Location: Prince Albert National Park, Fort Battleford and Batoche National Historic Sites
Distance: 830 km round trip from Saskatoon

Take the family on this week-long trip to uncover north and central Saskatchewan! Meet characters of the past and learn about the North West Rebellion. Make Prince Albert National Park your base camp for hiking, biking, canoeing and campfires. Adventure awaits!


Day 1


Location: Fort Battleford National Historic Site, Battleford
Distance: 145 km from Saskatoon

Uncover the central but little-known role Fort Battleford played in the Conflict of 1885. Discover the stories of the North-West Mounted Police, First Nations, Métis and settlers in these difficult times.


Day 2


Location: Batoche National Historic Site
Distance: 195 km from Battleford

Journey back in time to talk with a 19th century Métis settler about life on the banks of the South Saskatchewan River at Batoche National Historic Site. Paddle through History! Rent a canoe and paddle the scenic South Saskatchewan River, or hop aboard the Batoche Shuttle and discover the East Village, where Louis Riel’s provisional government of Saskatchewan was headquartered. Chat with characters from the past and imagine what it must have been like during the Northwest Resistance of 1885.


Day 3


Location: Prince Albert National Park, Waskesiu
Distance: 160 km from Batoche

Make Prince Albert National Park your base camp for the next few days. Grab your bikes and leisurely cycle through the Waskesiu townsite and into the rolling hills and mixed woods along the Red Deer Trail. Experience the modern exhibits and hands-on learning at the Nature Centre. Borrow a GPS unit to explore the natural and cultural heritage of the park.


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Beaver Glen campground


Day 4


Location: Prince Albert National Park

Explore the Boreal Forest and Aspen Parkland. Borrow an Aquatic or Forest kit from the Nature Centre and head to the Boundary Bog trail. Investigate the critters and plant life that call the black spruce bog home.

Take a drive down the scenic Highway 263 and have your camera ready to capture a bear, fox, or deer along the roadside! Climb the Height-of-Land tower as the sun sets over the mixed forest canopy.


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Beaver Glen campground


Day 5


Location: Prince Albert National Park

Spend a day by the water! The white sands and the small peninsula make Paignton Beach one of the most beautiful beaches in Saskatchewan. Have a paddling adventure in a canoe, kayak or on a stand-up paddleboard.


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Beaver Glen campground


Day 6


Location: Prince Albert National Park, Kingsmere Lake
Distance: 35 km from Waskesiu

Enjoy a family-fun morning at the “Bears on the Beach” playground before your day of discovery begins!

Pack up the tent and get ready for a short backcountry camping experience. As you follow the trail to the Southend campground, cross the bridge and lookout over the Kingsmere River, walk along the historic rail cart portage and follow the path through the spruce forest.


Recommended accommodation: Camping, Southend campground


Day 7


Location: Prince Albert National Park, west side
Distance: 165 km from Southend campground

Stop for a picnic at the Valleyview Lookout and enjoy beautiful views of the Sturgeon River Valley.

Perk your ears and listen for the thundering hooves of the plains bison as you hike, bike, or horseback ride along the expanded Valleyview Trail Network.


Distance: Return to Saskatoon, 210 km

Endroit : Parc national de Prince Albert, lieux historiques nationaux du Fort-Battleford et de Batoche
Distance: Aller-retour de 830 km à partir de Saskatoon

Partez à la découverte du nord et du centre de la Saskatchewan lors de cet itinéraire d’une semaine. Rencontrez des personnages du passé et discutez avec eux de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest. Faites du parc national de Prince Albert votre camp de base pour y faire de la randonnée, du vélo, du canot et des feux de camp. L’aventure vous attend!


Jour 1


Endroit : Lieu historique national du Fort-Battleford, Battleford
Distance: 145 km de Saskatoon

Découvrez le rôle central, mais peu connu, joué par le fort Battleford dans le conflit de 1885. Découvrez l’histoire de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, des Premières Nations, des colons et des Métis à une époque difficile.


Jour 2


Endroit : Lieu historique national de Batoche
Distance: 195 km de Battleford

Explorez le lieu historique national de Batoche et remontez le temps jusqu’au 19e siècle. Laissez un Métis vous raconter à quoi ressemblait la vie sur les rives de la rivière Saskatchewan-Sud. Admirez les paysages pittoresques de la rivière Saskatchewan-Sud en canot ou montez à bord de la navette de Batoche et découvrez le village où le gouvernement provisoire de la Saskatchewan, dirigé par Louis Riel, avait établi son quartier général. Rencontrez des personnages du passé et discutez avec eux de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest.


Jour 3


Endroit : Parc national de Prince Albert, Waskesiu
Distance: 160 km de Batoche

Faites du parc national de Prince Albert votre camp de base pour les prochains jours. Pédalez tranquillement dans le lotissement urbain de Waskesiu. Traversez les terrains vallonnés et les forêts mixtes sur le sentier Red-Deer. Découvrez les expositions et les activités amusantes du centre de la nature ou laissez-vous tenter par la géocachette pour découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc.


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, Beaver Glen campground


Jour 4


Endroit : Parc national de Prince Albert

Explorez la forêt boréale et le parc de peupliers faux-trembles. Empruntez une trousse d’observation du milieu aquatique ou forestier au centre de la nature et dirigez-vous vers le sentier du Marais-Limitrophe. Observez les petits animaux et les plantes qui vivent dans la tourbière d’épinettes noires.

Partez en voiture sur la route panoramique 263. Soyez aux aguets! Vous aurez peut-être la chance de photographier un ours, un renard ou un cerf. Escaladez la Tour-des-Hautes-Terres et profitez des couleurs du coucher de soleil.


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, camping Beaver Glen


Jour 5


Endroit : Parc national de Prince Albert

Quoi de plus agréable qu’une journée au bord de l’eau! Profitez du sable blanc de la plage Paignton, l’une des plus belles de la Saskatchewan. Besoin de bouger? Offrez-vous une sortie en canot, en kayak, ou sur une planche à pagaie.


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, camping Beaver Glen


Jour 6


Endroit : Parc national de Prince Albert, Lac Kingsmere
Distance: 35 km de Waskesiu

Vous avez des enfants? Offrez-vous une agréable matinée au terrain de jeu « Des ours sur la plage » situé sur la plage principale du lac Waskesiu au centre-ville.

Ramassez votre tente pour une courte expédition de camping en arrière-pays. Empruntez le sentier de la Rivière-Kingsmere jusqu’au camping de l’Extrémité-Sud. Marchez le long du chemin de portage et observez l’ingénieux système de chariot sur rails.


Hébergement recommandé : Camping, camping de l’Extrémité-Sud


Jour 7


Endroit : Parc national de Prince Albert, secteur ouest
Distance: 165 km du camping de l’Extrémité-Sud

Pique-niquez au bout du sentier du Belvédère-Valleyview et admirez la magnifique vue panoramique sur la vallée de la rivière Sturgeon.

Partez en randonnée à pied, à vélo ou à cheval dans le vaste réseau de sentiers de Valleyview. Tendez l’oreille pour entendre le son des sabots des bisons des prairies, vous aurez peut-être la chance d’en observer!


Distance: Retour à Saskatoon, 210 km