Go for a scenic drive on the most beautiful roads in Canada! Explore Parks Canada from the comfort of your vehicle and discover the beauty of the open road.

Stay alert and drive safely. Remember to follow the regular rules of the road and do not drive while distracted. Be mindful of where you stop to take pictures and follow road signs. Make sure to follow our 10 tips to respect wildlife and stay safe.


Prince Edward Island

Gulf Shore Parkway

Prince Edward Island National Park
Three cyclists on a road near a lighthouse.

Visit the Gulf Shore Parkway, a striking road stretching from Cavendish to North Rustico beach. This road trip offers unmatched views of striking red sandstone cliffs, rolling dunes and salt marshes. Roll the windows down, relax, and take in the charm of Prince Edward Island!

Nova Scotia

Cabot Trail

Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Scenic view of the Cabot Trail.

The Cabot Trail offers some of the most spectacular views in all of Atlantic Canada. This vehicle adventure will take you through Cape Breton Highlands National Park, sharing many beautiful lookoffs along the way. You’ll want to stop by the MacKenzie Mountain and North Mountain lookoffs to fully absorb the panoramic views Nova Scotia has to offer. Soak in the soaring sights of the Gulf of St. Lawrence amidst highland plateaus, the mystical Beaulach Ban Falls, and the Aspy Fault, a neat inland made from fractures in the earth’s crust.

New Brunswick

Fundy coastal drive

Fundy National Park
The Bay of Fundy at sunset.

Head from Aulac to Moncton and then south on Route 114 along the Petitcodiac River, affectionately known as Chocolate River. You may even have the chance to watch the tidal bore rush along these muddy waters. Continue cruising along the Bay of Fundy amidst gentle hills and breathtaking ocean views into Fundy National Park, home to the world’s highest tides. After exploring Fundy, drive from seawater to seaside cliff as you ascend into the lush, Caledonia Highlands. For a taste of Acadian history, follow Route 1 West and stop into Carlton Martello Tower and then dip down to St. Andrews to stop by St. Andrews Blockhouse, built for the War of 1812.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Viking Trail (Highway 430)

Gros Morne National Park
View of Green Point at Dusk.

Explore the Viking Trail, a 490-km scenic road that snakes along the northern peninsula coast of Newfoundland. Starting at Deer Lake, running through Gros Morne, and ending in L’Anse aux Meadows, the only authenticated Viking site in North America. This Atlantic beauty takes you through stunning coastlines, historical sites, and scenic communities like St. Anthony, a town where 10,000-year-old icebergs float by. Whether you love nature, culture, wildlife, or simply a scenic drive, the Viking Trail is one for the bucket list.

Quebec

Whale Route

Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park
Two visitors on a boardwalk near the Marine Environment Discovery Center.

Drive down the Whale Route, a road stretching all the way from Tadoussac to Blanc-Sablon along the northern shore of the St. Lawrence River in Quebec. This road passes by Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, a place recognized as one of the best in the world for whale watching. See if you can spot one of the 13 species of whales that reside there from one of the many lookouts!

Ontario

Thousand Islands Parkway

Thousand Islands National Park
A woman admires the islands and the St. Lawrence River from a lookout on the Lookout Trail.

Venture through the Thousand Islands Parkway and discover 39-km of gorgeous views! Located between Brockville and Gananoque, Ontario, you’ll cruise past stunning vistas, the serene St. Lawrence River and of course the surrounding islands. They cover an 80-km wide extension of granite hilltops joining the Canadian Shield of Northern Ontario with the Adirondack Mountains.

Manitoba

Lake Audy Road

Riding Mountain National Park
Visitors watch bison roam across the road of the bison range.

Discover the magic of the prairies from the comfort of your vehicle as you embark on a scenic drive along Highway 10, 19 or Lake Audy Road. Keep an eye out for bison as you pass the Lake Audy Bison Enclosure, a protected habitat for the once endangered plains bison! Roll the windows down, crank up the music and admire the endless Manitoba skies that stretch as far as the eye can see. Make sure to stop along one of the many trails located on the major routes like the Arrowhead or Boreal Island trail.

River Road Heritage Parkway

St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site
The historic St. Andrew’s Rectory on a summer day, surrounded by green trees.

Drive down the historic River Road Heritage Parkway near Winnipeg for a fun afternoon! This road is well-known for its stunning views of the Red River, and many historic landmarks along the way. Make a pit stop at St. Andrew’s Rectory National Historic Site and admire the historic stone architecture. Then, visit Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site, the only restored stone fur trading post in North America.

Saskatchewan

Ecotour Scenic Drive

Grasslands National Park
Plains bison in Grasslands National Park.

Find out what makes Grasslands National Park so special when you try the Ecotour Scenic Drive! This self-guided road trip in Saskatchewan takes you through the stunning Frenchman River Valley, providing about 2 hours of peaceful prairie landscapes. Keep an eye out for wildlife amongst the rolling hills on this 80-km round-trip to Val Marie.

Badlands Parkway

Grasslands National Park
Views of the Badlands in the East Block of Grasslands National Park.

Visit the Badlands Parkway, a road carefully designed to feature remarkable vistas while simultaneously protecting the very things that characterize this badlands landscape; unique habitats, wildlife, and a timeless horizon. This Saskatchewan road trip rises and falls along an 11-km historic trail featuring six unique viewpoints which overlook the grasslands and badlands of Rock Creek.

Three scenic roads to choose from

Prince Albert National Park
A group of adults cycling through the Spruce River Valley along the scenic route - Highway 263.

Take a scenic drive through Prince Albert National Park and enjoy the magnificent landscapes of Saskatchewan. For a 24-km journey along the southern shoreline of Waskesiu Lake, with ample opportunity to see wildlife, checkout Narrows Road! For a 32.5-km drive encompassing both the northern shore of Waskesiu Lake, and a road hugged by tall spruce, you’ll want to take a cruise down Kingsmere road. For a serene trip with views of lush forest cruise down Highway #263 and admire the panoramic views of Spruce River Valley. You are spoiled for choice!

Alberta

Icefields Parkway

Banff National Park and Jasper National Park
The scenic Icefields Parkway road surrounded by snow-capped mountains.

For an unforgettable road trip, head to the world-famous Icefields Parkway in Alberta. This scenic drive flows through valley bottoms, turquoise lakes, and alpine peaks. The Icefields Parkway offers 280-km of breathtaking scenery and passes by Weeping Wall, Lake Louise and Athabasca Glacier, so you’ll want to take a full day to travel one-way!

Bow Valley Parkway

Banff National Park
A view of the Bow Valley Parkway, a scenic road with views of mountains and trees.
© Eddy Galeotti/Adobe Stock

Located between Banff and Lake Louise, the 48-km Bow Valley Parkway is a scenic drive you won’t want to miss. The road winds down to the valley bottom and provides up close views of wildlife and the richest eco-zone in all of Banff National park. You’ll want to roll the windows down as you cruise though this alpine beauty to truly take in all of the breathtaking mountain peaks.

Lake Minnewanka Loop

Banff National Park
Bighorn sheep next to the scenic Minnewanka Lake Loop.
© Natalia Pushchina/Adobe Stock

Just outside the town of Banff, you’ll find the majestic Lake Minnewanka Loop in Alberta. This 24-km drive brings stunning views of the teal waters of Lake Minnewanka, the second longest glacial lake in all of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks. This scenic road offers prime wildlife viewing, magical mountain meadows, and family-friendly lakeside strolls.

Maligne Lake Road

Jasper National Park
Panoramic image of Medicine Lake, at Jasper National Park.

For a beautiful road surrounded by snow-capped mountains, go for a scenic drive down Maligne Lake Road in Alberta. This 46-km drive winds through glacier valley, mountain ranges and the peaceful Medicine Lake and Athabasca River. You’ll pass by the turquoise waters of Maligne Lake with its iconic Spirit Island, one of the most photographed locations in Canada. Come and see for yourself why this is one of the most popular attractions in Jasper National Park!

Elk Island Parkway

Elk Island National Park
Two visitors watch plains bison.

For the chance to see spectacular wildlife, go for a scenic drive through the Elk Island Parkway. You might even get stuck in a bison traffic jam as you tour the park! Find out what makes Elk Island National Park so magnificent as you view the shimmering shores of Astotin Lake, and admire the wildlife that resides here.

British Columbia

Yoho Valley Road

Yoho National Park
A view of Yoho Valley Road in Autumn.

Explore Yoho Valley Road, a breathtaking 14-km drive that will take you through winding roads and exciting switchbacks in the Yoho Valley. This scenic drive is not one to be rushed! Make sure to stop at the many alpine hikes along the way such as Twin Falls, Laughing Falls and the Iceline. Then finish your adventure at the magnificent Takakkaw Falls, one of the tallest waterfalls in Canada.

Takakkaw Falls is only accessible to cars and small RVs due to very tight switchbacks.

Trans-Canada Highway (Highway 1)

Glacier National Park and Mount Revelstoke National Park
A woman admires the scenic Trans-Canada Highway.

For a riveting adventure, travel through the breathtaking Trans-Canada Highway. Starting from Revelstoke or Golden, B.C., you’ll venture through a narrow part of the highway and find a wide variety of landscapes, from steep rugged mountains and glaciers, to rainforests and lush alpine meadows. This 148-km drive takes you through the heart of many Parks Canada attractions: Glacier National Park, Rogers Pass Discover Center, and Mount Revelstoke National Park.

Meadows in the Sky Parkway

Mount Revelstoke National Park
Scenic view of the Meadows in the Sky Parkway in autumn.

Take the scenic route as you drive up the Meadows in the Sky Parkway. This paved, 26-km road will take you to the peak of Mount Revelstoke! On your way up, take advantage of the lookouts to admire the lush forests, the magnificent mountains and even a spectacular carpet of wildflowers, if you visit in August.

The parkway is narrow and has tight switchbacks. Vehicles over 7.9 metres in length are not permitted.

Banff-Windermere Highway

Kootenay National Park
The Banff-Windermere Highway is bordered by the trees and mountains of Kootenay National Park.

Go for a drive down the Banff-Windermere highway, a 94-km road in British Columbia that takes you through the diverse landscapes of Kootenay National Park, which celebrates its 100th birthday this year! Visit Kootenay’s top attractions such as the Continental Divide, a place where water flows through both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. Make sure to stop and admire Marble Canyon, Sinclair Canyon, and of course, the Kootenay Valley viewpoint!

Yukon

Alaska Highway

Kluane National Park and Reserve
Scenic view of turquoise water and mountains on the road at A'ay Chu Valley.

Top up your tank and drive through the aptly named, Top of the World Highway! More commonly known as The Alaska Highway, this road stretches from British Columbia, through the Yukon, and goes all the way to Alaska! This 2,000-km road enters the Yukon and passes through Whitehorse, offering stunning views of turquoise waters and rugged mountains along the way. Kluane National Park, home to the highest peak and largest ice field in Canada, is a must-see as you cruise along.

Roulez sur les plus belles routes du Canada! Explorez Parcs Canada dans le confort de votre véhicule et découvrez les plus beaux paysages du pays.

Soyez vigilant et conduisez prudemment. N'oubliez pas de respecter les règles de la route et ne conduisez pas en étant distrait! Choisissez avec attention l'endroit où vous arrêtez prendre des photos et respectez les panneaux de signalisation. Suivez également nos 10 conseils pour respecter la faune et rester en sécurité.


Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Sentier du Golfe Ouest

Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Trois cyclistes sur la route près d'un phare.

Roulez sur le sentier du Golfe Ouest, une route saisissante qui s'étend de Cavendish à la plage de North Rustico. Cette balade en voiture offre de splendides vues sur les falaises de grès rouge, les dunes vallonnées et les marais salants. Ouvrez les fenêtres, humez l’air du large et profitez du charme de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard!

Nouvelle-Écosse

Cabot Trail

Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton
Vue panoramique à partir de la Cabot Trail.

Admirez les panoramas les plus spectaculaires du Canada atlantique en roulant sur la Cabot Trail. Cette balade en voiture vous fera découvrir le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Visitez les belvédères des monts MacKenzie et North pour profiter pleinement des paysages de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Contemplez les splendides vues sur le golfe du Saint-Laurent, les plateaux des hautes terres, les mystiques chutes Beulach Ban et la faille d'Aspy, un réseau de fractures dans la croûte terrestre.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Route côtière de Fundy

Parc national Fundy
La baie de Fundy au coucher du soleil.

Roulez d’Aulac à Moncton et prenez la route 114 qui longe la rivière Petitcodiac ou rivière au Chocolat. Vous aurez peut-être la chance d’observer le mascaret, cette vague de marée qui remonte les eaux de la rivière. Longez ensuite la fameuse baie de Fundy au cœur d’un paysage de collines avec de magnifiques vues sur l’océan. Traversez le parc national Fundy et laissez-vous impressionner par les plus hautes marées du monde. Après avoir exploré le parc, sillonnez les luxuriantes collines calédoniennes du Nouveau-Brunswick. L'histoire acadienne vous intéresse? Continuez votre chemin sur la route 1 et arrêtez-vous au lieu historique national de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton, puis descendez jusqu'à St. Andrews pour visiter le blockhaus de St. Andrews construit pendant la guerre de 1812.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Viking Trail (Route 430)

Parc national du Gros-Morne
Green Point au crépuscule.

Explorez la Viking Trail, une route panoramique de 490 km qui longe la côte de la Grande Péninsule Nord de Terre-Neuve. Débutez votre escapade à Deer Lake, traversez le parc national du Gros-Morne et terminez votre parcours au lieu historique national de L'Anse aux Meadows, le seul site viking authentifié en Amérique du Nord. Cette belle route atlantique vous fera découvrir de superbes paysages côtiers, des sites historiques et des communautés pittoresques comme St. Anthony, une ville où il est possible d’observer des icebergs âgés de 10 000 ans. Que vous aimiez la nature, la culture ou la faune, la Viking Trail est une route incontournable.

Québec

La route des baleines

Parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent
Deux visiteurs sur le trottoir de bois près du Centre de découverte du milieu marin.

Suivez la route des baleines, une route qui s'étend de Tadoussac à Blanc-Sablon le long de la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent au Québec. Cette route donne accès au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, reconnu comme l'un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour observer les baleines. Profitez des nombreux sites d’observation du parc marin. Voyez si vous pouvez repérer l'une des 13 espèces de baleines qui résident dans le parc depuis le rivage!

Ontario

Promenade des Mille-Îles

Parc national des Mille-Îles
Une femme regarde les îles et le fleuve à partir d'un belvédère.

Aventurez-vous sur la promenade des Mille-Îles, une route de 39 kilomètres entre Brockville et Gananoque, en Ontario. Profitez de magnifiques vues sur le paisible fleuve Saint-Laurent et bien sûr sur les îles environnantes. Ces collines granitiques s’étendent sur 80 km dans la zone de transition entre le bouclier canadien du nord de l’Ontario et les monts Adirondacks.

Manitoba

Route du lac Audy

Parc national du Mont-Riding
Visiteurs regardant les bisons traverser la route dans l’enclos des bisons.

Expérimentez la magie des prairies dans le confort de votre véhicule en empruntant une route panoramique telle que l’autoroute 10 ou 19 ou la route du lac Audy. Gardez l’œil ouvert en passant devant l’enclos de bisons du lac Audy, un habitat protégé pour le bison des prairies autrefois menacé! Ouvrez les fenêtres, montez la musique et admirez les paysages du Manitoba à perte de vue. Prenez le temps d’explorer l'un des nombreux sentiers situés le long des routes tels que le sentier Pointe-de-Flèche et le sentier Boréal.

Route historique River Road

Lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s
Le presbytère St. Andrew’s entouré d’arbres verts lors d’une journée d’été.

Profitez d’un après-midi amusant le long de la route historique River Road tout près de Winnipeg. Elle est réputée pour sa splendide vue sur la rivière Rouge et ses nombreux monuments historiques. Faites un arrêt au lieu historique national du Presbytère-St. Andrew’s pour admirer l'architecture du bâtiment en pierre. Faites ensuite un tour au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry, le seul poste de traite des fourrures en pierre restauré en Amérique du Nord.

Saskatchewan

Route panoramique de l’Écocircuit

Parc national des Prairies
Un bison des plaines dans le parc national des Prairies.

Découvrez la magie du parc national des Prairies en parcourant la route panoramique de l’Écocircuit! Un petit voyage aller-retour de 80 km à partir de Val Marie en Saskatchewan. Cette escapade routière autoguidée, d’une durée de deux heures, dans la magnifique vallée de la rivière Frenchman offre de beaux panoramas sur les prairies. Gardez l’œil ouvert et observez attentivement les collines, la faune sera probablement au rendez-vous!

Promenade des Badlands

Parc national des Prairies
Vue panoramique des badlands dans le bloc Est du parc national des Prairies.

Empruntez la promenade des Badlands, une route spécialement conçue pour offrir des panoramas remarquables tout en protégeant les éléments qui caractérisent les badlands : les habitats uniques, la faune et le paysage intemporel. Cette escapade routière en Saskatchewan suit le tracé d'un sentier historique sur 11 km et propose six belvédères qui surplombent les prairies et les badlands du ruisseau Rock.

Un choix de trois routes panoramiques

Parc national de Prince Albert
Des adultes roulent à vélo sur l’autoroute dans la vallée.

Faites une promenade panoramique au parc national de Prince Albert et profitez des magnifiques paysages de la Saskatchewan. Empruntez le chemin Narrows pour faire une escapade routière de 24 km le long de la rive sud du lac Waskesiu afin d’observer la faune. Empruntez la route Kingsmere pour faire une balade en voiture de 32,5 km sur la rive nord du lac Waskesiu dans une forêt d’épinettes. Empruntez la route 263 pour admirer la forêt luxuriante et la vue panoramique sur la vallée de la rivière Spruce. Vous avez l’embarras du choix!

Alberta

Promenade des Glaciers

Parc national Banff et parc national Jasper
La promenade des Glaciers, une route panoramique au cœur de montagnes enneigées.

Faites une escapade routière inoubliable sur la célèbre promenade des Glaciers en Alberta. Cette route panoramique serpente dans des vallées et croise des lacs turquoise bordés de sommets alpins. Elle offre 280 km de paysages à couper le souffle. Prévoyez une journée entière uniquement pour l’aller, il y a tant à voir : la paroi en pleurs, le lac Louise, le glacier Athabasca et plus encore!

Promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow

Parc national Banff
Une route traverse la vallée, bordée de montagnes enneigées et d’arbres.
© Eddy Galeotti/Adobe Stock

Ne manquez pas la promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow, une route panoramique de 48 km située entre Banff et Lake Louise. La route descend jusqu'au fond de la vallée dans l'écozone la plus riche du parc national Banff et elle offre des possibilités incroyables d’observation de la faune. Baissez les fenêtres pour mieux admirer les paysages montagneux à couper le souffle!

Boucle lac Minnewanka

Parc national Banff
Des mouflons en bordure de la route panoramique du lac Minnewanka.
© Natalia Pushchina/Adobe Stock

Empruntez la majestueuse route du lac Minnewanka, tout près de la ville de Banff. Cette route de 24 km offre de splendides panoramas sur les eaux turquoise du lac Minnewanka, le deuxième plus long lac glaciaire des parcs des Rocheuses canadiennes. Vous aurez des occasions uniques d’observer la faune et les magnifiques prés alpins ainsi que de vous dégourdir les jambes sur le bord du lac.

Route du lac Maligne

Parc national Jasper
Vue panoramique du lac Medicine au parc national Jasper.

Envie de voir des montagnes enneigées? Optez pour une balade en voiture sur la route du lac Maligne en Alberta. Elle serpente la vallée glacière et les montagnes et croise le paisible lac Medicine ainsi que la rivière Athabasca. Vous passerez évidemment par le lac Maligne avec ses eaux turquoise et son emblématique île Spirit, l'un des endroits les plus photographiés au Canada. Venez découvrir pourquoi c'est l'une des attractions les plus populaires du parc national Jasper!

Promenade Elk Island

Parc national Elk Island
Des visiteurs observent un bison des plaines.

L’observation de la faune vous intéresse? Optez pour une balade panoramique sur la promenade Elk Island en Alberta. Vous pourriez même vous retrouver dans un embouteillage de bisons lors de votre visite! Contemplez les rives chatoyantes du lac Astotin et observez la faune qui y réside : le parc est tout simplement magnifique!

Colombie-Britannique

Route de la Vallée-de-la-Yoho

Parc National Yoho
Un panorama de la route de la Vallée-de-la-Yoho à l’automne.

Explorez la route de la Vallée-de-la-Yoho, un trajet de 14 km à couper le souffle qui vous fera traverser des paysages d’une beauté exceptionnelle sur des routes sinueuses aux virages très serrés. Prenez votre temps et admirez cette nature grandiose qui vous entoure. Profitez-en pour emprunter les magnifiques sentiers de randonnée qui jalonnent la route, rendez-vous aux chutes Twin et aux chutes Laughing ou offrez-vous le sentier Iceline. Terminez votre escapade aux magnifiques chutes Takakkaw, parmi les plus hautes au Canada.

Les chutes Takakkaw ne sont accessibles qu'aux voitures et aux petits véhicules récréatifs en raison des virages très serrés.

Autoroute transcanadienne (Autoroute 1)

Parc national des Glaciers et parc national du Mont-Revelstoke
Une femme regarde le paysage à partir de l’autoroute Transcanadienne.

Partez à l’aventure sur la magnifique autoroute transcanadienne. À partir de Revelstoke ou de Golden, en Colombie-Britannique, empruntez la partie étroite de l'autoroute et découvrez une grande variété de paysages. Vous circulerez au cœur de montagnes escarpées et de glaciers jusqu’aux forêts pluviales et prairies alpines luxuriantes. Cette balade en voiture de 148 km vous fera découvrir de nombreux endroits de Parcs Canada tels que le parc national des Glaciers, le centre de la découverte du col-Rogers, et le parc national du Mont-Revelstoke.

Promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel

Parc national du Mont-Revelstoke
Un panorama de la promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel à l’automne.

Empruntez la promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel et faites l’ascension du mont Revelstoke sur une route pavée de 26 km! Sur votre chemin, profitez des belvédères pour admirer les forêts luxuriantes de la Colombie-Britannique, les magnifiques montagnes et les spectaculaires fleurs sauvages colorées en août.

La route est étroite et comporte des virages en lacets serrés. Les véhicules de plus de 7,9 mètres sont interdits.

Autoroute Banff-Windermere

Parc national Kootenay
L’autoroute Banff-Windermere bordée d’arbres et de montagnes dans le parc national Kootenay.

Roulez sur l'autoroute Banff-Windermere, une balade de 94 km en Colombie-Britannique qui vous fera découvrir les divers paysages du parc national Kootenay, qui fête son 100e anniversaire cette année! Visitez les principales attractions de Kootenay telles que la ligne continentale de partage des eaux, où l'eau coule à la fois dans l’océan Pacifique et dans l’océan Atlantique, les canyons Marble et Sinclair et le splendide belvédère de la vallée de la Kootenay.

Yukon

Route de l’Alaska

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane
Panorama sur un lac turquoise et sur les montagnes sur la route de l’Alaska dans la vallée Ä’äy Chù.

Faites le plein d’essence et partez à l’aventure sur la célèbre route du Sommet du monde, plus communément appelée la route de l'Alaska. Cette route de plus de 2 000 km s'étend de la Colombie-Britannique à l'Alaska en passant par le Yukon. Elle offre de magnifiques panoramas sur des eaux turquoise et des montagnes escarpées. Elle traverse Whitehorse et passe par Kluane, le parc qui abrite le plus haut sommet et le plus grand champ de glace au Canada. Un incontournable lors de votre virée sur la route de l'Alaska!