You BUTTER believe it!

There are so many tasty activities to devour in Parks Canada places! Awaken your taste buds with cowboy coffee around the campfire or fancy afternoon tea in the official residence of two former prime ministers. Head into the wild with knowledgeable guides to uncover edible treasures in the forest or cook up an ocean-fresh lobster on the beach. Indulge in a taste of Canada’s history in a fun workshop learning about Acadian fring frang or even Fortress of Louisburg rum. Start making plans and reserve your spot to get a taste of something delicious today!

Nature is delicious!


Fruit picking

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, British Columbia

Two campers at the orchard at Shingle Bay campground on Pender Island

Choose from 17 lovely orchards across the Gulf Islands National Park Reserve to gather fruits and nuts— following in the footsteps of the European settlers dating back to the 1830s. Scattered across the southern Gulf Islands, many of these orchards connect us back to the original settlers where their farming practices linked into the local economy. On North Pender Island, explore the lush Roesland Orchard, planted in 1910 by Scottish immigrant Robert Roe Sr. Discover the Mahoi Orchard on Russell Island and taste the sweet apples and cherries from the garden of Hawaiian settlers, William Haumea and the Fisher family. Follow the rules of considerate and sustainable harvesting and enjoy the taste of sweet heritage fruit!

Incredible edible ocean

Fundy National Park, New Brunswick

Lobster picnic at Hueston Brook.

Join a knowledgeable Parks Canada interpreter and take a walk through Fundy National Park to discover culinary treasures that lie hidden in plain sight in the incredible edible ocean! Take part in a Maritime tradition as old as time and surprise your taste buds with edible roots, shoots, berries and fungi.

From forest to sea, stroll the ocean floor and marvel at the diversity of edible treasures at the Bay of Fundy. From the beautiful salt marsh to the busy wharf, you’ll sample some well-known and the more unique wild ocean eats. Bring an adventurous palate and come foraging with Parks Canada’s culinary interpreters. Reservations essential!

Learn to lobster boil

Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Nova Scotia

A park interpreter plays the fiddle and shares tunes to visitors participating in the Learn-to-Lobster Boil program at La Bloc, on the beach.

Watch the sun set over the Gulf of St Lawrence and join fellow crustacean lovers as you eat fresh-boiled lobster by the sea. Discover the natural and cultural history of Nova Scotia’s lobster fishing industry from your knowledgeable Parks Canada guide, as well as its ties to Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

Learn all about lobster biology, how lobster traps work, how the lobster fishing industry has evolved, and how Parks Canada is working to protect the crustaceans’ natural habitat. After you become an expert, learn how to cook and open a lobster and dive right in! Served with a mixed greens salad and fresh-baked rolls from a local bakery, finish off your delicious meal with tea, cookies and conversation! Reservations essential!

Time for tea or cowboy coffee


Sweet picnic tea on the verandah

Laurier House National Historic Site, Ontario

Afternoon tea on the veranda:  teapot, cups and jars of jam.

Indulge in a gentle afternoon of sweet picnic tea on the picturesque verandah of Laurier House. Pick your favourite tea blend and pair it with a basket of fresh-baked treats such as an orange-berry madeleine, brown butter glazed shortbread cookies or chamomile biscuit rolls. Make the most of your historical experience and envision yourself as one of the many dignitaries and politicians who enjoyed this tradition during the residence Prime Ministers; Sir Wilfrid Laurier and William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Summer teas at the superintendent’s residence

Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site, Ontario

A group of visitors takes the tea on the veranda at the Superintendent’s Residence.

Step back to 1895 and come for tea at the historic and well-appointed Superintendent’s Residence. Visitors are welcome to enjoy three different tea experiences.

Relax on the verandah and enjoy tea or coffee with tasty treats, as you watch boats pass through the historic Sault Ste. Marie Canal. Reserve your ticket to Heritage Tea with Parks interpreters in historic costume, period music, and a full lunch menu. Or, indulge in the fanciest of High Teas, dress in your Sunday best, and enjoy live entertainment and a gourmet lunch served by costumed interpreters. Reservations essential!

4 o’clock tea

Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site, Quebec

Two girls are having tea with characters.

At 4 o’clock in the 1830’s, everything stopped for tea! Join the Captain or his Lady at the Dauphine Redoubt, in the Artillery Park to take part in this delicious 19th century English tradition.

In the heart of Quebec City amidst the fortifications where endless battles between the British and French raged on, take a moment of peace and learn the delicate art of proper English tea according to 19th century etiquette.

Cowboy coffee

Bar U Ranch National Historic Site, Alberta

A Parks Canada interpreter pours cowboy coffee for two young women at roundup camp.

Take a walk over Pekisko Creek into the shade of the Cottonwood Trees and imagine what this vast ranch would have been like in 1891 when Harry Longabaugh AKA the Sundance Kid worked here as a horse breaker.

Sip on cowboy coffee at the Roundup Camp as the smoke from the campfire curls lazily into the air, and hear tales of how Edward, Prince of Wales visited in 1919 and loved it so much he bought the ranch next door.

Cowboy coffee

Grasslands National Park, Saskatchewan

A group of visitors enjoying some campfire coffee at the Frenchman Valley campground.

Join your neighbours from over the hills and far away at West Block, Frenchman Valley Campground and East Block, Rock Creek Campground! Set the pace for a sociable relaxed morning enjoying a cup of delicious brewed-over-the-campfire cowboy coffee – strong and memorable! Soak up the history in this beautiful national park from dinosaur bones and tipi rings to prairie homesteads on the horizon.

Take a workshop


Pemmican tasting

Elk Island National Park, Alberta

Visitors prepare pemmican at a program offered at the Astotin Lake Day Use Area.

Easy to carry and packed with energy-giving calories, fat and protein; pemmican was a staple for Indigenous communities across North America for countless generations and also played a major role in the fur trade for the Voyageurs. Learn more about the ‘power bar of the prairies’ around the fire near Astotin Lake playground. Join Parks Canada interpreters in this fun drop-in session for a taste of history!

Bannock making

Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site, Alberta

Two young adults with a costumed animator in Métis clothing of the fur trade era are being offered warm bannock at the camp.

Sign up for a workshop to learn more about a delicious staple of Indigenous culinary culture, fluffy, open fire-cooked, bannock bread!

As the bread cooks over the fire, let your imagination travel back to the early 1800s when the North West and Hudson’s Bay companies set up rival forts at this significant place where the North Saskatchewan and the Clearwater Rivers meet. Envision the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, and the First Nations and Métis traders who came here and broke campfire-cooked bannock with early settlers.

Bannock and chocolate

Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site, Manitoba

Young visitors take a bite of freshly-baked bannock in the Bake House.

Gather around the open fire, surrounded by Canada’s oldest collection of stone fur trade buildings where trappers and traders of the Hudson’s Bay Company once gathered in the 1850s.

Learn to make tasty bannock bread, or discover the art of grinding grain by the quern— a stone hand mill to make flour, then as your bannock cooks try your hand at churning butter.

From bread to chocolate, take in a fun workshop to discover the delicious history of chocolate and the fur trade! Work together with your knowledgeable Parks Canada guide to prepare a heritage hot chocolate recipe and enjoy the sweet rewards of your labour.

Acadian Fring Frang

Grand-Pré National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

Young adults sitting at a table prepare a traditional dish.

Taste the resilience of the Acadian people in a fun and educational workshop learning how to make the traditional, mouth-watering Acadian potato dish, Fring Frang. Hear stories of le grand dérangement and Longfellow’s epic poem, Evangeline. Discover why Peruvian potatoes became an Acadian kitchen staple and then get hands-on in the outdoor kitchen surrounded by grape vines! Grate your potatoes, slather them in butter or oil, then watch them sizzle on the grill…history tastes amazing! Reservations recommended.

Say cheers to spirited adventures!


Wasagaming on Edge: drinks, debauchery, and the dirty thirties

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba

A young woman throws an ax at bottles of beer.

Make your way to Manitoba and reserve your place on a fascinating tour of Wasagaming and travel back in time to the ‘Dirty Thirties’! Listen to stories of drinks, debauchery, exploitation and Nazis uncovering the hidden history of Riding Mountain National Park. Participants must be 18 years or older, the evening ends with a selection of local brews. Dress for the weather and wear comfortable shoes, you’ll be in the great outdoors! Reservations essential.

Savour the Adventures

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

Visitors on a 10-person voyageur canoe enjoying a refreshment.

Raise your glass to Kejimkujik’s wilderness! Discover savory adventures catered to adults aged 19 and over. Take part in exclusive experiences that take you further into the heart of Kejimkujik. Routes and destinations, paired with food and alcohol, have been selected to inspire, transform, and rejuvenate you! Choose the adventure that speaks to you or sign up for all of them.

Rum: The spirit of Louisbourg

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

Four visitors toast with rum during a special program held in a period tavern with two costumed animators representing a servant and a soldier.

Discover the taste and intoxicating aroma of Fortress™ Rum and hear the story of this sugar cane-based spirit and its links to colonial 18th-century Louisbourg. Sample an authentic Rum Punch recipe and learn how sugar cane—and its alcoholic offshoot—influenced trade, shipping, and slavery in colonial North America. Taste Fortress™ Rum, distilled by the Authentic Seacoast Company in partnership with Parks Canada, a signature edition rum that is aged in oak barrels at the Fortress of Louisbourg. Cheers! You must be 19 years of age or older to partake in this experience.

The taste of Nova Scotia good cheer trail

Port-Royal National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

A guide interpreter in period costume speaks with visitors.

In 1606, Samuel de Champlain started the 'Order of Good Cheer’ social club at the Habitation, the site of the first attempt at a permanent European settlement in the New World. Stop off at Port-Royal and pick up a Taste of Nova Scotia Good Cheer Trail Passport and start your spirited tribute to de Champlain’s love of food and wine and tour Canada’s first winery, craft brewery, cidery and distillery trail, that celebrates a long tradition of hospitality and pride for the bounty of Nova Scotia.

Champagne or wassail

Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site, Quebec

Visitors are sitting around a fireplace in the courtyard of Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site.

Looking for a touch of class this Holiday season? Be charmed by the elegant Victorian décor and ambient music featuring miniature fir trees and handmade cards! Sample a sweet typical 19th century champagne during a history presentation or enjoy a hot, old-fashioned drink next to the fireplace. Taste wassail, a hot mulled English drink or the new Victorian Christmas tea, specially created for the historic site.

Historic bites!


Métis harvest celebration and corn roast

Riel House National Historic Site, Manitoba

Two girls sit at a table to eat an ear of corn.

Celebrate the year’s harvest with live music, family-friendly activities and games, interactive heritage demonstrations, and delicious feasts of corn and bannock. Learn more about the life of Louis Riel and his epic struggle to protect the social, culture and political status of his fellow Métis after the Hudson’s Bay Company sold Rupert’s Land to the Dominion of Canada. Hear how this turbulent time in history gave birth to the province of Manitoba.

Dining at the Fortress of Louisbourg

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

Visitors sit at a table in a room at Grandchamp House. Characters in period costume do the animation and the service.

Get a taste of the 18th century and choose from two period restaurants dishing up rib-sticking authentic dishes that French soldiers would have eaten back when the sound of canon firing and harpsichord playing echoed around the walls. Both Grandchamp House and Hôtel de la Marine serve up a traditional soldier’s meal with tasty dishes such as pea soup, beef stew, fish, and meat pies where everything is eaten with just one large spoon!

Soldier’s beef stew

Fort Malden National Historic Site, Ontario

Young people sit at a table in a room at the historic site and enjoy a bowl of stew.

Head to the cookhouse for a hearty bowl of beef stew with a chunk of fresh-baked bread just like the soldiers at Fort Malden did during the Rebellions of 1837-1838. Join Parks Canada interpreters to learn more about the longest American occupation on Canadian soil, and the historic meeting between Major General Sir Isaac Brock and Shawnee Chief Tecumseh during the War of 1812.

Officers’ Kitchen

Fort Malden National Historic Site, Ontario

Costumed employees prepare food in the kitchen by the fire.

Stop by the Officers’ kitchen for a chat and a taste of early Niagara’s culinary history. Here, the staff is at work to bring culinary history to life! Learn about the life of servants who prepared food to be served to the Officers living at Fort George. Taste the fortunate life of officers who enjoyed a more varied and nutritious diet than the soldiers and non-commissioned officers: wild fish and game, and imported luxuries such as sugar, coffee, tea, chocolate and fine wines.

Victorian Christmas

Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site, Quebec

A Lieutenant-Colonel and his lady enjoy a cup of tea in the anti-chamber of Dauphine Redoubt.

Dive into the past in 1845 at the Dauphine Redoubt and experience the magic of Christmas in the Victorian era. Taste the flavours of yesteryear; hot spicy cider, hot chocolate, tea, scones, eggnog and plum pudding! All newly restored, the redoubt is an authentic barrack dating back to 1712, the second oldest military building in Canada. Learning Canada’s history is delicious!

Experience gourmet heritage at home!

Choose from more than 60 vintage recipes adapted to contemporary cuisine and embark on a culinary adventure while discovering Parks Canada places! Who knew history could taste this good?

The Perfect Picnic


Friends enjoying a picnic on the sandstone rocks near Cavendish on a summer day.

Because everything tastes better when you eat it outside! Enjoy Parks Canada’s twist on take-out and let nature design your dining space with the Perfect Picnic; a pick-up-and-go lunch for two, packaged in a Parks Canada picnic box provided by local businesses. it's as easy as 1, 2, 3!

  1. Place your order with the restaurant
  2. Pick up your lunch
  3. Find your perfect picnic place in and enjoy!

Available at the following locations

Prince Edward Island National Park, Prince Edward Island
Pair delicious local food with breathtaking scenery. Order from a Farm to Table Catering Service who source seasonal foods from organic farmers, markets, fishers and foragers, and offer vegan and gluten-free picnic items.
Kejimkujik National Park and Kejimkujik National Park Seaside, Nova Scotia
Be dazzled by soft, sandy beaches, turquoise water, the bright blue sky and thousands of wildflowers—add yourself and bon appétit! Your eyes will feast as well as your taste buds! Choose from different restaurants and menus.
Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Nova Scotia
Let the highlands, beaches, lakes, waterfalls and forests set the scene and find your perfect picnic place. Choose from a trio of local restaurants offering special Parks Canada Perfect Picnic menus, with optional add-ons of blankets and baskets, then choose from one of our ten recommended perfect picnic places, or find your own!
Fort Anne National Historic Site, Nova Scotia
Port-Royal National Historic Site, Nova Scotia
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site, Nova Scotia

Did you enjoy this article?

Subscribe to the Parks Canada Newsletter and discover more: find out about events, hidden gems, trip planning, conservation and wildlife, contests, promotions…

Goûtez-y pour le croire, plaisir garanti!

Dévorez les délicieuses activités offertes à Parcs Canada! Réveillez vos papilles gustatives avec un café de cowboy autour du feu de camp ou prenez le thé dans la résidence officielle de deux anciens premiers ministres. Partez à la découverte des trésors comestibles de la forêt en compagnie d’un guide ou cuisinez un homard frais sur la plage. Offrez-vous un avant goût de l’histoire du Canada en participant à un atelier amusant portant sur le Fring Frang acadien ou sur le rhum de la forteresse de Louisbourg. Commencez à faire vos plans dès aujourd’hui, réservez votre place et préparez-vous à vous régaler!

La nature comestible


Cueillette de fruits

Réserve de parc national des Îles Gulf, Colombie-Britannique

Deux campeurs profitent du verger au camping de la baie Shingle sur l'île Pender.

Cueillez des fruits et des noix dans l’un des 17 superbes vergers dispersés dans le sud de la réserve de parc national des Îles Gulf et faites comme les colons européens des années 1830. Un grand nombre de ces vergers nous rappellent que les pratiques agricoles des premiers colons étaient étroitement liées à l’économie locale. Explorez le verger luxuriant de Roesland, planté en 1910 par l’immigrant écossais Robert Roe sur l’île Pender Nord. Découvrez le verger Mahoi sur l’île Russell, et goûtez aux pommes et aux cerises douces du jardin des colons hawaïens William Haumea et la famille Fisher. Savourez le goût sucré des fruits du patrimoine, mais n’oubliez pas de suivre les règles d’une récolte respectueuse et durable !

Un océan de délices comestibles

Parc national Fundy, Nouveau-Brunswick

Pique-nique de homard au ruisseau Hueston.

Promenez vous dans le parc national Fundy en compagnie d’un interprète pour découvrir les trésors culinaires cachés dans l’océan! Plongez dans une tradition maritime aussi vieille que le temps et surprenez vos papilles gustatives avec des racines, pousses, baies et champignons comestibles. Baladez-vous sur le fond de l’océan et appréciez la diversité des trésors comestibles de la baie de Fundy.

De la quiétude du marais salé au quai achalandé, dégustez des mets bien connus ou faites des découvertes culinaires. Comblez votre palais et venez manger avec les interprètes culinaires de Parcs Canada. Réservations requises.

Cuisson du homard 101

Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, Nouvelle-Écosse

Un interprète du parc joue du violon en compagnie de visiteurs qui participent au programme Cuisson du homard 101 à La Bloc, sur la plage.

Dégustez du homard fraîchement préparé sur la plage en compagnie d’amateurs de crustacés tout en observant le coucher du soleil sur le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Découvrez l’histoire naturelle et culturelle de l’industrie de la pêche au homard en Nouvelle Écosse, ses liens avec le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton ainsi les efforts de Parcs Canada pour protéger l’habitat naturel des crustacés.

La biologie du homard et le fonctionnement des casiers à homards n’auront plus de secrets pour vous! Une fois devenu expert, apprenez comment faire cuire et décortiquer un homard et régalez-vous! Votre homard sera servi avec une salade verte et de petits pains frais provenant d’une boulangerie locale. Terminez votre délicieux repas avec du thé, des biscuits et d’agréables conversations! Réservations requises.

L’heure du thé ou du café de cowboy


Thé et goûter sur la véranda

Lieu historique national de la Maison Laurier, Ontario

Tout est fin prêt pour le thé d’après-midi sur la véranda : théière,  tasses et pots de confiture.

Promenez vous dans le parc national Fundy en compagnie d’un interprète pour découvrir les trésors culinaires cachés dans l’océan! Plongez dans une tradition maritime aussi vieille que le temps et surprenez vos papilles gustatives avec des racines, pousses, baies et champignons comestibles. Baladez-vous sur le fond de l’océan et appréciez la diversité des trésors comestibles de la baie de Fundy.

De la quiétude du marais salé au quai achalandé, dégustez des mets bien connus ou faites des découvertes culinaires. Comblez votre palais et venez manger avec les interprètes culinaires de Parcs Canada. Réservations requises.

Thés d’été à la résidence du surintendant

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Des visiteurs prennent le thé sur la véranda à la résidence du surintendant.

Faites un bon dans le temps en 1895 et venez prendre le thé à la superbe résidence historique du surintendant. Profitez de l’une des trois différentes expériences de thé .

Détendez-vous sur la véranda et savourez tout simplement votre thé ou café avec de délicieuses gâteries tout en regardant les bateaux traverser le canal de Sault Ste. Marie. Réservez votre billet pour l’activité sur les thés ancestraux. Au programme : interprètes en costume, musique d'époque et menu complet pour déjeuner. Ou laissez-vous tenter par un goûter dînatoire. Enfilez votre tenue du dimanche, profitez de l’animation sur le site et dégustez un déjeuner gastronomique servi par des interprètes costumés. Réservations requises.

Thé de quatre heures

Lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec, Québec

Deux jeunes filles prennent le thé en compagnie de personnages d’époque.

Participez à la délicieuse tradition anglaise du thé de quatre heures en compagnie du Capitaine ou de sa Lady à la redoute Dauphine dans le parc de l'Artillerie. Au cours des années 1830, à quatre heures de l’après-midi, tout arrêtait pour le thé!

Au cœur des fortifications, dans la ville de Québec où d'interminables batailles entre les Britanniques et les Français ont fait rage, profitez d’un moment de paix et découvrez l'art délicat du bon thé anglais selon l'étiquette du 19e siècle.

Café de cowboy

Lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U, Alberta

Un interprète de Parcs Canada offre un café de cowboy à deux jeunes femmes au camp de rassemblement.

Promenez-vous en bordure du ruisseau Pekisko, à l'ombre des peupliers et imaginez l’ambiance sur ce vaste ranch en 1891 lorsque Harry Longabaugh, alias Sundance Kid, y a travaillé comme dresseur de chevaux.

Sirotez un café de cowboy au camp de rassemblement tout en regardant la fumée du feu de camp monter tranquillement dans l'air. Écoutez les récits d'Edward, prince de Galles, qui a visité le lieu en 1919 et l'a tant aimé qu'il a acheté un ranch juste à côté.

Café de cowboy

Parc national des Prairies, Saskatchewan

Des visiteurs prennent un café préparé sur un feu de camp au terrain de camping de la Vallée-de-la-Frenchman.

Rassemblez-vous au terrain de camping Frenchman Valley, Bloc Ouest et au terrain de camping Rock Creek, Bloc Est et profitez d’une matinée conviviale et paisible. Tissez des liens comme le faisaient autrefois les voisins des Prairies en dégustant une tasse de délicieux café de cowboy infusé sur le feu de camp : breuvage corsé et moment mémorable au menu! Imprégnez-vous de l'histoire de ce magnifique parc, des ossements de dinosaures et cercles de tipis jusqu'aux fermes visibles à l'horizon.

Des ateliers culinaires historiques


Dégustation de pemmican

Parc national Elk Island, Alberta

Des visiteurs préparent du pemmican lors d’une activité offerte à l’aire de loisirs du Lac-Astotin.

Découvrez la barre énergétique des Prairies autour d’un feu de camp à l’aire récréative du lac Astotin! Facile à transporter et rempli de calories, le pemmican a été un aliment de base pour les communautés autochtones de toute l'Amérique du Nord pendant d'innombrables générations. Il a également joué un rôle majeur dans la traite des fourrures pour les voyageurs. Laissez les interprètes de Parcs Canada vous donner un avant-goût de l'histoire!

Cuisson de bannock

Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House, Alberta

Une animatrice portant une tenue métis de l'époque du commerce de la fourrure offre à deux visiteurs de la bannique chaude au camp.

Préparez le pain bannock, un aliment de base de la culture culinaire autochtone, délicieux, moelleux et cuit sur le feu de bois.

Alors que le pain cuit, remontez le temps jusqu'au début des années 1800, au moment où les compagnies du Nord-Ouest et de la Baie d'Hudson ont établi des forts rivaux au confluent des rivières Saskatchewan Nord et Clearwater. Dans ce décor des contreforts des Rocheuses, imaginez les commerçants des Premières Nations et des Métis qui sont venus ici et ont partagé du pain avec les premiers colons.

Bannock et chocolat

Lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry, Manitoba

De jeunes visiteurs prennent une bouchée de pain bannique frais dans la boulangerie.

Rassemblez-vous autour d'un feu de camp, au cœur de la plus ancienne collection de bâtiments en pierre de l’époque de la traite des fourrures au Canada où les trappeurs et les commerçants de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson se réunissaient dans les années 1850.

Apprenez à faire du savoureux pain bannock. Pratiquez l'art de moudre le grain avec un moulin à main en pierre et, pendant que votre bannock cuit, essayez de baratter le beurre. Découvrez l'histoire délicieuse du chocolat et de la traite des fourrures! Avec votre guide de Parcs Canada, préparez une recette de chocolat chaud à l’ancienne et profitez des récompenses sucrées de votre travail.

Fring Frang acadien

Lieu historique national de Grand-Pré, Nouvelle-Écosse

De jeunes adultes assis à une table préparent un met traditionnel.

Goûtez à la résilience du peuple acadien lors de cet atelier amusant sur la préparation du Fring Frang, ce plat de pommes de terre traditionnel et appétissant. Écoutez des histoires à propos du grand dérangement et le poème épique de Longfellow, Évangéline. Découvrez pourquoi les pommes de terre péruviennes sont devenues un aliment de base de la cuisine acadienne, puis mettez la main à la pâte dans la cuisine extérieure entourée de vignes. Râpez vos pommes de terre, badigeonnez-les de beurre ou d'huile et regardez-les griller... L'histoire a un goût incroyable! Réservations recommandées.

À la santé de belles aventures!


Le côté sombre de Wasagaming : boisson, débauche et misère des années 30

Parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba

Une jeune femme lance une hache en direction de bouteilles de bière.

Prenez la route et faites une visite fascinante de Wasagaming, au Manitoba. Remontez le temps jusqu'aux années 30 et écoutez des histoires de boissons, de débauche, d'exploitation et de nazis qui dévoilent l'histoire cachée du parc national du Mont-Riding! Terminez la soirée avec la dégustation d’une sélection de bières locales. Habillez-vous en fonction de la météo et portez des chaussures confortables, vous serez au grand air! Vous devez être âgé de 18 ans ou plus pour participer. Réservations requises.

Savourez l’aventure

Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, Nouvelle-Écosse

Des visiteurs à bord d'un canot voyageur de 10 places savourent un rafraîchissement.

Portez un toast à la nature sauvage de Kejimkujik! Profitez de délicieuses aventures culinaires en pleine nature offertes aux adultes de 19 ans et plus, et vivez des expériences hors du commun qui vous mèneront au cœur de Keji. Des circuits uniques jumelés à des dégustations de mets, de spiritueux ou de boissons locales ont été soigneusement préparés pour vous inspirer, vous transformer et vous revigorer! Choisissez l’activité qui vous allèche le plus ou offrez-vous tous les circuits pour saisir de façon unique l’essence de Keji!.

Le rhum : l'essence de Louisbourg

Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, Nouvelle-Écosse

Quatre visiteurs portent un toast avec du rhum lors d’une activité. Ils sont dans une taverne d’époque avec deux animateurs : une servante et un soldat.

Découvrez le goût et l'arôme enivrant du rhum Fortress™ et découvrez l'histoire de cette boisson à base de canne à sucre et ses liens avec Louisbourg au 18e siècle. Dégustez une recette authentique de punch au rhum et apprenez comment la canne à sucre et son dérivé ont influencé le commerce, l’activité maritime et l'esclavage en Amérique du Nord. Le rhum Fortress™ est distillé par l'Authentic Seacoast Company en partenariat avec Parcs Canada et vieilli dans des fûts de chêne à la forteresse de Louisbourg. Santé! Vous devez être âgé de 19 ans ou plus pour participer.

Le circuit du Bon Temps (Good Cheer Trail)

Lieu historique national de Port-Royal, Nouvelle-Écosse

Un guide interprète en costume d'époque discute avec des visiteurs.

Arrêtez-vous à Port-Royal, prenez un passeport du circuit du Bon Temps et commencez à rendre hommage à l'amour de Samuel de Champlain pour la nourriture et le vin! En 1606, il fonde le club social de l'Ordre de Bon Temps à l'Habitation, lieu de la première tentative d'établissement d’une colonie européenne permanente dans le Nouveau Monde. Visitez la première route des vins, des brasseries artisanales, des cidreries et des distilleries au Canada et célébrez une longue tradition d’hospitalité et de fierté à l’égard des richesses gastronomiques de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Champagne ou wassail

Lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier, Québec

Des visiteurs sont assis autour d’un foyer dans la cour du lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier..

Envie d’être tendance à Noël? Laissez-vous inspirer par l’élégant décor victorien, la musique d’ambiance, le sapin miniature et les cartes de souhaits faites à la main. Dégustez un champagne sucré typique du 19e siècle lors d’une capsule historique ou profitez d’une boisson chaude à l’ancienne devant le foyer. Laissez-vous tenter par le wassail ou tout simplement par le thé du Noël victorien, spécialement créé pour le lieu historique.

Des bouchées d’histoire!


Épluchette de blé d’Inde de la fête des Métis

Lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel, Manitoba

Deux jeunes filles sont assises à une table à l’extérieur pour déguster un épi de maïs.

Célébrez la récolte de l'année avec de la musique, des présentations interactives sur le patrimoine, des activités et des jeux pour toute la famille ainsi qu’un délicieux festin de maïs et de bannock. Apprenez-en davantage sur la vie de Louis Riel et sur son combat pour protéger le statut social, culturel et politique de ses compatriotes métis après la vente de la Terre de Rupert par la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson au Dominion du Canada. Découvrez comment cette période turbulente de l'histoire a donné naissance à la province du Manitoba.

Dîner à la forteresse

Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, Nouvelle-Écosse

Des visiteurs sont assis à table dans une pièce de la Maison Grandchamp. Des personnages en costume d’époque font l’animation et le service.

Goûtez au 19e siècle et choisissez l’un des deux restaurants où vous pourrez déguster des plats authentiques que les soldats français auraient mangés à l’époque où le bruit des tirs de canon et du clavecin résonnait entre les murs. La Maison Grandchamp et l'Hôtel de la Marine servent des plats traditionnels savoureux comme la soupe aux pois, le ragoût de bœuf, le poisson et les pâtés à la viande et tout se mange avec une seule grande cuillère!

Le ragoût du soldat

Lieu historique national du Fort-Malden, Ontario

Des jeunes sont assis à table dans une pièce du lieu historique et dégustent un bol de ragoût.

Installez-vous dans la cuisine pour manger un bon bol de ragoût de bœuf avec un morceau de pain frais, comme l'ont fait les soldats du fort Malden pendant les rébellions de 1837-1838. En compagnie des interprètes de Parcs Canada apprenez-en davantage sur la plus longue occupation américaine en sol canadien et sur la rencontre historique entre le major général Sir Isaac Brock et le chef Shawnee Tecumseh pendant la Guerre de 1812.

La cuisine des officiers

Lieu historique national du Fort-Malden, Ontario

Des employés costumés préparent de la nourriture dans la cuisine près du feu.

Passez à la cuisine des officiers pour discuter et goûter à l’histoire culinaire de la région de Niagara. Ici, le personnel est à l’œuvre pour redonner vie à ce volet de l’histoire! À l’époque, les domestiques préparaient la nourriture des officiers vivant à Fort George. Ces derniers jouissaient d'un régime alimentaire plus varié et plus nutritif que les soldats et sous-officiers. Au menu : poisson, gibier sauvage et denrées de luxe importées telles que sucre, café, thé, chocolat et vins raffinés.

Noël victorien

Lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec, Québec

Un lieutenant-colonel et sa lady prennent le thé dans l’anti-chambre de la redoute Dauphine.

Plongez dans le passé en 1845 à la redoute Dauphine et vivez la magie de Noël à l’époque victorienne. Goûtez aux saveurs d’autrefois : cidre chaud épicé, chocolat chaud, thé, scones, lait de poule et plum-pudding. Tout nouvellement restaurée, la redoute est une authentique caserne datant de 1712, soit le deuxième plus ancien bâtiment militaire au Canada. Venez goûter à l’histoire du Canada!

Expérimentez le patrimoine gourmand à la maison!

Choisissez parmi plus de 60 recettes d’époque adaptées à notre cuisine contemporaine et vivez une véritable aventure culinaire tout en découvrant les lieux de Parcs Canada. L’histoire a si bon goût!

Le pique-nique parfait


Des amis pique-niquent sur des rochers de grès près de Cavendish un jour d'été.

Tout a meilleur goût en plein air! Faites de la nature votre salle à manger et profitez des boîtes à lunch de Parcs Canada, un pique-nique pour deux préparé par des entreprises locales. C'est aussi simple que 1, 2, 3!

  1. Commandez votre pique-nique auprès d’un restaurant participant
  2. Passez prendre votre boîte à lunch
  3. Trouvez votre lieu de pique-nique parfait et régalez-vous!

Disponible dans les endroits suivants

Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Combinez de délicieux mets locaux avec des paysages à couper le souffle! Commandez chez un traiteur qui applique le concept de la ferme à l’assiette. Il s'approvisionne en aliments saisonniers auprès d'agriculteurs biologiques, de marchés, de pêcheurs et de cueilleurs, et offre des produits végétaliens et sans gluten.
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, Nouvelle-Écosse
Laissez-vous éblouir par les plages de sable fin, l'eau turquoise, le ciel bleu vif et les milliers de fleurs sauvages… Bon appétit! Vos yeux se régaleront autant que vos papilles gustatives! Choisissez parmi plusieurs restaurants et différents menus.
Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, Nouvelle-Écosse
Laissez les hautes terres, les plages, les lacs, les chutes d'eau et les forêts agencer le décor de votre pique-nique parfait. Choisissez parmi un trio de restaurants locaux offrant des menus spéciaux, avec l’option d’ajouter une couverture ou un panier, puis rendez-vous à l'une de nos dix aires de pique-nique suggérées ou trouvez la vôtre!
Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne, Nouvelle-Écosse
Lieu historique national de Port-Royal, Nouvelle-Écosse
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse


Vous avez aimé cet article?

Abonnez-vous à l’infolettre de Parcs Canada et découvrez-en plus encore : des événements, des trésors cachés, des projets de conservation, des outils de planification de voyage, des concours, des promotions…