Caribou Days honours the connection between Vuntut Gwitchin people and the Porcupine Caribou Herd, bringing the whole community together to celebrate the importance of this animal to their culture and way of life.


Caribou Days 2019

Caribou leg skinning competition

May 18 to 20
Old Crow, Yukon

The weekend is filled with activities, fun and celebration, including many traditional and non-traditional games. Competitors show off their skills at cooking bannock, skinning muskrat, and battle to win the titles of Gwich’in Man and Gwich’in Woman as they race to set up and take down wall tents, shoot stuffed caribou with nerf guns, skin real caribou legs, and set up and undo traps. The jigging competitions, with live fiddle music, are another highlight of the event.

Esau Schafer, a member of the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation describes the excitement and meaning of Caribou Days:

"Every year during the May long weekend, we enjoy the spring weather and have a big celebration of the migration of the Porcupine Caribou from their southern wintering grounds to their calving grounds in the northern Yukon and Alaska. Our dependence on the caribou has been with us for thousands of years and still today we practice the culture and share our teachings with our young generation, including the safety skills for being out on their traditional lands.”

Parks Canada booth at Caribou Days

Parks Canada’s involvement with this event supports the protection of Vuntut Gwitchin culture and learning. At Caribou Days we provide information to the public about our work and programs, and share what’s happening in Vuntut National Park. We also work towards a close connection between Parks Canada and Vuntut Gwitchin Culture, by working together.

Les journées du caribou mettent à l’honneur le lien qui unit le peuple des Vuntut Gwitchins et la harde des caribous de la Porcupine; l’ensemble de la collectivité se réuni pour célébrer l’importance que revêt cet animal dans sa culture et son mode de vie.


Les journées du caribou 2018

Concours de dépeçage de pattes de caribous

Du 18 au 21 mai
Old Crow, Yukon

Le programme de la fin de semaine inclut une foule d’activités, du plaisir et des célébrations, y compris de nombreux jeux traditionnels et non traditionnels. Les concurrents montrent leurs habiletés en faisant cuire du pain bannock et en dépouillant des rats musqués et se luttent pour remporter les titres d’homme Gwich’in et de femme Gwich’in : ils montent et démontent des tentes canadiennes à toute vitesse, tirent au pistolet Nerf sur des caribous empaillés, enlèvent la peau de véritables pattes de caribou et installent et défont des pièges. Les concours de gigue, accompagnés de la musique de violoneux sur place, sont un autre fait saillant de la fin de semaine.

Esau Schafer, membre de la Première Nation des Vuntut Gwitchins et employé de Parcs Canada, explique l’enthousiasme qui accompagne les journées du caribou et ce qu’elles représentent:

« Tous les ans durant la longue fin de semaine du mois de mai, nous profitons du printemps et nous organisons une grande célébration à l’occasion de la migration des caribous de la Porcupine, qui partent de leurs aires d’hivernage dans le Sud pour se rendre à leurs aires de mise bas dans le Nord du Yukon et en Alaska. Nous dépendons du caribou depuis des milliers d’années et encore aujourd’hui, nous pratiquons notre culture et nous transmettons nos enseignements à la jeune génération, notamment les techniques de sécurité à adopter quand on se trouve sur les terres ancestrales. »

Kiosque de Parcs Canada au Festival du caribou

La participation de Parcs Canada favorise la protection de la culture des Vuntut Gwitchins ainsi que l’apprentissage. Au cours des journées du caribou, nous renseignons les citoyens au sujet de nos travaux et de nos programmes et nous leur parlons de ce qui se passe au parc national Vuntut. Par la collaboration, nous cherchons aussi à resserrer les liens entre Parcs Canada et la culture des Vuntut Gwitchins.