Locations: Riding Mountain National Park, The Forks and Lower Fort Garry National Historic Sites
Distance: Roundtrip: 620 km

Discover the magic of Manitoba on a 3-day trip in the heart of the Prairies. Immerse yourself in the fascinating world of the fur trade, meet trappers and traders, and kick back and relax in nature.


Young visitors learn about beadwork with the help of a costumed animator at the Indigenous encampment.

Day 1


Location: The forks, Winnipeg

Start your day in the heart of Winnipeg! Through curious objects and colourful characters, the history of this fur trade hub and First Nations meeting place comes to life. Go on a guided tour and hear stories of those who lived and traded here.

Location: Lower Fort Garry, St. Andrews
Distance: 30 km from Winnipeg

Continue your journey with a trip to the 1850s as you visit Lower Fort Garry in the midst of the fur trade. Meet trappers and traders of the Hudson’s Bay Company, listen to First Nations stories, roll up your sleeves and challenge yourself to some fort tasks!


Visitors prepare to launch kayaks on Clear Lake main beach in Wasagaming.

Day 2


Location: Riding Mountain, Wasagaming
Distance: 280 km from Winnipeg

Cool off at the main beach, Clear Lake, nestled against the town of Wasagaming. Pick up a refreshing treat like gelato or an ice cream sandwich in town. Afterwards, wander down the South Lake trail to find a set of Red chairs to kick back in for the evening.

Recommended accommodation: MicrOcube, Wasagaming campground


Visitors ride fat bikes along the beach on South Lake Trail.

Day 3


Location: Riding Mountain

Lace up your hiking boots and head deep into the beating heart of endless forests, grasslands and lakes. Enjoy the natural beauty of the prairies along more than 400 km of trails; venture out to Grey Owl’s historic cabin, cruise down the rolling Bald Hill trail or test yourself on the rugged Reeve’s Ravine trail. Maybe even try something different and hit the trails on a fat bike!


Distance: Return to Winnipeg, 280 km


Want a printed version?

Download the Regional Vacation Planner for the Canadian Prairies (PDF, 2,359 KB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Regional Vacation Planners.

Endroits: Parc national du Mont-Riding, lieux historiques nationaux de La Fourche et de Lower Fort Garry
Distance: Aller-retour : 620 km

Laissez-vous transporter par la magie du Manitoba avec cette escapade de 3 jours dans les Prairies. Plongez dans l’univers fascinant du commerce de la fourrure, rencontrez des trappeurs et des commerçants et détendez-vous en pleine nature.


De jeunes visiteurs découvrent le perlage avec un animateur costumé au campement des Premières Nations.

Jour 1


Location: La Fourche, Winnipeg

Commencez votre journée au coeur de Winnipeg! L’histoire de ce carrefour de la traite des fourrures et de ce lieu de rencontre des Premières Nations prend vie grâce à de curieux objets et des personnages colorés. Participez à une visite guidée et écoutez les histoires de ceux qui y vivaient et qui y faisaient du commerce.

Location: Lower Fort Garry, St. Andrews
Distance: 30 km de Winnipeg

Continuez votre périple avec un voyage dans les années 1850 à l’apogée de la traite des fourrures au site de Lower Fort Garry. Rencontrez des trappeurs et des commerçants de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, écoutez les histoires des Premières Nations, et roulez vos manches pour participer aux tâches du fort!


Des visiteurs mettent à l’eau leur kayak sur la plage principale du lac Clear à Wasagaming.

Jour 2


Location: Mont-Riding, Wasagaming
Distance: 280 km de Winnipeg

Rafraîchissez-vous à la plage principale du lac Clear, située tout près de la ville de Wasagaming. Savourez une délicieuse glace italienne ou un sandwich à la crème glacée. Promenez-vous sur le sentier Lac-South, repérez des chaises rouges et admirez des paysages spectaculaires toute la soirée.

Hébergement recommandé : MicrOcube, camping de Wasagaming


Des visiteurs font du vélo à pneus surdimensionnés sur le sentier du Lac-South.

Jour 3


Location: Mont-Riding

Enfilez vos chaussures de randonnée et dirigez-vous au cœur de l’étendue infinie de forêts, de prairies et de lacs. Profitez de la beauté naturelle des prairies, plus de 400 km de sentiers s’offrent à vous! Partez à l’aventure vers la cabane historique de Grey Owl, parcourez le sentier vallonné de la colline Bald ou mettez-vous au défi sur le sentier accidenté du ravin Reeve’s. Laissez-vous tenter par une nouvelle activité et parcourez les sentiers sur un vélo à pneus surdimensionnés!


Distance: Retour à Winnipeg, 280 km


Vous voulez une version imprimée?

Téléchargez le guide régional de vacances des Prairies canadienne (PDF, 2371 Ko) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides régionaux de vacances.