The following permits and written authorizations are or may be required in advance of your backcountry trip to Vuntut:


Superintendent's Order:  Permit requirement

Pursuant to section 7.1(2) of the National Parks General Regulations the following are deemed designated activities within Vuntut National Park, and a permit is required prior to engaging in any of these activities:

  • Camping
  • Aircraft landings and take offs
  • Research activities
  • Fuel and food caching
  • Filming or photography for commercial purposes
  • Military exercises
  • Open fires

Permits are available at the Visitor Reception Center in Old Crow, or by contacting Parks Canada at (867) 966-3626 or (867) 667-3910.

Backcountry Use Permits

Backcountry permits are required for all overnight activities

All overnight visitors to the park are required to register prior to starting their trip and to de-register upon completion of their trip. Failing to deregister is a violation of Park Regulations. If you fail to check back in you may be financially responsible for the search.

You can register in person at the John Tizya Centre in Old Crow or by phone. Visitors are required to delineate their anticipated travel routes and itinerary in advance of receiving a permit. This information will aid in search and rescue efforts should they be needed. When registering you will be notified of any area closures or known hazards along your proposed route.

Fees 

Aircraft Landing Permits

Aircraft landing permits are required before ANY aircraft can land

An aircraft landing permit is required before ANY aircraft (fixed-wing or rotary) can land in Vuntut National Park. Each request will be evaluated individually. You must apply for your landing permits three months in advance of the start of your trip.

Vuntut National Park includes a Declared Wilderness Area established under subsection 14(1) of the Canada National Parks Act. This special protection area encompasses high ground that makes up 75% of the national park north of the Crow Flats wetland. Landing and take-off of aircraft for any and all non-park management purposes in the Declared Wilderness Area triggers an environmental assessment under the Yukon Environmental and Socioeconomic Assessment Act (YESAA). Before a landing permit can be issued to land or take off in this Declared Wilderness Area, this environmental assessment process must be completed by the visitor. The external arms-length process takes anywhere from 6 – 12 weeks to complete.

For more information contact:

YESAB Dawson City Designated Office
867-993-4040

Or, visit their website for more details www.yesab.ca

Aircraft operators providing access services to the park are required to have a Parks Canada Business License to operate within Vuntut National Park. The following companies are currently licensed to land in the park:

Helicopters, fixed-wing aeroplanes, UAVs/drones and other aircraft can have a negative impact on wildlife, visitors, and Indigenous People using the land.  To minimize your impact while flying in and near Vuntut National Park, please observe the following:

Superintendent’s Order to establish a food cache

If necessary and in accordance with regulations, food caches may be permitted only through a Superintendent’s Order.

Park regulations

  • Overnight visitors are required to register; and, to de-register upon completion of their trip.
  • Removal of natural or cultural objects from the park is prohibited.
  • All garbage must be packed out.
  • All park waters are closed to fishing.
  • It is illegal to hunt, feed, harass, approach or cause any undue stress to wildlife.
  • Firearms are NOT permitted.

Les autorisations écrites et permis suivants sont, ou peuvent être, requis avant votre excursion dans l’arrière-pays au parc national Vuntut :


Exigences Concernant Les Permis

En vertu du paragraphe 7.1(2) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, les activités qui suivent sont considérées comme des activités désignées dans le parc national Vuntut, et un permis est requis avant de participer à l’une ou l’autre de celles-ci:

  • Toute activité de camping
  • Atterrissages et décollages d’aéronefs
  • Cache de nourriture et de carburant
  • Tournage et photographie à des fins commerciales
  • Exercices militaires
  • Feux en plein air
  • Activités de recherche

On peut se procurer un permis au centre d’accueil à Old Crow ou en communiquant avec Parcs Canada au 867-966-3626 ou au 867-667-3910.

Permis d'utilisation du parc

Les visiteurs doivent se procurer un permis d’accès à l’arrière-pays pour passer la nuit

Tous les visiteurs qui passent la nuit dans le parc sont tenus de s’inscrire avant le début de leur excurision et à la fin de leur séjour. Si vous ne signalez pas votre retour, vous pourriez avoir à rembourser le coût des recherches entreprises pour vous retrouver.

Vous pouvez vous inscrire en personne en vous rendant au Centre John Tizya, à Old Crow ou fournir l'information nécessaire par téléphone. Les visiteurs sont également tenus de fournir des précisions sur leur itinéraire avant de pouvoir obtenir un permis. Ces renseignements pourraient se révéler utiles dans une éventuelle opération de recherche et de sauvetage. Au moment de votre inscription, Parcs Canada vous indiquera si certains secteurs sont fermés au public ou s'il existe des dangers connus le long du parcours choisi. Les visiteurs qui omettent de s'inscrire au début et à la fin de leur séjour contreviennent au Règlement sur les parcs nationaux.

Tarifications 

Permis d'atterrissages

Il faut obtenir un permis d'atterrissage avant de pouvoir se poser dans le parc

Peu importe le type d'aéronef (hélicoptère ou avion), il faut obtenir un permis d'atterrissage avant de pouvoir se poser dans le parc national Vuntut. Chaque demande est évaluée individuellement. Vous devez présenter votre demande de permis trois mois avant le début de votre excursion.

Le parc national Vuntut comprend une réserve intégrale désignée qui a été établie en vertu du paragraphe 14(1) de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Cette aire de protection spéciale englobe un terrain élevé qui constitue 75 % du parc national au nord des terres humides de la plaine Old Crow. Les décollages ou atterrissages d’aéronef pour toute autre raison que la gestion du parc dans la réserve intégrale désignée déclenchent une évaluation environnementale aux termes de la Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon (LEESY). Avant qu’un permis puisse être accordé pour atterrir ou décoller dans cette réserve intégrale désignée, ce processus d’évaluation environnementale doit être effectué par le visiteur. La réalisation de ce processus externe indépendant prend de six à douze semaines.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec le bureau désigné de Dawson de l’OEESY
867-993-4040

Ou consultez son site Web à www.yesab.ca

Les exploitants aériens qui fournissent des services d’accès au parc doivent détenir un permis d’exploitation de Parcs Canada pour mener leurs activités au sein du parc national Vuntut. Liste des compagnies de transport aérien qui ont présentement obtenu un permis d'exploitant pour atterrir dans le parc :

Les hélicoptères, les avions, les UAV/drones et autres aéronefs ont un impact négatif sur la faune, les visiteurs et les peuples autochtones qui utilisent les terres.  Pour minimiser l’impact de votre vol au-dessus ou à proximité de Parc national Vuntut, veuillez observer les consignes suivantes :

Ordonnance du directeur pour créer une cache pour nourriture

Au besoin et conformément à la réglementation, des caches pour nourriture ne peuvent être autorisées que par l’entremise d’une ordonnance du directeur.

Règlements du parc

  • Visiteurs qui passent la nuit dans le parc sont tenus de s’inscrire avant le début de leur excurision et à la fin de leur séjour.
  • Il est interdit de retirer du parc des objets naturels ou culturels.
  • Vous devez rapporter tous vos déchets.
  • Il est interdit de pêcher dans le parc national.
  • Il est illégal de chasser, nourrir ou de harceler les animaux sauvages, ou encore de s'en approcher ou de leur causer un stress indu.
  • Les armes à feu sont INTERDITES.