Locations: Grasslands National Park, Motherwell Homestead and Fort Walsh National Historic Sites
Distance: 1310 km round trip from Regina

Experience the open Prairies in this 7-day itinerary. Travel back in time and see what life was like in the 19th century. Relax as you stargaze in a Dark-Sky Preserve. Discover beautiful wildflowers and some of the rarest wildlife in Canada.


A team of horses pulls a wagon full of visitors past a big red barn.

Day 1


Location: Motherwell Homestead National Historic Site, Abernethy
Distance: 110 km from Regina

Step into the past and see what life in the prairies was like at the end of the 19th century.

Explore the homestead and farm of W.R. Motherwell, see the way crops were harvested and animals were raised back when European settlers first arrived in Saskatchewan. Go for a scenic walk through the fields to reach a beautiful wetland area. Bring along a packed lunch to turn it into a picnic!


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Rock Creek campground, Grasslands East Block, 390 km from Abernethy


Two young women take a break and drink water during their hike on Valley of 1000 Devils Trail.

Day 2


Location: Grasslands National Park, East Block

Hike the Valley of 1000 Devils Trail to get an up close view of the badlands and one of Canada’s richest resources for dinosaur fossils. Grasslands National Park works to preserve a native mixed-grass prairie ecosystem, of which only a small portion remains in the wild. See? The Canadian Prairies aren’t just boundless fields of grain! At night, gaze up into the sky as you listen to the sound of prairie nights and watch as thousands of stars appear in this Dark-Sky Preserve.


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Rock Creek campground


A family of four watching the sunset on the prairies.

Day 3


Location: Grasslands National Park, East Block

Take a step back and look at the bigger picture as you rest your feet and cruise along the scenic Badlands Parkway. Go at your own pace and take the time to discover the little things that make the prairies so spectacular. Wind up a hill to a rewarding peek of the badlands beyond or go on a hike for a bird’s eye view of Rock Creek.


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Rock Creek campground


A couple observes a herd of bison in the fields.

Day 4


Location: Grasslands National Park, West Block, Val Marie
Distance: 150 km from Wood Mountain

Stop at the visitor centre to learn about the history and importance of the Grasslands. See unearthed arrow heads and run your hand along the hide of a bison.

Spend the afternoon with your inner explorer as you embark on the Ecotour Scenic Drive, a 20 km self-guided driving tour through the Frenchman River Valley that provides interpretation of this magnificent prairie landscape. Choose from a variety of hiking trails and have a picnic at one of the day use areas along the way. Keep an eye out for roaming bison and some of the rarest wildlife in Canada, like the Burrowing Owl and Short-horned Lizard.


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Frenchman Valley campground


Two children running up a hill, with their parents following, with the landscape of the West Block of Grasslands National Park in the background.

Day 5


Location: Grasslands National Park, West Block

Venture out into the wild and spend the day following one of the many trails through the region. Stop to smell the wildflowers and listen for the call of prairie dogs as you walk among the windswept prairie grasses.


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Frenchman Valley campground


Two young adults out hiking on the 70 Mile Butte Trail in Grasslands National Park.

Day 6


Location: Grasslands National Park, West Block

Explore the trail out to 70 mile-butte and take in the views from the highest point in the park. Then make your way to Maple Creek and the Cypress Hills to get a start on the next day’s visit to Fort Walsh National Historic Site.


Three horseback riders discuss with Fort Walsh in the background.

Day 7


Location: Fort Walsh National Historic Site, Maple Creek
Distance: 230 km from Val Marie

Experience life on the frontier at Fort Walsh! Watch a demonstration of North West Mounted Police. Then have lunch in the middle of a historic fort or enjoy a picnic down by the Battle Creek in the picnic shelter. Take a tour of the site where the Cypress Hills Massacre happened and explore the trails through the Cypress Hills. Don’t miss the Indigenous Culture Camp and take the opportunity to learn more about the peoples who have called the Cypress Hills home for centuries.


Distance: Return to Regina, 430 km


Want a printed version?

Download the Regional Vacation Planner for the Canadian Prairies (PDF, 2,359 KB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Regional Vacation Planners.

Endroits: Parc national des Prairies, lieux historiques nationaux du Homestead-Motherwell et du Fort-Walsh
Distance: Aller-retour de 1 310 km à partir de Regina

Découvrez les Prairies au cours de cet itinéraire de 7 jours. Voyagez dans le temps et découvrez comment était la vie au 19e siècle. Relaxez en admirant les constellations dans cette réserve de ciel étoilé. Observez les fleurs sauvages et certaines des espèces animales les plus rares du Canada.


Un attelage de chevaux tire un chariot avec des visiteurs près d’une grange rouge.

Jour 1


Endroit: Lieu historiques national du Homestead-Motherwell, Abernethy
Distance: 110 km de Regina

Plongez dans le passé et découvrez comment était la vie dans les Prairies à la fin du 19e siècle.

Explorez la ferme et la propriété familiale rurale de W.R. Motherwell, et découvrez comment se faisaient les récoltes et l’élevage des animaux lorsque les premiers colons européens sont arrivés en Saskatchewan. Faites une promenade pittoresque dans les champs agricoles pour atteindre un magnifique milieu humide. Profitez-en pour faire un pique-nique!


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping du Ruisseau-Rock, Prairies, bloc Est, 390 km d’Abernethy


Deux jeunes femmes prennent une pause pour boire de l'eau lors d’une randonnée sur le sentier de la vallée des 1000 Devils.

Jour 2


Endroit: Parc national des Prairies, bloc Est

Parcourez le sentier de la vallée des 1000 Devils pour admirer de près les badlands et découvrir la riche histoire des fossiles de dinosaures. Le parc national des Prairies préserve un écosystème de prairie indigène dont une seule petite partie existe encore à l'état sauvage. Vous voyez? Les Prairies canadiennes sont beaucoup plus que des champs de blé à perte de vue! À la nuit tombée, regardez les milliers d’étoiles apparaître dans cette réserve de ciel étoilé. Contemplez le ciel tout en écoutant les sons nocturnes des prairies. Bonne soirée!


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping du Ruisseau-Rock


Une famille de quatre personnes observe le coucher du soleil dans les prairies.

Jour 3


Endroit: Parc national des Prairies, bloc Est

Prenez du recul pour apprécier la vue d’ensemble en vous baladant en voiture sur la promenade panoramique des Badlands. Allez à votre rythme et prenez le temps de découvrir les petites choses qui rendent ces prairies si spectaculaires. Montez une colline pour admirer la vue sur les badlands ou partez en randonnée pour contempler une vue en plongée sur le ruisseau Rock.


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping du Ruisseau-Rock


Un couple observe un troupeau de bisons dans le champs.

Jour 4


Endroit: Parc national des Prairies, bloc Ouest, Val Marie
Distance: 150 km de Wood Mountain

Découvrez l’histoire et l’importance des Prairies lors de votre visite au centre d’accueil. Observez des pointes de flèches ayant été déterrées et passez vos doigts sur une peau de bison.

Empruntez la route panoramique de l’Écocircuit, un parcours autoguidé de 20 km dans la vallée de la Frenchman. En cours de route, choisissez parmi une variété de sentiers de randonnée et pique-niquez à l'une des aires de fréquentation diurne. Gardez l’œil ouvert, vous pourriez apercevoir des bisons et certains des animaux les plus rares au Canada, comme la chevêche des terriers et l’iguane à petites cornes.


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping de la Vallée-de-la-Frenchman


Deux enfants montent une colline en courant, suivis de leurs parents, avec le paysage du bloc Ouest du parc national des Prairies en arrière-plan.

Jour 5


Endroit: Parc national des Prairies, bloc Ouest

Aventurez-vous en nature et suivez l’un des nombreux sentiers qui parcourent la région. Prenez le temps de sentir les fleurs sauvages et soyez à l’affut, vous pourriez entendre le cri des chiens de prairie alors que vous marchez dans les longues herbes.


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping de la Vallée-de-la-Frenchman


Deux jeunes adultes en randonnée sur le sentier de la Butte-70 Mile dans le parc national des Prairies.

Jour 6


Endroit: Parc national des Prairies, bloc Ouest

Parcourez le sentier de la Butte-70 Mile et admirez la vue à partir du point le plus élevé du parc. Ensuite, faites la route vers Maple Creek et les collines Cypress. Vous serez prêt pour la visite du lendemain au lieu historique national du Fort-Walsh.


Trois personnes à dos de cheval discutent, le fort Walsh est en arrière-plan.

Jour 7


Endroit: Lieu historique national du Fort-Walsh, Maple Creek
Distance: 230 km de Val Marie

Expérimentez la vie des pionniers à Fort-Walsh. Assistez à une démonstration de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Pique-niquez au milieu d'un fort historique ou en bordure du ruisseau Battle. Visitez le site du massacre des collines Cypress et explorez les sentiers à proximité. Ne manquez pas le camp de culture autochtone et apprenez-en plus sur les peuples qui ont habité les collines Cypress pendant des siècles.


Distance: Retour à Regina, 430 km


Vous voulez une version imprimée?

Téléchargez le guide régional de vacances des Prairies canadienne (PDF, 2371 Ko) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides régionaux de vacances.