From Canada’s only Salt Plains and a First Nations art trail, to epic multi-day hikes and an all-access trails around a world-famous lakes; pick the perfect experience and head out hiking in Western Canada. Get the most from the wild when you download the Parks Canada App with all-new trail maps to use offline and insider hiking tips.

British Columbia

West Coast Trail

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve
Length: 75km
Time: 6 - 8 days
Level of difficulty: Difficult. Best for serious hikers! You need to be experienced in overnight backpacking and able to go long distances in difficult conditions with a full pack.

Step by step, make memories which will last a lifetime on the epic West Coast Trail, a six to eight-day adventure through rugged terrain with often rainy, wet conditions across 75km. This endurance trial is made magical by spotting eagles wheeling overhead, whales and sea lions in the ocean and dozens of waterfalls and hidden lighthouses, while navigating vast old growth forest by the crashing seashore. If you’re intimidated by the full experience, you can join mid-point at Nitinaht Narrows, only accessible by water.

Hermit Trail

Glacier National Park
Length: 3.2km (one-way)
Time: 2-3 hours, uphill. This day-long hike will take around 5-6 hours as a round trip, and has the reputation of being the steepest to tackle in a park famous for its steep trails.
Level of difficulty: Difficult

Think you’ve got what it takes to tackle the Hermit Trail? This uphill hike through towering old growth subalpine forest gains some 819m in elevation over just 3.2km, proving a serious workout for your legs. But the views when you get there are more than worth it offering a panoramic display over the ice fields, surrounded by Mount Tupper, Hermit Mountain, Mount Rogers and Swiss Peak.

Two visitors hike in the mountains on a rocky ridge.

Kindersley-Sinclair Trail

Kootenay National Park
Length: 17.5km
Time: 6 hours
Level of difficulty: Moderate. Suited for people who can happily hike over some rocky ground and slopes.

Make it a day hike on the top rated loop in the park, the Kindersley-Sinclair Trail. This loop rises 1055m in elevation over 17.5km of forested trail with rocky ridges and avalanche slopes. Make sure you stay on the trail to avoid bushwhacking and scrambling up and down gullies, and be Bear Aware as this is grizzly territory. Throughout summer you’ll see carpets of wild flowers in the meadows and along the way you’ll see what some call the ‘Matterhorn of the Canadian Rockies’ Mount Assiniboine.


Alberta

A young woman enjoys the peak of Sulphur skyline with her arms outstretched

Sulphur Skyline Trail

Jasper National Park
Length: 8km (return)
Time: 4 - 6 hours
Level of difficulty: Difficult. Best for teens and fit adults who can handle a steep climb.

The name may not be sweet, but the views certainly are on the Sulphur Skyline Trail! You’ll catch some of the most awe-inspiring panoramas that Jasper has to offer, but you’ll definitely need to work for them. The 8km trail rises 700m in a thigh-trembling 4-6 hours round trip. But once you reach that summit and see the park spread before you and the mountains rising above you, it will be so worth it. Pro tip: head to the nearby Miette Hot Springs for a soak to relax those limbs after this muscle-pounding hike!

Beaver Pond Trail

Elk Island National Park
Length: 3.5km
Time: 1 - 2 hours
Level of difficulty: Easy

See conservation in action when you explore the Beaver Pond Trail. The fur trade had completely wiped out beavers from this region by the mid-1800s, but Parks Canada staff successfully re-introduced them in the 1940s and now you’ll see them thriving! Follow the trail through open aspen forest and sedge meadows to see another great conservation success story; the plains bison grazing.

Une promenade pieds nus sur les plaines salées, une balade sur un sentier d’art autochtone, une randonnée épique de plusieurs jours ou le tour d’un lac de renommée mondiale, il y a assurément une randonnée pour vous dans l’Ouest canadien. Téléchargez l'application de Parcs Canada et profitez au maximum de votre expérience grâce aux cartes de sentiers utilisables hors ligne et aux précieux conseils sur la randonnée.

Colombie-Britannique

Sentier de la Côte-Ouest

Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim
Distance : 75 km
Durée : 6 à 8 jours
Degré de difficulté : difficile. Convient aux gens ayant l’expérience des nuitées en arrière-pays et de la randonnée dans des conditions difficiles avec un sac à dos plein!

Pas à pas, créez des souvenirs impérissables sur l’épique sentier de la Côte-Ouest, une aventure de six à huit jours sur un terrain accidenté dans des conditions souvent pluvieuses et humides. Une épreuve d’endurance de 75 km, tout simplement magique! Tout au long du parcours, observez les aigles planant dans le ciel ainsi que les baleines et les otaries nageant dans l’océan. Vous serez conquis par les douzaines de chutes et de phares cachés dans les vastes forêts anciennes en bordure de la mer où déferlent les vagues. Si l’expérience complète vous intimide, joignez le sentier à mi-chemin au passage Nitinaht, accessible uniquement par bateau.

Sentier Hermit

Parc national des Glaciers
Distance : 3,2 km (aller seulement)
Durée : 2 à 3 heures, en montée. L’aller-retour prend environ de 5 à 6 heures. Ce sentier a la réputation d'être le plus abrupt dans ce parc déjà reconnu pour ses sentiers escarpés.
Degré de difficulté : difficile

Préparez-vous à faire travailler les muscles de vos jambes. Ce sentier d’à peine 3,2 km présente un dénivelé de 819 mètres! Votre effort sera toutefois récompensé en traversant cette imposante vieille forêt subalpine car des points de vue panoramiques sur les champs de glace entourés du mont Tupper, de la montagne Hermit, du mont Rogers et des pics Swiss vous attendent.

Deux visiteurs font de la randonnée en montagne sur une crête rocheuse.

Sentier du col Kindersley-Ruisseau Sinclair

Parc national Kootenay
Distance : 17,5 km
Durée : 6 heures
Degré de difficulté : modéré. Convient aux gens qui peuvent marcher aisément sur un terrain rocheux et abrupt.

Offrez-vous une journée sur le sentier le plus prisé du parc! Par temps clair, observez le mont Assiniboine, que certains appellent le « Matterhorn » des Rocheuses canadiennes. Cette boucle, d’un dénivelé de 1055 mètres, parcourt une forêt parsemée de crêtes rocheuses et de couloirs d'avalanches. Pour faciliter votre randonnée, suivez attentivement le sentier sinon il sera difficile de monter et de descendre les ravins. Tout au long de l'été, vous verrez des tapis de fleurs sauvages dans les prés, tout simplement sublime! Comme vous circulez au pays de l’ours grizzli, gardez l’œil ouvert et soyez prudent.


Alberta

Une jeune femme apprécie le sommet de Sulphur Skyline, les bras en croix.

Sentier Sulphur Skyline

Parc national Jasper
Distance : 8 km (aller-retour)
Durée : 4 à 6 heures
Degré de difficulté : difficile. Convient aux adolescents et aux adultes en pleine forme qui peuvent s’engager sur une montée abrupte.

Le nom n’est peut-être pas attirant, mais les panoramas le sont vraiment! Certains des points de vue les plus impressionnants du parc Jasper s’y trouvent, mais vous devrez travailler pour y accéder. Une montée de 700 mètres vous attend, de quoi faire trembler les jambes. Une fois au sommet, admirez le parc qui s’étend devant vous et les montagnes au loin. Truc de pro : rendez-vous ensuite aux sources thermales Miette pour une petite trempette et pour détendre vos muscles!

Sentier de L’Étang-des-castors

Parc national Elk Island
Distance : 3,5 km
Durée : 1 à 2 heures
Degré de difficulté : facile

Observez les résultats des actions de conservation sur ce sentier. Le commerce de la fourrure avait complètement exterminé les castors de cette région vers le milieu des années 1800. Au cours des années 1940, le personnel du parc a réintroduit l’espèce, et vous pouvez maintenant les voir en action! Continuez votre randonnée à travers la forêt de trembles et les savanes d’herbage pour observer une autre grande réussite en matière de conservation : la présence de bisons des plaines, ce magnifique animal sauvé de l’extinction.