Experience the joys of winter in your favourite Parks Canada places. On the agenda: a wide variety of activities and special events. Let the memories begin!

Events by province

Quebec

Tour de la Gaspésie participants ski along the shore.

Traversée de la Gaspésie

Forillon National Park

March 1

From February 23 to March 2, Traversée de la Gaspésie (TDLG) participants will ski or snowshoe from Matane all the way to Gaspé. They will be at Forillon National Park on March 1. For more information: http://tdlg.qc.ca/?lang=en

Manitoba

A man holding his skis on a snowy lake.

Wasagaming on Edge: drinks, debauchery, and the dirty thirties

Riding Mountain National Park

February 15

Make your way to Riding Mountain National Park and come try a new winter experience like Wasagaming on Edge. Join us Friday evenings for an eye-opening tour of historic Wasagaming. Death, lies, exploitation, Nazis; explore the hidden history behind Riding Mountain National Park and see all the skeletons in the closet. Cap off the evening with a selection of local brews.

Saskatchewan

A young girl snowshoeing through deep snow in the woods.

Waskesiu Snow Days

Prince Albert National Park

February 18 – 24

Enjoy a week of activities for families to learn and have fun together!

Alberta

A family playing hockey on the frozen Pyramid Lake during the winter.

Winter Carnival

Cave and Basin National Historic Site

December 15 – March 31

Immerse yourself in the magic of winter and let the snow fly! The Banff Winter Carnival Returns to the Cave and Basin this December with fun activities for all ages. Try your hand at curling, challenge your family and friends to wild and wacky outdoor games, and check out vintage films and media from the Banff Winter Carnival's glory days. Adults: $3.90, Seniors: $3.40


Snowshoe & Stargaze

Elk Island National Park

February 16 & 23

Following a short guided hike on snowshoes, enjoy snacks around a fire and learn about the night sky above. Max 20 participants. Register by calling 780-299-5790.


Family Day 2019

Elk Island National Park

February 18

Spend time with friends and family in the great outdoors on Family Day. Elk Island will be celebrating with snow games, treats roasted over the fire, and snowshoe rentals at the Astotin Recreation area! Fun continues through the park with snowshoeing, skating, and wildlife viewing.

British Columbia

Santa Claus sitting between two Christmas trees.
Credit : Sandra Steier

Family Day

Fort Langley National Historic Site

February 18

Come and learn the traditions of the families at Fort Langley – from varied backgrounds like Scottish, Hawaiian, First Nations and Metis to name a few, the workers embraced their cultures here! Join us for our Feature presentation on First Nations resources, make some Scottish bannock during our Food Program, or challenge your skills playing ‘Ulu Maika – a game meant to train Hawaiian warriors!


Spring Break

Fort Langley National Historic Site

March 16-31

Join us for great old-fashioned activities during spring break.

Profitez des joies de l’hiver dans vos endroits préférés de Parcs Canada. Une grande diversité d’activités et d’événements spéciaux sont au programme. Place aux souvenirs!

Événements par province

Québec

Des participants à la Tour de la Gaspésie skient le long du rivage.

Traversée de la Gaspésie

Parc national Forillon

1er mars

Du 23 février au 2 mars, les participants de la Traversée de la Gaspésie (TDLG) parcourront de Matane à Gaspé, en ski ou en raquette. Ils seront au parc national Forillon le 1er mars 2019. Pour plus d’information : http://tdlg.qc.ca/

Manitoba

Un homme tenant ses skis sur un lac enneigé.

Le côté sombre de Wasagaming : boisson, débauche et misère des années 30

Parc national du Mont-Riding

15 février

Venez au Parc national du Mont-Riding et participez dans un nouveau programme d'hiver comme Le côté sombre de Wasagaming. Découvrez avec nous la Wasagaming d’antan comme vous ne l’avez jamais vue. Morts, mensonges, exploitation et nazis : explorez l’histoire clandestine du Parc national du Mont-Riding et sortez tous les squelettes du placard. Terminez la soirée en dégustant des bières locales.

Saskatchewan

Une jeune fille en raquettes dans la neige dans la forêt.

Les Plaisirs de la neige à Waskesiu

Parc national de Prince Albert

Du 18 au 24 février

Profitez d’une semaine complète d’activités pour apprendre et vous amuser en famille!

Alberta

Une famille joue au hockey sur le lac Pyramid gelé en hiver.

Carnaval d’hiver

Lieu historique national Cave and Basin

15 décembre au 31 mars

Laissez-vous inspirer par la magie de l’hiver avec ses flocons de neige qui virevoltent dans le ciel! Le Carnaval d’hiver de Banff est de retour à Cave and Basin en décembre. Des activités pour toutes les familles sont au programme. Essayez le curling, lancez des défis à votre famille et à vos amis avec des jeux en plein air amusants et visionnez des vidéos de la belle époque des carnavals d’hiver d’antan. Adulte : 3,90 $, Aîné : 3,40 $.


Raquette et observation des étoiles

Parc national Elk Island

16 et 23 février

Faites une courte randonnée guidée en raquette et dégustez ensuite un goûter près du feu tout en observant le ciel nocturne. 19 h à 21 h. Maximum de 20 participants. Inscrivez-vous en appelant au 780 299-5790.


Journée de la famille 2019

Parc national Elk Island

18 février

Passez du temps avec la famille et des amis en pleine nature! Participez à des jeux d’hiver, dégustez des gourmandises grillées sur le feu et profitez-en pour louer des raquettes sur place lors de cette journée spéciale qui se déroulera à l’aire de fréquentation d'Astotin. Le plaisir est au rendez-vous partout dans le parc : raquette, patinage et observation de la faune.

Colombie-Britannique

Le Père Noël assis entre deux sapins de Noël.
Crédit : Sandra Steier

Jour de la famille

Lieu historique national du Fort-Langley

18 février

Découvrez les traditions des familles écossaises, hawaïennes, métis et des Premières Nations qui ont vécu au fort Langley. Assistez à la présentation vedette portant sur les ressources des Premières Nations, faites cuire de la bannique écossaise ou relevez un défi en essayant l’Ulu Maika, un jeu autrefois destiné à l’entraînement des guerriers hawaïens.


Semaine de relâche

Lieu historique national du Fort-Langley

Du 16 au 31 mars

Participez à nos captivantes activités à l’ancienne durant la semaine de relâche.