Camp stoves and fuel

Stoves and the various fuels needed to run them can sometimes be intimidating to new campers. There are so many different choices! Always make sure you know what kind of fuel your stove needs and bring extra. Store fuel well away from a campfire.

Two-burner stove

Two-burner camp stove

Two-burner stoves are very convenient for families and groups. They are easy to use and people like the fact they can cook more than one thing at the same time.

Single-burner stove

One-burner camp stove

Single-burner stoves are much lighter and more compact than their two-burner counterparts. They are extremely easy to pack and are a great option for solo or backcountry campers.

Fuel

Fuel canister for camp stove

When choosing a stove, be sure to select one that burns a fuel source you are comfortable using. Each type of fuel has advantages and disadvantages. Find out more by talking with friends and family who camp, or outdoor store staff.

BBQs

Some campgrounds have charcoal barbecue pits – just bring your own briquettes and starter. You can also bring your own portable BBQ to use at your site.

Campfires

Gathering around the campfire with a cup of hot chocolate is the perfect end of a busy camping day. Many campsites in national parks have fire pits just for this purpose. Some are equipped with a cooking grill, though keep your fires small and under control. Always check park rules regarding campfires before you leave home.


Staff tips

Cook in areas out of the wind or use a windscreen for your stove. Cooking in the wind consumes much more fuel! Try out your camp stove in your backyard at home and cook a meal outside before you set off on your camping adventure.

The glowing coals of a campfire are much hotter and burn more evenly than the flames. To control how hot your cooking pan or pot is, move it closer or further away from the coals.

Réchauds de camping et carburant

Les réchauds et les divers combustibles nécessaires pour les faire fonctionner peuvent parfois être intimidants pour les campeurs néophytes. Il y a tellement de choix! Assurez-vous toujours de connaître le type de combustible dont votre poêle a besoin et apportez-en plus que moins. Entreposez le carburant loin du feu de camp.

Réchaud à deux brûleurs

Réchaud de camping à deux brûleurs

Les réchauds à deux brûleurs sont très pratiques pour les familles et les groupes. Ils sont faciles à utiliser et permettent de faire chauffer plusieurs choses en même temps.

Réchaud à un seul brûleur

Réchaud de camping à un seul brûleur

Les réchauds à un seul brûleur sont beaucoup plus légers et compacts que les réchauds à deux brûleurs. Ils sont faciles à transporter et constituent une excellente option pour ceux qui campent seuls ou dans l’arrière-pays.

Combustible

Bonbonne de combustible pour réchaud de camping

Lorsque vous choisissez un réchaud, assurez-vous d’en choisir un qui fonctionne avec un combustible que vous êtes à l’aise d’utiliser. Chaque type de combustible présente des avantages et des inconvénients. Apprenez-en davantage en discutant avec des amis et des membres de la famille qui campent ou avec le personnel du magasin de plein air.

Barbecue

Certains terrains de camping ont des barbecues au charbon de bois. Apportez simplement vos briquettes et allume-feu. Vous pouvez également apporter votre propre barbecue portatif.

Feux de camp

Se rassembler autour du feu de camp avec une tasse de chocolat chaud termine en beauté une journée de camping bien remplie. De nombreux emplacements de camping dans les parcs nationaux ont des foyers à cette fin. Certains sont équipés d’un barbecue, mais ne faites pas des feux trop gros dont vous pourriez perdre le contrôle. Vérifiez toujours les règles du parc concernant les feux de camp avant de quitter la maison.


Conseils du personnel

Cuisinez dans des endroits à l’abri du vent ou utilisez un coupe-vent pour votre réchaud. Lorsqu’il y a du vent, le réchaud consomme beaucoup plus de carburant! Essayez votre réchaud dans votre cour à la maison et cuisinez un repas à l’extérieur avant de partir à l’aventure en camping.

La braise d’un feu de camp est beaucoup plus chaude et brûle plus uniformément que les flammes. Pour contrôler la chaleur du chaudron ou de la casserole, placez-les plus près ou plus loin de la braise.