A vital aspect of the mandate for Canada’s national parks is to maintain ecological integrity, to ensure that the structure and function of ecosystems are unimpaired by human activity and likely to persist.


Porcupine Caribou Herd

Vuntut National Park, along with Ivvavik National Park and the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge represent an international effort to protect a major northern ecosystem defined in part by the Porcupine Caribou Herd. Vuntut contains portions of the Porcupine Caribou Herd's spring and fall migration range.

Porcupine Caribou Management Board


Old Crow Flats

A vast wetland complex of shallow lakes and small streams, in 1982 the Old Crow Flats were designated under the Ramsar Convention, as a wetland of international importance. Vuntut National Park protects the northern third of the Old Crow Flats.

Ramsar Sites Information Service - Old Crow Flats

Un des aspects essentiels du mandat des parcs nationaux du Canada est de préserver l’intégrité écologique, c’est-à-dire de voir à ce que la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes ne soient pas altérées par l’activité humaine et à ce qu’elles soient susceptibles de persister.


La harde de caribous de la rivière Porcupine

Le parc national Vuntut, le parc national Ivvavik et la Réserve faunique nationale de l’Arctique (anglais seulement) sont le résultat des efforts déployés de part et d’utre de la frontière internationale pour protéger un important écosystème septentrional défini en partie par la harde de caribous de la Porcupine.

Porcupine Caribou Management Board (anglais seulement) 


Plaine Old Crow

Un vaste complexe de lacs peu profonds et de petits ruisseaux, en 1982, la plaine Old Crow a été classée zone humide d’importance internationale en vertu de la Convention de Ramsar. Le parc national Vuntut protège le tiers nord de la plaine Van Tat.

Service d’information sur les Sites Ramsar - Plaine Old Crow