Enjoy a round of golf surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty in one of Parks Canada’s national parks. Get out on the green and explore the vision of legendary Canadian golf course architect Stanley Thompson, who took inspiration from nature to create some of the world’s most famous courses which preserve the natural flow of the landscape. From the red sand dunes in Prince Edward Island to the swaying yellow goldenrods in Riding Mountain National Park’s alpine meadows, feel inspired by the contrast of wild nature and lush manicured greens and remember Thompson’s words: "Nature must always be the architect's model.”

Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Nova Scotia
Aerial view of Highland Links.

On the green
Considered one of world’s top 100 golf courses, the Highlands Links course was planned out in 1937 just a year after the park was created. This ews along the way. Every hole has a Gaelic name and the fourth (oclassic 18-hole course flows through dense forest and along rocky cliffs with sensational sea vine of the most difficult) is appropriately named “Heich O’ Fash” which translates as Heap of Trouble!

Park life
After a round, be sure to explore the park’s forested trails and coastal hikes. Explore sandy beaches and secluded bays and watch minke and humpback whales breeching off shore. Take a tubing tour along the Clyburn River to learn about the protected salmon who spawn there each fall. Hear Mi’kmaw stories told by elders and take part in a Grandmother Moon celebration. Play the ancient game of waltes to understand more about the Indigenous peoples who have lived on these lands for centuries.

Golf at Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Prince Albert National Park

Saskatchewan
Waskesiu Golf Course at Prince Albert National Park.

On the green
Built in 1935, the historic Waskesiu Lobstick course is named after one of Western Canada’s most famous trees. Although the original no longer stands, you’ll find the Lobstick tree’s successor keeping the legacy alive. A unique local rules states that any tee shot (in flight) that strikes the Lobstick tree may be replayed without penalty. But best to try not to hit it! Make it a golf tour and visit nearby Elk Ridge Resort beside the east gate of the park for its 27-hole course.

Park life
A million acres of boreal forest and sparkling lakes are yours to explore once the golf day is done. Whether you want to head into the backcountry where the plains bison roam or stay in Waskesiu and enjoy the quaint lakeshore town, you can do it all in this Saskatchewan treasure.

Golf at Prince Albert National Park

Elk Island National Park

Alberta
The golf course at Elk Island National Park.

On the green
Built during the depression in 1936, the Elk Island nine-hole course is in the Astotin Lake Recreation Area. It boasts views of a shimmering lake, black spruce bog and white trunks of the aspen forest. Due to the rolling hills of this course, three of the holes have a gong to strike to let the next group of golfers know that it’s safe to tee off!

Park life
A protected refuge for more than 250 species of birds, the park also boasts Canada’s most dense population of bison, moose, elk and deer. Learn how to safely watch the wildlife. Plan to stay late and bring a picnic; star gazing in this Dark Sky Preserve turns an ordinary evening into something magical.

Golf at Elk Island National Park

Prince Edward Island National Park

Prince Edward Island
Golfers at the Green Gables Golf Course with Green Gables Heritage Place in the background.

On the green
Use all the clubs in your bag at the 18-hole Green Gables Championship Golf course. It stretches between the red sand dunes at Cavendish Beach to the former farm fields surrounding Green Gables Heritage Place. The course features big greens, well placed bunkers and three water hazards. A historic course with a modern touch, it opened for play in 1939. Thomas McBroom redeveloped the course in 2008. Broom is second only to Thompson in number of course designs in the Top 100 Golf Courses in Canada.

Park life
After a satisfying round of golf, take to the Gulf Shore Way to explore the coast on two wheels. Stay close to the course as you pedal past the red sandstone cliffs and sweeping ocean views of the western half. Or, take a short trip to the east half to marvel at the historic lighthouse and wind-sculpted dunes. The only question is, how many pictures is too many?

Golf at Prince Edward Island National Park

Fundy National Park

New Brunswick
A family Golfing at Fundy National Park.

On the green
Look out for peregrine falcons soaring above your head as you play this nine-hole course. If you’re lucky you might even see a great blue heron. Hilly with shady trees dotted along the green, you may see deer nibbling the grass as you navigate the course’s water hazards and bunkers. Want to be wowed? Visit in fall when the colours of the foliage come alive.

Park life
Experience the awesome power of nature at the Bay of Fundy, where twice a day 160 billion tonnes of seawater flows in and out of the bay. That’s more than the total combined flow of the world’s freshwater rivers! Walk the ocean floor at low tide with a Parks Canada guide to discover barnacles, rock crabs, dog whelk sea snails, limpets, periwinkles and other crustaceans. Discover waterfalls, sandy beaches and forested river valleys exploring our 100km of trails.

Golf at Fundy National Park

Riding Mountain National Park

Manitoba
The 9th hole with Clear Lake in the background.

On the green
Thanks to the efforts of now-retired golf course superintendent Greg Holden, Clear Lake Golf Course is one of Canada’s “greenest” golf courses. It uses recycled cooking oil to power their grass mowers and has waterless toilets. They have even reduced what goes into landfills each year by 80% thanks to a strict composting and recycling regimen. Built in two stages, the course’s first nine holes were designed by Stanley Thompson in 1928. The last nine holes were added by Vic Creed and Mr. Smart (then-Park Supervisor). The course opened in 1934.

Park life
Get out on the trails and hike or bike the Manitoba Escarpment, 1200 feet above Winnipeg. Take it easy on the Baldy Lake trail or push your limits on the rugged Reeve's Ravine trail. Visit the cabin of one of Canada’s earliest environmentalists, Grey Owl, or enjoy a picnic in a prairie meadow in the shade of the aspen forest. Be sure to listen for the distinctive sound of elks bugling.

Golf at Riding Mountain National Park

Waterton Lakes National Park

Alberta
The golf course at Waterton Lakes National Park.

On the green
One of Canada’s oldest, the Waterton Lakes Golf Course opened as a nine-hole golf course in 1922. Stanley Thompson came to visit in 1929 to expand the course, and his new 18 hole course opened for play in 1932. Prepare to be entranced by sweeping southern Rocky Mountain views. Look out for hummingbirds darting between the trees and the occasional bear strolling the green.

Park life
After your game get out into the wild to discover where endless prairies meet the Rocky Mountains. Take a walk along one of the scenic trails, and if you’re lucky, you may catch a glimpse of a white-tailed deer or an elk bounding across the path. In fall, see squadrons of Canada geese and the rare trumpeter swan joining thousands of other birds migrating thorough the park.

Golf at Waterton Lakes National Park

Jouez une partie de golf dans le splendide décor naturel de l’un des parcs nationaux du Canada. Découvrez la vision du légendaire architecte canadien Stanley Thompson qui s’est inspiré de la nature pour créer quelques-uns des terrains les plus réputés au monde, où le caractère naturel du paysage est préservé et mis en valeur. Les dunes de sable rouge de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, les verges d’or vacillant dans les prairies alpines du parc national du Mont-Riding… Laissez-vous inspirer par le contraste entre la nature sauvage et la verdure parfaitement entretenue des parcours, et rappelez vous les paroles de Thompson : « La nature doit toujours être le modèle de l’architecte. »

Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Nouvelle-Écosse
Vue aérienne du terrain de golf Highland Links.

À propos du terrain
Faites vos preuves à Highlands Links, un terrain de golf classé parmi les 100 meilleurs au monde! Ce terrain de golf classique de 18 trous a été réalisé en 1937, un an après la création du parc. Traversez une forêt dense, longez des falaises rocheuses et profitez de points de vue exceptionnels sur la mer. Portez attention, chaque trou porte un nom gaélique. Le quatrième, l’un des plus difficiles, a été baptisé avec raison « Heich O’ Fash », ce qui signifie « un tas d’ennuis »!

Explorez le parc
La partie est terminée? Parcourez les magnifiques sentiers forestiers et côtiers et profitez des plages de sable et des baies isolées. Observez les petits rorquals et les baleines à bosse faire des sauts au large. Descendez tranquillement la rivière Clyburn sur une chambre à air pour découvrir la vie du saumon qui vient y frayer chaque automne. Écoutez des aînés mi'kmaq partager leurs récits, prenez part à une célébration de Grand-mère Lune ou jouez à l’ancien jeu de « waltes » pour mieux comprendre les peuples autochtones qui occupent ces terres depuis des siècles.

Jouez au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Parc national de Prince Albert

Saskatchewan
Parcours de golf Waskesiu au parc national de Prince Albert.

À propos du terrain
Saviez-vous que le terrain de golf historique Lobstick de Waskesiu, construit en 1935, doit son nom à l’un des arbres les plus renommés de l’Ouest canadien? Le repère de portage (lobstick) original n’est plus sur pied, mais un arbre successeur préserve ce précieux héritage! Selon le règlement local, un coup de départ qui frappe le repère de portage (en vol) peut être joué de nouveau sans pénalité. Mais mieux vaut l’éviter! Vous en voulez plus? Visitez le centre de villégiature voisin, Elk Ridge Resort, pour son terrain de 27 trous.

Explorez le parc
Vous avez complété le parcours avec succès? Profitez-en, un million d’acres de forêt boréale et de nombreux lacs miroitants sont à votre disposition! Aventurez-vous dans l’arrière-pays où le bison des plaines vit librement ou restez à Waskesiu et profitez cette ville pittoresque en bordure du lac. Il y a tant à explorer dans ce joyau magnifique de la Saskatchewan.

Jouez au parc national de Prince Albert

Parc national Elk Island

Alberta
Le parcours de golf du parc national Elk Island.

À propos du terrain
Découvrez Elk Island, ce parcours de neuf trous construit pendant la Dépression en 1936 et situé dans l’aire de loisirs du Lac-Astotin. Admirez les points de vue splendides sur le lac scintillant, sur une tourbière d’épinettes noires et sur une forêt de trembles. En raison des nombreuses collines, un gong a été installé à trois des neuf trous. Frappez-le pour signaler au prochain groupe de golfeurs qu’ils peuvent frapper un coup de départ sans risque!

Explorez le parc
Votre journée de golf est terminée? Partez à la découverte de cette aire protégée qui abrite plus de 250 espèces d’oiseaux ainsi que la population la plus dense de bisons, d’orignaux, de wapitis et de chevreuils au Canada. Apprenez comment observer la faune en toute sécurité. Planifiez de rester jusqu’à la nuit et apportez un pique-nique; l’observation des étoiles dans cette réserve de ciel étoilé transforme assurément une soirée ordinaire en moment magique.

Jouez au parc national Elk Island

Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Golfeurs au terrain de golf Green Gables avec le site patrimonial Green Gables en arrière-plan.

À propos du terrain
Apportez tous les bâtons de votre sac de golf, vous en aurez besoin pour jouer à Green Gables, un parcours de 18 trous de calibre championnat! Il s’étend entre les dunes de sable rouge de la plage de Cavendish jusqu’aux anciens champs agricoles en bordure du site patrimonial Green Gables. Le terrain compte de grands verts, des fosses de sable bien placées et trois obstacles d’eau. Ce terrain historique avec une touche de modernité a ouvert ses portes en 1939. Il a été réaménagé en 2008 par Thomas McBroom. McBroom se classe au deuxième rang, derrière Thompson. Il a conçu lui aussi de nombreux terrains de golf figurant au palmarès des 100 meilleurs au Canada.

Explorez le parc
Échangez la voiturette pour le vélo et empruntez le sentier du Golfe pour découvrir la côte. Pédalez devant les falaises de grès rouge et les vues panoramiques de l’océan en parcourant la section ouest du sentier. Ou effectuez une courte excursion dans la section est pour admirer le phare et les dunes sculptées par le vent. La seule question est de savoir quand le nombre de photos prises devient-il excessif?

Jouez au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Parc national Fundy

Nouveau-Brunswick
Une famille jouant au golf au parc national Fundy.

À propos du terrain
Ouvrez l’œil! Ce parcours accidenté de neuf trous et parsemé d’arbres est l’endroit idéal pour apercevoir un chevreuil broutant l’herbe alors que vous cherchez la trajectoire idéale pour éviter les obstacles d’eau et les fosses de sable. Si vous êtes chanceux, vous pourriez apercevoir des faucons pèlerins planant au-dessus de votre tête ou encore des grands hérons du Pacifique. Faites une visite en automne alors que les couleurs des feuilles sont flamboyantes, vous tomberez sous le charme de l’endroit!

Explorez le parc
Ressentez l’incroyable force de la nature dans la baie de Fundy. Deux fois par jour, 160 milliards tonnes d’eau de mer entrent et sortent de la baie : c’est plus que le débit combiné de toutes les rivières d’eau douce du monde! Marchez sur le plancher océanique à marée basse avec un guide de Parcs Canada et découvrez les balanes, les crabes, les pourpres de l’Atlantique, les patelles, les bigorneaux et d’autres crustacés. Profitez aussi de chutes d’eau, de plages de sable et de vallées fluviales boisées en explorant les 100 km de sentiers qu’offre ce parc.

Jouez au parc national Fundy

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Manitoba
Le neuvième trou avec le lac Clear en arrière-plan.

À propos du terrain
Jouez au golf sur l’un des terrains les plus « verts » du Canada : Clear Lake. Merci à Greg Holden ancien responsable de l’entretien du terrain aujourd’hui à la retraite. Les tondeuses à gazon fonctionnent avec de l’huile à friture recyclée et le site dispose de toilettes sèches! Des efforts rigoureux de compostage et de recyclage ont permis de réduire de 80 % ce qui est envoyé au site d’enfouissement chaque année. Ce terrain a été construit en deux étapes. Les neuf premiers trous ont été conçus par Stanley Thompson en 1928, et les neuf derniers trous ont été ajoutés par Vic Creed et M. Smart, le superviseur du parc à l’époque. Le terrain a ouvert ses portes en 1934.

Explorez le parc
Après la partie, faites une randonnée à pied ou à vélo sur l’escarpement du Manitoba, à 1 200 pieds au dessus de Winnipeg. Allez-y tout doucement sur le sentier du Lac Baldy ou repoussez vos limites sur le sentier accidenté Reeve’s Ravine. Visitez la cabane de l’un des tout premiers écologistes du Canada, Grey Owl, ou pique-niquez dans un pré à l’ombre de la forêt de trembles. Tendez l’oreille, vous pourriez entendre un rugissement de wapiti.

Jouez au parc national du Mont-Riding

Parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Alberta
Le parcours de golf du parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

À propos du terrain
Découvrez Waterton Lakes, un des plus vieux terrains de golf du Canada créé en 1922. Ce parcours de neuf trous a fait l’objet d’un agrandissement conçu par Stanley Thompson en 1929. C’est en 1932 que le nouveau terrain de 18 trous a ouvert ses portes. Vous serez émerveillé par les vues majestueuses sur les montagnes Rocheuses. Gardez l’œil ouvert, des colibris volent entre les arbres et des ours se promènent parfois sur le terrain.

Explorez le parc
Troquez vos chaussures de golf pour vos bottes de marche et partez à la découverte de ce parc où les prairies infinies rencontrent les montagnes Rocheuses. Faites une promenade sur l’un des sentiers pittoresques où vous aurez peut-être la chance d’apercevoir un cerf de Virginie ou un wapiti traversant le chemin. À l’automne, observez les escadrons de bernaches du Canada et le rare cygne trompette se joindre à des milliers d’autres oiseaux migrateurs qui traversent le parc.

Jouez au parc national des Lacs-Waterton