Location: Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, Fortifications of Québec, Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux and Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Sites
Distance: 545 km round trip from Québec

Immerse yourself in the history of Québec and explore whale country on this 7-day trip. Visit a fortified city, follow in the footsteps of thousands of immigrants who passed through the Grosse-Île quarantine station and discover one of the best places in the world to whale watch in the Tadoussac area.


Day 1


Location: Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site, Québec, Québec

Start off by exploring the historic district of Old Québec! Hear fascinating tales as you walk along the Fortifications of Québec ramparts with a Parks Canada guide. Discover the lesser known streetscapes and heritage of the Old Town only accessible on this guided tour.


Location: Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux National Historic Site, Québec

In the afternoon, explore the remains of the Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux. located below the Dufferin Terrace. Head down the stairs under the Lorne Kiosk and discover the rich history of this archaeological crypt. Marvel at more than 120 artifacts dating back to the time of Samuel de Champlain. Retrace more than 200 years of diplomatic history with the First Nations through relations with the Huron-Wendat Nation, learn more about the governors and Huron-Wendat diplomats, and find out about the alliances between these nations at the very place where decisions that left their mark on North America were made. Enjoy the river view as you cross Dufferin Terrace and don’t forget to take a family photo with a cannon and the famous Château Frontenac in the background!


Day 2


Location: Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site, Berthier-sur-Mer
Distance: 70 km from Québec

Head to Berthier-sur-Mer! Take a boat ride to explore Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial. Follow in the footsteps of four million immigrants who made the long voyage across the Atlantic and live their arrival experience with Nurse Sarah Wade’s Medical Examination.

As you continue your journey, arrive at Rivière-du-Loup by day’s end. Follow the road along the river and discover some of Québec’s most charming towns. There are so many great places for tourists, including some serving excellent local cuisine.


Day 3


Location: Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, Baie-Sainte-Catherine
Distance: 180 km from Berthier-sur-Mer (ferry from Rivière-du-Loup to Saint-Siméon)

All aboard! It’s time to cross the majestic St. Lawrence River. Be on the lookout for beluga whales and other marine mammals. Your first stop is Pointe-Noire Interpretation and Observation Centre, the ideal spot for a picnic and for observing beluga whales at the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord.


The tail of a whale with a whale watching boat in the background.

Day 4


Location: Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, Tadoussac
Distance: 10 km from Baie-Sainte-Catherine

Slip on your windbreaker and hop aboard a whale watching cruise. You’re gazing at the horizon when you hear a loud splash! A whale! The excitement is at its peak. You’ll never forget the wonder in the eyes of those by your side. Spend the afternoon strolling through Tadoussac, playing on the beach, or finding the perfect place to chill out as you explore the Pointe-de-l'Islet Trail. Not tired yet? Explore the Fjord and go hiking in the tranquil Sainte-Marguerite Bay. Equipped with your backpacks or your bicycles, a 3-km trek will lead you to a panoramic lookout. Be patient, you might be lucky enough to spot some beluga whales.


A visitor scuba diving at Les Escoumins.

Day 5


Location: Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, Les Escoumins
Distance: 40 km from Tadoussac

Immerse yourself in the heart of the St. Lawrence as you make your way to the Marine Environment Discovery Centre. There are plenty of activities presented throughout the week. Which one will you choose? Looking for an adventure? Head down to the dive base and explore the cold waters and the cool species that live in the St. Lawrence River. After listening to the safety instructions, slip into your wetsuit, flippers and snorkel. Get ready to submerge yourself and keep your eyes wide-open. Prefer scuba diving? Dive into an underwater oasis with an experienced guide. Considered one of the best scuba diving destinations in North America, the Escoumins sector will blow your mind!


Rocks along the St. Lawrence River near the Cap-de-Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre.

Day 6


Location: Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, Bergeronnes
Distance: 20 km from Les Escoumins

Play low-tide hide-and-seek at the Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre. In the company of an interpretive guide, look for crustaceans, molluscs and algae! Feel the rough skin of a starfish and see a real live crab up close. Head to the rocks at Cap de Bon-Désir, and see if you can observe all 14 species of whales, including the endangered St. Lawrence beluga or the blue whale, the largest marine mammal that has ever existed on the planet! Enjoy unforgettable moments and guaranteed thrills at this Marine Park!


Photo: Christiane Arsenault

Day 7


Head home via the riverside highway, one of the most scenic drives in Québec along the majestic St. Lawrence. Enjoy magnificent seascapes, mountain scenery and views of steep cliffs, riverside coves, imposing country houses and pretty villages along this winding route. Watch for the many lookout points with breathtaking views.

As you cross through the beautiful Charlevoix Region, make a stop in the picturesque town of Baie-Saint-Paul.


Distance: Return to Québec City, 215 km

Endroit : Parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, lieux historiques nationaux des Fortifications-de-Québec, des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis et de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais
Distance: Aller-retour de 545 km à partir de Québec

Plongez dans l'histoire de Québec et découvrez le pays des baleines au cours de ce voyage de 7 jours. Visitez une ville fortifiée, suivez les traces des milliers d'immigrants qui sont passés par la station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île et découvrez l'un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour observer les baleines dans la région de Tadoussac.


Jour 1


Endroit : Lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec, Québec

Explorez l'arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec. Découvrez des histoires fascinantes en marchant sur les remparts des fortifications de Québec en compagnie d'un guide de Parcs Canada. Visitez des endroits inusités accessibles seulement lors de cette randonnée.


Endroit : Lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis, Québec

En après-midi, explorez les vestiges des forts et châteaux Saint-Louis situés sous la terrasse Dufferin. Descendez l'escalier sous le kiosque Lorne et découvrez la riche histoire de cette crypte archéologique. Admirez plus de 120 artéfacts datant de l'époque de Samuel de Champlain. Retracez plus de 200 ans d'histoire diplomatique avec les Premières Nations à travers les relations avec la Nation huronne-wendat, apprenez-en plus sur les gouverneurs et les diplomates hurons-wendat et découvrez les alliances entre ces nations à l'endroit même où se sont pris des décisions qui ont marqué l'Amérique. Faites ensuite une balade sur la terrasse Dufferin en admirant le fleuve Saint-Laurent. N'oubliez pas de prendre une photo de famille près d'un canon avec, en arrière-plan, le célèbre Château Frontenac!


Jour 2


Endroit : Lieu historique national de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais, Berthier-sur-Mer
Distance: 70 km de Québec

Cap sur Berthier-sur-Mer! Prenez le bateau pour explorer le lieu historique national de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais. Suivez les traces des quatre millions d'immigrants qui ont entrepris la traversée de l'Atlantique et revivez leur arrivée en vous prêtant à l'examen médical de l'infirmière Sarah Wade.

En fin de journée, poursuivez votre périple vers Rivière-du-Loup. Empruntez la route qui longe le fleuve et découvrez certains des plus charmants villages québécois. Faites quelques arrêts touristiques et gastronomiques.


Jour 3


Endroit : Parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, Baie-Sainte-Catherine
Distance: 180 km de Berthier-sur-Mer (traversier de Rivière-du-Loup à Saint-Siméon)

Tout le monde à bord! Traversez le majestueux fleuve Saint-Laurent. Ouvrez grands les yeux, vous pourriez apercevoir des bélugas ou d'autres mammifères marins. Faites un arrêt au centre d'interprétation et d'observation de Pointe-Noire, un endroit idéal pour pique-niquer et observer les bélugas à l'embouchure du fjord.


La queue d’une baleine avec un bateau de croisière aux baleines en arrière-plan.

Jour 4


Endroit : Parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, Tadoussac
Distance: 10 km de Baie-Sainte-Catherine

Enfilez votre coupe-vent et embarquez à bord d'un bateau de croisière aux baleines. Contemplez l'horizon… «pshhh»! Une baleine! L'excitation et l'émerveillement sont à leur comble. Profitez de l'après-midi pour déambuler dans les rues de Tadoussac, jouer sur la plage ou trouver l'endroit idéal pour relaxer le long du sentier de la Pointe-de-l'Islet. Vous avez encore de l'énergie? Partez en randonnée à la baie Sainte-Marguerite. Équipé de votre sac à dos ou de votre vélo, une randonnée de 3 km vous mènera au belvédère. Soyez patient, vous verrez peut-être des bélugas.


Un visiteur fait de la plongée sous-marine aux Escoumins.

Jour 5


Endroit : Parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, Les Escoumins
Distance: 40 km de Tadoussac

Plongez au cœur du Saint-Laurent en vous rendant au centre de découverte du milieu marin. Une brochette d'activités y sont présentées... Laquelle choisirez-vous? Vous aimez l'aventure? Visitez la base de plongée et explorez les eaux froides du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Écoutez les consignes de sécurité, enfilez votre combinaison, vos palmes et votre tuba et gardez les yeux grands ouverts, vous y découvrirez une faune fascinante. Vous préférez la plongée sous-marine? Découvrez cette oasis avec un guide expérimenté. Considéré comme l'une des meilleures destinations de plongée sous-marine en Amérique du Nord, le secteur des Escoumins vous épatera!


Des rochers en bordure du fleuve Saint-Laurent près du centre d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir.

Jour 6


Endroit : Parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, Bergeronnes
Distance: 20 km des Escoumins

Jouez à cache-cache à marée basse à proximité du centre d'interprétation et d'observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir. Recherchez crustacés, mollusques et algues en compagnie d'un guide! Touchez à la peau rugueuse d'une étoile de mer et observez un crabe vivant de près. Explorez les rochers à Cap de Bon-Désir et tentez d'observer les 14 espèces de baleines, dont le béluga du Saint-Laurent en voie de disparition ou la baleine bleue, le plus gros mammifère marin de la planète! Vivez des moments inoubliables et des sensations fortes!


Photo: Christiane Arsenault

Jour 7


Reprenez la route en longeant le majestueux fleuve Saint-Laurent sur l'une des plus belles routes panoramiques du Québec. Laissez-vous charmer par des paysages de mer et de montagnes, de falaises escarpées, d'anses, de manoirs et de coquets villages. Cette route sinueuse dévoile tout au long de son parcours des points de vue à couper le souffle. Ouvrez grand les yeux!

En traversant la magnifique région de Charlevoix, faites une pause dans le pittoresque village de Baie-Saint-Paul.


Distance: Retour à Québec, 215 km