Location: Kluane National Park and Reserve, Chilkoot Trail, S.S. Klondike, Dawson Historical Complex, S.S. Keno, Discovery Claim and Dredge No. 4 National Historic Sites
Distance: 1,695 km round trip from Whitehorse

Venture to Canada’s North! Walk in the footsteps of gold-seekers who made it to the Klondike and feel awe-struck by Kluane, home to 17 out of the 20 highest peaks in Canada. From rugged mountains, to charming northern towns, this 10-day itinerary is one to add to your bucket list.


View of Lake Louise and the mountains.

Day 1


Location: Carcross
Distance: 70 km from Whitehorse then take the train to Bennett

Travel back in time and follow the footsteps taken by the dreamers of the era along the Klondike Highway. Explore majestic Carcross, then board the White Pass and Yukon Route train where you can step into the Northern Wilderness of Bennett. Explore the intriguing ruins of the town which lived its glory years during the gold rush.


Recommended accommodation:  Camping, Bennett Lake campground


A short hike to Wapta Falls in Yoho National Park.

Day 2


Location: Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site

Ready for another day of discovery? Explore the legendary Chilkoot Trail and walk in the footsteps of gold-seekers who made it to the Klondike region. Board the train back to Carcross. When you arrive, check out a modern-day First Nations commercial village known as The Commons. End your day by returning to Whitehorse, a former gold rush town.


Emerald Lake and the mountains.

Day 3


Location: S.S. Klondike National Historic Site

Climb aboard the S.S. Klondike, a restored flagship of the British Yukon Navigation Company sternwheel fleet. From there, stroll the banks of the Yukon River, which will take you to the McBride Museum and the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre. Watch the water and you may see a family of beavers building a lodge. Keep an eye to the sky for circling golden eagles!


Parks Canada guide holds large fossil specimen at Walcott Quarry with views of Emerald Lake, Emerald Glacier and Wapta Mountain summit.

Day 4


Location: Dawson city
Distance: 550 km from Whitehorse

Travel north to Dawson City and check out the magnificent Five Finger Rapids along the way. Take advantage of the midnight sun to wander streets where historical buildings blend into the living town. Imagine thousands of gold-seekers-of-old milling about the busy streets. Feel the history which infuses every aspect of modern life in this iconic gold rush town.


A young man and woman are standing in front of their Westfalia on the side of the road.

Day 5


Location: Dawson Historical Complex and S.S. Keno National Historic Sites

Tour the “Paris of the North” and get a behind-the-scenes look at Dawson City, a charming town famous for its gold rush boom! Visit Robert Service’s cabin and bring his poems to life as you learn about the “Bard of the Yukon” and his quirky personality. Board the S.S. Keno. Visit the stately Commissioner’s Residence, or test your mettle in the Escape Room. Can you do it all?


A family having fun in the radium hot springs.

Day 6


Location: Discovery Claim and Dredge No. 4 National Historic Sites

Explore the Klondike goldfields! Visit the Discovery Claim, follow the trail and stand in the spot where the nugget that started the Klondike gold rush was found in 1896. Visit Dredge No. 4, the enormous machine that dug up creek beds to bring gold to the surface. Despite its fierce efficiency, several million dollars in gold would have been abandoned by miners and researchers at the time of the gold rush.


View of Lake Louise and the mountains.

Day 7 and 8


Location: Kluane National Park and Reserve
Distance: Haines Junction, 850 km from Dawson City, passing through Alaska

Travel along the aptly named Top of the World Highway through Chicken, Alaska and back along the Alaska Highway to Kluane. Don’t forget to stop by the Natural History Museum in Burwash Landing. Stretch your legs on the Soldier’s Summit Trail, located near the Thechàl Dhâl Visitor Centre. Keep your eyes peeled, you might get lucky and catch a glimpse of some Dall sheep. Make a stop to plan the rest of your trip in Haines Junction at the Da Kų Culture Centre.


Recommended accommodation:  Camping, Kathleen Lake campground


View of Lake Louise and the mountains.

Day 9


Location: Kluane National Park and Reserve

Already up? Get your hiking gear together, put on your shoes and set off to discover the amazing Kluane landscapes on foot! How about a hike up the King’s Throne? Perhaps a paddle on the crystal-clear waters of Kathleen Lake is more your thing.


Recommended accommodation:  oTENTik, Kathleen Lake campground


Glacier blue waters rushing through a striking limestone gorge.

Day 10


Location: Kluane National Park and Reserve

Wake up and spend a morning soaking up the scenery at Kathleen Lake. Go birdwatching along the Dezadeash River Trail. There’s still time to enjoy the views from the Rock Glacier Trail before heading back.


Distance: Return to Whitehorse, 155 km


Want a printed version?

Download the Regional Vacation Planner for Northern Canada (PDF, 4 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Regional Vacation Planners.

Endroits : Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane, lieux historiques nationaux du Complexe-Historique-de-Dawson, S.S. Keno, de la Concession-de-la-Découverte, de la Drague-Numéro-Quatre, de la PisteChilkoot et S.S. Klondike
Distance : Aller-retour : 1,695 km

Partez à l’aventure dans le Nord canadien! Suivez les traces des chercheurs d'or du Klondike et laissez-vous impressionner par Kluane, qui abrite 17 des 20 plus hauts sommets du Canada. Avec ses montagnes escarpées, ses charmantes villes du nord et son histoire fascinante, cet itinéraire de 10 jours vous charmera à coup sûr!


Train historique de la compagnie White Pass & Yukon Route à Bennett.

Jour 1


Endroit : Carcross
Distance : 72 km de Whitehorse et prendre ensuite le train vers Bennett

Remontez dans le temps et suivez les traces des rêveurs de l’époque sur la route du Klondike. Rendez-vous à Carcross et montez à bord du train de la compagnie White Pass & Yukon Route et traversez les milieux sauvages du Nord jusqu’à Bennett. Découvrez les vestiges de Bennett City, une ville qui a connu ses années de gloire durant la ruée vers l’or.


Hébergement recommandé :  Camping, camping du lac Bennett


Randonneur sur la Piste-Chilkoot devant un paysage montagneux.

Jour 2


Endroit : Lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot

Prêt pour une journée de découverte? Faites une randonnée sur la légendaire Piste-Chilkoot et marchez dans les pas des chercheurs d’or qui ont réussi à atteindre le Klondike. Reprenez le train en direction de Carcross. Profitez-en pour visiter le village et faire quelques emplettes avant de retourner à Whitehorse.


Trois adultes devant le bateau S.S Klondike.

Jour 3


Endroit : Lieu historique national S.S. Klondike

Montez à bord du S.S. Klondike, un ancien bateau à aubes entièrement rénové de la British Yukon Navigation. Flânez sur le bord du fleuve Yukon à Whitehorse à proximité du musée McBride et du centre culturel Kwanlin Dün. Soyez à l’affût, vous pourriez apercevoir des castors construire leur maison ou des aigles à tête blanche tournoyer dans le ciel.


Une femme en costume d’époque fait du vélo devant un bâtiment historique de Dawson City.

Jour 4


Endroit : Dawson City
Distance: 550 km de Whitehorse

Empruntez la route vers le nord, en direction de Dawson City et découvrez les rapides Five Finger en route. Profitez du soleil de minuit pour déambuler dans les rues où les bâtiments historiques se fondent au décor de la ville animée. Imaginez les milliers de chercheurs d’or se promenant dans les rues achalandées. Voyagez dans le temps au cœur de cette ville emblématique de la ruée vers l’or.


Des adultes se font prendre en photo avec un guide en costume d’époque devant un bâtiment historique.

Jour 5


Endroit : Lieux historiques nationaux du Complexe-historique-de-Dawson et S.S. Keno

Découvrez le « Paris du Nord ». Faites une visite de Dawson « en coulisse ». Visitez la cabane de Robert Service et découvrez la personnalité intrigante du « barde du Yukon ». Montez à bord du S.S. Keno. Visitez la majestueuse résidence du commissaire ou relevez le défi de la salle d’évasion. Parviendrez-vous à tout faire?


Un père et son fils font une batée à la recherche d'or au ruisseau Bonanza.

Jour 6


Endroit : Lieux historiques nationaux de Concession-de-la-Découverte et de la Drague-Numéro-Quatre

Parcourez les champs aurifères du Klondike! Visitez la Concession-de-la-Découverte, empruntez la piste et tenez-vous à l’endroit précis où les premières pépites d’or ont été découvertes en 1896, provoquant ainsi une véritable ruée vers l’or au Klondike. Découvrez la Drague-Numéro-Quatre, cette imposante machine qui creusait le lit des ruisseaux pour ramener l’or à la surface. Malgré son efficacité redoutable, plusieurs millions de dollars en or auraient été abandonnés par les mineurs et les chercheurs à l’époque de la ruée vers l’or.


Un groupe de mouflons de Dall.

Jours 7 et 8


Endroit : Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane
Distance: Haines Junction, 850 km de Dawson City, en passant par l’Alaska

Aventurez-vous sur la route Sommet-du-Monde digne de son nom! Traversez Chicken en Alaska et redescendez en empruntant la route de l’Alaska jusqu’à Kluane. N’oubliez pas de faire un arrêt au musée d’histoire naturelle à Burwash Landing. Dégourdissez-vous les jambes en route : empruntez le sentier Sommet Soldier’s près du centre d’accueil du Thechàl Dhâl. Qui sait, vous aurez peut-être la chance d’observer des mouflons de Dall. Faites un arrêt au centre culturel Da Kų pour planifier votre séjour et découvrez le monde fascinant de Kluane.


Hébergement recommandé :  Camping, camping du lac Kathleen


Deux kayakistes sur le lac Kathleen.

Jour 9


Endroit : Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Déjà debout? Rassemblez votre équipement de randonnée, enfilez vos chaussures et partez à pieds à la découverte des paysages époustouflants de Kluane! Une randonnée sur le sentier King’s Throne en après-midi? Ou peut-être préférez-vous pagayer sur les eaux cristallines et étincelantes du lac Kathleen.


Hébergement recommandé :  oTENTik, camping du lac Kathleen


Vue panoramique du lac Kathleen.

Jour 10


Endroit : Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Profitez de la matinée pour admirer le paysage du lac Kathleen. Observez les oiseaux le long du sentier de la Rivière Dezadeash. Il vous reste encore du temps pour admirer les paysages époustouflants du sentier du Glacier-Rocheux avant de retourner à la maison.


Distance : Retour à Whitehorse, 155 km


Vous voulez une version imprimée?

Téléchargez le guide régional de vacances du Nord canadien (PDF, 4 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides régionaux de vacances.