We've compiled 10 tips to help you have the best possible Parks Canada experience. Put these planning and booking tips to action and figure out how to avoid the crowds, choose the best time to visit, and decide what destination is best for you.

1. Plan ahead

A mother and daughter look at a map with a Parks Canada employee.

With 47 national parks, 171 national historic sites and 5 national marine conservation areas there is so much to discover from coast, to coast, to coast. Visit our Plan your visit section for travel tips, ideas, and an overview of the experiences you can have at Parks Canada.

2. Go somewhere new

A male hiker on a shoreline leaps from one rock to another.

Certain national parks, trails, lookouts and parking lots are very popular. Check out our suggestions for less busy alternatives to the most popular national parks and avoid the crowds, or discover these hidden gems for some unique, off the beaten path travel ideas.

3. Travel in the off-season

Two cyclists bike through autumn leaves.

Watch first hand as nature blooms in spring or gaze in awe at the spectacle of colours autumn brings. Spring and fall are the perfect seasons to explore national parks. Not only are places quieter in these times, but you will also be able to book accommodations easier than during peak seasons!

4. Have a winter adventure

Three female visitors make a snowman in the mountains.

Experience the magic of winter by trying one of the many snowy activities offered at Parks Canada. Enjoy this frozen season in endless ways by trying snowshoeing, tobogganing, skiing, fat biking, skating, ice fishing and more! Get inspired with these winter activities to discover.

5. Travel midweek

A female takes in the forest scenery.

Avoid the weekend rush, especially long weekends, and travel during the week when the crowds are quieter. Enjoy a picnic around a scenic lake and listen to the natural world around you.

6. Reserve your spot

Four campers sit around a campfire in front of an oTENTik accommodation.

Use the Parks Canada reservation service to reserve a campsite or any of our various accommodation options. Check out our camping tips and tricks and take advantage of our advice on how to have the best camping experience possible. Then, rest easy knowing you have a cozy spot waiting for you.

7. Go on a special tour

A young boy and girl look through old fashioned view-masters inside a national historic site.

Treat yourself to a unique experience and learn about indigenous experiences, go stargazing, enjoy food and drink, visit a haunted location, learn how to fire a canon and so much more! Young or old, there is an activity just waiting for you to come explore.

8. Be an early bird

A woman does yoga on a beach at sunrise.

Once you’ve settled in your destination, get up and at it early in the day. The birds are most active at this time, and the beautiful natural lighting makes for fabulous photos. Plus, it will feel like you have the whole place to yourself.

9. Explore at twilight

Two photographers take wildlife photos by a lake.

Many animals avoid the midday sun and can be seen travelling at dusk. There is a greater chance of seeing beavers, bears and moose at these times. Please remember to keep your distance and give all wildlife plenty of room to travel freely—Canada’s national parks are their homes. Check out our tips for respecting wildlife and staying safe.

10. Be a night owl

Two cabins lie underneath a starry night sky.

Enjoy the celestial landscape in one of Parks Canada's Dark-Sky Preserves. Check out our Dark-Sky Page for tips on how to have the best stargazing experience. Don’t forget to make a wish on a shooting star!

Voici 10 trucs de pro pour vous permettre de vivre la plus belle expérience qui soit à Parcs Canada. Des conseils pour bien planifier votre séjour, faciliter vos réservations, choisir le meilleur moment pour visiter, éviter les foules, et plus encore!

1. Planifiez votre visite

Une mère et sa fille étudient une carte avec une employée de Parcs Canada.

D’un bout à l’autre du pays, il y a tellement de merveilles à découvrir : 47 parcs nationaux, 171 lieux historiques nationaux et 5 aires marines nationales de conservation. Consultez notre section Planifiez votre visite pour trouver des conseils, des idées de voyage et un aperçu des activités offertes à Parcs Canada.

2. Visitez un nouvel endroit

Un randonneur saute d’une pierre à l’autre en bordure de mer.

Certains parcs nationaux, sentiers, belvédères et stationnements sont très populaires. Vous préférez éviter les foules? Consultez nos suggestions de parcs nationaux moins fréquentés ou de trésors cachés et découvrez des endroits plus tranquilles qui valent le détour.

3. Voyagez pendant la basse saison

Deux cyclistes pédalent à travers les feuilles d’automne.

Soyez aux premières loges du spectacle majestueux des couleurs de l’automne ou de la floraison du printemps. Le printemps et l’automne sont des moments parfaits pour explorer les parcs nationaux. Ils sont moins fréquentés, vous pourrez donc en profiter paisiblement et trouver plus facilement de l’hébergement que durant la haute saison.

4. Profitez des activités hivernales

Trois visiteuses font un bonhomme de neige dans les montagnes.

Faites l'expérience de la magie de l'hiver à Parcs Canada. Profitez de la basse saison de mille et une façons : raquette, glissade, ski, vélo à pneus surdimensionnés, patinage, pêche sur glace et plus encore! Laissez-vous inspirer par ces activités hivernales à découvrir.

5. Voyagez en milieu de semaine

Une randonneuse admire la forêt.

Évitez l’affluence du samedi et du dimanche, particulièrement lors des longs weekends. Optez plutôt pour une visite en semaine où l’achalandage est moins important. Faites un pique-nique au bord d’un lac pittoresque et tendez l’oreille à la nature qui vous entoure.

6. Réservez votre emplacement

Quatre campeurs sont assis autour d’un feu devant une tente oTENTik.

Utilisez le service de réservation de Parcs Canada afin de réserver un emplacement de camping ou tout autre type d’hébergement. Profitez de nos conseils pratiques sur le camping et les réservations. Soyez prêt!

7. Participez à une activité spéciale

Un jeune garçon et une jeune fille visionnent des images anciennes à l’aide de View-Masters dans un lieu historique national.

Offrez-vous une expérience unique. Au programme : expérience autochtone, observation des étoiles, festival, expérience culinaire, visite de lieux hantés, tir au canon et plus encore. Petits et grands seront ravis. Osez la découverte!

8. Soyez un lève-tôt

Une femme pratique le yoga sur une plage au lever du soleil.

Une fois bien installé à destination, profitez-en pour visiter tôt le matin. Les oiseaux sont plus actifs à ce moment, et l’éclairage naturel permet de prendre de superbes photos. Vous aurez l’impression d’être seul au monde.

9. Explorez au crépuscule

Deux photographes prennent des photos de la faune près d’un lac.

Bien des animaux évitent le soleil de midi. Ils choisissent plutôt de s’aventurer au crépuscule. Vous aurez plus de chance d’observer des castors, des ours et des orignaux à ce moment. Souvenez-vous de garder vos distances avec tous les animaux afin qu’ils se déplacent librement; les parcs nationaux sont leur habitat naturel. Consultez notre liste de conseils pour respecter la faune et être en sécurité.

10. Transformez-vous en oiseau de nuit

Deux chalets se dressent sous un ciel étoilé.

Admirez le ciel nocturne dans l’une des réserves de ciel étoilé de Parcs Canada. Consultez notre page sur les réserves de ciel étoilé pour planifier la meilleure expérience d’observation des étoiles qui soit. N’oubliez pas de faire un vœu à la vue d’une étoile filante!