From spotting whales flip their tails and hiking storied trails, to climbing Gros Morne’s highest peak or rolling along a saltmarsh boardwalk; pick the perfect experience and head out hiking in Atlantic Canada.

Get the most from the wild when you download the Parks Canada App with all-new trail maps to use offline and insider hiking tips.

Newfoundland and Labrador

North Head Trail

Signal Hill National Historic Site
Length: 1.7km
Time: 1 hour
Level of difficulty: Difficult. Best for adventurous people not suffering from vertigo!

The North Head Trail is the oldest of the trails on Signal Hill. It may have been in use as far back as the 1500s. It’s a tough hour-long clamber which winds along the cliff rising steeply along the rugged terrain. Sure, some sections may leave you puffing for air, but you’re guaranteed historic surroundings and ravishing views over the seascape and St. John’s Harbour in Newfoundland while you recover; totally worth it!

Coastal Trail

Terra Nova National Park
Length: 9.5km (return)
Time: 3 - 3.5 hours
Level of difficulty: Easy to moderate. Best for older kids and adults.

Explore the ever-popular Coastal Trail, a mostly easy hike with a few moderate climbs thrown in to keep you on your toes (and hands and knees!). Journey to the heart of the park, past the shimmering waters of Pissamare Falls, across Salton’s Brook then along the coast trail of inner Newman Sound. Look out for bald eagles swooping overhead and Moon jellyfish drifting in the waters below.

Two visitors by the sea on the Coastal Trail.

Coastal Trail

Port au Choix National Historic Site
Length: 1km (one-way)
Time: 10 - 20 minutes
Level of difficulty: Moderate. Best for older kids and mobile adults because the rock crossings can get slippery when wet.

Walk in ancient footsteps on the west side of Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula, at the crossroads of 6000 years of human history. Take the 1km Coastal Trail to Phillip’s Garden, one of the largest Dorset sites in the eastern Canadian Arctic. The site contains at least 50 house depressions and thousands of artifacts from the Paleoeskimo occupation. Look out for the small dense Coastal Tuckamore trees along the way, and see if you can spot a whale flip its tail out to sea.


Prince Edward Island


Nova Scotia

Skyline Trail

Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Length: 8.2km (loop)
Time: 2 -3 hours
Level of difficulty: Easy. An accessible trail with a boardwalk and rugged back loop, but no dogs are allowed.

Get ready for some serious wow factor along the Skyline Trail, a loop through one of the complex habitats of Cape Breton Island into a wild world of beauty. From an eagle’s eye view of the Cabot Trail and spotting whales in the Gulf of St Lawrence below, to a boardwalk over fragile headland plants, and the chance to spy moose, bald eagles and bears; there’s plenty to see along this stunning trail.


New Brunswick

A visitor takes a photo of the fall colours on the Upper Salmon River.

Fundy Circuit

Fundy National Park
Length: 48km
Time: 3 - 5 days
Level of difficulty: Difficult. Best for serious backcountry hikers!

Bragging rights await those who dare tackle the Fundy Circuit, a 48-kilometre network of seven linked hiking trails with backcountry camping along the way. Make your camping reservations and explore the hidden treasures of this gorgeous national park from river valleys, and crystal clear lakes, to Acadian forest and rugged coastal trails.

Observer des baleines, parcourir des sentiers chargés d’histoire, grimper jusqu'au plus haut sommet ou marcher sur une promenade en bois le long d’un marais, il y a assurément une randonnée pour vous dans le Canada atlantique.

Téléchargez l’application de Parcs Canada et profitez au maximum de votre expérience grâce aux cartes de sentiers utilisables hors ligne et aux précieux conseils sur la randonnée.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Sentier de Cap-Nord

Lieu historique national de Signal Hill
Distance : 1,7 km
Durée : 1 heure
Degré de difficulté : difficile. Convient aux gens aventureux ne souffrant pas de vertiges!

Le sentier de Cap-Nord est le plus vieux de la colline de Signal Hill et aurait servi dès les années 1500. Durant les mois d’été, il n’est pas rare d’apercevoir des baleines, des icebergs et des oiseaux de rivage au large du cap Nord. Une montée difficile d’une heure en terrain accidenté le long d’une falaise abrupte vous attend. Certaines sections vous laisseront peut-être à bout de souffle mais les points de vue spectaculaires sur le paysage marin et le port St. John’s vous feront vite oublier l’effort.

Sentier côtier

Parc national Terra-Nova
Distance : 9,5 km (aller-retour)
Durée : 3 à 4 heures
Degré de difficulté : facile à modéré. Convient aux enfants ayant déjà fait leurs preuves en randonnée et aux adultes.

Explorez ce sentier très populaire qui longe la côte est de Terre-Neuve. Passez les eaux scintillantes de la chute Pissamare, traversez le ruisseau Salton, puis marchez jusqu’à Newman Sound, au cœur du parc. Restez à l’affut des pygargues à tête blanche planant au-dessus de vous et des méduses dérivant au gré du courant dans les eaux. Ce sentier est en grande partie facile mais présente quelques montées modérées pour vous tenir en alerte.

Deux visiteurs marchent en bordure de la mer sur le sentier Côtier.

Sentier Côtier

Lieu historique national de Port au Choix
Distance : 1 km (aller)
Durée : 10 à 20 minutes
Degré de difficulté : modéré. Convient aux enfants ayant déjà fait leurs preuves en randonnée et aux adultes car les passages rocheux peuvent devenir glissants lorsqu'ils sont mouillés.

Plongez dans le passé au carrefour de 6 000 ans d'histoire humaine du côté ouest de la péninsule Great Northern de Terre-Neuve. Empruntez le sentier Côtier pour atteindre le Phillip’s Garden, l'un des plus vastes sites dorsetiens de l'est de l'Arctique canadien. Il renferme au moins 50 marques visibles associées à des habitations et des milliers d'artefacts témoignant de la vie des Paléo-esquimaux. En cours de route, observez les tuckamores côtiers, bosquets denses et rabougris d’épinettes et de sapins, et guettez la mer pour avoir la chance d’apercevoir une baleine au large.


Île-du-Prince-Édouard


Nouvelle-Écosse

Sentier Skyline

Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton
Distance : 8,2 km (boucle)
Durée : 2 à 3 heures
Degré de difficulté : facile. Un sentier accidenté avec un trottoir de bois et des marches. Les chiens sont interdits dans cet habitat fragile.

Préparez-vous à être sérieusement impressionné par le sentier Skyline. Cette boucle traverse un des habitats complexes de l’îIe du Cap-Breton dans un univers naturel de toute beauté. Vue plongeante exceptionnelle sur le Cabot Trail, observation de baleines dans le golfe Saint-Laurent, promenade sur un trottoir au-dessus de plantes fragiles, observation d’orignaux, de pygargues à tête blanche ou d’ours : il y a tellement à voir et à explorer tout au long de cette randonnée spectaculaire.


Nouveau-Brunswick

Un visiteur prend une photo des couleurs d’automne à la rivière Upper Salmon.

Circuit Fundy

Parc national Fundy
Distance : 48 km
Durée : 3 à 5 jours
Degré de difficulté : difficile. Convient aux randonneurs d’arrière-pays expérimentés!

Ceux qui osent s’attaquer au circuit Fundy ont de bonnes raisons de se vanter! Ce circuit est composé de sept sentiers qui s’étendent sur 48 km parsemés d’emplacements de camping. Explorez les trésors cachés de ce magnifique parc national : vallées, rivières, lacs cristallins, forêt acadienne et côtes accidentées. Planifiez bien votre parcours car vous devez réserver vos emplacements de camping à l’avance.