From steep uphill climbs towards panoramic views of prairie landscapes to short strolls brimming with history and wildlife; pick the perfect experience and head out hiking across the Canadian Prairies! Get the most from the wild when you download the Parks Canada App with all-new trail maps to use offline and hiking inside tips.

Saskatchewan

70 Mile Butte

Grasslands National Park
Length: 4.1km
Time: 1.5 hours
Level of difficulty: Difficult

Challenge yourself to a steep climb up to one of the highest points in Grasslands National Park. Your efforts will be rewarded with sprawling views of the park’s rugged and wild prairie landscape from the top; a sight well-worth the trip! Hike this loop at dawn or dusk to see the sun rise or set over the stunning West Block and feel the wind in your hair as you admire what was widely considered the last frontier of the prairie west.

Narrows Peninsula Trail

Prince Albert National Park
Length: 3km
Time: 2 hours
Level of difficulty: Easy. Some steep sections.

Wander through a lush landscape that brings you into a fairytale-like atmosphere. The trail takes you along a beautiful peninsula that provides plenty of shoreline views of Waskesiu Lake. Take a break on a secluded beach where you can search for the purple sand, a result of the past glacial activity in the area.

Carlton Trail

Batoche National Historic Site
Length: 800m
Time: 15 minutes
Level of difficulty: Easy

Take a step back in time and journey along the remains of the red river cart trail that was once the main trading route between Fort Garry and Fort Edmonton. The trail straddles the East Village of Batoche on its journey towards the old ferry crossing of the South Saskatchewan River – a fantastic place for a picnic or to launch your canoe or kayak adventure. Canoe/kayak rentals available.


Manitoba

Lakeshore Trail

Riding Mountain National Park
Length: 5km (one-way)
Time: 1 hour
Level of difficulty: Easy

Hike or bike your way along the shores of Clear Lake, Riding Mountain’s biggest and most popular lake. Find a set of red chairs with an amazing view of the water, and find hidden beaches along the way. In the winter, grab your skis or snowshoes and get a whole new view of a frozen Clear Lake.

Visitors hike along the Gorge Creek Trail. Riding Mountain National Park.

Gorge Creek Trail

Riding Mountain National Park
Length: 6.4km (one-way)
Time: 2 hours
Level of difficulty: Difficult

Are you ready for something that has been thousands of year in the making? Hike through the boreal forest, climb along the rocky Manitoba Escarpment, then relax at the end with your feet in a creek. Bring a friend and leave a 2nd car at the end, or double your work out by hiking back on this one way trail.

L’ascension d’un sommet dans les prairies, un détour dans la toundra en bordure de la baie d’Hudson ou une promenade au pays des cheminées de fée et des sables mouvants, il y a assurément une randonnée pour vous dans les Prairies canadiennes. Téléchargez l'application de Parcs Canada et profitez au maximum de votre expérience grâce aux cartes de sentiers utilisables hors ligne et aux précieux conseils sur la randonnée.

Saskatchewan

Sentier de la Butte-70-Mile

Parc national des Prairies
Distance : 4,1 km (boucle)
Durée : 1,5 heure
Degré de difficulté : difficile

Vous voulez relever un défi? Faites l’ascension de l’un des plus hauts sommets du parc national des Prairies! Vos efforts seront récompensés; des panoramas spectaculaires de prairies sauvages et accidentées s’offrent à vous. Assistez au lever ou au coucher du soleil au-dessus de l’époustouflant bloc Ouest et laissez le vent caresser vos cheveux pendant que vous admirez ce qui a longtemps été considéré comme la dernière frontière ouest des Prairies.

Sentier de la Péninsule-Narrows

Parc national de Prince Albert
Distance : 3 km (boucle)
Durée : 1 à 2 heures
Degré de difficulté : facile. Certains tronçons escarpés.

Circulez à travers les fougères dans un paysage digne d’un conte de fée. Ce sentier vous guide le long d’une magnifique péninsule vous offrant de nombreux points de vue sur les rives du lac Waskesiu. Faites une pause sur une plage isolée et cherchez-y du sable pourpre, résultat de l’activité glaciaire passée dans le secteur.

Chemin de Carlton

Lieu historique national de Batoche
Distance : 800 mètres
Durée : 15 minutes
Degré de difficulté : facile

Remontez dans le temps et longez une ancienne partie du sentier des charrettes de la rivière Rouge, autrefois la principale route commerciale entre Fort Garry et Fort Edmonton. Marchez dans la partie Est du village de Batoche et rendez-vous à l’ancien point de passage du traversier de la rivière Saskatchewan Sud : l’endroit est idéal pour pique-niquer ou pour entreprendre votre aventure en canot ou en kayak. Location d’embarcations sur place.


Manitoba

Sentier Bord-du-Lac

Parc national du Mont-Riding
Distance : 5 km (aller)
Durée : 1 heure
Degré de difficulté : facile

Partez à pied ou à vélo le long des rives du lac Clear, le plus grand et le plus populaire du parc du Mont-Riding. Repérez une chaise rouge et profitez d’une vue incroyable sur le lac et découvrez des plages secrètes le long du parcours. En hiver, sortez vos skis ou vos raquettes et admirez un panorama bien différent!

Visiteurs se promenant le long du sentier Ruisseau Gorge. Parc national du Mont-Riding.

Sentier du ruisseau Gorge

Parc national du Mont-Riding
Distance : 6,4 km (aller)
Durée : 2 heures
Degré de difficulté : difficile

Visitez une gorge splendide qui a pris des milliers d'années pour se former! Baladez-vous dans la forêt boréale, grimpez l’escarpement rocheux du Manitoba et relaxez en bordure du ruisseau, les pieds dans l’eau. Amenez un ami et laissez la deuxième voiture à l’arrivée, ou redoublez d’ardeur et revenez sur vos pas.