrière-pays, les tentes oTENTik et les autres types d’hébergement avec toit demeurent fermées jusqu’à nouvel ordre.
  • Tous les événements et les activités de groupe et d'interprétation sont annulés au moins jusqu'au 21 juin 2020;
  • Parcs Canada ne prendra pas de nouvelles réservations au moins jusqu'au 22 juin 2020. Toutes les réservations existantes devant prendre place avant le 21 juin 2020 seront automatiquement annulées et entièrement remboursés.

L'accès en véhicule demeurera permis pour les résidents des lotissements urbains, mais les gens qui possèdent des propriétés de loisirs dans les parcs nationaux sont fortement encouragés à rester à la maison.

Que doivent faire les visiteurs?

À compter du 1er juin 2020, les visiteurs pourront accéder à certains lieux de Parcs Canada. Ces ouvertures étant différentes d'un bout à l’autre du pays, nous vous encourageons à consulter régulièrement notre site Web pour les mises à jour. D’ici là, nos installations pour les visiteurs ainsi que les stationnements restent fermés et peuvent ne pas être sécuritaires. Quiconque envisage de visiter un lieu de Parcs Canada, y compris ceux des régions urbaines, devrait annuler leur plan jusqu'au 1er juin.

Quels services aux visiteurs demeurent disponibles?

À compter du 1er juin 2020, les visiteurs pourront accéder à certains sentiers, aires de fréquentation diurne et espaces verts dans certains endroits de Parcs Canada. D'ici là, tous les services aux visiteurs sont suspendus et tous les stationnements, les services pour véhicules, les toilettes, les installations de jour, les douches, les centres d'accueil et toutes les installations de camping, y compris les oTENTiks, les yourtes et le camping dans l'arrière-pays, sont fermés. Ces mesures sont nécessaires pour soutenir l'effort national visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et à réduire les risques pour la santé et la sécurité de tous les Canadiens.

De nombreux sentiers et aires de fréquentation diurne du réseau de Parcs Canada sont également fermés pour des raisons de santé publique ou de sécurité publique, pour protéger les ressources écologiques ou culturelles, pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des employés, ou en raison de la disponibilité limitée des interventions de recherche et sauvetage.

Quelles opérations clés de base est-ce que Parcs Canada continuera à offrir?

Bien que les services aux visiteurs soient suspendus temporairement, Parcs Canada continuera d’offrir des services clés à la population canadienne, notamment l’entretien des routes, les services d’incendie, l’exploitation des barrages et la gestion des eaux des canaux historiques, et le contrôle des avalanches, entre autres.

Quelle est la situation actuelle au Canada?

Il s’agit d’une situation en évolution constante. Visitez la page de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada sur les coronavirus ou suivez l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique du Canada, Dre Theresa Tam, sur Twitter pour obtenir les informations les plus récentes.

Toutes les consultations et tous les processus de mobilisation officiels de Parcs Canada concernant les plans directeurs sont suspendus jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence. Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts en santé publique et met en place des mesures pour appuyer les efforts du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et réduire les risques pour les visiteurs et les employés.

Par conséquent, Parcs Canada a également suspendu toutes les consultations publiques ainsi que tous les processus de mobilisation officiels des intervenants et des peuples autochtones concernant les plans directeurs jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Les plans directeurs sont élaborés au moyen de consultations et selon les rétroactions de diverses personnes et organisations, notamment les peuples autochtones, les résidents locaux et régionaux, les visiteurs et le public.

L’Agence concentre actuellement ses efforts sur les activités clés. Les moyens pour entreprendre des consultations approfondies et utiles sur l’élaboration des plans directeurs sont donc limités en ce moment. Parcs Canada reconnaît aussi que l’attention du public canadien, des partenaires autochtones et des intervenants porte actuellement sur la santé et la sécurité publiques ainsi que sur l’économie.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est déterminée à reprendre toutes les activités d’élaboration des plans directeurs, notamment les consultations publiques et les processus de mobilisation avec les intervenants et les peuples autochtones, une fois que les activités seront de retour à la normale et que les moyens le permettront.

Endroits spécifiques de Parcs Canada

Ci-dessous, veuillez trouver les liens vers des endroits spécifiques de Parcs Canada qui ont des instructions spéciales.

Ouest canadien

Prairies canadiennes

Ontario et Québec

Ontario
Québec

Canada atlantique

Nouvelle-Écosse
Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Nord canadien

Est-il sécuritaire de visiter un site de Parcs Canada?

Votre santé et sécurité

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres de l'équipe de Parcs Canada sont de la plus haute importance pour l'Agence.

Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiens de rester chez eux et d'appuyer l'effort national visant à limiter la propagation du COVID-19. Quiconque envisage de visiter un emplacement de Parcs Canada, y compris ceux des régions urbaines, devrait annuler son plan.

Au cours des prochaines semaines, cette page fournira de l’information détaillée au sujet des ouvertures planifiées en juin et à quoi s’attendre lors de votre visite.

Nous invitons les visiteurs à planifier à l'avance en consultant ce site Web avant de voyager.

Précautions

Parcs Canada encourage tous les visiteurs à observer les conseils et les directives des autorités de santé publique et à prévenir la propagation de la COVID-19. Voici certaines choses que vous pouvez faire pour vous garder, vous et votre famille, en bonne santé et en sécurité :

  • Gardez une distance de 2 mètres entre vous et les autres
  • Pratiquez une bonne hygiène des mains en vous lavant fréquemment les mains et en évitant de vous toucher le visage. Utilisez un désinfectant pour les mains dans les espaces publics où vous devez toucher des surfaces.
  • Faites preuve de prudence additionnelle lors de toutes activités afin d’éviter de vous blesser ou de vous perdre pour minimiser la pression sur les équipes de recherche et sauvetage et sur le réseau de la santé
  • Ne laissez aucune trace quand vous visitez les espaces extérieurs. Veuillez rapporter vos déchets avec vous et nous aider à garder ces endroits propres
  • Respectez tous les conseils aux voyageurs

Y aura-t-il des remboursements comme suite aux fermetures?

Réservations
  • Toutes les installations de camping restent fermées jusqu’à nouvel ordre.
  • Toutes les réservations existantes devant prendre place avant le 21 juin 2020 seront automatiquement annulées et entièrement remboursés.
  • Parcs Canada ne prendra pas de nouvelles réservations au moins jusqu’au 22 juin 2020. Si vous avez une réservation après le 21 juin, vous n'avez pas besoin de l'annuler. Nous vous encourageons à vérifier les annulations à une date plus proche de votre arrivée.
Permis et laisser-passer
  • La vente de tous les laisser-passer a été temporairement suspendue jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Veuillez vérifier régulièrement les mises à jour.
  • Pour les détenteurs actuels de laissez-passer, Parcs Canada prolongera automatiquement la date de fin des cartes d’entrée Découverte pour toute la durée de la période de suspension. Cela signifie que pour chaque mois ou partie de mois où les services aux visiteurs ne sont pas offerts en raison des efforts de Parcs Canada pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, un mois complet sera ajouté à la date de fin du laissez-passer annuel.

Restez branchés