Golden beaches, turquoise waves and sun-warmed waters with all the space to picnic, play, snooze and watch the sun sink beyond the horizon as the skies blaze pink, purple and gold. Welcome to summer and magical beach days in Parks Canada places. Where will your adventures take you this year? Get inspired with these beautiful beach picks.

Shallow Bay, Gros Morne National Park

Newfoundland and Labrador
Visitors walk into the water on Shallow Bay Beach

Where else in the world could you walk where geologists proved the plate tectonic theory and then enjoy a picnic on a white sand beach with sun-warmed water to paddle in? Surrounded by rocks, cliffs and fjords, and far from the crowds, stay to savour those spectacular sunsets over the North Atlantic Ocean.

Visit Gros Morne National Park

Ingonish Beach, Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Nova Scotia
The blue waters of Cape Breton National Park.

Experience two wonders nature creates at Ingonish Beach— just from the power of waves. Each year the sand washes away in winter, but returns thanks to tidal patterns in spring. Jump between freshwater and saltwater with only a beach cobblestone ‘barachois’ in-between! This coastal lagoon wears the stones into cobbles, blocking off a cove. This creates a warm freshwater lake right on the beach!

Visit Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Cavendish Beach, Prince Edward Island National Park

Prince Edward Island
Teenage campers wade through the tidal pools at Cavendish Campground Beach.

Red sandstone cliffs, blazing blue skies punctuated by fluffy white clouds. Feel the finest, softest, pinky-red sand to wiggle your toes in. Plan a trip to one of the world’s most spectacular beaches with the warmest sea water north of the Carolinas! Reserve one of the special beach wheelchairs or explore the boardwalk and dunes. Take part in a sandcastle building contest or breathe in the fresh ocean air and devour lobster rolls for lunch!

Visit Prince Edward Island National Park

Kellys Beach, Kouchibouguac National Park

New Brunswick
A family playing in the sand at Kouchibouguac National Park.

Enjoy the waves at one of Canada’s warmest saltwater beaches and find the perfect place to build sandcastles with 25 km of golden dunes to explore! Later swap your spade for a dip net and bucket when you reserve a session with a friendly guide. Discover teeming marine life thriving in the lagoons beneath the Kellys Beach Boardwalk. Search for hermit crabs, sand shrimp, moon seals and hear stories about their life and habitat before you gently place them back where you found them.

Visit Kouchibouguac National Park

Wapizagonke Lake, La Mauricie National Park

Quebec
A woman sipping coffee beside her canoes at Lake Wapizagonke.

Only two hours from Montreal lies the gorgeous, ever serene Wapizagonke Lake. Relax in the still waters or gather some friends and make an adventure out of it! Escape the crowd and visit Waber Falls, a majestic waterfall involving 9.2 km of canoeing and 6.9 km of hiking (round-trip)! Or bask in the sun on one of the many beaches and soak in the beauty of this special place.

Visit La Mauricie National Park

Northwest Beach, Point Pelee National Park

Ontario
The light blue waters of Northwest Beach.

Turquoise waters and golden sands await at Canada’s most southern point! The west and east sides of the peninsula are framed by 20 km of sandy beach. Hike to the Tip (or take the free shuttle) to learn more about the spring and fall songbird and monarch butterfly migrations. It’s so much more fun when you understand more about what’s out there!

Visit Point Pelee National Park

Clear Lake, Riding Mountain National Park

Manitoba
A visitor paddle boarding at sunset on Clear lake.

Take to the lake and paddle-board into the sunset at this popular spot where the prairies, forest and parkland meet. Soft sandy beaches and shady trees await after your voyage across the sparkling waters. Shower outdoors or use the washrooms and change rooms at the main beach area here before enjoying the fun of Wasagaming townsite or even a free lake-side concert.

Visit Riding Mountain National Park

Waskesiu Lake, Prince Albert National Park

Saskatchewan
A couple on a shore at sunset.

Pronounced ‘was-KEY-soo,’ Waskesiu is a Cree word for elk or red deer. If you’re lucky, you may spot these beautiful animals nibbling the grass or taking a dip in the water as you laze on the beach! Fun lies ahead on the water, whether it’s by paddle in a canoe or kayak, on a stand-up paddle board, or getting turbo-charged! Have the ultimate experience when you rent a powerboat at the marina and zoom off for a day’s fishing or water-skiing.

Visit Prince Albert National Park

Lake Edith, Jasper National Park

Alberta
Scenic shot of a canoe on the shore of lake Edith.

Sure, the water in this glacier-fed lake is chilly, but who needs to splash around when the view’s as incredible as this? Ringed by the soaring Rocky Mountains, pull up one of our Red Chairs and snap a selfie with that extraordinary turquoise water view, or head out on the water and see if it’s really that colour all the way across!

Visit Jasper National Park

Long Beach, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

British Columbia
Sunset at Long Beach with breaking waves.

Picture Pacific Ocean waves crashing on golden sands strewn with wave-smoothed driftwood. Join the year-round wetsuit-clad surfers riding the waves or challenge yourself to paddle the shoreline in a kayak. With 22 km of beaches and 12 km of trails to explore, fringed with temperate rainforest of gigantic western red cedars and western hemlock, leave footprints and take home memories.

Visit Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Kathleen Lake, Kluane National Park and Reserve

Yukon
Northern Lights over Kathleen Lake.

Not every beach memory comes with a side of sand; this pebble-stone beach on the shores of Kathleen Lake serves up one of the most amazing views—day or night—surrounded by stunning mountain scenery of the southwest Yukon. And who needs sand when you can soak up the rays under the Midnight Sun or wrap up, lie back under a blanket and marvel at the dancing lights of the aurora borealis?

Visit Kluane National Park and Reserve

Plages dorées, vagues turquoise, eaux réchauffées par le soleil, et tout l’espace nécessaire pour pique-niquer, jouer, faire la sieste et admirer le coucher du soleil dans le ciel rose, pourpre et or : bienvenue aux journées féeriques sur les plages de Parcs Canada! Où vous mèneront vos aventures cette année? Laissez-vous inspirer par ces plages magnifiques.

Baie Shallow, parc national du Gros-Morne

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Des visiteurs marchent dans l'eau sur la plage de Baie  Shallow.

Existe-t-il un autre endroit au monde où il est possible de se promener là où les géologues ont prouvé la théorie de la tectonique des plaques, et ensuite pique-niquer sur une plage de sable blanc et pagayer dans les eaux d’une baie réchauffées par le soleil? Entouré de rochers, de falaises et de fjords, loin de la foule, c’est l’endroit idéal pour admirer les couchers de soleil spectaculaires sur l’océan Atlantique Nord.

Visitez le parc national du Gros-Morne

Plage d’Ingonish, parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Nouvelle-Écosse
Les eaux bleues du parc national des  Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

Faites l’expérience de deux merveilles naturelles créées par la puissance des vagues à la plage d’Ingonish. Passez de l’eau douce à l’eau salée en traversant tout simplement une barrière de galets. D’un côté la plage, qui est emportée par la mer à chaque hiver, mais qui se reforme à chaque printemps grâce aux marées. Et de l’autre, un lac d’eau douce chaude isolé de l’océan par un barachois de galets.

Visitez le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Plage de Cavendish, parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Des adolescentes marchent dans les cuvettes de marée à la plage du terrain de camping de Cavendish.

Des falaises de grès rouge, un ciel bleu éclatant ponctué de nuages blancs et duveteux ainsi que le sable le plus fin, le plus doux et le plus rose-rouge qui soit pour vous trémousser les orteils : voilà ce qui vous attend lors de votre escapade sur l’une des plages les plus spectaculaires du monde! Psst! Les eaux les plus chaudes au nord de la Caroline sont ici! Réservez un fauteuil roulant spécialement conçu pour la plage, promenez-vous sur le trottoir de bois à travers les dunes, participez à un concours de construction de châteaux de sable ou relaxez tout simplement en respirant l’air frais de l’océan, puis dévorez une guédille au homard à l’heure du lunch!

Visitez le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Plage Kellys, parc national Kouchibouguac

Nouveau-Brunswick
Une famille jouant dans le sable au parc national Kouchibouguac.

Profitez des vagues sur l’une des plages d’eau salée les plus chaudes du Canada et trouvez l’endroit idéal pour construire votre château de sable grâce aux 25 km de dunes dorées à explorer! Troquez ensuite votre bêche pour une épuisette. Avec un guide de Parcs Canada, partez à la découverte de la vie marine foisonnante dans les lagunes sous la promenade de bois de la plage Kellys. Cherchez des bernard-l’ermite, des crevettes de sable, des natices et des épinoches, et apprenez des détails fascinants sur leur vie et leur habitat avant de les remettre délicatement là où vous les avez trouvés.

Visitez le parc national Kouchibouguac

Lac Wapizagonke, parc national de la Mauricie

Québec
Une femme sirote son café à côté de canots au bord du lac Wapizagonke.

À seulement deux heures de Montréal se trouve le magnifique et tranquille lac Wapizagonke. Relaxez dans les eaux calmes ou rassemblez vos amis pour partir à l’aventure! Échappez aux foules et visitez les majestueuses chutes Waber dans une excursion combinant 9,2 km de canot et 6,9 km de randonnée (aller-retour)! Ou laissez-vous dorer au soleil sur l’une des nombreuses plages et imprégnez-vous de la beauté de cet endroit bien particulier.

Visitez le parc national de la Mauricie

Plage Northwest, parc national de la Pointe-Pelée

Ontario
Les eaux bleu clair de la plage Northwest.

Des eaux turquoise et du sable doré vous attendent à l’endroit le plus au sud du Canada! Vingt km de plage bordent les rives est et ouest de la péninsule. Profitez de votre visite pour marcher jusqu’à la pointe (ou prenez la navette gratuite) pour en apprendre davantage sur les migrations printanières et automnales des oiseaux chanteurs et des papillons monarques. C'est tellement plus amusant quand on comprend mieux ce qu'il y a dehors!

Visitez le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée

Lac Clear, parc national du Mont-Riding

Manitoba
Un visiteur sur une planche à pagaie au coucher du soleil sur le lac Clear.

Rendez-vous au lac et pagayez sur votre planche au coucher du soleil dans cet endroit populaire où les prairies et les forêts se rencontrent. Reposez-vous sur les belles plages de sable fin à l’ombre des arbres qui vous attendent après votre exploration des eaux scintillantes du lac! Prenez une douche en plein-air ou utilisez les toilettes et les vestiaires de la plage principale avant d’aller vous amuser à Wasagaming ou de profiter d’un concert gratuit sur le bord du lac.

Visitez le parc national du Mont-Riding

Lac Waskesiu, parc national de Prince Albert

Saskatchewan
Un couple sur la plage lors d'un coucher de soleil.

Prononcé « was-ki-sou », Waskesiu est un mot cri signifiant « wapiti » ou « cerf rouge ». Avec un peu de chance, vous pourriez apercevoir ces magnifiques animaux en train de brouter ou de plonger dans l’eau alors que vous relaxez sur la plage! Le plaisir vous attend sur l’eau. Pagayez en canot, en kayak ou sur une planche à pagaie ou louez un bateau à moteur à la marina et profitez d’une journée de pêche ou de ski nautique. Vive les plaisirs de l’eau!

Visitez le parc national de Prince Albert

Lac Edith, parc national Jasper

Alberta
Vue panoramique  du lac Edith avec un canot sur la berge.

Bien sûr l’eau de ce lac alimenté par les glaciers est très froide, mais qui songerait à se baigner lorsque le panorama est aussi époustouflant? Asseyez-vous dans l’une des chaises rouges, entouré des superbes Rocheuses, et prenez un égoportrait devant les magnifiques eaux turquoise du lac. Ou aventurez-vous sur le lac pour vérifier si l’eau est aussi belle partout!

Visitez le parc national Jasper

Plage Long, réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Colombie-Britannique
Coucher de soleil sur la plage Long avec vagues déferlantes.

Imaginez les vagues de l’océan Pacifique déferlant sur des plages de sable doré parsemées de bois de grève poli par l’eau. Joignez-vous aux surfeurs qui chevauchent les vagues tout au long de l’année, ou relevez le défi de pagayer le long du rivage en kayak. Faites le plein de souvenirs en explorant 22 km de plages et 12 km de sentiers dans une forêt tempérée composée de thuyas géants et de pruches de l’Ouest.

Visitez la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Lac Kathleen, parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Yukon
Des aurores boréales dans le ciel au-dessus du lac Kathleen.

Les souvenirs de plage n’évoquent pas tous le sable! La plage de galets en bordure du lac Kathleen offre une vue panoramique des plus spectaculaires le jour comme la nuit, avec comme toile de fond les époustouflantes montagnes du sud-ouest du Yukon. Qui a besoin de sable quand il est possible de profiter des rayons du soleil de minuit ou de s’envelopper dans une couverture et de relaxer en admirant le spectacle féerique des lumières dansantes d’une aurore boréale?

Visitez le parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane