Enjoy the celestial landscape in one of Parks Canada's dark sky preserves, a welcome escape from glaring city lights. Learn about stars, the moon, galaxies and constellations during special programming and events throughout the year. Plan your trip today, and you could find yourself wishing upon a star!

Did you know?

  • Thirteen Parks Canada places have dark sky designations: twelve are Dark-Sky Preserves and one is an International Dark Sky Park
  • Grasslands National Park is the darkest Dark-Sky Preserve in Canada
  • Wood Buffalo National Park, our country's largest national park, is presently the largest Dark-Sky Preserve in the world with an area of 44,807 km2.
  • Parks Canada protects more dark skies than any other agency or jurisdiction in the world.

Dark Sky Celebrations 2019

Newfoundland and Labrador

Night Sky Celebration

Terra Nova National Park
August 23-24
In 2018 Terra Nova National Park was designated as the newest Dark Sky Preserve in Canada! Join us and the St. John's Chapter of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada as we celebrate the night sky!

Ontario

Self-guided Dark Sky Night

Point Pelee National Park
February 2, March 9, May 18, July 27, September 28
Explore the park on your own after dark and experience the dark skies of Point Pelee. You will have the opportunity to stay late and see what goes on after dark. Note that there are no formal programs on these evenings. Visitors can pick up a seasonal star chart at the gate upon arrival. The park is open until midnight, unless otherwise stated.


Dark Sky Nights with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada

Point Pelee National Park
April 6, June 1
Join members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada – Windsor Centre for an evening of stargazing. Bring your own binoculars or take a look through one of the special telescopes on site for the evening. The park is open until midnight, unless otherwise stated. Visitor Centre Parking Lot.


Meteor Shower Beach Party

Point Pelee National Park
August 10-11
We’re celebrating the dark skies of Point Pelee National Park. The park will stay open all night between August 10 and August 11 for optimal viewing of the Perseid Meteor Showers. Join members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada Windsor Centre on the beach and view the early night sky before sitting back and enjoying the meteor shower. Bring a chair or blanket and settle in on the West beach for the evening.

Saskatchewan

Astronomy: Beyond the Big Dipper

Grasslands National Park
June 1: East Block, July 27: West Block
The new moon opens the door to the darkest Dark Sky Preserve in Canada. Join members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada as they unfold the mysteries within the rich darkness we actively protect.

Alberta

Jasper Dark Sky Festival

Jasper National Park
October 11-20
During the month of October we show our appreciation and celebrate the night sky with dark sky month.

Northwest Territories

Thebacha & Wood Buffalo Dark Sky Festival

Wood Buffalo National Park
August 22-25
Embrace the night skies like never before at the Dark Sky Festival. Whether you’re a budding astronomer or seasoned stargazer, soak in the stars, constellations, planets and other space oddities in Wood Buffalo National Park. Watch homemade rockets streak into the sky and share a spot around the campfire with our renowned guest speakers. Curious kids (and adults) can join Professor Quark for our “Circus of Science” while budding astronomers can hone their observation skills during special workshops offered throughout the weekend. Kick around town and then spend the weekend camping out at Pine Lake. Advance registration required.

 

Dark-Sky Preserve Designation

International Dark Sky Park Designation

Learn more

Admirez le paysage céleste dans l’une des réserves de ciel étoilé de Parcs Canada, une occasion bienvenue de s’évader des lumières aveuglantes de la ville. Renseignez-vous sur les étoiles, la lune, les galaxies et les constellations dans le cadre de programmes et d’événements spéciaux tout au long de la saison. Planifiez votre voyage dès aujourd’hui et vous aurez peut-être l’occasion de voir une étoile filante et de faire un vœu!

Le saviez-vous?

  • Treize endroits de Parcs Canada sont des réserves de ciel étoilé. Douze d’entre eux sont des réserves de ciel étoilé et un est un Parc international de ciel étoilé.
  • Le parc national des Prairies est à l’heure actuelle la réserve de ciel étoilé la plus sombre du Canada
  • Le parc national Wood Buffalo, est le plus grand parc national de notre pays et est à l’heure actuelle la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde avec une superficie de 44 807 km2.
  • Canada protège plus de ciels étoilés que tout autre organisme ou administration au monde.

Célébrations 2019 du ciel étoilé

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Observation du ciel nocturne

Parc national Terra-Nova
23 au 24 août
En 2018, le Parc national Terra-Nova a été désigné réserve de ciel étoilé – le tout dernier lieu au Canada à recevoir cette désignation! Célébrez le ciel nocturne avec nous et la section de St. John’s de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada!

Ontario

Soirées consacrées au ciel étoilé - auto guidée

Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée
2 février, 9 mars, 18 mai, 27 juillet, 28 septembre
Explorez le parc vous-même en soirée et découvrez le ciel étoilé de la Pointe-Pelée. Vous pourrez rester tard et voir ce qui se passe après le coucher du soleil. Veuillez noter qu'il n'y a pas de programme officiel ces soirées. Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir une carte d'étoiles de saison à l'entrée. Le parc reste ouvert jusqu’à minuit, sauf indication contraire.


Soirées consacrées au ciel étoilé avec le centre de Windsor de la Société royale d’astronomie eu Canada

Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée
6 avril, 1 juin
Joignez-vous aux membres du centre de Windsor de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada (SRAC) pour une soirée d’observation des étoiles. Apportez vos jumelles ou observez le ciel avec l’un des télescopes spéciaux installés sur les lieux pour la soirée. Le parc reste ouvert jusqu’à minuit, sauf indication contraire. Au stationnement du Centre d’accueil.


Fête de plage pour la pluie de météores

Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée
10 au 11 août
Nous célébrons le ciel nocturne du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Le parc restera ouvert toute la nuit du 10 au 11 août pour favoriser l’observation de la pluie des perséides. Joignez-vous aux membres de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada (Centre de Windsor) sur la plage et observez le ciel du début de la nuit avant d’admirer la pluie de météores. Apportez une chaise ou une couverture et installez-vous sur la plage West pour la nuit.

Saskatchewan

Astronomie: Au-delà de la Grande Ourse

Parc national des Prairies
1 juin: bloc Est, 27 juillet: bloc Ouest
La nouvelle lune ouvre la porte à la plus sombre des réserves de ciel étoilé au Canada. Joignez-vous aux membres de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada qui vous dévoilera les mystères de la riche obscurité que nous protégeons activement.

Alberta

Festival du ciel étoilé du parc national Jasper

Parc national Jasper
11 au 20 octobre
En octobre, nous témoignons notre reconnaissance en célébrant le Mois du ciel étoilé. Il s’agit d’une saison idéale pour visiter le parc.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Festival sous les étoiles de Thebacha & Wood Buffalo

Parc national Wood Buffalo
22 au 25 août
Contemplez le ciel nocturne comme jamais auparavant lors du Festival du ciel étoilé. Que vous soyez astronome en herbe ou chevronné, laissez-vous éblouir par les étoiles, les constellations, les planètes et les autres objets célestes surplombant le parc national Wood Buffalo. Observez les fusées de fabrication artisanale s’élancer vers le ciel et écoutez des conférenciers de renom autour d’un feu de camp. Les enfants (et les adultes) curieux pourront se joindre au professeur Quark pour participer à notre « Cirque scientifique », tandis que les astronomes en herbe pourront perfectionner leurs capacités d’observation lors d’ateliers spéciaux offerts toute la fin de semaine. Baladez-vous en ville et passez la fin de semaine en camping au lac Pine. Inscription préalable requise.

 

Désignation de réserve de ciel étoilé

Désignation de Parc international de ciel étoilé

Apprenez-en plus