The Vuntut National Park monitoring program is a joint effort by Parks Canada, the Vuntut Gwitchin Government, the North Yukon Renewable Resources Council, and researchers from several universities. The program combines scientific results and traditional knowledge to assess how and why the park’s environment is changing. Together we track changes in Porcupine Caribou Herd habitat and the hydrology and ecology of lakes in the Old Crow Flats, and produce data that contribute to national and global efforts to understand how climate change is affecting the north.


Northern context

From 1948 to 2016 the average surface temperature in northern Canada has increased by 2.3° C, roughly three times the global average. With this warming comes dramatic changes to the northern landscape: wildlife habitats are shifting, the winter snow cover period is shorter, permafrost is warming, and lake water levels are becoming more dynamic. While images from satellites measure change at the landscape scale and climate models are used to predict future conditions there is a need for long-term monitoring in northern Canada that accurately measures what is happening on the ground.

Methodology

Monitoring approach

helicopter at monitoring site

Monitoring methods need to be extremely efficient as a helicopter is the only practical means of accessing the park. The approach is to make yearly visits to monitoring sites spread throughout the park which measure several ecosystem components – permafrost, snow, vegetation growth, and air temperature – at each site. Some measurements are made “on the ground” during site visits, while others rely on data and images recorded by data loggers and trail cameras that run throughout the year.

Monitoring sites

Vuntut monitoring program map
Map of area in and around Vuntut National Park showing locations of monitoring sites, monitoring lakes, key caribou summer range and extent of Old Crow Flats wetland

Ecosystem components

Porcupine Caribou Herd

The Porcupine Caribou Herd is a population of barren-ground caribou (Rangifer tarandus) whose range includes the northern Yukon, Alaska and the Northwest Territories. It is one of the largest caribou herds in North America. The herd is critically important to the Vuntut Gwitchin, and protecting portions of its spring, summer and fall habitat was one of the main reasons for creating Vuntut National Park.

Monitoring measures

Population size

Population counts have been conducted since the 1970s and are typically attempted every two to three years. To conduct a count the caribou are located in early summer by tracking the movements of approximately 100 individuals with GPS collars. During this time the caribou often gather in large groups to avoid insects. If the herd groups-up researchers are able to fly over it and take pictures with a high resolution digital camera. From the pictures researchers can count the number of animals. Counts since 2000 have used the location of collared caribou to create a population estimate with a confidence interval rather than just a minimum count. This approach provides a sense of how accurate the count is.

The most recent count was conducted in 2017 and estimated that the herd was approximately 220,000 caribou. This is the highest number that has ever been recorded for the Porcupine Caribou Herd.

Porcupine Caribou Herd
graph of Porcupine Caribou Herd population plotting
Coloured bands on the graph indicate harvest management zones from the Harvest Management Plan for the Porcupine Caribou Herd in Canada developed by the Porcupine Caribou Management Board. Populations in the green zone are healthy and allow for traditional and licensed harvesting to continue.
Snow cover

The annual duration of snow cover in the circumpolar Arctic has decreased by two to four days per decade over the past 30 to 40 years.

Snow cover is important as it is known to influence the timing of Porcupine Caribou Herd migration to their calving grounds in the spring and affects many other aspect of northern ecosystems including permafrost temperatures, lake and river ice, vegetation and lake hydrology.

Snow cover is measured at monitoring sites using a trail camera facing a snow stake. Snow depth is determined from pictures of the stake taken once each day throughout the winter. These depths are then used to determine the duration of snow cover and the average snow depth for a winter.

Husky Lake monitoring site: Spring melt
2016-04-27
Panel 1 2016-04-27
2016-04-28
Panel 2 2016-04-28
2016-04-29
Panel 3 2016-04-29
2016-04-30
Panel 4 2016-04-30
2016-05-01
Panel 5 2016-05-01
2016-05-02
Panel 6 2016-05-02
Growing degree days

Growing degree days describes the period of the year during which warm air temperatures permit plant growth. As air temperatures rise in northern Canada the period of time during which plant growth can occur should also increase. 

Replacing a data logger battery

This could change the amount of forage available to caribou and the timing of when it's of highest nutritional value. Air temperature is also crucial for interpreting changes in permafrost temperatures, snow cover and vegetation growth.

Air temperature is measured every hour at monitoring sites throughout the park. Measurements are stored on data loggers that are recovered during site visits and are then used to calculate the number of growing degree days for the year.

Husky Lake monitoring site: 2016 growing degree days
Graph showing
A growing degree day measures heat accumulation above a base value of 5 °C. It is calculated by subtracting the base value of 5 °C from the daily mean temperature (negative values are treated as zero). Daily values are summed to give the total growing degree days for a month and year, which is used as an indicator of how good a climate is for plant growth.
Growing season

The warming climate is affecting northern vegetation, including the date that plants leaf out in the spring ("green-up"), reach peak growth and then turn colour and drop in the fall ("brown-down"). These changes can affect the amount and quality of caribou forage in important ranges used by the Porcupine Caribou Herd.

When summer caribou range is of a high quality, female caribou are able to build up larger reserves of energy and are then less likely to “wean-off” their calves early and are more likely to become pregnant in the fall. This means that more calves survive their first year of life and that more adult females have calves in the spring. The extra energy reserves also make it more likely that adult female caribou will survive the winter and give the herd an opportunity to grow in number.

Husky Lake monitoring site
2016 growing season
graph plotting
Green-up, peak growth, and brown-down dates for each growing season are determined from images taken once each day by trail cameras at each of the monitoring sites. Image analysis software is then used to determine the amount of green in selected areas of each image which measures the stage of seasonal plant growth.
May 1
image of monitoring site on May 1
Green up
image of monitoring site on June 11: 2016
Peak growth
Image of monitoring site on July 12: 2016
Brown down
image of monitoring site on August 12: 2016
September 30
image of monitoring site on September 30: 2016, first snowfall
Permafrost temperature

Permafrost – ground that has been frozen for at least two years – is predicted to thaw over large areas of northern Canada as the climate warms. Vuntut National Park lies in the region of continuous permafrost, where it has a widespread influence on ground stability, soil moisture, vegetation and lake hydrology and ecology. Tracking permafrost temperature is also important as there is growing recognition that the widespread melting of permafrost will lead to a release of additional greenhouse gasses into the atmosphere, resulting in even more climate warming.

The Vuntut National Park monitoring sites are part of a network of permafrost probes that are tracking regional shifts in permafrost temperatures across the north.

Downloading data from a permafrost logger

Probes at monitoring sites record permafrost temperature at multiple depths below the ground surface. The deepest probes are equipped with cables that reach 30 m into the ground. Some have to be read manually each year when the site is visited, others have a data logger that records temperatures every hour.

Temperatures at depths of 14 m or more are of particular interest as at these depths values don’t fluctuate much throughout the year.

Permafrost temperatures at 14 m below ground surface at Old Crow Flats monitoring sites
graph showing
Error bars show the amount of variation in the measurements for each year. Warming trends in temperatures at this depth are a signal that the permafrost is melting.

Wetlands

The Old Crow Flats is a vast wetland complex of shallow lakes and small streams. Recognized by the Ramsar Convention as a Wetland of International Importance, it is the breeding ground to half a million migratory birds and home to many species of wildlife. The Old Crow Flats has been referred to by the Vuntut Gwitchin as their “bank account” because of its importance for subsistence hunting and other traditional practices. Portions of the Old Crow Flats are protected by Vuntut National Park.

Monitoring measures

Lake hydrology

Concerns have been raised that lakes in the Old Crow Flats, including those in Vuntut National Park, are drying out. As a result Parks Canada, First Nation partners and several universities are tracking changes in lake water levels and the amount of water entering lakes in the form of rain and snow.

Collecting a water sample

Fourteen monitoring lakes spread throughout the Old Crow Flats, five of which are located within Vuntut National Park, are visited by helicopter each year in the spring and fall. During each visit, lake depth and surface water characteristics such as temperature, pH, dissolved oxygen, conductivity, and temperature are measured and water samples are collected.

Water samples are sent to a lab where isotope tracers are used to tell how much water is entering each lake in the form of rain and snow and if the lake is evaporating over time.

Evaporation vs. inflow in Vuntut National Park monitoring lakes
OCF 19
Graph plotting
A value of 1.0 indicates that the amount of water lost through evaporation is equal to the amount of water entering a lake in a given year. Values less than 1 indicate that there is less water lost through evaporation than is entering a lake for a given season. If values for a lake are consistently less than 1 this indicates that the lake is likely gaining water over time.
OCF 38
Graph plotting
A value of 1.0 indicates that the amount of water lost through evaporation is equal to the amount of water entering a lake in a given year. Values less than 1 indicate that there is less water lost through evaporation than is entering a lake for a given season. If values for a lake are consistently less than 1 this indicates that the lake is likely gaining water over time.
OCF 46
Graph plotting
A value of 1.0 indicates that the amount of water lost through evaporation is equal to the amount of water entering a lake in a given year. Values less than 1 indicate that there is less water lost through evaporation than is entering a lake for a given season. If values for a lake are consistently less than 1 this indicates that the lake is likely gaining water over time.
OCF 48
Graph plotting
A value of 1.0 indicates that the amount of water lost through evaporation is equal to the amount of water entering a lake in a given year. Values less than 1 indicate that there is less water lost through evaporation than is entering a lake for a given season. If values for a lake are consistently less than 1 this indicates that the lake is likely gaining water over time.
OCF 49
Graph plotting
A value of 1.0 indicates that the amount of water lost through evaporation is equal to the amount of water entering a lake in a given year. Values less than 1 indicate that there is less water lost through evaporation than is entering a lake for a given season. If values for a lake are consistently less than 1 this indicates that the lake is likely gaining water over time.
Lake algae community structure

Periphyton – algae that attaches to objects – is used with water isotopes to track changes in the ecology of lakes in the Old Crow Flats.

Installing a periphyton sampler

Periphyton form the foundation of lake ecosystem food chains and are a useful indicator of freshwater ecology as their characteristics are affected by physical, chemical and biological disturbances. They are widely used to monitor water quality in Europe and by the US Environmental Protection Agency.

To collect the algae, samplers with plastic strips are anchored in each of the 14 monitoring lakes each spring. Algae grow on the strips throughout the summer and the samplers are recovered in the fall. The samples are sent to a lab and counts of periphyton, their community structure and levels of chlorophyll are used to determine if the ecology of a lake is changing.

Current monitoring is aimed at determining the natural conditions for algae in Old Crow Flats lakes. This baseline condition will be used to determine when lakes are showing signs of stress or are undergoing significant ecological changes.

Algae productivity in Vuntut National Park monitoring lakes
Chlorophyll a
Graph plotting
Chlorophyll a is the green pigment that allows algae to convert sunlight into energy and can be used to measure the total amount of algae in a lake. Dramatic increases or decreases in chlorophyll a can indicate that a lake’s ecology is changing, often because of degrading water quality or changes in the amount of nutrients entering the lake.
Total diatoms
graph plotting Diatoms are a major group of algae with a cell wall made of silica. They are useful indicators of aquatic health as they are abundant in most lakes, are sensitive to environmental changes, and are usually the dominant primary producers of lake ecosystems. High total diatom abundance is generally associated with healthy lake ecology.
Soft algae richness
graph plotting
Generic richness is the total number of diatom and soft algae genera found in a lake. High generic richness is generally associated with healthy lake ecology as it indicates that the lake can support many different types of algae.

Le programme de surveillance du parc national Vuntut est un effort conjoint de Parcs Canada, du gouvernement des Gwitchin Vuntut, du Conseil des ressources renouvelables du Nord du Yukon et de chercheurs de plusieurs universités. Il met à profit les résultats scientifiques et le savoir traditionnel pour évaluer les changements dans l’environnement du parc ainsi que leurs causes. Ensemble, nous surveillons les changements dans l’habitat de la harde de caribous de la Porcupine, ainsi que dans l’hydrologie et l’écologie des lacs de la plaine Old Crow, et nous produisons des données qui contribuent aux efforts nationaux et mondiaux pour comprendre les effets des changements climatiques dans le Nord.


Contexte nordique

De 1948 à 2016, la température moyenne en surface dans le Nord du Canada a augmenté de 2,3 °C, soit environ trois fois la moyenne mondiale. Ce réchauffement entraîne des changements majeurs dans le paysage nordique : les habitats fauniques se déplacent, la période de couverture neigeuse en hiver est plus courte, le pergélisol se réchauffe et les niveaux d’eau des lacs deviennent plus dynamiques. Malgré l’utilisation d’images satellites pour suivre les changements à l’échelle du paysage et de modèles climatiques pour prévoir les conditions futures, il est nécessaire d’exercer une surveillance à long terme dans le Nord du Canada pour mesurer avec précision ce qui se passe sur le terrain.

Méthodologie

Approche en matière de surveillance

Les méthodes employées doivent être extrêmement efficaces, car l’hélicoptère est le seul moyen pratique d’accéder au parc. L’approche en matière de surveillance consiste à effectuer des visites annuelles dans les différents lieux surveillés répartis partout dans le parc, où l’on peut mesurer plusieurs composantes des écosystèmes (pergélisol, neige, croissance végétale et température atmosphérique). Certaines mesures sont effectuées « sur le terrain » lors des visites sur place, tandis que d’autres reposent sur des données et des images captées par des enregistreurs de données et des caméras de sentier qui fonctionnent toute l’année.

Lieux surveillés

Carte du programme de surveillance de Vuntut
Carte de la région du parc national Vuntut montrant l’emplacement des lieux et lacs surveillés, l’aire de répartition estivale du caribou et l’étendue des terres humides de la plaine Old Crow

Composantes des écosystèmes

Harde de caribous de la Porcupine

La harde de caribous de la Porcupine est une population de caribous de la toundra (Rangifer tarandus) dont l’aire de répartition comprend le Nord du Yukon, l’Alaska et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. C’est l’une des plus grandes hardes de caribous en Amérique du Nord. Elle est d’une importance cruciale pour les Gwitchin Vuntut, et le parc national Vuntut a été créé avant tout pour protéger certaines parties de son habitat printanier, estival et automnal.

Mesures de surveillance

Taille de la population

Des dénombrements de la population sont effectués depuis les années 1970, généralement tous les deux ou trois ans. Pour effectuer un dénombrement, il faut localiser les caribous au début de l’été en suivant les déplacements d’environ 100 individus munis d’un collier GPS. Pendant cette période, les caribous se rassemblent souvent en grands groupes pour éviter les insectes. Si la harde se regroupe, les chercheurs sont capables de la survoler et de prendre des photos avec un appareil numérique à haute résolution. À partir des photos, les chercheurs peuvent compter le nombre d’animaux. Depuis 2000, les dénombrements effectués à l’emplacement des caribous munis d’un collier ont permis d’établir une estimation de la population avec un intervalle de confiance plutôt qu’un simple dénombrement minimal. Cette approche donne une idée de la précision des chiffres.

Le plus récent dénombrement, effectué en 2017, a permis d’estimer la harde à environ 220 000 caribous. Il s’agit du nombre le plus élevé jamais enregistré pour la harde de caribous de la Porcupine.

Taille de la harde de caribous de la Porcupine
Graphique montrant le nombre de caribous dans la harde de la Porcupine, avec les mentions « Taille de la population » sur l’axe vertical, et « Année » sur l’axe horizontal
Les bandes colorées du graphique indiquent les zones de gestion de la chasse selon le plan de gestion de la chasse élaboré pour la harde de caribous de la Porcupine par le Porcupine Caribou Management Board (en anglais seulement). Les populations de la zone verte sont en santé : la chasse traditionnelle et avec permis peut donc se poursuivre..
Couverture neigeuse

La durée annuelle de la couverture neigeuse dans l’Arctique circumpolaire a diminué de deux à quatre jours par décennie au cours des trente à quarante dernières années.

La couverture neigeuse est importante, car on sait qu’elle influe sur le moment choisi par la harde de caribous de la Porcupine pour migrer vers ses aires de mise bas au printemps, et aussi sur de nombreux autres aspects des écosystèmes nordiques, notamment la température du pergélisol, la glace des lacs et des rivières, la végétation et l’hydrologie des lacs.

La couverture neigeuse est mesurée aux lieux surveillés à l’aide d’une caméra de sentier orientée vers une balise à neige. L’épaisseur de la neige est déterminée à partir de photos de la balise prises une fois par jour tout au long de l’hiver. Ces données sont ensuite utilisées pour calculer la durée de la couverture neigeuse et l’épaisseur moyenne de la neige pour un hiver donné.

Fonte printanière au lac Husky, un lac surveillé
2016-04-27
Panneau 1 2016-04-27
2016-04-28
Panneau 2 2016-04-28
2016-04-29
Panneau 3 2016-04-29
2016-04-30
Panneau 4 2016-04-30
2016-05-01
Panneau 5 2016-05-01
2016-05-02
Panneau 6 2016-05-02
Degrés-jours de croissance

Les degrés-jours de croissance correspondent à la période de l’année pendant laquelle la température chaude de l’air permet la croissance des plantes. À mesure que la température de l’air augmente dans le Nord du Canada, la période pendant laquelle les végétaux peuvent pousser se prolongera sans doute également.

Remplacement de la pile d’un enregistreur de données

Ce changement pourrait influer sur la quantité de plantes que les caribous peuvent manger, et sur le moment où leur valeur nutritive est à son maximum. La température de l’air est également cruciale pour interpréter les changements dans la température du pergélisol, la couverture neigeuse et la croissance de la végétation.

La température de l’air est mesurée toutes les heures aux lieux surveillés dans l’ensemble du parc. Les mesures sont stockées sur des enregistreurs de données qui sont récupérés lors des visites sur place, et sont ensuite utilisées pour calculer le nombre de degrés-jours de croissance pendant l’année.

Nombre de degrés-jours de croissance en 2016 au lac Husky, un lac surveillé
Graphique montrant  «temperature» sur l’axe vertical, et « date » sur l’axe horizontal
Les degrés-jours de croissance sont mesurés en fonction de l’accumulation de chaleur au-delà de la valeur de référence, soit 5 °C. Cette chaleur est mesurée en soustrayant la valeur de référence, 5 °C, de la température moyenne du jour (les valeurs négatives équivalent à zéro). Les valeurs quotidiennes sont ensuite additionnées pour calculer le nombre de degrés-jours de croissance pendant un mois ou une année, un indicateur qui permet de déterminer à quel point le climat est favorable à la croissance des plantes.
Saison de croissance

Le réchauffement climatique influence la végétation nordique, y compris la date à laquelle les plantes forment leurs feuilles au printemps (verdissement), atteignent leur croissance maximale, puis changent de couleur et se fanent à l’automne (brunissement). Ces changements peuvent avoir une incidence sur la quantité et la qualité de la nourriture végétale des caribous dans d’importantes aires de répartition fréquentées par la harde de la Porcupine.

Lorsque l’aire de répartition estivale des caribous est de grande qualité, les femelles sont capables d’accumuler de plus grandes réserves d’énergie. Elles sont alors moins susceptibles de sevrer leurs petits rapidement, et plus susceptibles de devenir enceintes à l’automne. Ainsi, un plus grand nombre de jeunes caribous survivent à leur première année de vie, et un plus grand nombre de femelles adultes ont des petits au printemps. De plus, ces réserves d’énergie supplémentaires améliorent les chances de survie des femelles adultes en hiver et donnent aux caribous l’occasion d’augmenter leur nombre.

Le lac Husky, un lac surveillé
Saison de croissance 2016
Graphique avec les mentions « Indice de végétation » sur l’axe vertical, et « Mois » sur l’axe horizontal montrant le moment du « Verdissement », la « Croissance maximale » et le « Brunissement »
Les dates de verdissement, de croissance maximale et de brunissement pour chaque saison sont déterminées à partir de photos prises chaque jour par les caméras de sentier dans chaque lieu surveillé. Un logiciel d’analyse d’images est ensuite utilisé pour déterminer la quantité de vert dans des zones choisies de chaque image, ce qui permet de mesurer l’évolution de la croissance saisonnière des plantes.
1er mai
Photo du lieu surveillé le 1<sup>er</sup> mai 2016
Verdissement
Photo du lieu surveillé le 11 juin : date du « verdissement » en 2016
Croissance maximale
Photo du lieu surveillé le 12 juillet : date de la « croissance maximale » en 2016
Brunissement
Photo du lieu surveillé le 12 août : date du « brunissement » en 2016
30 septembre
Photo du lieu surveillé le 30 septembre, date de la première chute de neige en 2016
Température du pergélisol

On prévoit que le pergélisol (un sol gelé depuis au moins deux ans) dégèlera dans de vastes régions du Nord du Canada à mesure que le climat se réchauffe. Le parc national Vuntut se trouve dans la région du pergélisol continu, où ce dernier a une grande influence sur la stabilité du sol, son taux d’humidité, la végétation ainsi que l’hydrologie et l’écologie des lacs. Il est également important de surveiller la température du pergélisol, car il est de plus en plus admis que la fonte généralisée du pergélisol entraînera la libération de gaz à effet de serre supplémentaires dans l’atmosphère, ce qui accentuera encore le réchauffement climatique.

Les lieux surveillés au parc national Vuntut font partie d’un réseau de sondes installées dans le pergélisol pour surveiller les variations régionales des températures du pergélisol dans le Nord.

Téléchargement des données d’un enregistreur installé dans le pergélisol

Les sondes des lieux surveillés enregistrent la température du pergélisol à de multiples profondeurs sous la surface. Les sondes les plus profondes sont équipées de câbles atteignant 30 mètres dans le sol. Certaines doivent être lues manuellement chaque année lors de la visite sur place, tandis que d’autres sont munies d’un enregistreur de données qui consigne la température toutes les heures.

Les températures à des profondeurs de 14 mètres ou plus sont particulièrement intéressantes, car à ces profondeurs, les valeurs ne fluctuent pas beaucoup tout au long de l’année.

Températures du pergélisol à 14 mètres sous la surface dans les lieux surveillés de la plaine Old Crow
Graphique avec les mentions « Température » sur l’axe vertical, et « Année » sur l’axe horizontal pour cinq lieux surveillés
Les bandes d’erreur montrent l’ampleur des variations des mesures pour chaque année. Les tendances de réchauffement à cette profondeur sont un signe de la fonte du pergélisol.

Terres humides

La plaine Old Crow est un vaste complexe de terres humides composé de lacs peu profonds et de petits ruisseaux. Reconnue par la Convention de Ramsar comme une zone humide d’importance internationale, elle sert de lieu de reproduction à un demi-million d’oiseaux migrateurs et abrite de nombreuses espèces d’animaux sauvages. Les Gwitchin Vuntut appellent la plaine Old Crow leur « compte bancaire » en raison de son importance pour la chasse de subsistance et d’autres pratiques traditionnelles. Certaines parties de la plaine Old Crow sont protégées par le parc national Vuntut.

Mesures de surveillance

Hydrologie des lacs

On s’inquiète du fait que les lacs de la plaine Old Crow, y compris ceux du parc national Vuntut, semblent s’assécher. Par conséquent, Parcs Canada, ses partenaires autochtones et plusieurs universités surveillent la fluctuation des niveaux d’eau des lacs et la quantité d’eau qui y pénètre sous forme de pluie et de neige.

Collecte d’un échantillon d’eau

Quatorze lacs surveillés répartis dans la plaine Old Crow, dont cinq sont situés dans le parc national Vuntut, sont visités en hélicoptère chaque année au printemps et à l’automne. Au cours de chaque visite, on mesure la profondeur du lac et les caractéristiques des eaux de surface comme la température, le pH, l’oxygène dissous et la conductivité, et on prélève des échantillons d’eau.

Les échantillons d’eau sont envoyés à un laboratoire où des traceurs isotopiques sont utilisés pour déterminer la quantité d’eau qui entre dans chaque lac sous forme de pluie et de neige, et si le lac s’évapore avec le temps.

Évaporation et entrée d’eau dans les lacs surveillés du parc national Vuntut
POC 19
Graphique avec les mentions « Ratio évaporation/entrée d’eau » sur l’axe vertical, et « Anée » sur l’axe horizontal
La valeur 1 indique que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation équivaut à la quantité d’eau qui entre dans le lac pendant une année donnée. Les valeurs inférieures à 1 indiquent que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation est moins grande que celle qui entre dans le lac pendant une saison donnée. Si les valeurs observées pour un lac sont constamment inférieures à 1, c’est donc que la quantité d’eau totale dans le lac augmente probablement au fil du temps.
POC 38
Graphique avec les mentions « Ratio évaporation/entrée d’eau » sur l’axe vertical, et « Anée » sur l’axe horizontal
La valeur 1 indique que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation équivaut à la quantité d’eau qui entre dans le lac pendant une année donnée. Les valeurs inférieures à 1 indiquent que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation est moins grande que celle qui entre dans le lac pendant une saison donnée. Si les valeurs observées pour un lac sont constamment inférieures à 1, c’est donc que la quantité d’eau totale dans le lac augmente probablement au fil du temps.
POC 46
Graphique avec les mentions « Ratio évaporation/entrée d’eau » sur l’axe vertical, et « Anée » sur l’axe horizontal
La valeur 1 indique que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation équivaut à la quantité d’eau qui entre dans le lac pendant une année donnée. Les valeurs inférieures à 1 indiquent que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation est moins grande que celle qui entre dans le lac pendant une saison donnée. Si les valeurs observées pour un lac sont constamment inférieures à 1, c’est donc que la quantité d’eau totale dans le lac augmente probablement au fil du temps.
POC 48
Graphique avec les mentions « Ratio évaporation/entrée d’eau » sur l’axe vertical, et « Anée » sur l’axe horizontal
La valeur 1 indique que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation équivaut à la quantité d’eau qui entre dans le lac pendant une année donnée. Les valeurs inférieures à 1 indiquent que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation est moins grande que celle qui entre dans le lac pendant une saison donnée. Si les valeurs observées pour un lac sont constamment inférieures à 1, c’est donc que la quantité d’eau totale dans le lac augmente probablement au fil du temps.
POC 49
Graphique avec les mentions « Ratio évaporation/entrée d’eau » sur l’axe vertical, et « Anée » sur l’axe horizontal
La valeur 1 indique que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation équivaut à la quantité d’eau qui entre dans le lac pendant une année donnée. Les valeurs inférieures à 1 indiquent que la quantité d’eau perdue par évaporation est moins grande que celle qui entre dans le lac pendant une saison donnée. Si les valeurs observées pour un lac sont constamment inférieures à 1, c’est donc que la quantité d’eau totale dans le lac augmente probablement au fil du temps.
Structure des communautés d’algues dans les lacs

Le périphyton, une algue qui se fixe aux objets, est utilisé avec les isotopes de l’eau pour suivre les changements dans l’écologie des lacs de la plaine Old Crow.

Installation d’un échantillonneur de périphytons

Les périphytons forment la base des chaînes alimentaires des écosystèmes lacustres et sont un indicateur utile pour évaluer l’écologie de l’eau douce, car leurs caractéristiques sont influencées par des perturbations physiques, chimiques et biologiques. Ils sont largement utilisés pour surveiller la qualité de l’eau en Europe et par l’Agence américaine de protection de l’environnement.

Pour recueillir ces algues, des échantillonneurs à bandes de plastique sont ancrés au printemps dans chacun des 14 lacs surveillés. Les algues poussent sur les bandes tout au long de l’été, et les échantillonneurs sont récupérés à l’automne. Les échantillons sont envoyés à un laboratoire, où l’on utilise le nombre de périphytons, la structure de leur communauté et leur teneur en chlorophylle pour déterminer si l’écologie du lac change.

La surveillance actuelle vise à déterminer l’état naturel des algues dans les lacs de la plaine Old Crow. Cet état de référence servira à déterminer si les lacs montrent des signes de stress ou subissent des changements écologiques importants.

Productivité des algues dans les lacs surveillés du parc national Vuntut
Chlorophylle a
Graphique avec les mentions « Chlorophylle a » sur l’axe vertical, et « Année » sur l’axe horizontal pour cinq lacs surveillés dans le parc national Vuntut
La chlorophylle a est le pigment vert qui permet aux algues de convertir la lumière du soleil en énergie, et elle peut servir à mesurer la quantité totale d’algues dans un lac. Des augmentations ou diminutions importantes de la chlorophylle a peuvent indiquer que l’écologie d’un lac subit des modifications, souvent parce que la qualité de l’eau s’est dégradée ou que la quantité de nutriments qui y entre a changé.
Nombre total de diatomées
Graphique avec les mentions « Nombre total de diatomées » sur l’axe vertical, et « Année » sur l’axe horizontal pour cinq lacs surveillés dans le parc national Vuntut
Les diatomées sont un groupe important d’algues dont la paroi cellulaire est faite de silice. Ce sont des indicateurs utiles pour évaluer la santé aquatique, car elles sont abondantes dans la plupart des lacs, sont sensibles aux changements environnementaux et constituent habituellement les principaux producteurs primaires des écosystèmes lacustres. Lorsque le nombre total de diatomées est élevé, on considère généralement que l’écologie du lac est saine.
Richesse en algues d’eau douce
Graphique avec les mentions « Nombre de genres » sur l’axe vertical, et « Année » sur l’axe horizontal pour cinq lacs surveillés dans le parc national Vuntut
La richesse en genres est le nombre total de genres distincts de diatomées et d’algues d’eau douce que l’on trouve dans un lac. Si le nombre de genres est élevé, on considère que l’écologie du lac est saine, car le lac peut soutenir une grande variété d’algues.