From an all-access hike to the southernmost point of Canada and discovering the Anishinaabe legend of Miinkekwe and Migcheshibzhii, to a day-long adventure above the Chigamiwinigum Falls; pick the perfect experience and head out hiking in Ontario. Get the most from the wild when you download the Parks Canada App with all-new trail maps to use offline and insider hiking tips.

White River Suspension Bridge Trail

Pukaskwa National Park
Length: 18km (return)
Time: 8 - 9 hours
Level of difficulty: Difficult. Best for experienced hikers who can tackle obstacles such as loose rocks, tree roots and uneven surfaces. Check in with Parks Canada staff before you set off.

Are you ready for adventure? The White River Suspension Bridge Trail is a full day hike which rises 15m over 18km, leaving from the Visitor Centre. Part of Pukaskwa’s 60km Coastal Hiking Trail, this section takes you 23m above the roaring Chigamiwinigum Falls on the suspension bridge by way of boreal forest and past secluded beaches.

Fairy Trail

Georgian Bay Islands National Park
Length: 2.5km
Time: 1.5 hours
Level of difficulty: Moderate

Take the DayTripper shuttle boat to Beausoleil Island to tackle the beautiful Fairy Trail, a short loop which takes you through classic Canadian Shield landscape of white pines, hardwood ravines and shining smooth rocks. Discover the Anishinaabe legend of Miinkekwe and her encounter with the dreadful Migcheshibzhii; see the rugged countryside which inspired the Group of Seven to capture its beauty on canvas; listen out for the family of loons who live on the lake.

Attikamek Trail

Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site
Length: 2.2km
Time: 1.5 hour
Level of difficulty: Easy. Check in with Parks Canada staff as upgrades are being made to make the trail all-access with gravel paths.

See the interplay between nature and engineering technology on the Attikamek Trail along the lock gates, through the quiet woods and under the International Bridge around St. Marys Island. Look out for ducks, herons, frogs, squirrels, raccoons and other critters along the way.

Georgian Bay Trail

Bruce Peninsula National Park
Length: 3km
Time: 3 hours
Level of difficulty: Moderate to difficult. Best tackled by active adults and older children.

One of the jewels in Canada, the ever-popular Grotto never fails to dazzle with its intricate caves and mesmerizing turquoise waters. Make like the locals and visit during spring or fall to avoid the queues at the parking lot to get the most from this natural wonder. The Georgian Bay Trail hike takes you through wetlands and ancient cedar forests, before delivering breathtaking views over Fathom Five National Marine Park and down to the Grotto.

Mother and daughter snapping pictures of Lloyd's look-off while taking a break from hiking, near Township of Red Rock.

Nipigon River Recreation Trail

Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area
Length: 10.1km one-way
Time: 3 - 5 hours
Level of difficulty: Difficult. Best for experienced day hikers only. Don’t forget to check in and let people know your plans.

Challenge yourself to one of the toughest hikes in the area, the Nipigon River Recreation Trail, a full day’s adventure. This trail takes you along Lake Superior’s rugged shoreline with plenty of viewing platforms along the way. Look out for bald eagles soaring above, blue herons and white pelicans delicately perched on the water’s edge.

Une randonnée jusqu'à la pointe la plus au sud du Canada, la découverte de la légende Anishinaabe de Miinkekwe et Migcheshibzhii ou une aventure au-dessus des chutes Chigamiwinigum, il y a assurément une randonnée pour vous en Ontario. Téléchargez l’application de Parcs Canada et profitez au maximum de votre expérience grâce aux cartes de sentiers utilisables hors ligne et aux précieux conseils sur la randonnée.

Sentier du pont suspendu de la rivière White

Parc national Pukaskwa
Distance : 18 km (aller-retour)
Durée : 8 à 9 heures
Degré de difficulté : difficile. Convient aux randonneurs chevronnés capables de marcher sur des roches meubles, des racines d'arbres et des surfaces inégales. Vérifiez l’état du sentier auprès du personnel de Parcs Canada avant de partir.

Êtes-vous prêt pour l'aventure? Partez en randonnée sur le sentier du pont suspendu de la rivière White. Cette excursion d’une journée s’étend sur 18 km avec un dénivelé de 15 mètres. Le sentier fait partie de la Piste côtière de Pukaskwa de 60 km. Cette section vous mène au pont suspendu, à 23 mètres au-dessus des rugissantes chutes Chigamiwinigum, en passant par la forêt boréale et des plages isolées.

Sentier Fairy

Parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne
Distance : 2,5 km
Durée : 1,5 heure
Degré de difficulté : modéré

Montez à bord du bateau-navette DayTripper en direction de l'île Beausoleil pour parcourir le superbe sentier Fairy, une courte boucle dans un décor enchanteur de pins blancs, de ravins de feuillus et d’affleurements rocheux du Bouclier canadien. Découvrez la légende Anishinaabe de Miinkekwe et sa rencontre avec le terrible Migcheshibzhii, admirez la campagne qui a inspiré le Groupe des Sept à saisir sa beauté sur des toiles ou tendez l’oreille pour entendre la famille de huards qui vivent sur le lac.

Sentier Attikamek

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault-Ste. Marie
Distance : 2,2 km
Durée : 1,5 heure
Degré de difficulté : facile. Vérifiez l’état du sentier auprès du personnel de Parcs Canada puisque des mises à niveau sont apportées pour rendre le sentier accessible à tous, en aménageant des chemins de gravier.

Voyez l'interaction entre la nature et l’ingénierie sur le sentier Attikamek le long de l'écluse. Ce sentier traverse les forêts tranquilles de l’île de South St. Marys et passe sous le pont International, construit en 1962. Ouvrez l’œil! Vous pourriez apercevoir des canards, des hérons, des grenouilles, des écureuils, des ratons laveurs et d’autres animaux.

Sentier de la baie Georgienne

Parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce
Distance : 3 km
Durée : 3 heures
Degré de difficulté : modéré à difficile. Convient aux enfants ayant déjà fait leurs preuves en randonnée et aux adultes actifs.

Empruntez ce sentier pour vous rendre à la célèbre Grotte qui ne manque jamais d’éblouir avec ses cavernes complexes et ses eaux turquoise fascinantes. Faites comme les gens de la localité et optez pour une visite au printemps ou à l’automne afin d’éviter les files d'attente au stationnement. Le sentier de la baie Georgienne vous mène à travers des marécages et de vieilles forêts de cèdres jusqu'à la Grotte et vous offre des vues époustouflantes du parc marin national Fathom Five.

Une mère et sa fille prennent un égoportrait au belvédère Lloyd's en bordure du lac Supérieur près de la communauté Red Rock.

Sentier récréatif de la rivière Nipigon

Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur
Distance : 10,1 km (aller)
Durée : 3 à 5 heures
Degré de difficulté : difficile. Convient uniquement aux randonneurs expérimentés. Signalez votre arrivée et faites connaître votre itinéraire à vos proches.

Mettez-vous au défi avec l’une des randonnées les plus difficiles de la région, le sentier récréatif de la rivière Nipigon, une aventure d'une journée complète. Parcourez la rive escarpée du lac Supérieur et profitez des nombreuses plateformes d’observation. Soyez à l’affut des pygargues à tête blanche planant dans le ciel ainsi que des grands hérons et des pélicans blancs sur le bord de l'eau.