Sleep under the stars in a Dark-Sky Preserve! These special destinations protect the night sky and offer some of the best places in the world to see stars and the northern lights. Start planning your next camping trip in one of these dazzling destinations!

Your visit may be different this year because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Levels of visitor access and services are determined by the advice of local and provincial/territorial public health experts. Plan ahead and stay safe.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Visitor’s silhouette against the night sky at Sandy Pond.
Photo: David Saunders

Camp under the stars

Location: Terra Nova National Park

Marvel at galaxies near and far in Terra Nova National Park! Explore the cosmic wonders above with a Night Sky Kit, complete with binoculars and resources that will help you understand what you discover. Head to Sandy Pond, the darkest location in the park, for the finest views of the starry sky. Keep the fun going all night long with an overnight stay in Newman Sound Campground.

Nova Scotia

The Milky Way shines over Kejimkujik Lake at night.
Photo: Chris Green

Go on a moonlit adventure

Location: Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Experience Nova Scotia’s darkest sky and brightest stars at Kejimkujik National Park and Historic Site. Head for Merrymakedge Beach and bask in its tranquility as you watch the shimmering reflection of stars over the water. For a moonlit adventure, head to the bridge at Jakes Landing or Mill Falls and watch the lustrous bands of the Milky Way light up your hike. End your evening at a backcountry campsite to share stories of your enchanted night around the campfire.

New Brunswick

Visitors observe the stars from the Bog trail tower.
Photo: Nigel Fearon

Get up close to the stars

Location: Kouchibouguac National Park

Head to the Bog trail tower to behold up-close, the celestial masterpiece that is Kouchibouguac National Park! Notice how each star has its own unique brightness and size, and gaze up into the twists and turns of the Milky Way. See if you can locate constellations, or let your imagination run wild and create your own! Keep the stargazing going all night long as you watch the sky sparkle at Côte-à-Fabien Campground.


Stargazers admire the Milky Way at a gathering.
Photo: Nigel Fearon

Count the constellations

Location: Fundy National Park

Observe tens of thousands of stars as they twinkle in the Fundy night sky. Bring a telescope to count the craters in the moon or download a star map and see how many constellations you can find! Camp at Chignecto campground to be close to the action. For a more secluded visit, admire the sky above Wolfe Lake to fully immerse yourself in the cosmic wonders.

Ontario

Visitors view the night sky through telescopes at West Beach.
Photo: Scott Munn

Explore a starry splendor

Location: Point Pelee National Park

Discover the splendour of the uninterrupted night sky at Point Pelee National Park. This astronomic beauty is best seen from serene West Beach. For an even better viewing experience, pick up a seasonal star chart upon arrival and bring binoculars or a telescope to spot constellations up-close. After your lustrous night ends, rest your head in the oTENTik village at Camp Henry!

Saskatchewan

Parks Canada oTENTik tent below the Milky Way at night.
Photo: Ryan Bray

Feel the magic of the prairies

Location: Grasslands National Park

Admire endless prairie skies at night and watch as an infinity of stars appears above. Grasslands National Park is the darkest in Canada and offers phenomenal views throughout the entire park, however favourite viewing sites include Two Trees Trail, Belza and Rock Creek Day Use areas. After you finish stargazing, head to Frenchman Valley Campground for a night filled with starry dreams.

Alberta

Visitor stands on a dock admiring the northern lights.

Catch sight of the northern lights

Location: Elk Island National Park

Calling all stargazers! Gaze up into the celestial wonders Elk Island National Park has to offer at the Astotin Day Use parking lot or the Pavilion picnic shelter. If you’re lucky, you may even get to watch the northern lights transform the sky into a brilliant green as it shimmers over the lake. After you’re done counting the stars, spend the night at Astotin Lake Campground.


Teepee poles with ground lighting under the night sky.
Photo: Ryan Bray

Experience an astronomical evening

Location: Jasper National Park

Marvel in the wonders of the universe as you camp under the stars at Jasper National Park, the second largest Dark-Sky Preserve in the world. For a truly immersive experience, try backcountry camping at Tonquin Valley or Jaques Lake. Attend Jasper’s Dark Sky Festival in October for a whole host of activities and an unforgettable evening.


Silhouette of trees and mountains under a starry night sky.

Camp in an International Dark Sky Park

Location: Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park

Visit Parks Canada’s only International Dark Sky Park! Head to Cameron Bay or the Red Rock Parkway to watch the starlight shine in Waterton Lakes National Park, a special place where the mountains meet the prairies. Bring your binoculars or telescope and see if you can find all the official constellations, or even Jupiter’s moons! After a night filled with wonder, head back to Townsite campground, located in the heart of the action.

Northwest Territories

Colourful northern lights in the night sky over the forest.
Photo: John David McKinnon

Discover the largest Dark-Sky Preserve in the world

Location: Wood Buffalo National Park

Stay overnight in Wood Buffalo National Park , the largest Dark-Sky Preserve in the world! Watch in awe as ribbons of green and purple dance across the shimmering Northern sky as it stretches over Pine Lake. Observe the unparalleled beauty from the Dark-Sky Viewing Platform right in front of the Pine Lake Rental Cabin, the perfect place in which to doze off after a night filled with magic.

Dormez sous la Voie lactée dans une réserve de ciel étoilé! Ces endroits spéciaux protègent le ciel nocturne et sont parmi les meilleures destinations du monde pour observer les étoiles et les aurores boréales. Planifiez votre prochain séjour en camping dans l’un de ces endroits éblouissants!

Votre visite pourrait être différente cette année en raison de la pandémie de la COVID-19. Le niveau d’accès et de services aux visiteurs est déterminé par les consignes des experts en santé publique des régions et des provinces/territoires. Planifiez votre visite et soyez prudent.


Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Silhouette d’un visiteur dans la nuit à l’étang Sandy.
Photo : David Saunders

Campez sous les étoiles

Location: Parc national Terra-Nova

Laissez les galaxies proches et lointaines du parc national Terra-Nova vous émerveiller! Empruntez une trousse d’observation incluant des jumelles et des ressources et découvrez les merveilles cosmiques. Visitez l’étang Sandy, l'endroit le plus sombre du parc, et profitez d’une vue sans pareille sur le ciel nocturne. Prolongez votre soirée d’observation des étoiles en dormant au terrain de camping Newman Sound.

Nouvelle-Écosse

La Voie lactée brille au-dessus du lac Kejimkujik durant la nuit.
Photo : Chris Green

Vivez une aventure au clair de lune

Location: Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Profitez du ciel le plus sombre et des étoiles les plus brillantes de la Nouvelle-Écosse au parc national et lieu historique Kejimkujik. Profitez de la tranquillité de la plage Merrymakedge tout en admirant le reflet scintillant des étoiles qui dansent sur l’eau. Envie d’une sortie au clair de lune? Allez sur le pont de Jake’s Landing ou empruntez le sentier Mill Falls et laissez la Voie lactée illuminer votre randonnée. Terminez la soirée autour d’un feu de camp sur un site de camping en arrière-pays en partageant vos merveilleuses découvertes.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Des visiteurs observent les étoiles à partir de la tour dans le sentier de la Tourbière.
Photo : Nigel Fearon

Rapprochez-vous des étoiles

Location: Parc national Kouchibouguac

Admirez le chef-d'œuvre céleste au-dessus du parc national Kouchibouguac à partir d’une tour d’observation sur le sentier de la Tourbière. Remarquez comment chaque étoile a sa propre luminosité et sa taille et contemplez la spirale que forme la Voie lactée. Tentez de localiser des constellations ou imaginez-en de nouvelles! Poursuivez l’observation durant toute la nuit au terrain de camping Côte-à-Fabien.


Astronomes amateurs regardant la Voie lactée lors d’un rassemblement.
Photo : Nigel Fearon

Observez les constellations

Location: Parc national Fundy

Observez les dizaines de milliers d'étoiles qui scintillent dans le ciel nocturne de Fundy. Apportez un télescope et comptez les cratères de la lune ou téléchargez une carte des étoiles et identifiez le plus de constellations possible! Passez la nuit au terrain de camping Chignecto afin d’être au cœur de l’action. Vous avez envie d’un endroit plus isolé? Admirez le ciel au-dessus du lac Wolfe et laissez-vous absorber par les merveilles cosmiques.

Ontario

Des visiteurs observent le ciel à l’aide de télescopes à la plage West.
Photo : Scott Munn

Explorez une splendeur étoilée

Location: Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée

Découvrez la splendeur du ciel infini du parc national de la Point-Pelée. Le meilleur endroit pour apprécier cette beauté céleste est la tranquille plage West. Procurez-vous une carte saisonnière des étoiles dès votre arrivée afin d’enrichir votre expérience. Apportez des jumelles ou un télescope et observez les constellations de près. Pour terminer votre nuit de façon brillante, endormez-vous paisiblement dans le village oTENTik au camp Henry!

Saskatchewan

Une tente oTENTik de Parcs Canada sous la Voie lactée.
Photo : Ryan Bray

Ressentez la magie des prairies

Location: Parc national des Prairies

Admirez la quantité infinie d'étoiles dans l’immensité du ciel nocturne du parc national des Prairies. Cette réserve de ciel étoilé est la plus sombre du Canada. La vue sur le ciel est splendide d’un bout à l’autre du parc mais le sentier des Deux-Arbres et les aires de fréquentation diurne Belza et du Ruisseau-Rock sont les meilleurs sites d’observation. Des étoiles plein les yeux, passez la nuit au terrain de camping de la Vallée-de-la-Frenchman.

Alberta

Un visiteur regarde les aurores boréales à partir d'un quai.

Admirez les aurores boréales

Location: Parc national Elk Island

Appel à tous les astronomes en herbe! Admirez les merveilles célestes du parc national Elk Island à partir du stationnement de l’aire de loisirs du Lac-Astotin ou de l'abri de pique-nique du Pavillon. Avec de la chance, vous pourrez même voir scintiller des aurores boréales vertes au-dessus du lac. La tête dans les étoiles, passez la nuit au terrain de camping du Lac-Astotin.


Pôles de tipi avec un éclairage au sol sous le ciel nocturne.
Photo : Ryan Bray

Participez à une soirée astronomique

Location: Parc national Jasper

Laissez les splendeurs de l’univers vous émerveiller au parc national Jasper, la deuxième plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé du monde. Pour vivre une immersion totale sous les étoiles, campez en arrière-pays dans la vallée de Tonquin ou au camping du Lac-Jaques. Profitez de la riche programmation du Festival du ciel étoilé en octobre et vivez une soirée inoubliable.


Silhouette d’arbres et de montagnes sous un ciel étoilé.

Campez dans un Parc international de ciel étoilé

Location: Le Parc international de la paix Waterton-Glacier

Visitez le seul Parc international de ciel étoilé de Parcs Canada! Rendez-vous à la baie Cameron ou sur la promenade Red Rock pour regarder les étoiles briller dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton, un endroit spécial où les montagnes rencontrent les prairies. Apportez vos jumelles ou votre télescope et tentez de trouver toutes les constellations ainsi que les lunes de Jupiter! Après une soirée remplie d'émerveillement, profitez d’une nuit au terrain de camping Townsite, situé au cœur de l'action.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Des aurores boréales colorées dans le ciel nocturne au-dessus de la forêt.
Photo : John David McKinnon

Découvrez la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé du monde

Location: Parc national Wood Buffalo

Passez la nuit dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde! Observez avec admiration les rubans verts et violets des aurores boréales dans le ciel nordique au-dessus du lac Pine. Observez ces beautés célestes incomparables à partir de l’aire d'observation réservée aux locataires des chalets du lac Pine, l'endroit idéal pour passer la nuit après une soirée magique.