Until about 1920, the Gwitchin used caribou fences to harvest caribou. These wooden structures consisted of drift fences that spanned kilometers and guided caribou to a solidly built corral, which funneled caribou into a constricted area where they could be easily killed.

Evidence of this efficient harvesting method has been found across the north, with a total of forty-six known sites in Alaska, the Northwest Territories and the Yukon. Seven of these fences are located within Vuntut National Park, representing important archaeological and cultural sites.

Caribou Fences Interactive website
Caribou Fences Interactive

Experience Caribou Fences

Immerse yourself in the world of the Vuntut Gwitchin and see for yourself how caribou fences were used -- try a 3D fly through, listen to elders’ stories, learn Gwich'in words for caribou, and see photos of the remains of caribou fences today, visit the Caribou Fences Interactive website.

Jusque dans les années 1920, les Gwitchins avaient recours à des clôtures pour capturer le caribou. Ces structures en bois s’étendauennt sur des kilomètres et guiddaient les caribous vers un enclos solide, où les bêtes prises au piège pouvaient facilement être abattues.

Des vestiges de cette méthode de capture efficace ont été découverts partout dans le nord, incluant un total de quarante-six sites connus en Alaska, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon. Sept de ces clôtures se trouvent dans le parc national Vuntut et représentent des sites archéologiques et culturels importants.

Exposition interactive sur les clôtures à caribous
Exposition interactive sur les clôtures à caribous

Découvrez les clôtures à caribou

Pénétrez dans le monde des Vuntut Gwitchins et découvrez comment étaient utilisées les clôtures à caribou – faites un survol en 3D, écoutez les récits des aînés, apprenez à dire « caribou » en gwich’in et voyez en photos ce qu’il reste des clôtures aujourd’hui. Visitez le site Web interactif.