Experience the magic of winter in Canada as you try out these winter activities. Bundle up, strap on your snowshoes or tie up your skates, it’s time to make the most of this snow-filled season!

Atlantic Canada

Visitors snowshoeing at Gros Morne National Park.

Gros Morne National Park

Location: Newfoundland and Labrador

The crisp winter air, the sound of the snow crunching under your feet… Gros Morne National Park is a true winter wonderland. Explore the park’s most beautiful snowshoe trails at your leisure and contemplate the snow-covered forest to recharge your batteries. Bring a thermos or portable stove and take the opportunity to enjoy a winter picnic. Are you a more seasoned explorer? Embark on a backcountry adventure at Burridges Gulch in the Southeast Hills. With its breathtaking scenery and alpine highlands, Gros Morne National Park is the perfect place to soak up the magic of winter.


A family having fun tobogganing at Kouchibouguac National Park.

Kouchibouguac National Park

Location: New Brunswick

You’re never too young or too old to enjoy the thrills of tobogganing in Kouchbouguac National Park! Make your way to Patterson Hill via snowshoe or fat bike from the Pijeboogwek parking lot. Bundle up and share the ride, you’ll go faster with a full load! Prefer a gentler adventure? Take one of the two trails designed for winter walking and bring a thermos of coffee or hot chocolate to enjoy at the shelter at the end of the trail.


Visitors fatbiking at Fundy National Park.

Fundy National Park

Location: New Brunswick

The fun doesn’t have to stop once winter arrives in Fundy National Park! Listen to the satisfying crunch of snow as you pedal your fat bike through the winter trail system. Or, strap-on a pair of snowshoes and float through freshly fallen snow as you travel through dense spruce forest. Take part in a Fundy tradition and enjoy the rush as your toboggan glides down the groomed slopes of the Headquarters Bowl. For an evening outing, try the Alma Rink and be sure to stop by a local café for hot chocolate afterwards!

Quebec and Ontario

A woman sitting in the snow at La Maurice National Park with her snowshoes beside her.

La Mauricie National Park

Location: Quebec

Ready for a frosty adventure? Strap on your snowshoes and set foot on the beautiful yet challenging Lac-du-Pimbina Trail. See if you can spot the 30 different tree species residing at La Mauricie National Park. Feeling adventurous? Treat yourself to an intermediate-level hike on the breathtaking Mekinac Trail! With 8 trails to choose from, find the perfect trail for your ability. Grab a friend or two, pack some snacks and start planning your trip now!


Three adults cross-country ski along the Lachine Canal in Montreal.

Lachine Canal National Historic Site

Location: Quebec

Snowshoe, ski, fat bike, or walk a winter trail in the heart of Montreal’s downtown! From lock Saint-Gabriel to lock Côte-Saint-Paul— you can experience the perfect mix of city life and the great outdoors. With its blue skies and sparkling snow, Lachine Canal National Historic Site is a must-see this frosty season!


Two red chairs facing the Ice Trail.

Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area

Location: Ontario

Admire vivid winter skies as you glide on frozen Lake Superior. Skate the Ice Trail, accessible from the Red Rock Marina and soar through its winding loops, day or night! For another type of adventure, snowshoe from the Red Rock Trailhead up to the magnificent viewing platforms at Lloyd’s Lookout and get ready to soak in the panoramic views of Nipigon Bay.


Visitors snowshoeing at Rouge National Urban Park.

Rouge National Urban Park

Location: Ontario

Get your outdoor fix with a visit to Rouge National Urban Park for an unforgettable winter experience. Go for a frosty walk or snowshoe through deciduous forests and keep an eye out for the many of species of birds that reside here.

The Canadian Prairies

Adults snowshoeing through Riding Mountain National Park.

Riding Mountain National Park

Location: Manitoba

Head to Riding Mountain National Park and explore 3000 km² of frozen wonderland! Bundle up and venture along Clear Lake South Shore to Boat Cove to Frith Beach as you snowshoe through drifts of glistening snow. Complete your winter experience and try fat biking on the gentle slopes of the main beach or town site!


Two visitors snowshoe by a lake.

Prince Albert National Park

Location: Saskatchewan

Take in the stunning view of Waskesiu Lake as you venture through blankets of snow at Prince Albert National Park. Grab your snowshoes, skates, or ice fishing gear— fun at Prince Albert National Park is endless!

Western Canada

Two adults in action snowshoeing at Elk Island National Park.

Elk Island National Park

Location: Alberta

Explore snow-covered hills amidst frost-tipped trees as you snowshoe through the Astotin Lake recreation area. For an unforgettable evening, bring a headlamp and skate under the stars of the Beaver Hills Dark-Sky Preserve! Finish the night off at a winter campsite, you can even bring your furry friend!


Two visitors ride fat bikes in the forest.

Mount Revelstoke National Park

Location: British Columbia

Your next adventure is just a snowshoe or fat bike away in Mount Revelstoke National Park! Explore the old-growth cedar and hemlock forests that frame the Soren Sorenson Trails (2 km and 5 km loops). Accessible from the Nels Nelson parking area, discover the winter magic of the Columbia Mountains. You won’t want to miss out on this easy-to-access snow-filled excursion!

Northern Canada

A visitor skis on Pine Lake.

Wood Buffalo National Park

Location: Northwest Territories

Experience the magic of this Dark-Sky Preserve! Winter in Wood Buffalo National Park is filled with snow-capped landscapes and astonishing views of the northern lights. Explore the dense boreal forest from the Grosbeak Lake Trail or bring a thermos and enjoy a hot chocolate in the Salt River day-use area to end your excursion. Looking for an easy adventure? Make the Pine Lake day-use area your base camp for a snowshoe or ski outing on the stunning frozen lake. You can even spend the night in a historic cabin. What are you waiting for? Go outside and play!


A family having fun snowshoeing at Kluane National Park.

Kluane National Park Reserve

Location: Yukon Territory

Discover sparkling snow amongst rugged mountains at Kluane National Park, where you are guaranteed to have a blast this season! Try ice fishing on Kathleen lake, or snowshoe the winding trail of the Dezadash River as you discover frost tipped poplar and spruce forests. Tired after a long day of winter adventures? Roast hot dogs and marshmallows over the campfire at Kathleen Lake as the northern lights dance in the night sky above.

Faites l'expérience de la magie de l'hiver au Canada en pratiquant ces activités hivernales. Enfilez votre tuque, rangez votre tablette et sortez vos raquettes! L’hiver est arrivé c’est le temps d’en profiter!

Canada atlantique

Des visiteurs en raquettes au parc national du Gros-Morne.

Parc national du Gros-Morne

Endroit: Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

L’air vivifiant de l’hiver, la neige qui craque sous vos pas… Vous êtes aux oiseaux! Le parc national du Gros-Morne est un véritable paradis pour les amateurs d’activités hivernales. Vous avez le goût de pratiquer une activité tout en douceur? Explorez tranquillement les plus beaux sentiers du parc en raquettes et contemplez la forêt enneigée pour refaire le plein d’énergie. Apportez un thermos ou un réchaud et profitez-en pour faire un pique-nique. Vous êtes un explorateur plus aguerris? Lancez-vous dans une aventure en arrière-pays au ravin Burridges dans les collines Southeast. Avec ses panoramas à couper le souffle et ses massifs alpins, le parc national du Gros-Morne est l’endroit tout désigné pour s’imprégner de la magie de l’hiver.


Une famille s'amuse avec un toboggan au parc national Kouchibouguac.

Parc national Kouchibouguac

Endroit: Nouveau-Brunswick

À la recherche de sensations fortes? Petits et grands, offrez-vous une descente en toboggan au parc national Kouchibouguac! Rendez-vous sur la butte derrière l’abri Patterson en raquettes ou en vélo à pneus surdimensionnés à partir du stationnement de Pijeboogwek. Attachez votre tuque et lancez-vous sur la piste, en solo ou en groupe. Bonne glissade! Vous préférez une aventure tout en douceur? Empruntez l’un des deux sentiers aménagés pour la marche hivernale et sortez votre thermos de café ou de chocolat chaud dans l’abri qui vous attend au bout du sentier!


Des visiteurs font du vélo à pneus surdimensionnés dans la forêt du parc national Fundy.

Parc national Fundy

Endroit: Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hiver est enfin arrivé au parc national Fundy! Écoutez le craquement de la neige alors que vous roulez dans les sentiers sur votre vélo à pneus surdimensionnés. Flottez sur la neige fraîchement tombée grâce à vos raquettes et traversez une dense forêt d’épinettes. Participez à une activité traditionnelle de Fundy et offrez-vous une descente amusante en toboggan sur les pistes damées de la cuvette du secteur de l’Administration. Envie d’une sortie en soirée? Profitez de la patinoire locale d’Alma et offrez-vous un bon chocolat chaud dans un petit café de la ville!

Québec et Ontario

Une femme est assise sur la neige à côté de sa paire de raquettes au parc national de la Mauricie.

Parc national de la Mauricie

Endroit: Québec

Prêt pour une escapade hivernale géniale? Partez à la conquête de l’un des huit sentiers de raquettes. Empruntez le magnifique sentier du Lac-du-Pimbina et amusez-vous à identifier les 30 différentes espèces d’arbres du parc national de la Mauricie. Vous êtes un peu plus téméraire? Offrez-vous une randonnée de niveau intermédiaire sur l’époustouflant sentier du Mekinac! Appelez quelques amis, préparez un goûter, et commencez à planifier votre excursion dès maintenant!


Trois adultes font du ski de fond en bordure du canal de Lachine à Montréal.

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine

Endroit: Québec

Partez en raquettes, en skis, en vélo à pneus surdimensionnés ou en randonnée au cœur du centre-ville de Montréal! Profitez d’un mélange parfait de vie urbaine et de grand air, de l’écluse de Saint-Gabriel à l’écluse de Côte-Saint-Paul. Un beau ciel bleu et une neige étincelante feront du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine un incontournable cet hiver!


Deux chaises rouges font face au sentier de glace.

Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur

Endroit: Ontario

Quoi de plus agréable que de patiner sur un lac! Admirez la splendide luminosité du ciel hivernal tout en patinant sur le lac Supérieur! Empruntez le sentier sur glace à partir de la marina Red Rock et suivez ses méandres à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit. Envie d’une toute autre aventure? Chaussez vos raquettes et empruntez le sentier Red Rock jusqu’au belvédère Lloyds. La vue panoramique de la baie Nipigon est magnifique!


Des visiteurs font de la raquette au parc urbain national de la Rouge.

Parc urbain national de la Rouge

Endroit: Ontario

Prenez une bonne dose de plein air au parc urbain national de la Rouge et vivez une expérience hivernale inoubliable! Partez à pied ou en raquettes dans les forêts de feuillus et repérez les nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux qui y habitent.

Prairies canadiennes

Des adultes font de la raquette en forêt au parc national du Mont-Riding.

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Endroit: Manitoba

Que diriez-vous d’explorer 3 000 km2 de merveilles glacées? Bienvenue au parc national du Mont-Riding! Habillez-vous chaudement, chaussez vos raquettes et partez à l’aventure sur la neige poudreuse et étincelante dans le sentier du Lac Clear (rive sud), de l’anse Boat à la plage Frith. Complétez votre expérience hivernale en essayant le vélo à pneus surdimensionnés sur les pentes douces de la plage principale ou du lotissement urbain!


Deux visiteurs font de la raquette en bordure d’un lac.

Parc national de Prince Albert

Endroit: Saskatchewan

Admirez le spectaculaire panorama du lac Waskesiu alors que le parc national de Prince Albert revêt son manteau blanc. Apportez vos raquettes, vos patins ou votre matériel de pêche sur glace; une foule d’activités vous sont offertes au parc!

Ouest canadien

Deux adultes font de la raquette au parc national Elk Island.

Parc national Elk Island

Endroit: Alberta

Explorez les collines enneigées parsemées d’arbres à la cime gelée lors d’une randonnée en raquettes dans le secteur de l’aire de loisirs du lac Astotin. Patinez sous les étoiles et passez une soirée inoubliable dans la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver! Étirez le plaisir et faites l’expérience du camping d’hiver. Votre animal de compagnie est aussi le bienvenu!


Deux visiteurs font du vélo à pneus surdimensionnés en forêt.

Parc national du Mont-Revelstoke

Endroit: Colombie-Britannique

Êtes-vous un accro de vélo ou vous trouvez que la raquette c’est plus chouette? Quelle que soit votre passion, votre prochaine aventure au parc national du Mont-Revelstoke sera des plus palpitantes! Explorez les forêts anciennes de cèdres et de pruches des sentiers Soren Sorenson (boucles de 2 km et 5 km) et découvrez la magie hivernale de la chaîne Columbia. Ne manquez pas cette occasion de faire une excursion facilement accessible à partir du stationnement Nels Nelson!

Nord du Canada

Un visiteur en skis sur le lac Pine.

Parc national Wood Buffalo

Endroit: Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Profitez de la magie de cette réserve de ciel étoilé. L’hiver au parc national Wood Buffalo est synonyme de paysages enneigés et d’aurores boréales spectaculaires. Explorez la dense forêt boréale du sentier du Lac Grosbeak. Apportez un thermos et savourez un chocolat chaud dans le chalet de l’aire de fréquentation diurne de la Rivière Salt pour terminer en beauté votre excursion. Envie d’une aventure plus douce? Faites de l’aire de fréquentation diurne du lac Pine votre camp de base pour une sortie en raquettes ou en skis sur le lac gelé. Il est même possible d’y passer la nuit dans un chalet historique. Allez, sortez jouer dehors!


Une famille s’amuse en raquettes au parc national Kluane.

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Endroit: Yukon

Découvrez les montagnes accidentées couvertes de neige étincelante de Kluane et passez les moments les plus divertissants de votre hiver! Tentez votre chance à la pêche sur glace sur le lac Kathleen ou partez en raquettes sur le sentier tortueux de la Rivière Dezadash au milieu de forêts d’épinettes et de peupliers enneigés. Cette merveilleuse journée en plein air vous a ouvert l’appétit? Faites griller des hot-dogs et des guimauves sur un feu de camp au lac Kathleen et soyez aux premières loges du spectacle d’aurores boréales dansant dans le ciel nocturne.