Location: Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Alexander Graham Bell, Fortress of Louisbourg and St. Peters Canal National Historic Sites, NS
Distance: 615 km roundtrip on Cape Breton Island, NS

Take in spectacular maritime views as you drive along the world-famous Cabot Trail. This 6-day Nova Scotia itinerary will introduce you to the genius of Alexander Graham Bell, and transform you into a resident of the walled city of Louisbourg for a day… and night!


Day 1


Location: Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site, Baddeck
Distance: 350 km from Halifax, NS or 418 km from Moncton, NB

Your Cabot Trail adventure begins in Baddeck! Visit Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site, put on your white gloves and discover the mind of a Canadian genius.


Two visitors on the Acadian Trail looking at the ocean with the Cabot Trail below.

Day 2


Location: Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Chéticamp
Distance: 94 km from Baddeck

Climb above the Chéticamp River and marvel at the splendor of an ocean sunset as you walk the Acadian Trail. Admire not only the magnificent view, but also the bald eagles, whales and moose who love to visit the area!


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Chéticamp campground


Day 3


Location: Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Ingonish
Distance: 108 km from Chéticamp

Travel more than 100 km on the breathtaking Cabot Trail. Ride along rugged, wave-pounded cliffs and sheltered coves— every turn inspires a photo! Challenge your family to complete 10 short hikes in one day. This is definitely the place to do it!

Not tired yet? Go on the magical guided Lantern Walk Through Time or the Seeing in the Dark tour.


Recommended accommodation: oTENTik, Ingonish Beach campground


A young girl wrapped in a towel at North Bay Beach.

Day 4


Location: Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Ingonish

Start your day off on the right foot as you golf at the famous Highland Links Golf Course, ranked among the top 100 in the world!

Want to take it easy today? Relax and enjoy the stunning North Bay Beach. Enjoy saltwater swimming in the cool waters of the Atlantic Ocean then relax on stretches of white sand with Ingonish Island off in the distance.

After a day of fun at the beach, visit local artisan shops and admire their unique creations. Get some rest and spend the night in a cozy B&B or inn.


Day 5


Location: Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, Louisbourg
Distance: 160 km d’Ingonish

Spend the day at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site. Discover what life was like 300 years ago from authentically-dressed “residents.”

Want a taste of history? Savour Fortress™ Rum and a delicious meal at the Storehouse Tavern. Discover the living culture of Unama’ki through songs and stories at the Mi’kmaw Interpretive Centre. Become one of the city’s residents for the night as you end the evening under the stars, sleeping within the safety of the fortress walls in a period-style house.


Recommended accommodation: Historic stay, Fortress of Louisbourg


An aerial view of the Fortress of Louisbourg.

Day 6


Location: Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

After a good night's sleep, explore the beautiful beach and scenic hiking trails nearby. Discover the secluded Kennington Cove, a white sand beach steeped in history. Head out for an afternoon stroll at what locals call ‘Old Town’ and enjoy the impressive views of the fortress and the surrounding harbour. Snap a selfie at Louisbourg Lighthouse and follow a trail that runs along a rugged coastline with unsurpassed vistas and crashing waves. Visit Royal Battery National Historic Site and uncover a place where the foundations of the French defence tell a story of battles long ago, or walk through the ruins of the original 18th century town… there are so many opportunities to see how nature and history connect!


Location: St. Peters Canal National Historic Site

On your way back, make a stop at the St. Peters Canal National Historic Site to watch boats navigate through the locks. Learn about the diverse history of this cultural meeting place, which was originally a Mi’kmaq portage site and later a French trading post. Walk along the canal’s winding paths and pack a picnic to enjoy at Battery Park.


Distance: Return to Baddeck, 120 km

Endroit : Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, lieux historiques nationaux Alexander-Graham-Bell, de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg et du Canal-de-St. Peters
Distance: Aller-retour de 615 km sur l’île du Cap-Breton en Nouvelle-Écosse

Admirez les paysages les plus spectaculaires des Maritimes en roulant sur la fameuse Cabot Trail, une route côtière panoramique de renommée mondiale. Lors de cet itinéraire de 6 jours en Nouvelle-Écosse, découvrez le génie d’Alexander Graham Bell et devenez résident de la ville fortifiée de Louisbourg le temps d’une journée et … d’une nuit.


Jour 1


Endroit : Lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell, Baddeck
Distance: 350 km d’Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse ou 418 km de Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick

Votre aventure sur la fameuse Cabot Trail débute à Baddeck. Visitez le lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell, enfilez vos gants blancs et découvrez l’esprit d’un génie canadien.


Deux visiteurs sur le sentier L’Acadien regardent l’océan et la Cabot Trail.

Jour 2


Endroit : Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, Chéticamp
Distance: 94 km de Baddeck

Admirez la splendeur d'un coucher de soleil sur l'océan en parcourant le sentier L’Acadien qui grimpe au-dessus de la rivière Chéticamp. La splendide vue panoramique est souvent agrémentée de la présence de pygargues à tête blanche, de baleines et d'orignaux!


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping de Chéticamp


Jour 3


Endroit : Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, Ingonish
Distance: 108 km de Chéticamp

Parcourez plus de 100 km sur l’époustouflante Cabot Trail. Roulez le long d’anses protégées et de falaises abruptes battues par les vagues : chaque virage vous inspirera une photo! Mettez votre famille au défi! Complétez 10 courtes randonnées en une journée. C’est possible ici!

Vous avez encore de l’énergie? Participez à une randonnée guidée nocturne ou remontez le temps à la lueur de la lanterne.


Hébergement recommandé : oTENTik, camping d’Ingonish Beach


Une jeune fille avec sa serviette sur la plage de la Baie North.

Jour 4


Endroit : Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, Ingonish

Commencez votre journée du bon pied. Allez jouer au golf au célèbre terrain de golf Highlands Links, classé parmi les 100 meilleurs au monde!

Vous préférez vous la couler douce? Profitez de la splendide plage de la Baie North. Baignez-vous dans les eaux fraîches et salées de l'océan Atlantique, puis détendez-vous sur le sable blanc en admirant l'île Ingonish au loin.

Quittez le parc en direction de Louisbourg. Sur la route, visitez les boutiques des artisans locaux. Passez la nuit dans une auberge ou un gîte touristique à l’ambiance chaleureuse.


Jour 5


Endroit : Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, Louisbourg
Distance: 160 km d’Ingonish

Passez la journée au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg. Discutez de la vie d’il y a 300 ans avec d’authentiques « résidents ».

Offrez-vous un avant-goût de l'histoire! Savourez le rhum FortressMC accompagné d’un délicieux repas dans l’ambiance d’une taverne du 18e siècle. Découvrez le riche patrimoine d'Unama'ki grâce à des chansons et des histoires au centre d'interprétation mi'kmaw. Campez sous les étoiles en toute sécurité à l’intérieur des murs de la forteresse dans une maison de style d’époque. Devenez l’un des résidents de la ville pour la nuit!


Hébergement recommandé : Séjour historique, Forteresse-de-Louisbourg


Vue aérienne de la forteresse de Louisbourg.

Jour 6


Endroit : Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Après une bonne nuit de sommeil, explorez la magnifique plage ou les sentiers pédestres à proximité. Découvrez l'anse Kennington, une plage de sable blanc chargée d'histoire. Faites une promenade dans la « vieille ville » et admirez la vue impressionnante sur la forteresse et le port. Prenez un autoportrait devant le phare de Louisbourg et suivez le sentier qui longe le littoral accidenté pour profiter des vues splendides et des vagues déferlantes. Visitez le lieu historique national de la Batterie-Royale pour découvrir un endroit qui raconte l'histoire des batailles d'autrefois, ou promenez-vous dans les ruines de la ville d'origine du 18e siècle... il y a tant d'occasions de voir comment la nature et l'histoire sont reliées!


Endroit : Lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters

Sur le chemin de retour, faites un arrêt au lieu historique national du Canal-de-St. Peters pour contempler les navires qui traversent les écluses. Découvrez l'histoire de ce lieu de rencontre culturel. L’endroit était autrefois un site de portage mi’kmaq et plus tard un poste de traite français. Promenez-vous dans les sentiers le long du canal et savourez un pique-nique au parc Battery.


Distance: Retour à Baddeck, 120 km