Sleeping bags, mattresses and pads come in different shapes, sizes, and price ranges. You can bring a pillow from home, or use a pillowcase filled with your clothes. If you are frontcountry camping in the summer, a sheet and blanket from home may do.

Rectangular bags

© MEC

Rectangular bags are roomy, especially if you toss and turn at night. For frontcountry campers less concerned with weight and bulk, rectangular sleeping bags are often a good choice.

Mummy bags

© MEC

Mummy bags fit close to your body for added heat retention. They pack down smaller and are generally lighter, making them a common choice for backcountry campers. Some people find mummy bags hard to sleep in because there is less room to move around in.

Sleeping pads and mattresses

© MEC

Sleeping pads and mattresses go under your sleeping bag on the floor of the tent. They provide a more comfortable sleep by getting you off the ground. Pads and mattresses with foam or down inside also provide extra warmth with a layer of insulation between you and the ground.


Staff tip

Get cold easily? Bring a toque! It will keep your head warm while the rest of your body is inside the sleeping bag.

Staff at Thousand Islands National Park

On trouve des sacs de couchage, des matelas gonflables et des matelas de sol sous diverses formes et tailles et à divers prix. Vous pouvez apporter un oreiller de la maison ou vous faire un oreiller en remplissant une taie d’oreiller de vêtements. Si vous campez dans l’avant-pays pendant l’été, un drap et une couverture peuvent suffire.

Sacs de couchage rectangulaires

© MEC

Les sacs de couchage rectangulaires sont un peu plus spacieux. Pour les campeurs de l’avant-pays pour qui le poids et le volume ne sont pas des facteurs importants, les sacs de couchage rectangulaires sont souvent un bon choix.

Sacs « momie »

© MEC

Les sacs « momie » épousent les formes de votre corps et retiennent mieux la chaleur. Ils sont plus étroits et généralement plus légers, ce qui en fait un choix fréquent pour les campeurs de l’arrière-pays. Certaines personnes trouvent les sacs « momie » inconfortables, car ils donnent moins de liberté de mouvement.

Matelas de sol et matelas gonflables

© MEC

Les matelas de sol et les matelas gonflables sont placés sous votre sac de couchage sur le plancher de la tente. Ils vous procurent un sommeil plus confortable en vous évitant un contact direct avec le sol. Les matelas de sol et les matelas qui contiennent de la mousse ou du duvet vous tiennent davantage au chaud en créant une couche isolante entre vous et le sol.


Conseil du personnel

Vous êtes frileux? Apportez une tuque! Elle gardera votre tête au chaud pendant que le reste de votre corps se trouve dans le sac de couchage.

Personnel du parc national du Canada des Mille-Îles