All nature lovers dream of seeing wild animals in their natural habitats! National parks, national park reserves and national marine conservation areas are home to a large variety of species, including some that are symbolic of Canada.

Along with this unique opportunity, however, comes the responsibility to treat wildlife with respect. We share this space with wildlife. To fully enjoy your experience while keeping your distance, binoculars and cameras with zoom lenses are strongly recommended. Remember, if you distract animals from their natural activities then you are too close.

In order to be well prepared, consult the following list: Ten tips to respect wildlife and stay safe!

By being discrete and respectful of their space, you will help ensure their survival as well as your own safety!

1. Moose

A moose bull standing in a forested area.
Moose can be found in many of Canada’s national parks. Photo: Parks Canada / J. Pleau

At 2 m in height, the moose is the largest of our antlered mammals. This king of the forest can be seen in many national parks across the country. You may see moose when visiting Riding Mountain or Prince Albert National Parks, and they are particularly abundant in Gros Morne National Park and Cape Breton Highlands National Park. You can recognize the male moose by its large, flat antlers that can grow to 1.5 m in width and that weigh nearly 30 kg!

When to watch it
From June to October, moose are more active at dawn and dusk. You will often see them around wetlands, lakes and rivers.

Fun fact
Male moose use their antlers to fight during mating season, in September and October. They lose their antlers between December and February and then grow them back in April. Moose antlers are covered in velvet from August to early September.

2. Mountain Goat

A Mountain Goat and her kid standing on a waterside cliff.
Mountain goat with a “kid” on a steep mountain side in Western Canada.

With their white coat, beard and small dagger-shaped black horns, mountain goats have an amazing ability to climb steep rock, snow and ice in the mountains, despite their stocky appearance. You can see mountain goats in alpine and subalpine areas of Jasper National Park, Banff, Yoho , Kootenay as well as other national parks in the mountains and in Canada’s north.

When to watch it
You can see mountain goats all year long, but they are easier to spot in the summer when their coats contrast with the mountains.

Fun fact
Despite their name, mountain goats are not closely related to other goat species.

3. Bighorn Sheep

A Bighorn Sheep ram displaying his large horn.
A Bighorn sheep ram in Western Canada. Photo: Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

Bighorn sheep have a brown coat and a white rump. The older males (known as rams) have heavy, curled horns. Mainly grazers, bighorn sheep migrate seasonally between grassy slopes in the lower elevations and higher alpine meadows, but they keep close to steep, rocky “escape terrain” that they use to flee from predators. These social animals often live in groups of 10 to 20. You can find bighorn sheep among the steep rocky slopes of JasperBanffYoho Kootenay and Waterton Lakes National Parks.

When to watch it
You can see bighorn sheep all year long.

Fun fact
When two male bighorn sheep fight for dominance, they step back 10 to 12 m from each other and then lunge at each other head first. The sound of their horns clashing together can be heard from up to a kilometre away!

4. Common Loon

A Common Loon floating in the water beside its chick.
A loon swimming in the water on Wapizagonke Lake in La Mauricie National Park. Photo: Parks Canada / P.O. Boudreault

The emblem on our one-dollar coin, the common loon has a very striking appearance due to its checkerboard back of black and white spots, its black and shiny head, its white belly and its black and white striped collar separating its throat. The loon feeds mainly on fish, frogs, crayfish, leeches and aquatic insects. Although its breeding area covers nearly all of Canada, the loon is well-known at Wapizagonke Lake in La Mauricie National Park, where you have the best chance of admiring this bird. Listen for its characteristic call.

When to watch it
In July and August, when the eggs have hatched and the young loons are exploring with their family.

Fun fact
When in flight, the common loon has its head and neck angled downward, its legs are in tight against the back of its body, extending beyond its tail, giving it a humped appearance.

5. Grey Seals

Measuring up to 3 metres in length and weighing up to 450 kg, the grey seal feeds on a large variety of fish. You can recognize the grey seal by its long snout and its black coat with grey spots for males and silver grey coat with black spots for females and young pups. You can find the grey seal along the banks of the St. Lawrence at Forillon National Park or in many parks in Atlantic Canada including the Sable Island National Park Reserve which is home to the world’s largest breeding colony of grey seals

When to watch it
You can see the grey seal all year long sunbathing on rocks or poking their head out of the water, with a mischievous look on their face!

Fun fact
Grey seals can dive down 200 metres and remain underwater for up to 25 minutes.

A herd of Grey Seals sunbathing on a rock in the water.
Grey seals relaxing on a rock in Forillon National Park.

6. Atlantic Puffins

A gathering of Atlantic Puffins standing on rocky terrain.
Atlantic Puffins in Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve. Photo: Parks Canada / Olivia Jomphe

Mating for life and using the same burrow year after year, Atlantic puffins are fascinating to watch with their multi-coloured beaks. Clumsy in the air, Atlantic puffins are much more at home underwater where they can hold their breath for more than a minute. When you visit the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve to see the colonies of Atlantic puffins, you will notice that they engage in billing. When billing, the partners face each other and strike their beaks together repeatedly while shaking their heads from side to side to strengthen their bond.

When to watch it
You can see the Atlantic puffins from mid-May to mid-August.

Fun fact
The Atlantic puffin has a hard time taking off and often crashes when landing!

7. Muskox

A herd of muskoxen running through a barren, flat field.
A herd of muskoxen in Northern Canada.

These large and shaggy beasts roam the tundra feeding on roots, mosses, and lichens. The muskox’s keen sense of smell helps them find food hidden under the snow in winter – they lift and drop their massive heads to break the snow crust when it becomes too hard to paw through. Both male and female muskoxen have impressive horns, although the females’ are less massive. You can see the muskox in the Canadian tundra in Aulavik, Qausuittuq and Quttinirpaaq National Parks and many others.

When to watch it
You can see muskoxen from mid-June to mid-August.

Fun fact
It is not surprising that muskoxen can easily survive in - 40 °C temperatures: their under-coat, called “qiviut”, is eight times warmer than sheep’s wool and finer than cashmere!

8. Whooping Crane

A Whooping Crane outstretching its wings in a marsh.
A whooping crane in Wood Buffalo National Park.

Measuring 1.5 m in height, the adult whooping crane, an endangered species, is the tallest North American bird. A whooping crane flies with its long neck extended forward and legs trailing equally straight behind. The crane is spectacular in flight! The bird spirals upwards (aided by thermal activity), glides down, dropping as low as 70 m above ground, and then begins spiralling upwards again. This spiralling and gliding is energy efficient and allows the cranes to fly great distances.

When to watch it
Each spring, whooping cranes travel from the Aransas National Wildlife Refuge in Texas to Wood Buffalo National Park to build their nests. Although seeing whooping cranes is rare due to them nesting in remote areas, they can occasionally be seen in June, July and August.

Fun fact
A nesting whooper frequently bugles loud and clear during the early morning hours. This sound carries over several kilometres!

9. American White Pelican

An American White Pelican flying in front of pine trees.
An American white pelican in Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area. Photo: Parks Canada / Greg Stroud

The American white pelican is a very large bird. It measures between 1.25 and 1.65 m in length with a wingspan of up to 3 m. Unlike other pelicans that drop plunge-dive to catch fish, the American white pelican simply floats along the water and scoops up fish with its distinctive long orange beak. A good place to observe the American white pelican is along the north shore of Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area in Nipigon Bay and Black Bay at Hurkett Cove.

When to watch it
May and June are the best months to observe the American white pelican.

Fun fact
American white pelicans search for food alone or co-operatively in groups! In the latter case, they gather and flap their wings while dipping their beaks to scare fish to shallower waters where they are easier to catch.

10. Burrowing owl

A parliament of burrowing owls sits in a grassy field.
A group of Burrowing owls in Grasslands National Park. Photo: Parks Canada / Robert Postma

The burrowing owl is a peculiar little owl that is endangered in Canada. It nests underground in burrows abandoned by prairie dogs, foxes, coyotes and badgers! Smaller than a pigeon, the burrowing owl weighs between 125 and 185 g and measures 19 to 20 cm in length. Remarkably well adapted to the prairies, it hunts both during the day and at night, feeding on insects, snakes, frogs and small mammals. You can see the burrowing owl at Grasslands National Park.

When to watch it
The burrowing owls are easiest to spot in September as they prepare to migrate.

Fun fact
A clever bird, the burrowing owl imitates the sound of rattlesnakes to scare away predators!

Les amoureux de la nature rêvent tous d’apercevoir des animaux sauvages dans leurs habitats naturels! Les parcs nationaux, les réserves de parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation abritent une immense variété d’animaux, dont plusieurs espèces emblématiques du Canada.

Cette chance unique s’accompagne toutefois d’une responsabilité, celle de traiter les animaux sauvages avec respect. Nous partageons cet espace avec la faune. Pour profiter pleinement de votre expérience tout en gardant vos distances, jumelles et caméra avec zoom sont tout indiquées. Rappelez-vous : si vous détournez les animaux de leurs activités naturelles, vous êtes trop proche.

Afin de bien vous préparer, consultez notre liste Dix conseils pour respecter la faune et être en sécurité.

Soyez discret et respectueux de leur espace vital, ainsi vous contribuerez à leur survie et à votre propre sécurité!

1. L’orignal

Un orignal mâle dans une aire boisée.
L’orignal est présent dans plusieurs parcs nationaux du Canada. Photo : Parcs Canada / J. Pleau

Pouvant atteindre deux mètres de haut, l’orignal est le plus grand de nos cervidés. Ce roi de la forêt peut être aperçu dans nos parcs nationaux d’un océan à l’autre. Vous pourriez le voir lors de votre visite aux parcs nationaux du Mont-Riding et de Prince Albert, et il est particulièrement présent au parc national du Gros-Morne et dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. On reconnait le mâle à ses grands bois larges et plats qui peuvent atteindre 1,5 m d’envergure et peser près de 30 kg!

Quand l’observer? 
De juin à octobre. Les orignaux sont plus actifs au lever et au coucher du soleil. Vous les trouverez plus souvent à proximité des zones humides, des lacs et des rivières.

Fait amusant
Le mâle se sert de son panache pour se battre pendant la saison du rut, en septembre et en octobre. Il le perd entre décembre et février et celui-ci repousse en avril et est couvert de velours jusqu'en août ou au début de septembre.

2. Chèvre de montagne

Une chèvre de montagne et son chevreau sur une falaise au bord de l’eau.
Une chèvre de montagne avec un chevreau debout sur une paroi escarpée dans l’Ouest du Canada.

Couverte d’un pelage blanc, parée d’une barbiche et de petites cornes noires en forme de dague, la chèvre de montagne fait preuve d’une impressionnante habileté pour grimper les montagnes escarpées glacées et enneigées, et ce, malgré son apparence trapue. On peut la voir dans les régions alpines et subalpines des parcs nationaux Jasper, Banff, Yoho , Kootenay ainsi que dans d’autres parcs nationaux des montagnes et dans le Nord du Canada.

Quand l’observer? 
On peut l’observer toute l’année. C’est cependant plus facile en été, car son poil contraste alors avec les montagnes.

Fait amusant
Malgré son nom, elle n’appartient pas à la famille de la chèvre.

3. Mouflon d’Amérique

A Bighorn Sheep ram displaying his large horn.
Un mouflon d’Amérique dans l’Ouest du Canada. Photo : Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Le mouflon d’Amérique a un pelage brun et une croupe blanche. Les mâles plus âgés (appelés béliers) ont d’imposantes cornes en forme de volute. Principalement brouteur, le mouflon migre au fil des saisons entre les pentes herbeuses des basses altitudes et les prés alpins, mais il demeure à proximité de terres rocheuses et escarpées qu’il utilise pour se sauver des prédateurs. Animal social, il vit en groupe composé de 10 à 20 individus. On retrouve le mouflon le long des pentes rocheuses escarpées des parcs nationaux JasperBanffYoho Kootenay et des Lacs-Waterton.

Quand l’observer?
On peut observer le mouflon toute l’année.

Fait amusant
Lorsque deux mâles se battent pour établir leur dominance, ils s’éloignent de 10 à 12 mètres, puis se ruent l’un sur l’autre tête première. Le choc des cornes peut parfois être entendu jusqu’à un kilomètre!

4. Plongeon huard

Un plongeon huard se prélasse sur l’eau à côté de son petit.
Un plongeon huard nage sur lac Wapizagonke au parc national de la Mauricie. Photo : Parcs Canada / P.O. Boudreault

Emblème de notre dollar, le plongeon huard a une apparence très frappante en raison de son dos parsemé de taches noires et blanches comme un damier, de sa tête noire et lustrée, de son abdomen blanc et du collier rayé blanc et noir qui pare sa gorge. Il se nourrit principalement de poissons, de grenouilles, d’écrevisses, de sangsues et d’insectes aquatiques. Quoique son aire de reproduction couvre presque tout le Canada, c’est sur le fameux lac Wapizagonke du parc national de la Mauricie que vous aurez le plus de chance d’admirer cet oiseau. Écoutez-bien son chant caractéristique.

Quand l’observer?
En juillet et août lorsque les œufs sont éclos et que les oisillons explorent avec leur famille.

Fait amusant
Lorsqu’il vole, le plongeon huard a la tête et le cou inclinés vers le bas, ses pattes sont serrées contre l’arrière de son corps et elles dépassent sa queue, ce qui le fait paraître bossu!

5. Le phoque gris

Pouvant mesurer jusqu’à trois mètres et peser jusqu’à 450 kg, le phoque gris se nourrit d'une grande variété de poissons. On le reconnait à son long museau et à son pelage noir tacheté de gris pâle pour les mâles et gris argenté tacheté de noir pour la femelle et les petits. On le retrouve le long des côtes du Saint-Laurent, au parc national Forillon ou encore dans les nombreux parcs du Canada atlantique dont la réserve de parc national de l’Île-de-Sable qui abrite l’une des plus importantes colonies de reproduction de phoques gris au monde.

Quand l’observer? 
Toute l’année, vous l’apercevrez se prélassant au soleil sur une roche ou encore sortant sa tête de l’eau avec une mine espiègle!

Fait amusant
Le phoque gris peut plonger à 200 mètres et rester submergé jusqu’à 25 minutes.

Des phoques gris profitent du soleil sur une roche entourée d’eau.
Des phoques gris se prélassent sur une roche au parc national Forillon.

6. Macareux moine

Des macareux moines en groupe sur un terrain rocheux.
Des macareux moines à la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan. Photo : Parcs Canada / Olivia Jomphe

Formant un couple à vie et reprenant le même terrier année après année, le macareux moine est fascinant avec son bec multicolore. Maladroit en vol, c’est sous l’eau qu’il se débrouille le mieux où il peut garder son souffle pendant plus d’une minute. Lorsque vous irez à la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan pour observer les colonies de macareux vous remarquerez que ceux-ci font du becquetage. En effet, les partenaires se font face et entrechoquent de façon répétée leurs becs en agitant la tête d’un côté à l’autre afin de renforcer leur lien.

Quand l’observer?
De la mi-mai à la mi-août.

Fait amusant
Le macareux moine a de la difficulté à s’envoler et il s’écrase souvent à l’atterrissage!

7. Bœuf musqué

Un troupeau de bœufs musqués en train de courir sur un terrain stérile et plat.
Un troupeau de bœufs musqués dans le Nord du Canada.

Cette imposante bête poilue erre dans la toundra arctique en se nourrissant de racines, de mousses et de lichens. Son excellent sens de l’odorat l’aide à trouver la nourriture enfouie sous la neige en hiver, n’hésitant pas à en briser la croûte à coups de tête lorsqu’il n’arrive pas à la percer avec ses pattes. Les mâles et les femelles ont tous deux d’impressionnantes cornes, quoiqu’elles soient moins massives pour les femelles. Vous l’observerez dans la toundra canadienne dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Qausuittuq, Quttinirpaaq et plusieurs autres.

Quand l’observer?
De la mi-juin à la mi-août.

Fait amusant
Pas étonnant qu’il survive sans problème lorsque la température descend sous -40 oC : son sous-poil, appelé qiviut, est huit fois plus chaud que la laine de mouton tout en étant plus fin que le cachemire!

8. Grue Blanche

Une grue blanche qui déploie ses ailes dans un marais.
Une grue blanche au parc national Wood Buffalo.

Avec sa hauteur de 1,5 mètre, la grue blanche, en voie de disparition, est le plus grand oiseau d’Amérique du Nord. On la reconnait en vol grâce à son long cou pointé bien droit vers l’avant et à ses pattes tout aussi étendues vers l’arrière. Son vol est spectaculaire! Tel un planeur, elle exploite les ascendances thermiques pour monter en spirale, puis redescend en planant jusqu’à 70 mètres au-dessus du sol avant de reprendre son ascension en spirale. Elle dépense ainsi peu d’énergie et peut parcourir de longues distances.

Quand l’observer?
Chaque printemps, la grue blanche voyage de l’Aransas National Wildlife Refuge dans le Texas au parc national Wood Buffalo, afin de construire son nid. Bien qu’il soit rare d’apercevoir la grue blanche puisqu’elle niche dans des endroits isolés, elle peut à l’occasion être observée en juin, juillet et août.

Fait amusant
Tôt le matin, la grue nicheuse lance un cri clair, rappelant le son du clairon, qui retentit à plusieurs kilomètres!

9. Pélican Blanc

Un pélican blanc qui passe au vol avec des pins en arrière-plan.
Un pélican blanc à l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur. Photo : Parcs Canada / Greg Stroud

Le pélican blanc d’Amérique est un très grand oiseau. Il mesure de 125 à 165 cm et ses ailes déployées peuvent atteindre trois mètres. Contrairement aux autres pélicans qui plongent pour attraper des poissons, le pélican d’Amérique flotte simplement sur l’eau et attrape des poissons avec son long bec jaune-orange si caractéristique. On peut l’observer sur la rive nord de l'aire marine de conservation du Lac-Supérieur dans la baie Nipigon et dans la baie Black à l’anse Hurkett.

Quand l’observer?
Les mois de mai et juin sont les mois les plus propices pour l’apercevoir.

Fait amusant
Les pélicans recherchent leur nourriture seuls ou en groupe coopératif usant alors de stratégie! Dans ce dernier cas, ils se regroupent et battent leurs ailes tout en claquant du bec afin d’effaroucher les poissons vers des eaux moins profondes, où ils deviennent plus faciles à attraper.

10. Chevêche des terriers

Une assemblée de chevêches des terriers sur un terrain herbeux.
Un groupe de chevêches des terriers au parc national des Prairies. Photo : Parcs Canada / Robert Postma

Drôle de petit hibou que la chevêche des terriers ; elle niche sous terre dans des trous abandonnés de chien de prairie, de renards, de coyotes et de blaireaux! Plus petite qu’un pigeon, elle pèse entre 125 et 185 g et mesure de 19 à 20 cm. Remarquablement bien adaptée à la prairie, elle chasse autant le jour que la nuit, se nourrissant d’insectes, de serpents, de grenouilles et de petits mammifères. Espèce en péril au Canada, on peut la voir au parc national des Prairies.

Quand l’observer?
Au mois de septembre, lorsqu’elles se préparent à migrer, elles sont plus faciles à repérer.

Fait amusant
Rusée, la chevêche des terriers imite le sifflement des serpents à sonnettes afin d’éloigner ses prédateurs!