Hey #Parkslife!

Our heads are full, our hearts are open and we are jumping in this summer loaded with enthusiasm! What an honor to be part of the Parks Canada Youth Ambassadors program and to join this collective of youth whose main goal is to experience and share our common nature, culture and treasures.

Creation, sharing and inspiration will be our ambitions this summer. Despite the mountains, lakes and forests that separate us, the feeling of closeness that brings us together could not be stronger. Join us so that together we can discover, meet and explore.

Clara, Karam and Patricia
2022-2023 Youth Ambassadors
#ParksLife #ParksSmart


Clara Vuillier-Devillers
Youth Ambassador Clara
Clara Vuillier-Devillers
Hamilton, ON
University of Waterloo- Environment, Resources and Sustainability with a double minor in Parks and Psychology
(she/her)

Hello, Bonjour Canada!

My name is Clara and I was born and raised in Hamilton, Ontario, on the traditional territories of the Haudenosaunee and Anishnaabeg. I love to travel and being both a French and Canadian citizen has allowed me the opportunity to explore many different corners of the world, such as being able to live in France while working as a guide at Vimy Ridge. However, Canada is home and I am so excited to have the opportunity to discover more of our amazing country with all of you!

From road tripping across the country in my family’s little Trillium trailer, to working various student jobs at both National Historic Sites and National Parks, a huge part of my life has been centered around finding ways to learn more about Canada's cultural and natural history. Thankfully, I have been able to share my passion for Parks Canada in my community as Co-President of my university’s Parks Canada Campus Club.

I am in my fourth year of Environment, Resources and Sustainability with a double minor in Parks and Psychology at the University of Waterloo; this degree has allowed me to pursue my passion for the environment and Canada’s natural landscapes. Many of the most amazing experiences of my life have all been related to National Parks. My first ever multi-day backpacking trip was in Kootenay National Park, my first time surfing was at Pacific Rim National Park, and my first time outdoor rock climbing was in Banff National Park. I can’t wait for what this summer has in store for us!

Karam Halabi
Youth Ambassador Karam
Karam Halabi
Whitby, ON
OntarioTech University - Criminology and Justice degree
(he/him)

My name is Karam (pronounced Ka-rum) and I’m excited to go on all these adventures with you this summer! I am a firm believer in trying to see and experience everything there is in the world. This year, I am eager to explore and share Canada’s culture and nature with all of you!

I am from Lebanon, but my family and I moved to Whitby, Ontario over a decade ago and I’ve been based here ever since! I love travelling and learning about new cultures so I am excited to share and connect with my diverse perspective of the world and bring to life the many stories that are left unheard in Canada as a Youth Ambassador. I’m passionate about youth leadership, advocacy, people and the systems that bring them all together, so with that experience I hope to foster a deeper connection between the youth and the rich and diverse cultural and natural heritage of Canada! Also, I’m currently finishing up my Criminology and Justice degree at OntarioTech University. Therefore, I have a big passion for tackling discrimination & injustices against communities and nature within Canada, so I hope to be part of the collective whole that works to tackle these issues that impact society. Additionally, I want to bring light to the beauty of Canadian cultural and natural heritage, and share the many extraordinary Parks Canada-administered places with all of you!

To keep my enthusiasm enriched in nature and my love for the outdoors, I like to spend my free time either mountain biking, hiking or skiing and I like to capture these amazing experiences using photography. I also enjoy video gaming, baking and Brazilian jiu jitsu martial arts (which I’m aware is a very diverse set of hobbies, but it is a testament to the fact that I like to try new things!). Overall, I am super excited to start this new adventure with all of you and eager for the new chapter that awaits us!

Patricia Roussel
Youth Ambassador Patricia
Patricia Roussel
Port-McNicoll, ON
Queens University- History and Religious Studies
(she/her)

My name is Patricia, and I’m a history nut. You will probably catch me trailing behind reading historic plaques or carrying lots of tourist pamphlets! Throughout my life, I have been privileged to experience Canada’s cultural and natural heritage, graciously safeguarded by Parks Canada. Whether it was the wind whistling through my hair at Signal Hill, NL, or questioning the funky top hats worn at Province House National Historic Site, PEI, Parks Canada places memories sparked my fascination with Canadian history and helped to shape my national identity. This is my Parks story, and I am looking forward to hearing yours!

My Canadian adventures have inspired my schooling as I am currently a History and Religious Studies student at Queen’s University. When I don’t have my nose in the books in Kingston, you’ll find me soaking up the sun on the shores of Georgian Bay in my hometown of Port McNicoll, ON – traditional territory of the Wendat, Mississauga, Anishnaabeg, and Haudenosaunee peoples.

In my downtime, nothing beats a good day in the garden, making a splash at the beach, reminiscing by a campfire (log cabin fires are superior…but we can debate that over a s'more), and gazing up at the open night sky!

As a Youth Ambassador, I am beyond grateful to bridge my passion for sharing the many voices of Canada’s history and the wonder of nature. I am so excited to engage with young Canadians along our physical and virtual travels to amplify the beauty of a land we are so fortunate to call home!

Catch you soon, Canada!

Salut #ParcsÀVie!

Nos têtes sont pleines, nos cœurs sont ouverts et nous sautons à pieds joints dans cette aventure! Quel honneur de faire partie du programme des Jeunes ambassadeurs de Parcs Canada et de se joindre à ce collectif de jeunes dont le principal objectif est de découvrir et de partager notre nature, notre culture et nos trésors communs.

La création, le partage et l’inspiration seront au programme cet été. Malgré les montagnes, lacs et forêts qui nous séparent, le sentiment de proximité qui nous rassemble ne peut être plus fort. Joignez-vous à nous pour qu’ensemble, nous puissons découvrir, rencontrer et explorer.

Clara, Karam et Patricia
Jeunes Ambassadeurs 2022-2023
#ParcsÀVie #ParcsFutés


Clara Vuillier-Devillers
Jeune Ambassadeur Clara
Clara Vuillier-Devillers
Hamilton, Ont.
University de Waterloo - Environnement, Ressources et Durabilité avec une double mineure en parcs et psychologie.
(elle)

Bonjour, Hello Canada!

Je m'appelle Clara. Je suis née et j’ai grandi à Hamilton, en Ontario, sur les territoires traditionnels des Haudenosaunees et des Anishinabés. J'aime voyager et comme j’ai la citoyenneté française et canadienne, cela m'a permis d'explorer de nombreux coins du monde, de pouvoir vivre en France tout en travaillant comme guide sur la crête de Vimy. Cependant, le Canada est mon véritable chez-moi et je suis tellement excitée d'avoir l'occasion de le découvrir avec vous tous !

Que ce soit grâce à mes voyages familiaux dans une petite roulotte Trillium ou encore grâce aux divers emplois étudiants que j’ai occupés dans divers lieux historiques et parcs nationaux, une grande partie de ma vie a été d’en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire culturelle et naturelle du Canada. Heureusement, j'ai pu partager cette passion pour Parcs Canada dans ma communauté en tant que coprésidente du club étudiant de Parcs Canada de mon université.

C’est ma quatrième année à University of Waterloo en Environnement, Ressources et Durabilité avec une double mineure en parcs et psychologie. Ce diplôme me permet de poursuivre ma passion pour l'environnement et les paysages naturels du Canada. Bon nombre des expériences les plus étonnantes ont été liées aux parcs nationaux dans ma vie. Mon tout premier voyage de plusieurs jours à sac à dos a eu lieu dans le parc national de Kootenay; ma première expérience de surf était à la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim; et ma première escalade en plein air dans le parc national de Banff. J'ai hâte de voir ce que cet été nous réserve !

Karam Halabi
Jeune Ambassadeur Karam
Karam Halabi
Whitby, Ont.
Université OntarioTech - Criminologie et Justice
(il)

Je m'appelle Karam (prononcé Ka-rum) et j'ai hâte de vivre plein d’aventures avec vous cet été ! Je crois fermement qu'il faut voir et expérimenter tout ce qu'il y a dans le monde. Cette année, j'ai hâte d'explorer et de partager la culture et la nature du Canada avec vous tous !

Je viens du Liban, mais ma famille et moi avons déménagé à Whitby, en Ontario, il y a plus de dix ans et j’y habite depuis. J'adore voyager et découvrir de nouvelles cultures, donc en tant que jeune ambassadeur, je suis ravi de pouvoir partager ma vision diversifiée du monde et de donner vie aux nombreuses histoires qui demeurent inconnues au Canada. Je suis passionné par le leadership des jeunes, la mobilisation, les gens et les systèmes qui les rassemblent tous. Avec cette expérience, j'espère favoriser la création d’un lien plus profond entre les jeunes et le patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada, si riche et diversifié. De plus, je termine mon diplôme en Criminologie et Justice à OntarioTech University. J’ai donc une grande passion pour la lutte contre la discrimination et les injustices faites aux communautés et à la nature du Canada. J'espère faire partie du mouvement collectif qui travaille à résoudre ces problèmes qui ont un impact sur la société. De plus, je veux mettre en lumière la beauté du patrimoine culturel et naturel canadien en découvrant avec vous les nombreux endroits extraordinaires administrés par Parcs Canada !

Je nourris mon amour pour la nature et le plein air en passant mon temps libre à faire du vélo de montagne, de la randonnée ou du ski et j'aime photographier ces expériences incroyables. J'aime aussi les jeux vidéo, la pâtisserie et les arts martiaux jiu-jitsu brésilien (… je suis conscient qu'il s'agit d'un ensemble de passe-temps très diversifié, mais cela témoigne du fait que j'aime essayer de nouvelles choses !). Bref, je suis super excité de commencer cette nouvelle aventure et impatient du nouveau chapitre qui s’ouvre !

Patricia Roussel
Jeune Ambassadeur Patricia
Patricia Roussel
Port-McNicoll, Ont.
Université Queens- Histoire et Études religieuses
(elle)

Bonjour, Hello Canada !

Je m'appelle Patricia et j’adore l’histoire. Si vous me croisez, je serai sûrement en train de lire des plaques historiques ou de transporter de nombreux dépliants touristiques ! Tout au long de ma vie, j'ai eu le privilège de découvrir le patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada, protégé heureusement par Parcs Canada. Qu'il s'agisse du vent qui sifflait dans mes cheveux à Signal Hill à Terre-Neuve ou des questions suscitées par les drôles de chapeaux hauts-de-forme portés au lieu historique national de Province House à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, les souvenirs que j’ai des endroits de Parcs Canada ont clairement suscités ma fascination pour l'histoire canadienne et ont contribué à façonner mon identité nationale. Voilà mon histoire Parcs et j'ai hâte d'entendre la vôtre !

Mes aventures canadiennes m’ont aussi inspirées pour choisir mon champ d’étude puisque j’étudie présentement en Histoire et Études religieuses à Queen's University. Quand je n'ai pas le nez dans les livres à Kingston, vous me trouverez en train de profiter du soleil sur les rives de la baie Georgienne dans ma ville natale de Port McNicoll en Ontario, territoires traditionnels des Wendats, des Mississaugas, des Anishinabés et des Haudenosaunees.

J’aime profiter de mon temps libre pour passer une journée dans le jardin, faire une baignade à la plage, me remémorer des souvenirs autour d'un feu de camp (... la meilleure méthode à cet effet c’est de faire une tente avec des rondins… mais bon, nous pouvons toujours en débattre autour d'un s'more!) et regarder le ciel étoilé.

En tant que jeune ambassadrice, je suis très reconnaissante de pouvoir faire le pont entre ma passion de partager les nombreuses voix de l'histoire du Canada et les merveilles de la nature qui nous entoure. Je suis tellement excitée de rencontrer de jeunes Canadiens tout au long de nos voyages en personne et en virtuel afin de pouvoir mettre l’emphase sur la beauté d'une terre que nous avons la chance d'appeler « chez nous » !

À bientôt, Canada!