What does the winter mean to you? Snow suits and snow boots; woolly toques and cosy mitts; steamy hot chocolate, and a warming bowl of stew… Here in Canada, we don’t hide from the winter; we go out and play in it! Canada is a winter wonderland offering Canadians and visitors a shopping list of things to try during the winter months. So we encourage you to get outdoors and have some fun!

1. Backcountry skiing and snowshoe touring on the Earth’s Mantle

© Gros Morne Adventures
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador

What? Experience the backcountry powder on the Earth’s mantle of the Tablelands! Skiers and snowshoers, journey through coastal mountains blessed with heavy snowfall, lowland forests and treeless alpine highlands before unwinding by the woodstove in a ski hut.

When? January to April (weather permitting)

2. A Disappearing Town or A Town Reborn? Choose your tour!

Buildings and streets of the fortified city of Louisbourg under the snow.
Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

What? Want to have a fun day out but the kids are glued to their screens? No problem, combine both! Download the Explora app and go to Louisbourg. As you explore the fortress and its surroundings, your phone or tablet will download photos, videos and a wealth of information thanks to GPS tracking. While you’re there, take a detour and admire the spectacular views on the Lighthouse Trail.

When? Did you know that this historic site is open year round? Open Monday to Friday (except statutory holidays) from October 15, 2018 to May 19, 2019 and daily from May 20 to October 13, 2019.

3. Ice Fishing on one of Ontario’s Great Lakes

Small children all bundled up in their winter clothing sit around a small fishing hole fishing.
Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area, Ontario

What? With over 70 species of fish in Lake Superior, you can sit by a fire in a fishing hut or enjoy the crisp winter air and spectacular scenery! An experience sure to warm your heart and fill your senses.

When? Consult the Ontario Fishing Regulations

4. Ice climbing or snow tagging – try something special!

Two visitors in front of their snowshoe drawing on a frozen lake.
La Mauricie National Park, Québec

What? Here, you can try a wide variety of winter activities from ice climbing to snowshoeing to cross country skiing to snow tagging. There is so much to do, you’ll want to spend the night in an oTENTik for a truly great winter experience.

When? December 8, 2018 to March 31, 2019 (weather permitting)

5. Fat biking

A young woman on her fat bike moving forward on a trail heading into the forest.
© Edward Deo Dingle
Kouchibouguac National Park, New Brunswick

What? Aside from the long list of winter activities you can try in the park, Kouchibouguac National Park is also an all-season biking destination. Experience over 18 km of fat bike trails groomed in the most beautiful winter setting. Fat bikes can be rented all year.

When? December to March

6. Stay overnight with us - will you choose the oTENTik or the cabin?

A winterized oTENTik accommodation sits amongst snow covered trees.
Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba

What? Fill your days with skiing, snowshoeing, fat biking and skating adventures then spend the night camping under the Northern Lights. Stay close to town in one of five winterized oTENTik tents or venture out on ski or snowshoe for a peaceful night in Cairns Cabin.

When? December to March (weather permitting)

7. Cross-country skiing in the Canadian Rockies

Young women cross-country skiing over a wooden bridge near a stream in the Lake Louise area.
Banff National Park, Alberta

What? Breathe the frosty, spruce-scented air as your skis hit the trails of Canada’s first national park. With one of the longest ski seasons in North America, there is plenty of time to take in the most iconic views while exploring Banff’s track set and groomed cross-country ski trails.

When? Mid-November to April

8. Tobogganing or fat biking in Fundy National Park

 Visitors on fat bikes in the snow.
© A for Adventure
Fundy National Park, New Brunswick

What? Spend an afternoon zipping down the Headquarters tobogganing hill with the family or cruising the 18 km of groomed trails on a fat bike. There is no shortage of things to do at Fundy in the winter! Winter nights can be enjoyed from the comfort of a yurt, oTENTik or your own tent at Headquarters campground.

When? November to March

9. Soak and relax in one of the Canadian Rockies Hot Springs

Steam from hot spring raises into the cool winter air seen from a distance.
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay National Park, British Columbia

What? After a day spent enjoying the great outdoors, take a relaxing soak in the Radium Hot Springs’ soothing mineral waters. The weather outside may be chilly, but it’s always 39 °C here! Marvel at the rock cliffs of Sinclair Canyon and see if you can spot one of the bighorn sheep that make this place their home.

When? Open all year

10. Ice skating on a historic canal

One man and two women skate together along Canal Chambly.  He is holding a hockey stick and one of the women is pushing a stroller.
Chambly Canal National Historic Site, Quebec

What? Lace up your skates and glide down the Chambly Canal! Three skating rinks are accessible to the public and are maintained and supervised by the municipalities of Chambly and Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

When? Mid-January to March (weather permitting)

Que représente l’hiver pour vous? Habits de neige et bottes chaudes, tuques et mitaines confortables, chocolat chaud fumant ou ragoût réconfortant… Ne vous cachez pas de l’hiver, profitez-en! Le Canada est un véritable paradis hivernal. Faites l'expérience du plein air et amusez-vous! C’est un excellent moyen de garder une bonne santé et d’éviter la déprime hivernale!

1. Expédition de ski de randonnée ou de raquette sur le manteau terrestre

© Gros Morne Adventures
Parc national du Gros-Morne, Terre-Neuve

Quoi? Faites l'expérience de l'épais manteau de poudreuse dans l'arrière-pays et parcourez les Tablelands! Profitez des paysages forestiers et des sommets alpins avant de vous détendre auprès du poêle à bois dans un abri.

Quand? Janvier à avril (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent)

2. Une ville en disparition ou une ville ressuscitée? Choisissez votre parcours!

Des bâtiments et des rues de la ville fortifiée de Louisbourg sous la neige.
Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, Nouvelle-Écosse

Quoi? Envie de passer une agréable journée à l’extérieur mais les enfants sont collés à leur écran? Pas de problème, combinez les deux! Téléchargez l’application Explora et rendez-vous à Louisbourg. Pendant que vous explorez la forteresse et ses alentours, votre téléphone ou votre tablette téléchargera des photos, des vidéos et une foule d’informations grâce à la localisation par GPS. Profitez-en pour faire un petit détour pour admirer les vues spectaculaires sur le sentier du Phare.

Quand? Saviez-vous que ce lieu historique est ouvert toute l'année? Ouvert du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés) du 15 octobre 2018 au 19 mai 2019 et tous les jours du 20 mai au 13 octobre 2019.

3. Pêche blanche sur l'un des Grands Lacs de l'Ontario

Des jeunes enfants chaudement emmitouflés dans leurs vêtements d'hiver surveillent attentivement un petit trou de pêche sur la glace.
Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur, Ontario

Quoi? Plus de 70 espèces de poissons sont présentes dans le lac Supérieur. Restez près du feu dans une cabane de pêche ou respirez l'air vivifiant en admirant le paysage spectaculaire. Cette expérience vous réchauffera certainement le cœur.

Quand? Consultez la réglementation régissant la pêche en Ontario

4. Escalade de glace ou graphineige – des activités originales!

Deux visiteurs devant leur dessin tracé en raquettes sur un lac gelé.
Parc national de la Mauricie, Québec

Quoi? Expérimentez un large éventail d’activités hivernales : raquette, ski de fond, escalade de glace ou graphineige. Il y en a tellement à faire, que vous voudrez certainement passer la nuit dans une tente oTENTik pour y vivre une véritable expérience hivernale hors du commun.

Quand? 8 décembre 2018 au 31 mars 2019 (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent)

5. Vélo à pneus surdimensionnés

Une jeune femme sur son vélo à pneus surdimensionnés emprunte un sentier en direction de la forêt.
© Edward Deo Dingle
Parc national Kouchibouguac, Nouveau-Brunswick

Quoi? En plus de la multitude d'activités hivernales, le parc offre maintenant du vélo en toutes saisons. Parcourez le réseau de sentiers aménagés de plus de 18 km dans un décor hivernal à couper le souffle. Il est possible de louer des vélos à pneus surdimensionnés.

Quand? Décembre à mars

6. Passez la nuit chez nous — choisirez-vous l’oTENTik ou le chalet rustique?

Une tente oTENTik aménagée pour l’hiver est entourée d’arbres couverts de neige.
Parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba

Quoi? Passez vos journées à faire du ski, de la raquette, du vélo à pneus surdimensionnés et du patin, puis campez sous les aurores boréales. Restez plus près de la ville dans l’une des cinq tentes oTENTik aménagées pour l’hiver ou aventurez-vous en ski ou en raquettes pour une nuit paisible dans le chalet rustique Cairns.

Quand? Décembre à mars (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent)

7. Ski de fond dans les Rocheuses canadiennes

Des jeunes femmes font du ski de fond aux abords d'un ruisseau dans la région du Lac Louise.
Parc national Banff, Alberta

Quoi? Respirez l’air frais et parfumé à l’épinette tout en parcourant les sentiers de ski de fond du premier parc national du Canada. Avec l’une des plus longues saisons de ski en Amérique du Nord, vous aurez tout le loisir de contempler les vues les plus emblématiques du parc tout en explorant les pistes tracées pour le ski en style classique et en style libre.

Quand? Mi-novembre à avril (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent)

8. Du toboggan ou du vélo à pneus surdimensionnés au parc national Fundy

Des visiteurs faisant du vélo à pneus surdimensionnés sur la neige.
© A for Adventure
Parc national Fundy, Nouveau-Brunswick

Quoi? Offrez-vous des heures de plaisir en famille ou avec des amis : dévalez la glissoire de la cuvette du secteur de l'Administration ou parcourez les 18 km de sentiers permettant le vélo à pneus surdimensionnés. Les activités ne manquent pas à Fundy en hiver et les nuits peuvent être appréciées dans le confort d'une yourte, d'une tente oTENTik ou de votre propre tente au terrain camping de l’Administration.

Quand? Novembre à mars

9. Faites trempette dans l’une des sources thermales des Rocheuses canadiennes et détendez-vous

Vue de loin, la vapeur des sources thermales s'élève dans l'air froid hivernal.
Sources thermales Radium du parc national Kootenay, Colombie-Britannique

Quoi? Après avoir profité d’une bonne journée au grand air, relaxez dans les eaux minérales réconfortantes des sources thermales Radium. C'est peut-être un peu frisquet à l'extérieur, mais les sources thermales sont toujours à 39 °C! Profitez de la vue magnifique sur les falaises rocheuses du canyon Sinclair et essayez de repérer un mouflon dans son habitat naturel.

Quand? Toute l'année

10. Patinage sur un canal historique gelé

Un homme et deux femmes patinent ensemble le long du canal de Chambly. Il tient un bâton de hockey et l'une des femmes une poussette.
Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly, Québec

Quoi? Lacez vos patins et parcourez le canal de Chambly! Trois patinoires sont entretenues et surveillées par les municipalités de Chambly et de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

Quand? Mi-janvier à la mi-mars (si les conditions météorologiques le permettent)