Hey #Parkslife!

Our heads are full, our hearts are open and we are jumping in this summer loaded with enthusiasm! What an honor to be part of the 10th cohort of the Parks Canada Youth Ambassadors program and to join this collective of youth whose main goal is to experience and share our common nature, culture and treasures.

Creation, sharing and inspiration will be our ambitions this summer. Despite the mountains, lakes and forests that separate us, the feeling of closeness that brings us together could not be stronger. Join us so that together we can discover, meet and explore.

Mahnoor, Catherine and Fawn,
2021/22 Youth Ambassadors
#ParksLife #ParksSmart


Catherine Gingras
Youth Ambassador Catherine
Catherine Gingras
Lorraine, QC
University of Ottawa - Marketing
(she/her)

Hey you!

My name is Catherine, I am 18 years old, I am from Lorraine in Quebec and I am one of the youngest in the history of the youth ambassadors! However, my age does not mean inexperience, on the contrary. I have seen a lot of our country and that is why I am excited to share my stories with you and create new ones.

I am currently completing a bachelor's degree in marketing at the University of Ottawa, where I get involved in campus life by organizing entrepreneurial events and creating social enterprises. When I have free time, I enjoy taking photos, reading, playing the piano and skiing!

Interesting fact: I've never been on a plane in my life! But, when I was 11, my parents decided to leave Quebec to travel across Canada with a camper to live for a year in Revelstoke, British Columbia. This is really where I started to understand how lucky we were to have so many beautiful landscapes in Canada and how important it was to conserve them (and since then I have had a huge crush on Parka)! I love discovering our country and sharing my knowledge: being a Parks Canada Youth ambassador suits my curious nature perfectly!

Hope to see you this summer, somewhere in Canada ... or at home on my screen, crossing my fingers to be able to travel soon!

Fawn Logan-Young
Youth Ambassador Fawn
Fawn Logan-Young
Meaghers Grant, NS
University of Ottawa – Social Sciences
(she/they)

Hey Folx,

My name is Fawn (yes, like a baby deer). I am currently studying Social Sciences at the University of Ottawa, with hopes to major in Political Science and minor in Gender Studies or Cultural Anthropology. When I am not writing, or grumbling about politics, I am either getting lost in the woods, looking up a new recipe to try out for dinner, or trying to keep up with the latest meme culture.

Before I leave this beautiful planet, I hope to see the natural beauty Canada’s provinces and territories have to offer. I have the territories, Saskatchewan and Manitoba left on my list with goals of seeing the Northern Lights in a post-COVID future. I might be bias because I am from Nova Scotia and have family there, but Cape Breton Island is still my number one destination in Canada. Thus far, that is.

Now that the ice is broken, let’s get a little more personal. Beyond my name, nature is a part of who I am. The physical, the mental, and the spiritual benefits nature has offered me has fuelled my passion to work within the outdoor sector to promote these advantages to others. After a few years of working in the sector, however, I realized that there is a need for more tangible inclusion and diversity work within such spaces in Canada. Having the opportunity to be a youth ambassador for Parks Canada is a dream come true for me. With this privilege, I hope to use this opportunity to amplify the voices and visibility of youth who are ready to be heard and seen!

I am ecstatic to absorb more knowledge about Canada’s history through Parks and answer a lifelong question: What makes Canadians feel Canadian? I anticipate a lot of listening and reflection throughout my time as a Parks Canada Youth Ambassador. With all that said, I will be sure to let you know what I find!

Until then, Canada.

Mahnoor Hussain
Youth Ambassador Mahnoor
Mahnoor Hussain
Pickering, ON
Ryerson University – Public Health and Safety
(she/her)

Hello/Bonjour Canada!

My name is Mahnoor and I am back for the third year working as a student with Parks Canada! I am currently a student at Ryerson University and am going into my 4th year of the Public Health and Safety program this upcoming fall. With the big turn of events in the last year or so, it has been a very interesting virtual experience! Although I study right in between the busy city hustle, I live with my family in the quiet suburbs of Pickering, Ontario. My love for the outdoors began on the salty beaches and warm weather picnics as a kid when my family was previously living in Jacksonville, Florida before moving to Canada in 2007. Within the next few years, I am hoping to take my knowledge in public health and make connections between human health and the environment. In my free time I love to kayak along the Rouge River and have movie nights with my family.

The opportunity to be this year’s Parks Canada Youth Ambassador is a privilege. I am hoping to reach out to thousands of youth across Canada and share my experiences, all while trying to shatter any barriers between people and green spaces. It is important to me that I take all the opportunities I get and make the most of them. These moments are most valuable when they can be shared with others. This year, I am thrilled to be sharing them with all of you!

Salut #ParcsÀVie!

Nos têtes sont pleines, nos cœurs sont ouverts et nous sautons à pieds joints dans cette aventure! Quel honneur de faire partie de la 10e cohorte du programme des Jeunes ambassadeurs de Parcs Canada et de se joindre à ce collectif de jeunes dont le principal objectif est de découvrir et de partager notre nature, notre culture et nos trésors communs.

La création, le partage et l’inspiration seront au programme cet été. Malgré les montagnes, lacs et forêts qui nous séparent, le sentiment de proximité qui nous rassemble ne peut être plus fort. Joignez-vous à nous pour qu’ensemble, on puisse découvrir, rencontrer et explorer.

Mahnoor, Catherine et Fawn, Jeunes ambassadrices 2021-2022

#ParcsÀVie #ParcsFutés


Catherine Gingras
Jeune ambassadeur Catherine
Catherine Gingras
Lorraine, Qué.
Université d’Ottawa – Marketing
(elle)

Salut toi!

Je m’appelle Catherine, j’ai 18 ans, je viens de Lorraine au Québec et je suis l’une des plus jeune de toute l’histoire des jeunes ambassadeurs ! Pourtant, mon âge n’est pas synonyme d’inexpérience, bien au contraire. J’en ai vu du pays et c’est pourquoi je suis excitée de te partager mes histoires et d’en créer des nouvelles.

Je complète présentement un baccalauréat en marketing à l’Université d’Ottawa où je m’implique dans la vie universitaire en organisant des évènements entrepreneuriaux et en créant des entreprises sociales. Lorsque j’ai des temps libres, j’aime prendre des photos, lire, jouer du piano et faire du ski!

Fait intéressant : je n’ai jamais pris l’avion de ma vie ! Au lieu de cela, quand j'avais 11 ans, mes parents ont décidé de quitter le Québec pour voyager en roulotte à travers le Canada pour vivre un an à Revelstoke, en Colombie-Britannique. C’est vraiment là que j’ai commencé à comprendre que nous avions la chance d’avoir tant de paysages magnifiques au Canada et à quel point il était important de les conserver (et depuis, j’ai un gros crush sur Parka)! J’adore découvrir notre pays et partager mon savoir : être ambassadrice de Parcs Canada convient parfaitement à ma nature curieuse!

J’espère te voir cet été, quelque part au Canada… où à la maison sur mon écran, en croisant mes doigts pour voyager prochainement!

Fawn Logan-Young
Jeune ambassadeur Fawn
Fawn Logan-Young
Meaghers Grant, N.-É.
Université d’Ottawa – Sciences sociales
(elle)

Salut,

Je m'appelle Fawn. J'étudie présentement les sciences sociales à l'Université d'Ottawa et je compte me spécialiser en science politique avec une mineure en études des genres ou en anthropologie culturelle. Quand je ne suis pas en train d’écrire ou de me questionner sur la politique, j’aime partir à l’aventure dans le bois, chercher des nouvelles recettes ou essayer de me maintenir à jour avec la culture des mèmes!

Je veux profiter de mon temps sur cette belle planète pour voir la beauté naturelle que les provinces et les territoires du Canada ont à offrir. J’ai encore à explorer les territoires, la Saskatchewan et le Manitoba. J’aimerais voir les aurores boréales dans un avenir post-COVID. Comme je viens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, je ne suis peut-être pas tout à fait objective mais l'île du Cap-Breton est toujours ma destination numéro un au Canada. Du moins jusqu’à ce jour!

D’un côté plus personnel, la nature fait partie de qui je suis. Les bienfaits physiques, mentaux et spirituels que la nature m'offre ont nourris ma passion et mon désir de travailler dans le domaine du plein air dans le but de promouvoir ces bienfaits auprès des autres. Après quelques années d’expérience de travail dans le domaine, je constate que nous avons besoin d’améliorer l’inclusion et la diversité dans les espaces verts du Canada. Avoir la chance d'être une jeune ambassadrice de Parcs Canada est un rêve devenu réalité pour moi. Je compte profiter de ce privilège pour amplifier la voix et la visibilité des jeunes qui sont prêts à être entendus et vus!

Je suis ravie d’avoir l’opportunité d’absorber davantage de connaissances sur l’histoire du Canada grâce à Parcs et de répondre à une question de toute une vie : Qu'est-ce qui fait que les Canadiens se sentent Canadiens ? J'anticipe beaucoup d'écoute et de réflexion tout au long de mon mandat en tant que jeune ambassadrice de Parcs Canada. Cela dit, je ne manquerai pas de partager le tout avec vous!

À bientôt, Canada!

Mahnoor Hussain
Jeune ambassadeur Mahnoor
Mahnoor Hussain
Pickering, Ont.
Université Ryerson - Santé et sécurité publique
(elle)

Bonjour / Hello Canada !

Je m'appelle Mahnoor et je suis de retour pour ma troisième année en tant qu'étudiante à Parcs Canada ! Je suis présentement étudiante à l'Université Ryerson où j'entamerai ma 4e année du programme de santé et sécurité publique cet automne. Avec la grande tournure des événements de la dernière année, ça été une expérience virtuelle très intéressante ! Bien que j'étudie au cœur de la ville, je vis avec ma famille dans la banlieue tranquille de Pickering, en Ontario. Mon amour pour le plein air est né sur les plages salées et lors des pique-niques par temps chaud au temps où ma famille vivait à Jacksonville, en Floride. C’était avant que l’on déménage au Canada, en 2007. Au cours des prochaines années, j'espère mettre mes connaissances en santé publique à profit et établir des liens entre la santé humaine et l'environnement. Dans mon temps libre, j'aime faire du kayak le long de la rivière Rouge et regarder des films en famille.

C’est tout un privilège d’être jeune ambassadrice de Parcs Canada cette année ! J'espère rejoindre des milliers de jeunes à travers le Canada et partager mes expériences, tout en contribuant à faire tomber les barrières entre les gens et les espaces verts. Il est important pour moi de saisir toutes les opportunités qui me sont offertes et d'en tirer le meilleur parti. Ces moments sont plus précieux lorsqu'ils peuvent être partagés. Cette année, je suis ravie de les partager avec vous tous!