Embrace the best part of winter—making fresh tracks through perfect powder in our beautiful places! Cross-country ski across blanketed meadows, downhill ski in the Canadian Rockies, or explore the backcountry on a ski touring expedition! Discover Parks Canada with these suggested ski outings.


Backcountry ski touring and ski mountaineering

Available in all mountain parks. Backcountry ski touring and ski mountaineering should only be undertaken by highly skilled and experienced users or through local professional guiding services. For more information on backcountry travel and how to stay safe in the mountains, visit parksmountainsafety.ca.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Two skiers near the Southwest Gulch Hut.

Backcountry ski touring in Gros Morne

Photo: Gros Morne Adventures

Location: Gros Morne National Park

Head out on the ski touring adventure of a lifetime! With its stunning coastal mountains, varied terrain, and reliable snow conditions from January to April, Gros Morne National Park is the place to be this ski-season. From short roadside excursions to a multi-day tour complete with overnight stays in backcountry ski huts, the winter fun is endless.


Photo: David Saunders

Cross-country skiing in Terra Nova

Location: Terra Nova National Park

Cross-country skiing is an amazing way to explore Terra Nova National Park. Ungroomed trails offer a fun, challenging winter work out. Slide and glide along the 10 km Dunphy’s Pond to the largest pond in the park. For a more challenging trek, take the unplowed road up to the Ochre Hill Lookout, a 6-km steady climb through evergreen forest with rewarding panoramic views at the end. Embrace Newfoundland winter, just be sure to call the park ahead of time to check road conditions before venturing out.

New Brunswick

A woman cross-country skis on a trail through coniferous forest.
Photo: Nigel Fearon

Cross-country skiing at Fundy

Location: Fundy National Park

20-km of multi-use winter trails await at Fundy National Park! This ski-touring playground is perfect for all ski-levels with selections of short, flat trails or more challenging trails through Fundy’s snow-covered wilderness. End your day of winter fun at the Ski Shelter in the Chignecto Recreation Area, and take advantage of their wood stove equipped with firewood, perfect for some post-ski s’mores!


Two young adults on the frozen water at sunset.
Photo: Nigel Fearon

Cross-country skiing in Kouchibouguac

Location: Kouchibouguac National Park

Safety tips to keep in mind:

  • Make sure to prepare your skis before your arrival
  • Fill up your water bottle at home
  • Bring hand sanitizer
  • Call ahead or check trail conditions on our website before heading out the door
  • Stay safe, stay vigilant, and have fun!

Head to Kouchibouguac National Park for the ultimate cross-country escapade! These pristine trails are groomed for both classic and skating techniques and welcome skiers of all experience. Ski adventures await in this frosty Atlantic beauty.

Quebec

Two adults skiing on a forest trail.

Cross-country skiing in Forillon

Location: Forillon National Park

Explore the vibrant Forillon National Park as you choose from three stunning ski trails! Treat yourself to a moderate-level cross country trip along the flat terrain of La Vallée trail and take a break halfway through your excursion in the picturesque Répit Nord shelter. Not ready to pack up your skis yet? Continue the fun as you venture through a beautiful wooded area on Le Portage Trail. Are you an experienced skier and crave a challenge? Discover La Grande Cavée Trail, a steep route boarded by white pines and impressive oaks leading you into the heart of the park. Be careful, some bends may surprise you!


Two young adults skiing on a forest trail.

Cross-country and freestyle skiing in La Mauricie

Location: La Mauricie National Park

Discover one of the most beautiful cross-country ski centers in Quebec with a visit to La Mauricie National Park. Begin your journey at the Rivière à la Pêche Service Centre and start exploring over 80-km of groomed trails equipped with shelters, perfect for classic or freestyle cross-country skiers alike. For a short and sweet ski session, head to Trail No. 3, a 10-km journey with shelter halfway that takes you along a quaint creek and frozen lake. Make sure to stop at the well-equipped Service Center for a post-ski bonfire or even better, continue the adventure for a night in the comfort of an oTENTik tent located close to the ski trails.


Un homme fait du ski sur les berges du canal de Chambly.

Cross-country skiing at Chambly Canal

Location: Chambly Canal National Historic Site

Ski on the banks of the Chambly Canal National Historic Site. Breath in that crisp winter air and rediscover this popular path with a fresh eye. Located just 30 km from Montréal, explore this canal that stretches nearly 20 kilometers in the heart of the Montérégie area.

Manitoba

A family cross country skiing on a forest trail.

Cross-country skiing in Riding Mountain

Location: Riding Mountain National Park

Strap on your skis and get ready for a cross-country trip in Riding Mountain National Park! Are you a beginner? Try skiing along South Lake Trail: a journey that begins at the marsh boardwalk, crosses through forest and leads to a marsh lookout point. Are you a more experienced skier? Ski the Compound East Trail! This adventure brings you along towering white and black spruce, wetlands with sunny southern skies and even small pockets of grasslands. Keep an eye out for elk beds and wolf tracks! Not ready for your adventure to end? Top off your outing with the 3.5-km Katherine Lake Trail and stop in the picnic area to warm up by a fire.

Saskatchewan

Visitors stand with their cross-country skis in the park.

Cross-country skiing in Prince Albert

Location: Prince Albert National Park

Canada's boreal forests are the best playgrounds for cross-country skiers. Discover the network of groomed ski trails in Prince Albert National Park, just waiting for you to explore! Don't miss the popular favourites near the Waskesiu townsite: Red Deer and Fisher Trail! To extend your adventure, tour Saskatchewan’s backcountry and ski to Crean Lake, a frozen winter wonderland!

Alberta

Two young girls along the Tawayik Lake Trail.

Cross-country skiing in Elk Island

Location: Elk Island National Park

Head into the wilderness and glide along the snow-covered landscape of the Beaver Pond Trail at Elk Island National Park. Glide through frosty aspen parklands and let the crisp air brush your rosy cheeks. Perfect for snowshoers and skiers alike, these shared, ungroomed trails are bound to leave you with memories to last a lifetime!


Visitors cross-country ski on Chief Mountain Highway.

Cross-country skiing in Waterton Lakes

Location: Waterton Lakes National Park

Discover breathtaking mountain scenery on your skis at Waterton Lakes National Park! Glide through evergreen forests, wind-swept prairies, and steep mountains as you ski along the Red Rock Parkway, Chief Mountain Highway, Akamina Parkway or Wishbone Trail. Unforgettable winter experiences await in the Canadian Rockies.


Three men ski in Sunshine Village.
Photo: Reuben Krabbe / SkiBig3

Downhill and cross-country skiing in Banff

Location: Banff National Park

Banff National Park is iconic for its variety of skiing experiences! Pay a visit to one of the three world class downhill ski resorts and descend by drawing perfect fall lines in the fresh snow. You are fond of cross-country skiing? Discover a local cross-country favourite; Spray River West Trail! This double track also includes a skate skiing lane, ventures along rolling terrain and offers stunning views of a picturesque valley, taking you to the scenic Spray River Bridge! Fancy an unforgettable stay at one of the most popular backcountry lodges in the Canadian Rockies? Park at Fish Creek and pay a visit to the quaint Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site!


A young man downhill skies at Marmot Basin.

Downhill and cross-country skiing in Jasper

Location: Jasper National Park

Explore the Canadian Rockies via cross-country skis in Jasper National Park. Discover Athabasca Falls from the Leach Lake Trailhead, then strap on your skis for an 8.2-km adventure that will reward you with stunning views of Mount Hardisty and Mount Kerkeslin. Seeking a more exhilarating outing? Treat yourself to a day of downhill skiing at Marmot Basin, one of the resorts in the Rockies!

British Columbia

Cross-country skiing on Emerald Lake.

Cross-country in Yoho

Location: Yoho National Park

Ski among the Rockies and weave through the valleys of Yoho National Park! Explore the beautiful cross country ski trails around Emerald Lake maintained by the Kicking Horse Ski Club. Keep an eye out for the chance to spot wildlife as you traverse gently sloped tree-lined glades sheltered between the President Range and Wapta Mountain.

Northwest Territories

Visitors cross-country ski on Pine Lake.

Cross-country skiing in Wood Buffalo National Park

Location: Wood Buffalo National Park

Bird song lights up the boreal forest as snow falls softly around you, skis are strapped to your feet, and you’re cruising through the fresh powder on Pine Lake in Wood Buffalo National Park. It’s one of the best spots in the park to revel in the raw beauty of winter! On your way back to Fort Smith, stop at the Salt River Day Use Area. This new shelter is an excellent pit stop for a snack with a view— take in the stunning scenery of the Salt River as it winds through the park’s boreal forest.

Yukon

Visitors skiing in the backcountry.

Backcountry ski touring in Kluane

Location: Kluane National Park

Discover Kluane National Park and Reserve’s vast wilderness! For an easy ski, head to the Dezadeash River Trail and ski through stands of poplar and spruce. Ready for a challenge? Explore the Auriol Trail for a hint of adventure and glide through everything from open meadows to alpine zones! This 15-km loop offers remarkable views of the Shakwak and Dezadeash River Valleys. Make sure you have the knowledge and skills in order to practice proper avalanche safety. Practice safe behavior at all times and keep in mind that the trails in Kluane are neither groomed nor marked!

Profitez pleinement des plaisirs de l’hiver! Créez de belles traces fraîches sur une poudreuse parfaite dans l'une de nos magnifiques destinations de ski. Glissez doucement en ski de fond dans les prairies enneigées, dévalez les montagnes en ski alpin dans les Rocheuses canadiennes ou explorez l’arrière-pays lors d’une expédition de ski de randonnée hors-piste. Découvrez Parcs Canada grâce à ces suggestions de sorties de ski.


Ski hors-piste et ski de haute montagne

Le ski hors-piste et le ski de haute montagne peuvent être pratiqués dans tous les parcs des montagnes. Les skieurs doivent être hautement qualifiés et expérimentés ou doivent être accompagnés de guides professionnels locaux. Consultez notre site Web pour plus d'informations sur les excursions dans l'arrière-pays et sur la sécurité en montagne.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Deux skieurs devant le refuge du sud-ouest de Gulch.

Ski hors-piste au parc du Gros-Morne

Photo: Gros Morne Adventures

Endroit: Parc national du Gros-Morne

Vivez l'aventure de ski de votre vie au parc national du Gros-Morne! Avec ses superbes montagnes côtières, ses paysages diversifiés et ses excellentes conditions de neige de janvier à avril, ce parc est l'endroit idéal pour les mordus de ski. Courtes sorties de ski à proximité de la route ou excursions de plusieurs jours avec nuitées en refuge dans l'arrière-pays, il y a des aventures hivernales pour tous les goûts.


Photo: David Saunders

Ski de fond à Terra-Nova

Endroit: Parc national Terra-Nova

Explorez les grands espaces en vous offrant une sortie de ski de fond au parc national Terra-Nova. Les sentiers non tracés offrent un entrainement hivernal amusant et stimulant! Glissez sur le sentier de l'Étang-Dunphy : un petit 10 km pour découvrir le plus grand étang du parc. Vous préférez un plus grand défi? Empruntez une route non déneigée et faites l’ascension du belvédère de la Colline Ochre, une randonnée plus exigeante de 6 km au cœur d’une forêt de conifères. Vos efforts seront récompensés : la vue panoramique sur le parc est époustouflante. Contactez le parc pour vérifier l’état des routes avant de vous y aventurer et profitez de l’hiver terre-neuvien en toute sécurité!

Nouveau-Brunswick

Une femme fait du ski de fond sur un sentier dans une forêt de conifères.
Photo: Nigel Fearon

Ski de fond à Fundy

Endroit: Parc national Fundy

Explorez le parc national Fundy en skis, 20 km de sentiers vous attendent! Un terrain de jeu idéal pour les skieurs de tous les niveaux. Des sentiers courts et plats ainsi que des pistes plus exigeantes s’offrent à vous au cœur de la nature enneigée de Fundy! Terminez la journée en beauté au refuge de l’aire de loisirs de Chignecto. Réchauffez-vous près du poêle à bois et profitez-en pour déguster un délicieux biscuit-sandwich à la guimauve (s’more)!


Deux jeunes adultes sur l’eau gelée au coucher du soleil.
Photo: Nigel Fearon

Ski de fond à Kouchibouguac

Endroit: Parc national Kouchibouguac

Conseils de sécurité qu’il faut garder à l’esprit

  • Assurez-vous de préparer vos skis avant votre arrivée
  • Apportez votre eau
  • Apportez du désinfectant pour les mains
  • Appelez ou vérifiez sur notre site Web les conditions des pistes avant de vous déplacer
  • Restez en sécurité, soyez vigilant et amusez-vous!

Rendez-vous au parc national Kouchibouguac pour une escapade mémorable de ski de fond! Les pistes vous permettent de faire du ski en style classique et en style libre et sont parfaites pour tous les niveaux de ski. Des aventures de ski vous attendent au cœur des magnifiques paysages givrés de l’Atlantique.

Québec

Deux adultes font du ski en forêt.

Ski de fond à Forillon

Endroit: Parc national Forillon

Explorez le majestueux parc national Forillon en hiver sur l’une des trois superbes pistes de ski de fond! Offrez-vous une excursion de niveau modéré avec peu de dénivelé : skiez sur le sentier La Vallée et faites une pause à mi-chemin dans le pittoresque refuge le Répit Nord. Vous n’êtes pas encore prêt à ranger vos skis? Continuez votre fabuleuse excursion en forêt sur le sentier Le Portage. Vous êtes un skieur expérimenté et vous aimez les défis? Découvrez le sentier La Grande Cavée, un parcours escarpé bordé de pins blancs et de chênes impressionnants qui mène au cœur du parc. Soyez vigilent, certains virages pourraient vous surprendre…


Deux jeunes adultes font du ski en forêt.

Ski en style classique et libre en Mauricie

Endroit: Parc national de la Mauricie

Découvrez l’un des plus beaux centres de ski de fond du Québec au parc national de la Mauricie. Débutez votre journée au pavillon de services de la Rivière-à-la-pêche et commencez à explorer plus de 80 km de pistes balisées et tracées, parfaites pour le ski de fond en style classique ou en style libre avec des haltes de repos chauffées. Envie d’une courte sortie de ski de niveau facile? Empruntez le sentier N° 3 pour un aller-retour de 10 km le long d'un ruisseau pittoresque et d'un lac gelé. Profitez de la halte située à mi-chemin pour faire une pause. C’est le moment de l’après-ski? Relaxez près d’un bon feu au pavillon de services tout équipé, ou mieux encore, poursuivez votre aventure le temps d’une nuit dans le confort d’une tente oTENTik située à proximité des pistes.


Un homme fait du ski sur les berges du canal de Chambly.

Ski de fond en bordure du canal de Chambly

Endroit: Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly

Skiez sur les rives du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly! Respirez l'air frais de l'hiver et redécouvrez ce sentier populaire situé à seulement 30 km de Montréal. Explorez ce canal qui s'étend sur près de 20 km au cœur de la Montérégie.

Manitoba

Une famille fait du ski de fond sur un sentier forestier.

Ski de fond au Mont-Riding

Endroit: Parc national du Mont-Riding

Sortez vos skis et préparez-vous pour une excursion mémorable au parc national du Mont-Riding! Vous êtes débutant? Empruntez le sentier Lac-South. Commencez votre randonnée sur la promenade Marais-Ominnik, traversez la forêt boréale mixte et terminez la boucle le long de la magnifique rive du lac Clear. Vous êtes un skieur expérimenté? Skiez sur le sentier Compound parmi les imposantes épinettes blanches et noires et traversez des zones humides et de petites parcelles de prairies. Gardez l’œil ouvert vous pourriez apercevoir des traces de wapitis ou de loups! Vous en voulez plus? Prolongez votre sortie de 3,5 km avec le sentier Lac-Katherine et réchauffez-vous près d'un feu à l'aire de pique-nique.

Saskatchewan

Des visiteurs avec leurs skis de fond dans le parc.

Ski de fond à Prince Albert

Endroit: Parc national de Prince Albert

Les forêts boréales du Canada sont les meilleurs terrains de jeu pour les skieurs de fond. Partez à la découverte du réseau de pistes de ski entretenues du parc national de Prince Albert, des heures de pur bonheur vous attendent. Ne manquez pas les pistes Red Deer et Fisher près de la ville de Waskesiu, ce sont les plus populaires du parc. Prolongez l’aventure, skiez dans l'arrière-pays de la Saskatchewan jusqu’au lac Crean et admirez un paysage hivernal féérique!

Alberta

Deux jeunes filles sur le sentier du lac Tawayik.

Ski de fond à Elk Island

Endroit: Parc national Elk Island

Plongez au cœur de la nature et skiez sur le sentier enneigé de l’Étang-des-castors au parc national Elk Island. Promenez-vous dans la forêt-parc à trembles givrée et laissez l'air vif rougir vos joues. Les sentiers du parc ne sont pas damés au grand bonheur des amateurs de raquette qui peuvent ainsi les utiliser. Vous en garderez des souvenirs impérissables!


Des visiteurs font du ski de fond sur la route du Mont-Chief.

Ski de fond au parc des Lacs-Waterton

Endroit: Parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Découvrez des paysages montagneux à couper le souffle en vous offrant une sortie de ski de fond dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Glissez au cœur de forêts de conifères, de prairies balayées par le vent et de montagnes escarpées en empruntant la promenade Red Rock, la route du Mont-Chief, la promenade Akamina ou le sentier Wishbone. Des expériences hivernales inoubliables vous attendent dans les Rocheuses canadiennes.


Trois hommes au centre de ski alpin Sunshine Village.
Photo: Reuben Krabbe / SkiBig3

Ski alpin et ski de fond à Banff

Endroit: Parc national Banff

Le parc national Banff est reconnu pour ses nombreuses expériences de ski! Passez une journée dans l’une des trois stations de ski alpin de renommée internationale et descendez en dessinant des lignes parfaites dans la neige fraîche. Vous êtes plus adepte de ski de fond? Découvrez la piste préférée des résidents : Rivière Spray (tronçon ouest), accessible aussi pour le pas de patin. Traversez un terrain vallonné, admirez la vue imprenable sur la vallée et poursuivez jusqu’au pittoresque pont de la rivière Spray. Envie d’un séjour inoubliable dans l’une des auberges les plus prisées de l’arrière-pays des Rocheuses canadiennes? Laissez la voiture au terrain de stationnement du ruisseau Fish et offrez-vous quelques nuits au lieu historique national du Skoki Ski Lodge!


Un jeune homme fait du ski alpin à la station de ski Marmot Basin.

Ski alpin et ski de fond à Jasper

Endroit: Parc national Jasper

Explorez les Rocheuses canadiennes en ski de fond au parc national Jasper. Découvrez les chutes Athabasca au départ de la piste du Lac-Leach puis attachez vos skis pour une aventure de 8,2 km. Vos efforts seront récompensés par une vue imprenable sur les monts Hardisty et Kerkeslin. À la recherche d'une sortie plus exaltante? Offrez-vous une journée de ski alpin à Marmot Basin (en anglais seulement), l'une des stations des Rocheuses!

Colombie-Britannique

Un visiteur fait du ski de fond sur le lac Emerald.

Ski de fond à Yoho

Endroit: Parc national Yoho

Skiez dans les Rocheuses et serpentez les vallées du parc national Yoho! Explorez les magnifiques pistes entretenues par le club de ski Kicking Horse autour du lac Emerald. Gardez l’œil ouvert, la faune est présente dans ces clairières en pente douce nichées entre le chaînon President et le mont Wapta.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Des visiteurs font du ski sur le lac Pine.

Ski de fond au parc national Wood Buffalo

Endroit: Parc national Wood Buffalo

Skiez dans la poudreuse fraîche du lac Pine, l'un des meilleurs endroits du parc national Wood Buffalo pour contempler la beauté brute de l'hiver. Écoutez le chant des oiseaux résonner dans la forêt boréale et la neige tomber tout doucement autour de vous. Sur le chemin du retour vers Fort Smith, arrêtez-vous à l'aire de fréquentation diurne de la rivière Salt. Visitez le nouvel abri, une excellente halte pour casser la croûte tout en admirant le paysage époustouflant de la rivière Salt qui serpente la forêt boréale du parc.

Yukon

Des visiteurs en skis dans l’arrière-pays.

Ski hors-piste à Kluane

Endroit: Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Découvrez les vastes étendues sauvages du parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane! Envie d’une sortie de ski relaxante? Empruntez le sentier de la rivière Dezadeash et skiez à travers des peuplements d'épinettes et de peupliers. Prêt à relever un défi? Explorez le sentier Auriol et glissez à travers des paysages contrastants, des prairies ouvertes aux zones alpines. Cette boucle de 15 km offre une splendide vue sur les vallées des rivières Shakwak et Dezadeash. Assurez-vous d’avoir les connaissances et les compétences requises relativement aux avalanches. Adoptez un comportement sécuritaire en tout temps. Et gardez à l’esprit que les sentiers à Kluane ne sont ni damés, ni balisés!