Outreach Activities | 2021 Management Measures | Ask a Scientist  | Take Action  | Partners

Parks Canada is taking action, in collaboration with Indigenous partners and other federal departments, to support the recovery of the endangered Southern Resident Killer Whales through science and monitoring efforts, enforcement, and outreach, interpretation and education programs.

Outreach Activities

Virtual Programs
Two Parks Canada students delivering a virtual  program from the Vancouver Office

Join us online to learn more about endangered Southern Resident Killer Whales, their families, their food chain, and actions you can take to help protect them.

Thank you to the Royal BC Museum, Saturna Island Marine Research and Education Society and Bamfield Marine Science Centre for hosting us in Summer 2020.

Events/Dock Walks
Two Parks Canada employees standing at an  outreach booth at the Victoria Boating and  Fishing Show (in February 2020)

All in-person Southern Resident Killer Whale outreach activities have been cancelled for Summer, Fall and Winter 2020. Please check back in February for more information about Spring 2021.

2021 Management Measures for the protection of Southern Resident Killer Whales

Southern Resident Killer Whales are endangered. They struggle to find enough food to eat and are vulnerable to contaminants. Noise pollution and disruption from boats interfere with their hunt for prey. 

The 2021 Management Measures have been put in place to reduce disturbance from boats and to protect Chinook Salmon, an important food source for Southern Resident Killer Whales.

Looking to learn more? A number of outreach and education products have been developed in collaboration with Transport Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada and Parks Canada to help raise awareness:

If you or your organization are interested in receiving physical copies of any of the products above, please reach out to us directly at: TC.SRKW-ERS.TC@tc.gc.ca

Ask A Scientist

A Parks Canada employee using a hydrophone from a boat

Have you ever wondered what the scientists and researchers are working on in national parks to help protect Southern Resident Killer Whales? Check out the Q&A below to hear from Parks Canada scientists as they share the answers to some frequently asked questions about Southern Resident Killer Whale research in Coastal BC!

 
Q: How do you identify and track individual Southern Resident Killer Whales out in the field?

A: Riley Pollom, Gulf Islands National Park Reserve - Killer whales are identified by their saddle patch, which is a white pattern behind their dorsal fin. They can also be identified by unique patterns, scars, or wear on their dorsal fin. Similar to how humans have unique fingerprints, killer whales have unique saddle patches.

Q: What kind of information do you get from a hydrophone?

A: Krista Bohlen, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve - We use hydrophones to have an ear underwater listening for what our eyes can’t detect above the surface. We are able to identify which cetaceans (whales, dolphins, and porpoises) are in the area by listening for their unique sounds. By analyzing these recordings, we can even narrow it down to which Southern Resident pod (J, K or L) we are listening to! While all pods share the same language, they each have a distinctive dialect of calls.

We also use the hydrophone to listen to the underwater noise that these whales are exposed to, such as engine noise from boats. This helps us better understand how to reduce noise disturbance for these highly social animals so they are able to continue communicating with one another.

Q: What’s your favourite part about researching Southern Resident Killer Whales?

A: Jennifer Yakimishyn, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve - My favourite part of this research is the interconnectedness of the marine food web. The role of the little players in the Southern Resident Killer Whale food web is just as important as the health of big players, the orcas!

Phytoplankton and zooplankton form the basis of the marine food web by providing food for many marine animals ranging from grey whales to forage fish, including Pacific Sand Lance. Schools of forage fish are important food for seabirds and salmon, especially Chinook Salmon. Chinook Salmon, the largest of our coastal Pacific salmon species, are Southern Resident Killer Whales' favourite food. Each species plays an important role in this food web and protecting each ecosystem element is critical to the survival of the Southern Resident Killer Whales.

Simplified Southern Resident Killer Whale food  chain. Word boxes show phytoplankton at the  bottom of the food chain followed by  zooplankton, then forage fish (Pacific Sand Lance,  Pacific Herring), Chinook Salmon and then  Southern Resident Killer Whales at the top.

Q: What does eelgrass have to do with Southern Resident Killer Whale protection?

A: Krista Bohlen, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve - Eelgrass is an important habitat for juvenile fish species – much like an ocean nursery! For example, Chinook Salmon use eelgrass meadows to hide from predators when they are juveniles before they grow to larger sizes and become the favourite food source for Southern Resident Killer Whales.

In addition, eelgrass meadows sequester significant amounts of carbon which helps reduce the effects of climate change, making our oceans a healthier place for orcas and all other ocean life too!

Q: When you are conducting research is it just you and your camera? Or do you work as part of a team?

A: Meag McCord, Gulf Islands National Park Reserve - The research and monitoring efforts around Southern Resident Killer Whales are incredibly collaborative. When I’m out on the water and see Southern Resident Killer Whales I alert my colleagues at Pacific Rim National Park Reserve and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The team at Fisheries and Oceans Canada can immediately pull up any hydrophone data from the area to help identify the pod and can provide feedback to us within minutes. It’s the best science ever!

We also make sure to communicate with each other to ensure that we don’t have too many vessels out on the water at the same time. It’s important to give the Southern Resident Killer Whales space to communicate, rest and forage.

Q: Why is it so important to focus on salmon populations for Southern Resident Killer Whale recovery?

A: Jennifer Yakimishyn, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve - Pacific salmon, such as Chinook and Chum, are the favourite food for Resident Killer Whales. Pacific salmon populations are doing poorly due to many factors, including poor ocean survival and degraded freshwater spawning and rearing habitats.

The habitat of many salmon stream systems on the west coast of Vancouver Island were degraded due to historic logging. Restoration of these stream habitats not only support salmon and their young, but contributes to healthy coastal ecosystems including both terrestrial and marine habitats. Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is home to important salmon bearing streams and marine corridors for migrating salmon. Parks Canada is working on identifying these important habitats and working with partners to restore important salmon streams in the area.

Q: Where can I see a Southern Resident Killer Whale?

A: Nicole Kroeker, Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites - Great question! Southern Resident Killer Whales typically spend the summer and fall months in the Salish Sea (Strait of Georgia, Strait of Juan de Fuca and Puget Sound). There are some great shore-based whale watching spots in Gulf Islands National Park Reserve and Pacific Rim National Park Reserve and the Southern Residents even came to visit Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse earlier this summer. There is no magic word that will make the Southern Resident Killer Whales appear but “whale waiting” is all part of the experience. Grab a seat on shore, look out at the ocean and take it all in.

Q: What’s the coolest thing you’ve seen out in the field?

A: Krista Bohlen, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve - The coolest moment I’ve experienced while in the field was witnessing J-56 “Tofino” breaching twice! It was a special moment not only because of how incredibly cute orca calves are, but also because J-56 is a light of hope for the endangered Southern Resident Killer Whales.

Southern Resident Killer Whale pods are matriarchal in nature. Female orcas, like Tofino, hold special significance for the pods - passing on years of teachings and social and local knowledge that form the foundation of their complex culture. Given the struggle to birth healthy orca calves in recent years, and few newborn females, J-56 is a hopeful sight to see!

Do you have another question that you’d like to have answered? Send us a message on Facebook or Twitter e-mail and we’ll get it answered!

Take Action

Explore the Whale Trail
People watch whales from shore at East Point on  Saturna Island

Enjoy shore-based whale watching locations along the BC Coast with the BC Whale Trail. Be sure to check out locations within Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve and Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites.

Report your Sightings
Screenshot of the BC Cetacean Sightings  Network’s “Report a Sighting” webpage

Report your whale sightings to the BC Cetacean Sightings Network through the WhaleReport App.

Protect your waterways
Parks Canada team members hold garbage  pickers and full garbage bags after a shoreline  cleanup

We are all connected to the ocean. Be cautious of what you put down the drain, nothing toxic or plastic.

Activités de sensibilisation | Mesures de gestion 2020 | Adresser une question aux scientifiques  | Agir  | Partenaires

Parcs Canada prend des mesures, en collaboration avec des partenaires autochtones et d’autres ministères fédéraux, pour appuyer le rétablissement de l’épaulard résident du Sud, une espèce menacée, par des travaux scientifiques, des activités de surveillance et de maintien de l’ordre et des programmes de sensibilisation, d’interprétation et d’information.

Activités de sensibilisation

Programmes virtuels
Deux stagiaires de Parcs Canada donnent un programme virtuel depuis le bureau de Vancouver

Rejoignez-nous en ligne pour en savoir plus sur les épaulards résidents du Sud, leurs familles, leur chaîne alimentaire et les mesures que vous pouvez prendre pour protéger cette espèce menacée.

Événements/Promenades sur les quais
Deux membres du personnel de Parcs Canada à un kiosque d’information au Victoria Boating and Fishing Show (en février 2020)

De juin à août 2021, l’équipe de sensibilisation relative aux épaulards résidents du Sud organise des activités de sensibilisation ponctuelles dans les marinas, les quais et les parcs de Tofino, Ucluelet, Vancouver et West Vancouver. Nous sommes impatients de vous y rencontrer!

Programme des Xplorateurs

Tu veux en savoir plus sur l’épaulard résident du Sud en voie de disparition, explorer la côte de la Colombie-Britannique et jouer à des jeux sur la nature chemin faisant? Allez Xplorer!

 

Mesures de gestion en 2021 pour protéger l’épaulard résident du sud

Les épaulards résidents du Sud sont en voie de disparition. Ils luttent pour trouver suffisamment de nourriture et ils sont vulnérables aux contaminants. La sonore et les perturbations causées par les bateaux interfèrent avec la chasse de leurs proies.

Les mesures de gestion de 2021 ont été mises en place pour réduire les perturbations causées par les bateaux et pour protéger le saumon quinnat, une importante source de nourriture pour les épaulards résidents du Sud.

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Nous avons mis au point plusieurs produits de sensibilisation et d’information en collaboration avec Transports Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et Parcs Canada :

Si vous ou votre organisation souhaitez recevoir des copies physiques de l’un ou l’autre des produits ci-dessus, envoyez un courriel à TC.SRKW-ERS.TC@tc.gc.ca.

Adresser une question aux scientifiques

Une personne de Parcs Canada utilise un hydrophone à bord d’un bateau

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé sur quoi travaillent les scientifiques et chercheurs dans nos parcs nationaux pour aider à protéger l’épaulard résident du Sud? Lisez ci-dessous les réponses préparées par les scientifiques de Parcs Canada aux questions les plus souvent posées au sujet de la recherche sur les épaulards résidents du Sud dans la région côtière de la Colombie-Britannique.

 
Q : Comment faites-vous pour identifier et suivre les épaulards résidents du Sud? 

R. : Riley Pollom, Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf - On reconnaît les épaulards par leur tache en forme de selle, qui consiste en un motif blanc derrière leur nageoire dorsale. Ils peuvent également être identifiés par des motifs uniques, des cicatrices ou les marques d’usure de leur nageoire dorsale. Tout comme les humains qui ont des empreintes digitales uniques, les épaulards ont des taches en forme de selle uniques.

Q : Quel genre d’information pouvez-vous tirer d’un hydrophone?

R. : Krista Bohlen, Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim - Nous utilisons des hydrophones pour écouter sous l’eau ce que nos yeux ne peuvent pas détecter au-dessus de la surface. Nous sommes en mesure d’identifier les cétacés (épaulards, dauphins et marsouins) qui se trouvent dans la zone en écoutant leurs sons uniques. En analysant ces enregistrements, nous pouvons même déterminer précisément quel est le groupe d’épaulards résidents du Sud (J, K ou L) que nous écoutons! Bien que tous les groupes partagent la même langue, ils ont chacun un dialecte d’appels distincts.

Nous utilisons également l’hydrophone pour écouter le bruit sous-marin auquel les épaulards sont exposés, comme le bruit du moteur des bateaux. Cela nous permet de mieux comprendre comment réduire les perturbations sonores pour ces animaux très sociaux afin qu’ils puissent continuer à communiquer entre eux.

Q  : Quelle est votre partie préférée de la recherche sur les épaulards résidents du Sud?

R. : Jennifer Yakimishyn, Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim - Ce que je préfère dans cette recherche, c’est l’interconnexion de la chaîne alimentaire marine. Le rôle joué par les petits acteurs de la chaîne alimentaire des épaulards résidents du Sud est tout aussi important que la santé des grands participants, les épaulards!

Le phytoplancton et le zooplancton forment la base de la chaîne alimentaire marine en fournissant de la nourriture à de nombreux animaux marins, depuis les baleines grises jusqu’aux poissons fourrage, dont le lançon du Pacifique. Les bancs de poissons fourrage constituent une nourriture importante pour les oiseaux marins et les saumons, en particulier le saumon quinnat. Le saumon quinnat, le plus grand de nos espèces de saumon du Pacifique côtier, est la nourriture préférée des épaulards résidents du Sud. Chaque espèce joue un rôle important dans cette chaîne alimentaire et la protection de chaque élément de l’écosystème est essentielle à la survie des épaulards résidents du Sud.

La chaîne alimentaire simplifiée de l’épaulard résident du Sud. Des encadrés contiennent les mots phytoplancton au bas de la chaîne alimentaire, suivi de zooplancton, puis de poisson fourrage (lançon du Pacifique, hareng du Pacifique), de saumon quinnat, et enfin d’épaulard résident du Sud tout en haut.

Q : Quel est le rapport entre les zostères et la protection des épaulards résidents du Sud?

R. : Krista Bohlen, Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim - La zostère est un habitat important pour les jeunes poissons, un peu comme une pouponnière de l’océan! Par exemple, le saumon quinnat utilise les herbiers de zostères pour se cacher des prédateurs lorsqu’il est jeune, avant qu’il n’atteigne une taille plus importante et devienne la source de nourriture préférée des épaulards résidents du Sud.

En outre, les herbiers de zostères retiennent des quantités importantes de carbone, ce qui contribue à réduire les effets du changement climatique, faisant de nos océans un lieu plus sain pour les épaulards et toutes les autres formes de vie océanique!

Q : Lorsque vous faites des recherches, est-ce que vous êtes seule avec votre appareil photo? Ou bien travaillez-vous en équipe?

R. : Meag McCord, Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf - Les efforts de recherche et de surveillance entourant les épaulards résidents du Sud sont incroyablement coopératifs. Quand je suis sur l’eau et que j’aperçois des épaulards résidents du Sud, j’alerte mes collègues de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim et de Pêches et Océans Canada. L’équipe de Pêches et Océans Canada peut immédiatement récupérer les données des hydrophones de la zone afin d’aider à identifier le groupe, et elle peut nous renseigner en quelques minutes. C’est la meilleure science qui soit!

Nous veillons également à communiquer entre nous pour éviter d’avoir trop de navires sur l’eau en même temps. Il est important de donner aux épaulards résidents du Sud un espace pour communiquer, se reposer et se nourrir.

Q : Pourquoi est-il si important de se concentrer sur les populations de saumon pour le rétablissement des épaulards résidents du Sud?

R. : Jennifer Yakimishyn, Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim - Le saumon du Pacifique, comme le saumon quinnat et le saumon kéta, est la nourriture préférée des épaulards résidents du Sud. Les populations de saumon du Pacifique se portent mal en raison de nombreux facteurs, dont la perte d’habitats de frai et d’élevage en eau douce.

L’habitat des saumons dans de nombreux chevelus hydrographiques sur la côte Ouest de l’île de Vancouver a été dégradé en raison de l’exploitation forestière passée. La restauration de ces habitats permet de soutenir les saumons et leurs petits, et elle contribue à la santé des écosystèmes côtiers, y compris les habitats terrestres et marins. La réserve de parc national Pacific Rim abrite d’importants cours d’eau où vivent les saumons et des couloirs marins pour les saumons en migration. Parcs Canada travaille à l’identification de ces habitats importants et collabore avec des partenaires pour restaurer les importants cours d’eau où vivent les saumons dans la région.

Q : Où puis-je voir un épaulard résident du Sud

R. : Nicole Kroeker, Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard - Excellente question! Les épaulards résidents du Sud passent généralement les mois d’été et d’automne dans la mer des Salish (détroit de Georgia, détroit de Juan de Fuca et Puget Sound). Il y a d’excellents endroits pour observer les baleines depuis la côte dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf et la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Les épaulards résidents du Sud sont même venus visiter Fort Rodd Hill et le phare-de-Fisgard au début de l’été. Il n’y a pas de mot magique qui fera apparaître les épaulards résidents du Sud, mais « l’attente des baleines » fait partie de l’expérience. Prenez place sur le rivage, regardez l’océan et immergez-vous dans l’ambiance.

Q : Quel est l’élément le plus génial que vous ayez observé sur le terrain?

R. : Krista Bohlen, Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim - La chose la plus incroyable que j’ai vécue sur le terrain a été d’assister à la double brèche de Tofino (J-56)! Ce fut un moment spécial, non seulement parce que les jeunes épaulards sont incroyablement mignons, mais aussi parce que Tofino représente une lueur d’espoir pour les épaulards résidents du Sud, une espèce menacée.

Les groupes d’épaulards résidents du Sud sont de nature matriarcale. Les épaulards femelles, comme Tofino, ont une signification particulière pour les groupes, car ils transmettent des années d’enseignement et de connaissances sociales et locales qui constituent le fondement de leur culture complexe. Compte tenu de la lutte pour la naissance de bébés épaulards en bonne santé ces dernières années, J-56 est une vision qui donne espoir!

Avez-vous une autre question à nous poser? Envoyez-nous un message par l’entremise de Facebook ou de Twitter, et nous y répondrons!

Agir

Explorez le sentier des baleines
Des gens observent des baleines depuis le rivage à East Point, sur l’île de Saturna

Profitez des lieux d’observation des baleines depuis la côte de la Colombie-Britannique en parcourant The Whale Trail (site en anglais seulement). Assurez-vous de visiter les réserves de parc national du Canada des Îles-Gulf et Pacific Rim ainsi que les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard.

Signalement des observations
Capture d’écran de la page Web « Signaler une observation » du Réseau d’observation des cétacés de Colombie-Britannique

Signalez vos observations de baleines au Réseau d’observation des cétacés de Colombie-Britannique (site en anglais seulement) à l’aide de l’application WhaleReport.

Protégez vos cours d’eau
Des membres de l’équipe de Parcs Canada posent avec des pinces à ordures et des sacs-poubelle pleins après avoir nettoyé le rivage.

Nous entretenons tous des liens étroits avec les océans. Faites attention à ce que vous jetez dans les égouts : rien de toxique, rien en plastique.