Make time spent at one of Parks Canada’s national parks or national historic sites even more special by booking one of the hundreds of unique enhanced experiences that are on offer for you to enjoy. Did you know that Parks Canada offers everything from a chance to dress up in authentic historic costume and learn to shoot muskets, to dark sky storytelling hikes and multi-day wilderness adventures?

There are programs to fit all budgets, from audio tours under a fiver to high-end immersive experiences in the heart of nature. No car? No worries! Plenty of Parks Canada’s enhanced programming happens a stone’s throw from the city, book now for an awesome day out.

1. Fort Langley National Historic Site

A group of children learn about fur trading with help from a First Nation interpreter.
Uncover the fort’s mysteries.
Walk in the chilling footsteps of an often turbulent history from the days of its original First Nations inhabitants through to the era of the Hudson Bay Company fur traders and trappers, and then the tumult of the great gold rush on the Fraser River. Join expert storytellers on a two-or three-hour tour of Fort Langley Village at night and uncover its mysteries and histories.

2. Fort Malden National Historic Site

A visitor learning how to fire a musket during the Hands on History program, Fort Malden National Historic Site.
Hands on history: Musket firing

Get a bang out of Fort Malden! Have you ever wondered what it would be like to fire a Brown Bess musket? Time-travel to 1812 and join the ranks on the Parade Square at Fort Malden, near Amherstburg, Ontario. If you’re 16 years or older, learn to fire a musket! Safety comes first, so you’ll begin with instructions from a uniformed guide on operating and loading the weapons properly. Then it’ll be time to put on your own uniform, take your stand, and fire away!

3. Grasslands National Park

Silhouette of visitors horseback riding during sunset on the scenic open range at West Block, in Grasslands National Park.
Explore timeless beauty by horseback.

Saddle up and ride back to the days of the Far West on an adventure riding the range with a local rancher. Get in touch with your inner cowboy or cowgirl on an all-inclusive expedition through the Badlands. Reconnect with nature as you sleep under the stars in a cozy bed roll, eat rib-sticker meals from the chuck wagon and let the pace of life slow down from a gallop to a trot.

4. Gros Morne National Park

Visitors atop the Tablelands overlooking the land at Gros Morne
Half a billion years in the making.

Take a stroll on the Tablelands with a knowledgeable Parks Canada guide and discover why the ground beneath your feet changed the way that we look at our world. Tectonic plate theory was proved thanks to Gros Morne’s unique geology. See the earth’s mantle revealed after being pushed into place as continents collided almost half a billion years ago.

5. Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site

Cups of hot chocolate at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site.
Enjoy a taste of the past.

Sign up to try one of the most delicious Parks Canada programs at Lower Fort Garry with the Heritage Chocolate Workshop. Back in the days of the fur trade in the 1850s, chocolate was a rare treat for the trappers and traders who lived on the western bank of the Red River. Discover its yummy history and learn how to make an authentic heritage hot chocolate recipe surrounded by Canada’s oldest collection of stone fur trade buildings.

6. Elk Island National Park

Discover the legacy of bison conservation at Elk Island national park.

You’ve heard the roar of the bull bison and marveled at the herds grazing in park pastures. Now get a VIP backstage pass to discover the secrets of how the plains bison was brought back from near extinction and how its continued safety and health are ensured. Get a fresh perspective of these 2,000-pound beasts as park staff lead you through the labyrinth of corrals, catwalks, alleys and gates of the handling facility, demonstrating the techniques behind the successful conservation program. Campfire and light refreshments provided.

7. The Forks National Historic Site

Visitors tour The Forks National Historic Site.
Experience history first-hand.

Take a break from hitting up the shops, museums and delicious food outlets at Winnipeg’s Forks market and dive into a fascinating 60-minute journey through 6,000 years of history in the company of a Parks Canada interpreter at The Forks. Stroll in the footsteps of First Nations and fur traders, and hear stories of the colourful characters who’ve met at on this spot for thousands of years. Enjoy the thrill of feeling the past come alive!

8. Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

Four visitors taste Fortress Rum during the special program “Rum: The Spirit of Louisbourg” held in a period tavern with two costumed animators, Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site.
Rum: The spirit of Louisbourg

Discover the taste and aroma of Fortress™ Rum and the story of this drink made from sugar. Be part of a colonial tradition as rum was one of the most popular drinks of 18th-century Louisbourg. Sample an authentic Rum Punch recipe and learn how sugar cane and its alcoholic offshoot influenced trade, shipping, and slavery in colonial North America. Parks Canada has partnered with Authentic Seacoast Company, who created a signature edition rum that is maturing in oak barrels at the Fortress of Louisbourg. À la santé and cheers! You must be 19 years of age or older.

9. Klondike National Historic Sites

Dawson City ESCAPE!

An Escape Room featuring a real murder mystery in the heart of the Klondike goldfields! There’s a saying that the Mounties always get their man! Is it true? Now, you can see if you measure up… see if you can solve a murder that the North West Mounted Police investigated more than one hundred years ago. We lock you and your friends into a room into the Commissioner's Residence. You follow the clues, solve the puzzles and “escape” from the room! You have one hour…

10. Lachine Canal National Historic Site

A group of visitors pose for a picture aboard a motorboat in Montreal
All aboard!

Make time when you visit Montreal to set sail aboard the Petit Navire, a zero-pollution electric-powered boat which will carry you back through 150 years of history in the heart of the city’s Old Port. Once wealthy merchants plied this route through an intricate system of locks which bypassed the treacherous Lachine rapids. Relax and let the years fall away on a two-hour trip through this historic route.

Faites de votre visite dans l’un des parcs nationaux ou lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada un moment encore plus extraordinaire en réservant l’une des centaines d’expériences exceptionnelles qui vous sont offertes. Revêtir de véritables costumes d’époque, apprendre à manier le mousquet, faire une randonnée animée sous un ciel étoilé, partir à l’aventure en milieu sauvage pendant quelques jours, tout cela est possible et accessible!

Des activités sont offertes pour tous les goûts et tous les budgets : de visites audioguidées pour moins de cinq dollars à des expériences d’immersion haut de gamme au cœur de la nature. Vous n’avez pas de voiture? Aucun souci! Plusieurs activités exceptionnelles se déroulent à un jet de pierre de la ville. Réservez dès maintenant votre formidable sortie.

1. Lieu historique national du Fort-Langley

Ces enfants apprennent ce qu’était la traite de la fourrure avec l’aide d’une interprète des Premières nations.
Découvrez les mystères du fort.
Suivez les traces fascinantes du passé souvent tumultueux des Premières Nations à l’époque des commerçants de fourrure et des trappeurs de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Revivez l’agitation de la grande ruée vers l’or du fleuve Fraser. Laissez-vous guider le soir venu par des maîtres conteurs pour une visite de deux ou trois heures du village de Fort Langley et découvrez ses mystères et son passé.

2. Lieu historique national du Fort-Malden

Une femme apprend à tirer au mousquet pendant l'activité L’histoire au bout des doigts, lieu historique national du Fort-Malden.
Tirez au fusil lors de l’activité l'histoire au bout des doigts.

Faites partie de l’artillerie du fort Malden! Avez-vous déjà envisagé de tirer avec un Brown Bess? Remontez le temps jusqu’en 1812 et ralliez les troupes sur le terrain de parade du lieu historique national du Fort-Malden, près d’Amherstburg en Ontario. Si vous avez 16 ans ou plus, apprenez à tirer au fusil. La sécurité est une priorité, vous recevrez donc des instructions d’un guide en uniforme sur l’utilisation adéquate et le chargement des armes. À votre tour ensuite de revêtir l’uniforme, de vous mettre en position et … de faire feu!

3. Parc national des Prairies

Silhouettes de visiteurs à cheval au coucher du soleil, sur le terrain de parcours libre panoramique du bloc Ouest, au parc national des Prairies.
Découvrez la beauté intemporelle du paysage à dos de cheval.

Montez en selle et galopez parmi les vestiges de la vie d’antan dans le « Far West » ! Partez à l’aventure : parcourez les pâturages avec un propriétaire de ranch. Retrouvez le cowboy ou la cowgirl en vous lors d’une expédition tout inclus dans les badlands. Renouez avec la nature : passez la nuit à la belle étoile dans un sac de couchage douillet, dégustez des repas du chariot-cuisine et ralentissez le rythme du galop au trot.

4. Parc national du Gros-Morne

Trois visiteurs au sommet des Tablelands surplombant Gros-Morne
Le résultat de la colossale rencontre de deux anciens continents.

Faites une randonnée dans les Tablelands en compagnie d'un guide de Parcs Canada et découvrez pourquoi la terre sous vos pieds a changé à tout jamais notre compréhension de la planète. La géologie unique du parc du Gros-Morne est l’une des plus parfaites illustrations du phénomène de la tectonique des plaques. Marchez sur le manteau de la Terre, une couche normalement enfouie loin sous la croûte terrestre qui a été poussée vers le haut par la collision de deux continents il y a 500 millions d’années.

5. Lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry

Des tasses de chocolat chaud au lieu historique national Lower Fort Garry
Goûtez des saveurs d’antan.

Inscrivez-vous à l’une des activités les plus délicieuses de Parcs Canada à Lower Fort Garry: l’atelier de confection de chocolat du patrimoine. À l’époque du commerce des fourrures dans les années 1850, le chocolat était une gâterie rare pour les trappeurs et les commerçants qui vivaient sur la rive ouest de la rivière Rouge. Découvrez cette savoureuse histoire et apprenez à préparer une recette de véritable chocolat chaud à l’ancienne dans l’un des plus vieux bâtiments en pierre datant de l’époque de la traite des fourrures du Canada.

6. Parc national Elk Island

Découvrez l’histoire de la conservation du bison.

Vous avez entendu le rugissement des bisons et vu les troupeaux qui paissent dans les pâturages du parc. Préparez-vous maintenant à vivre une expérience « VIP ». Voyez ces énormes bêtes sous un autre angle tandis que le personnel du parc vous guide à travers le labyrinthe de l’installation de rassemblement et de manipulation des bisons. Découvrez l’histoire de conservation de cet animal au parc national Elk Island. Feu de camp et rafraîchissements inclus.

7. Lieu historique national de La Fourche

Quatre jeunes adultes lors d'une visite guidée du lieu historique national de la Fourche.
Partez à la découverte de l'histoire.

Prenez une pause des boutiques, des musées et des délicieux produits du marché de La Fourche de Winnipeg et remontez 6 000 ans d'histoire en 60 minutes en compagnie d'un interprète de Parcs Canada. Suivez les traces des Premières Nations et des commerçants de fourrure qui ont foulé ce lieu de rencontre pendant des milliers d’années. Écoutez les histoires extraordinaires de personnages hauts en couleur. Vibrez au rythme d’un passé qui reprend vie.

8. Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Quatre visiteurs dégustent le rhum Fortress lors de l'activité Le rhum : l’essence de Louisbourg, qui se déroule dans une taverne d’époque avec deux animateurs, lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg.
Le rhum: l'essence de Louisbourg.

Découvrez le goût et l’arôme du rhum FortressMC ainsi que l’histoire de cette boisson. Faites partie d’une tradition coloniale : le rhum était l’une des boissons les plus populaires de Louisbourg au 18e siècle. Apprenez comment la canne à sucre et le rhum ont influencé le commerce, l’activité maritime et l’esclavage dans les colonies d’Amérique du Nord. L’entreprise Authentic Seacoast, en partenariat avec Parcs Canada, a créé cette édition signature de rhum, vieilli dans des fûts de chêne à la forteresse de Louisbourg. Santé! Activité réservée aux adultes de 19 ans et plus.

9. Lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike

Prenez part à un jeu d’évasion!

Trouvez la clé d’un véritable meurtre commis en plein cœur des champs aurifères du Klondike! Il paraît que les gendarmes capturent toujours leur homme! Est-ce vrai? À vous maintenant d’essayer… Voyez si vous saurez résoudre le mystère d’un meurtre sur lequel la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest a enquêté il y a plus d’un siècle. Vos amis et vous êtes embarrés dans une pièce de la résidence du commissaire. Vous avez une heure pour déchiffrer les indices, résoudre les énigmes et vous évader…

10. Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine

Un groupe de visiteurs prend une photo à bord d'un navire à Montréal
Tout le monde à bord!

Lorsque vous visitez Montréal, prenez le temps d’embarquer à bord du Petit Navire, un bateau électrique à émission zéro qui vous fera traverser 150 ans d’histoire au cœur du Vieux-Port de la ville. Les marchands fortunés naviguaient autrefois sur cette voie grâce à un complexe réseau d’écluses qui contournaient les rapides traîtres de Lachine. Détendez-vous et laissez les années s’écouler au cours d’une visite de deux heures sur cette voie historique.