Experience the ultimate in backcountry hiking in the land of narwhals and polar bears, ancient glaciers and midnight sun. Pick the perfect experience and head out hiking across Northern Canada! Get the most from the wild when you download the Parks Canada App with all-new trail maps to use offline and hiking inside tips.

Yukon

Visitors hiking near Black Fox Creek Valley in a vast arctic landscape of rocky peaks and tundra valleys.

Vuntut National Park

Length: Hiking routes need to be explored thoroughly by map first and discussed with the Parks Office.
Time: Exploring the park is a multi-day adventure.
Level of difficulty: Best for serious backcountry experienced hikers only. There are no services, facilities, or trails in this 4,345 square-kilometre arctic wilderness.

Set off on an adventure into the Yukon’s only fly-in community where the Vuntut Gwitchin people still live with the rhythms of the Porcupine Caribou herd, just as their ancestors have for generations. Throughout summer, hike under the light of the midnight sun, your boots brushing the yellow cinquefoil and pink Alaskan phlox wildflowers. Be one of the very few visitors each year who get to experience this sweeping landscape rich with ancient culture, rocky peaks, tundra valleys and wildlife.

Ivvavik National Park

Length: Hiking routes need to be explored thoroughly by map first and discussed with the Parks Office.
Time: This will be a multi-day trip to some of Canada’s least explored territory.
Level of difficulty: Best for experienced hikers only.

Around 100 people visit Ivvavik each year to explore the unique landscape of the Northern Yukon and Mackenzie Delta, and although there are no designated trails, this incredible park offers up endless hiking opportunities. Explore the tundra between late May and mid-July to experience the magic of brushing wildflowers against your boots under the midnight sun in the company of the migrating caribou.


Northwest Territories

Aulavik National Park

Length: Hiking routes need to be explored thoroughly by map first and discussed with the Parks Office.
Time: Exploring the park is a multi-day adventure.
Level of difficulty: Routes are tailored for different skill and fitness levels. Best for experienced hikers only.

With more than 12,000 square kilometers of easily navigated arctic lowlands to explore on the north end of Banks Island, Aulavik, which means ‘place where people travel’ in Inuvialuktun, is a hiker’s dream. You will love the abundance of wildlife along the Thomsen River corridor where you’ll discover the highest concentration of muskoxen in the world and other rare arctic species.


Nunavut

Quttinirpaaq National Park

Length: Hiking routes need to be explored thoroughly by map first and discussed with the Parks Office.
Time: Exploring the park is a multi-day adventure.
Level of difficulty: Solo expeditions are recommended for only the most experienced backcountry hikers. Black Feather Wilderness accepts guests aged between 16 and 66.

Be one of the very privileged few who visit the top of the world and experience the raw, wild beauty of Quttinirpaaq. Circumnavigate the Ad Astra icecap; see jagged black peaks and massive glaciers; watch grazing muskoxen and hear Arctic wolves howl. There are no marked trails here and the terrain is varied and unstable. Join the Black Feather guides for a trip into the high Arctic with the people who know it best.

A couple walks in the tundra with mountains in the background.

Akshayuk Pass

Auyuittuq National Park
Length: 97km
Time: 8 days
Level of difficulty: Best for experienced backcountry arctic wilderness hikers only.
Best time to hike: July and August. Although the park can be hazardous throughout the last week of July and the first week of August thanks to high water levels and the corresponding risk in crossing mountain streams.

Hike the Akshayuk Pass, a traditional Inuit travel corridor which takes in breathtaking mountain scenery along a 97km-route connecting Pangnirtung Fiord in Cumberland Sound with North Pangnirtung Fiord off Davis Strait. Chose to make the five to six day return trip along the southern portion of the trail from Overlord to Summit Lake or hike the entire trail from North Pangnirtung Fiord to Overlord, which takes around eight days (one-way)!


Newfoundland and Labrador

Offrez-vous le summum de l’aventure : une randonnée en région éloignée au pays du narval, de l’ours polaire, des glaciers anciens et du soleil de minuit. Choisissez l'expérience parfaite pour vous et partez en randonnée dans le Nord canadien! Téléchargez l’application de Parcs Canada et profitez au maximum de votre expérience grâce aux cartes de sentiers utilisables hors ligne et aux précieux conseils sur la randonnée.

Yukon

Des visiteurs font de la randonnée pédestre près de Black Fox Creek Valley dans un vaste paysage arctique constitué de crêtes rocheuses et de vallées occupées par la toundra.

Parc national Vuntut

Distance : les itinéraires doivent être planifiés à l’aide d’une carte et discutés avec le personnel de Parcs Canada.
Durée : l’exploration du parc est une aventure de plusieurs jours.
Degré de difficulté : convient uniquement aux randonneurs d’arrière-pays expérimentés. Il n'y a pas de services, pas d’installations ni de sentiers dans ce milieu sauvage arctique de 4 345 km2.

Partez à l’aventure vers Old Crow, la collectivité la plus nordique du Yukon accessible uniquement en avion. Rencontrez le peuple des Gwitchin Vuntut qui vit encore au rythme des troupeaux de caribous de la Porcupine, tout comme le faisaient leurs ancêtres. Durant l'été, faites une randonnée sous le soleil de minuit, vos bottes effleurant des fleurs sauvages comme la bergeronnette printanière et le phlox d'Alaska rose. Soyez l'un des rares visiteurs à faire l’expérience de ce territoire riche en patrimoine culturel, en crêtes rocheuses, en vallées, en toundra et en faune.

Parc national Ivvavik

Distance : les itinéraires de randonnée pédestre doivent être planifiés à l’aide d’une carte et discutés avec le personnel de Parcs Canada.
Durée : un voyage de plusieurs jours dans des régions très peu explorées.
Degré de difficulté : convient aux randonneurs chevronnés uniquement.

Environ 100 personnes visitent Ivvavik chaque année pour explorer le paysage particulier du nord du Yukon et du delta du Mackenzie. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de sentiers désignés, ce parc offre des possibilités illimitées de randonnée. Explorez la toundra entre la fin de mai et la mi-juillet pour faire l’expérience magique de marcher sur un tapis de fleurs arctiques sous le soleil de minuit et d’observer des caribous.


Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Parc national Aulavik

Distance : varie selon l’itinéraire. Les itinéraires doivent être planifiés à l’aide d’une carte et discutés avec le personnel de Parcs Canada.
Durée : l’exploration du parc est une aventure de plusieurs jours.
Degré de difficulté : varie selon l’itinéraire. Convient aux randonneurs chevronnés uniquement.

Un véritable paradis pour les randonneurs! Aulavik, qui signifie « endroit où les gens voyagent » en inuvialuktun, offre plus de 12 000 km2 de basses terres arctiques à explorer dans le nord de l'île Banks. Découvrez l'abondance et la diversité de la faune le long du corridor de la rivière Thomsen, où vous aurez la chance d’observer la plus grande concentration de bœufs musqués au monde ainsi que d’autres espèces arctiques rares.


Nunavut

Parc national Quttinirpaaq

Distance : varie selon l’itinéraire. Les itinéraires doivent être planifiés à l’aide d’une carte et discutés avec le personnel de Parcs Canada.
Durée : l’exploration du parc est une aventure de plusieurs jours.
Degré de difficulté : les expéditions en solitaire sont recommandées uniquement pour les randonneurs d’arrière-pays très expérimentés. Black Feather offre des excursions guidées pour les gens âgés de 16 à 66 ans.

Soyez l’un des rares privilégiés à visiter le sommet du monde et à découvrir la beauté sauvage et naturelle de Quttinirpaaq. Faites le tour du glacier Ad Astra; admirez les pics montagneux et les glaciers massifs; observez les bœufs musqués brouter et écoutez les hurlements des loups arctiques. Le parc ne dispose pas de sentiers balisés et le terrain est accidenté. Joignez-vous aux guides experts de Black Feather pour profiter pleinement de votre expédition en Extrême Arctique.

Un couple marche dans la toundra en bordure de pic montagneux.

Col Akshayuk

Parc national Auyuittuq
Distance : 97 km
Durée : 8 jours
Degré de difficulté : convient uniquement à ceux qui ont de l’expérience en randonnée en milieu sauvage arctique.
Meilleur temps pour la randonnée : juillet et août, toutefois la randonnée peut être risquée durant la dernière semaine de juillet et la première semaine d'août en raison des niveaux d'eau élevés qui rendent la traversée des ruisseaux de montagne risquée.

Parcourez le col Akshayuk, un corridor de déplacement traditionnel des Inuits, et admirez la vue à couper le souffle sur les montagnes. Ce circuit de 97 km relie le fjord Pangnirtung dans la baie Cumberland et le fjord North Pangnirtung, dans le détroit de Davis. Optez pour l’expédition de cinq à six jours (aller-retour) le long de la portion sud du sentier, du mont Overlord au lac Summit ou parcourez le sentier au complet, à partir du fjord North Pangnirtung jusqu'au mont Overlord, un parcours d’environ huit jours (aller seulement)!


Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador